Sugar Magnolias Reviews

75 | Rochelle, VA
See photos, pricing and details

75 Reviews for Sugar Magnolias

Recommended by 99%

75
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 4.9
Sort by:
  • N

    Nikki · Married on 07/11/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I am still in awe over how incredibly beautiful my wedding was because of the flowers by Nature Composed!! Because I lived quite a bit away and was not able to go to the shop in person, I had to go off of other reviews and a handful of pictures, and a few phone calls with Jenn and hoped she would understand what I was asking for and produce just what I wanted...and she did and then some! When she walked into where I was getting ready the morning of my wedding, with the flowers, my jaw dropped. It's like she climbed inside my head and saw exactly what I wanted to a T...and I am not good at describing things, haha. Her and Erin were such a pleasure to work with. Even with me inundating them with more emails than necessary, they were always so patient and kind. I even changed some things (some big) around a few times, and they just rolled with it like the professionals they are. I really can't say enough about the serviced and the product. It was beyond perfect. If you are looking for someone to make your dream décor and flowers a reality, I hope you choose them. You'll be happy you did :)

  • L

    Libby · Married on 07/12/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I can't say enough good things about Nature Composed (they are switching over from Sugar Magnolias). First of all, the flowers were GORGEOUS. Seriously, they did an amazing job. Many guests commented they were the prettiest flowers they had ever seen. One guest told me she has never before even noticed centerpieces at weddings, but walked into the venue and was stunned and in awe of ours.

    In addition to the stunning flowers - Erin and Jenn were by far the most professional of any of the vendors we worked with. Every change that was discussed by email was followed up with an updated proposal that was thorough and professional. They were clearly keeping track of everything and it paid off as they were the only vendor to do everything EXACTLY as we had discussed! No small detail was left untouched.

    Erin and Jenn are a stellar team and create beautiful work. I highly recommend them!!!

  • J

    Jenny · Married on 04/12/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our flowers were absolutely perfect for our early spring wedding! We were going for a natural look, emphasizing the pink and yellow colors that were already blooming around the area at the time of our wedding and Sugar Magnolias took those instructions and created the most beautiful centerpieces, bouquets and ceremony decorations that added so much to the beauty of our weekend. They were also super helpful with suggestions of how to repurpose various arrangements from one part of the wedding to another as the evening progressed, providing extra blooms for us to fill in any gaps, and packaging everything so it was easy to put in place ourselves (we opted to pick up the flowers at their studio rather than use their delivery & set-up services due to our budget). If you work with Sugar Magnolias for your wedding, I highly recommend giving them room to be creative, not giving too many strict guidelines on what you want because they will wow you with what they can do with your vision!!

  • C

    Colleen · Married on 11/09/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sugar Magnolias was recommended by our photographer and they were amazing. While I love flowers, I don't know much about them and was fairly vague in communicating my vision. However, Jen took what I gave her and made it better than I imagined. I carried red roses, which I didn't want bright red since it doesn't look great in pictures, and Jen created a bouquet that used black magic roses and one other rose to provide depth and color without the flowers looking too bright OR too dark. Everyone, including myself, was stunned by it. My bridesmaids who have been married wished they had carried this bouquet they told me! We made changes to our ‘order’ all throughout the months leading up to wedding - using gold instead of silver accents, adding a wreath for our chairs, taking out a corsage, etc. - and they never complained, were very responsive, happy to be flexible, and so on. It really put me at ease to know I was working with such kind people that were happy to help in any they saw possible. Finally, just to give you an idea of the details Jen pays attention to and how she is truly always thinking about her clients: at the beginning of the process we wanted to have rosemary at every place setting when the guests came in, but then decided, ya know what - not necessary. Come the day of the wedding the groomsmen’s boutonnières and the tables on which we had a mixture of small vases, ALL had a touch of rosemary in them. This did not go unnoticed by me - while I never mentioned having it used elsewhere, Jen was perceptive enough to subtlety and beautifully add it into other parts of the ceremony and reception. This really floored me - it just shows what a keen mind she has and how much she values her clients. I strongly recommend her, and her assistant Erin, for any bride. She'll make the flowers on your day better than you could ever envision.

  • User2789004 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I was so impressed and thrilled with Jenn and Erin's creations. They listened to my thoughts early on and then created a pinterest page with images that were exactly what I was envisioning. All of the flowers for my wedding were absolutely perfect. The vessels they used were just what I wanted, and I was blown away by the pillars and candles. They created a warm, welcoming, and truly beautiful atmosphere. Jenn is so talented and you need to trust that she will bring your vision to life.

  • J

    Julie · Married on 09/28/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We loved working with Sugar Magnolias. Jenn and Erin did an excellent job of taking our vague ideas/preferences and translating them into gorgeous, inspired floral arrangements. They delivered the wildflower look I asked for in a polished, lovely way that looked perfect for our outdoor wedding at home. I was also happy that they used local, in season florals as much as possible. They were flexible about last-minute changes, very responsive, and very reasonably-priced. I would work with them again in a