Skip to main content
Weddings

Sugarplum Tent Company Reviews

Sugarplum Tent Company View more information

25 Reviews

Rated
4.6
out of 5.0
Recommended by 91% of couples
  • Quality of service
    4.6 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    4.7 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.6 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.4 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.5 out of 5 rating

Awards

  • 25

11 User photos

  • S
    Shaun V. Married on 09/18/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing tent for our Whitehall wedding!

    Sugarplum put together an incredible tent for our outdoor wedding and were very helpful when it came to overall logistics for the venue! Tent was set up early on in the week as promised and it looked amazing!
  • Maria
    Maria B. Married on 12/01/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Book them now!

    If you are looking for a high end, professional, beautiful tent company for your wedding day then look no further than Sugar Plum. Their team is so amazing to work with in the planning process and deliver a show stopping product. I highly recommend booking Sugar Plum!
  • Allison
    Allison Married on 10/12/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Great tent, great event

    The clear structure tent from Sugar Plum made our wedding a very special event. Being able to see the moon from our tables was very nice and added an element of romance. The tent was everything we wanted and more. Thank you!

    Sugarplum Tent Company's reply:

    Hi Allison,
    Thank you so much for the great review, we appreciate your feedback. We are so glad that you were so happy with us!

    All The Best,
    The Sugarplum Tent Team
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • J
    Jessica Married on 05/04/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I highly recommend Sugarplum Tent Company. Having hired a coordinator for only the final 6 weeks before my wedding, I handled much of the front end planning myself. Given that I had never planned a wedding before—or any large event for that matter—I didn’t really know where to start when it came to renting a dance floor and band stage. I called a few different places, and Tara was the first person who put me at ease. She helped me calculate what dance floor size we’d need, she gave me some questions to ask the venue and band to make sure everything was perfect, and she was always quick to respond. Not to mention, their selection of dance floors is leaps and bounds above the selection of comparable companies. A few weeks down the road, when our head count was a tad lower than expected, she offered her recommendation to downsize the dance floor to better fit our group (rather than push for the more expensive, larger one), and quickly updated our invoice and order to reflect the change. Both Tara and Casey were lovely to work with, and there was no point in which our rentals from them caused any bit of stress.

    Sugarplum Tent Company's reply:

    Hi Jessica,

    Thank you so much for the lovely review! We pride ourselves on having great customer service and we are so glad you had an amazing experience with us :)
  • J
    Jessa Married on 04/28/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Sugarplum Tents were so helpful during the process of figuring out what would work best for our daughter’s wedding at Tranquility Farm in Purcellville, VA. We chose a clear tent with doors and up lighting, it looked so beautiful. Sugarplum was very responsive when we were concerned about temperature in the tent and sent someone over right away to make sure the climate inside the tent was just right. And it was! Not too hot, nor cool. We highly recommend using Sugarplum for your events. From choosing the right tent, to delivery, set up, and take down, it was all smooth and easy!

    Sugarplum Tent Company's reply:

    Hi Jessa,

    Thank you so much for the fabulous review. We appreciate your feedback. We are delighted that you had such a great experience with us :)
  • E
    Emma Married on 04/28/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Sugarplum Tent was amazingly accommodating, service was excellent, and they were the utmost professionals! As I continued to change my mind in regards to plans for my wedding, they patiently adjusted my contract & guided me through the process. The end result was a beautiful clear tent for my historical venue in DC! Thank you so much!

    Sugarplum Tent Company's reply:

    Hi Emma,

    Thank you so much for the glowing review! We love hearing feedback. We are so glad you had a great experience with us :)
  • L
    Lauren Married on 10/14/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Sugarplum was so wonderful to work with. They came out to my parents' home multiple times before the event to make sure they understood the land, and we were set up for success. Manny was full of knowledge and so good at anticipating all our needs - before we even knew we needed them! He stayed onsite my entire wedding and fixed an issue that happened timely - I was so glad we had him there!! On top of which, he was such a joy to be around! I felt like he truly cared about my wedding. Thank you, Sugarplum for giving us a gorgeous wedding everyone will remember.

    Sugarplum Tent Company's reply:

    Hi Lauren,

    Thank you so much for the great review! We are so glad to hear you had a great experience with us :)
  • S
    Sarah Married on 10/14/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Sugarplum was fantastic! They were very professional and our tent was beautiful.
    We were married at my parents' house in Annapolis, MD and the owner came out multiple times to take measurements and reconfirm that the tent would fit on our lawn.
    We had a gorgeous clear-top tent that looked absolutely magical lit up at night. Tents are a big investment, but you'll get a high-quality tent and fantastic service with Sugarplum.

    Sugarplum Tent Company's reply:

    Hi Sarah,

    Thank you so much for the great review! We are so glad to hear you had a great experience with us :)
  • P
    Patty Married on 09/03/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    They did an amazing job. They provided a custom floor and tent and it was very nice. How my backyard transformed to a magnificent showplace in a matter of days blew me away. It was beyond anything we could have described. It was breathtaking. The lighting was the most amazing thing I have ever seen in a house. We would not hesitate to recommend them for any special event.
  • User2559902 2+ years ago
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Tara is always a pleasure to work with! Very responsive to emails and requests and flexible when working with us. The tents are always beautiful and in great shape. The crews sent over for set-up and break-down are always professional and pleasant to work with as well. Would highly recommend SugarPlum!
  • S
    Susanna Married on 07/04/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Sugarplum is, hands down, the best quality tent company in the DC area. I had such a hard time finding a company who would work with me a year in advance(I planned my wedding on a long-distance) and needed lots of time to prepare.
    Davis was just amazing and he came to the venue several times to measure and help us figure what to do in terms of equipment, weather etc.

    A truly honest and hard working company who will not disappoint you.
    Their sail cloth tent was just so beautiful, I would recommend it to everyone.


    Best
    Susanna
  • A
    Arney Married on 07/06/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I have worked with Sugarplum several times and have always been very pleased with the product that they provide and their customer service. They have helped me out of a bind more than once. Their staff is always professional and makes sure that they are executing exactly what the client has asked for.
  • A
    Amber Married on 06/29/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I couldn't be happier with everyone at Sugarplum tents, they made the process so easy and stress free. The lighting looked perfect for the evening and the tent and dance floor were in fantastic condition (they look brand new). I trusted them from day one to do the site visit without me (it was tough for me to get out to Middleburg during the day), and Davis gave me options to work within my budget.
    We had some heavy rain storms leading up to my wedding, but the tent, stage, lighting, fans never moved an inch!
  • User1188969 2+ years ago
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Our tent was amazing. Sugarplum was willing to let us rent fans at the last minute to accomodate us on a terribly hot day. They really ensured that our wedding was perfect!
  • User1150579 Event on: 04/27/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Sugarplum's 30' X 50' clear tent made for a spectacular event space at our Chevy Chase home. The ambiance was purely "al fresco." We never once felt enclosed, but rather, felt we were out among the flowers and stars of our backyard garden. Great customer service. Attendant was on site the entire time and available for any last-minute adjustments. Highly recommended.
  • J
    Joan Event on: 04/21/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    . Thank you for making our celebration a truly memorable event. Your professionalism and customer service set you as the number ONE tent company in the region. Sugarplum Tent Company made our night magical!
  • D
    Danielle Event on: 04/06/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    My experience with Sugarplum Tents is always top notch. This was certainly no exception. The planning process was easy, professional and executed in a timely and efficient manner. Their tents are of high quality, crystal clear sidewalls and no signs of wear and tear. The onsite support staff is always friendly, available, approachable and an extension of my team. We love working with Sugarplum for their hands on team approach, superior tent/product quality and ability to execute professionally and in a friendly manner.
  • T
    Tina Married on 07/30/2012
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    After comparing three tent rental companies, we selected Sugarplum Tent Company and couldn't be happier with this choice. Our 40-person wedding was in the garden of a neighbors house in Arlington, Virginia. With a July wedding in this area, we wanted to ensure our guests comfort. A single 25'x40' tent, 10' high, with three pedestal fans worked perfectly. Sugarplum came out the site about a week before the event to measure the site and to recommend size, orientation, and location of the tent. At our request, they provided us options for a dance floor and air conditioning, neither of which we selected in the end.

    The tent was perfectly located to work with the house and retain views of the surrounding woods. We were worried about a maple tree at one corner of the tent, but Sugarplum simply installed the tent high enough that the "problem" branch was inside the tent!!! One fan was noisy; Sugarplum replaced it the next day.

    We did order cloth cross bar covers - and this small affordable touch did "clean up" the appearance of the tent without the expense of a full tent liner. Having the event at a private residence and on a Monday, the tent was installed for a total of three and a half days. This allowed us time to add lights and decorations -- and to take them down at our convenience.

    We worked with Sugarplum primarily through our caterer/event planner. This coordination enabled Sugarplum to provide tables as well, to supplement what the caterer provided.

    Sugarplum's crew was helpful, efficient and professional. Our venue host (family neighbors) were delighted with the crew. Should we need a tent for an event again, we would go to them in a heart beat.

    Some practical heads up - if you are installing a tent, you do need to know where the site utilities are located to avoid conflicts with the tent poles and stakes. If you don't know where underground utilities are located, then you may need to request that your local Miss Utility visit the site in coordination with the tent company. There are also electrical needs for the fans -- and if you are to get air conditioning, a separate outlet on a "dedicated" circuit will be necessary (exact power needs will depend on the size of the a/c provided).
  • M
    Mark Married on 06/06/2010
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Sugarplum Tents took all the many and varied requirements for a large and mixed group and delivered life long memories for about 200 guests. Every detail thorough and first class to honor a complete family. I know of no one else who could have dine it.
  • Jill
    Jill L. Married on 09/12/2020
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Gorgeous tent

    Sugarplum was easy to work with and the tent was gorgeous. I appreciated that they came out to our venue to review the best place to set up before we signed the contract. They even helped us determine the layout of our tent based on our furniture rentals and our guest count.
  • Andrea
    Andrea F. Married on 10/19/2019
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Great Tent in DC

    Sugarplum Tent was very flexible with our requests, even with a very fixed selection due to our venue they helped us get the right tent for us. The end result was a beautiful tent for our wedding at Lincoln's Cottage in DC!

    Sugarplum Tent Company's reply:

    Dear Andrea, Congratulations on your beautiful Wedding and thank you for the lovely review, we try to make every event run as smoothly as possible, we are so glad that you were so happy with your Special Day!!
    May 2020 be a wonderful adventure for you both in your new married life!!
  • User2734218 2+ years ago
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We used Sugarplum Tent Company for our wedding at the Salamander Resort & Spa. The tent was set up beautifully with strung bistro lights and inconspicuous fans. We worked very closely with Tara who was extremely helpful and accommodating. The best part about working with Tara is that we didn't have great knowledge of event tent design and she was very good about explaining options and providing suggestions. Working with Sugarplum and Tara was very pleasant and we were very happy with the finished product!
  • A
    Andrew Married on 11/04/2017
    2.9 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      2.5 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      3.5 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      2.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      2.0 out of 5 rating
    Sugarplum Tent Company is the contracted vendor that you must use when you host an event at the Decatur House in Washington DC. Initially, my interactions with them were excellent. They were responsive, helpful, and easy to work with. While you are stuck between a rock and hard place because you have no option to seek out another company to provide competitive pricing on tents, I fully understand that The Decatur House wants a trusted company to work in their space. The reason for my less than stellar review has to do with the service I was provided the day before the wedding. I also rented my dance floor from Sugarplum and they were responsible for placement of the dance floor however there was little to no communication until last minute about where to place it. Therefore they put it in a standard location without asking about the needs of the other vendors at the wedding. This is a logistical question that the company should’ve asked long in advance. It was not in the proper location and they charged me half of what the full rental fee was to move it. Additionally, after I provided them specifications on where to move it to, they messed that up as well.

    Overall they were a success as far as the tent was concerned. However their communication and customer service about logistical details left something to be desired.

    Sugarplum Tent Company's reply:

    Hi Andrew,

    Thanks for sharing your feedback. We’re sorry your experience didn’t match your expectations. It was an uncommon instance and we’ll do better moving forward.
  • Diane
    Diane Married on 10/26/2019
    1 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      1.0 out of 5 rating

    Poor service

    They were required to be used by the venue. The lighting that was an extra 900 did not work. They refused to try and come to term of any refund, saying it was our fault we didn't call and the venue's fault. I too am a small business owner and I just know that I have integrity and do the right thing It was not the fault of the bridal party and no where on the contract did it give an emergency number. The venue was The Dumbarton and would hold them responsible a well. They are the preferred vendor yet each one is blaming the other. Would never recommend them to any bridal party. To not refund or offer any partial refund for something that was clearly not the fault of the paying party lacks professionalism and integrity. The sales person Tara has no proof that the lights worked because she wasn't there doing set up. Find another tent company!~

    Sugarplum Tent Company's reply:

    Diane, we are so sorry to hear that you weren't satisfied with the lighting aspect of the tenting we provided. We do hope that your daughter had a wonderful marriage celebration despite the lighting issues, and we wish you and yours a very Happy New Year!
  • User2189677 2+ years ago
    1 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      0.5 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      0.5 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      0.5 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      0.5 out of 5 rating
    Dealing with this vendor was the worst part of our wedding, it was such a waste of money. Big warning to anyone that is planning on using the Dumbarton House as their wedding venue: if you have more than 80 guests, you are required to get a tent and it must be from Sugarplum. We naively thought we could keep our guest list under 80 and wouldn't need it, but we quickly surpassed that and had to sign a contract with Sugarplum. The "basic" package is $3400. A few months later I came across another tent company and couldn't believe they were only charging half of what Sugarplum was for the same sized tent and setup. I started calling around and realized that Sugarplum charges approximately double what other DC tent rental companies do. I called Sugarplum and asked why they were so expensive and if they had any flexibility in pricing and they were uncooperative and condescending, explaining to me that they couldn't be compared to other tent vendors because they were just that much better. The only positive thing I have to say about them is that they setup it up on time. At the end of the day, no one cares or remembers what a tent looks like and a Sugarplum tent looks like every other white tent in the DC area. We had perfect weather on our wedding day, which made the tent feel like an even bigger waste of money. I really wish we had made another choice so we could have used our wedding budget in a wiser way.
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message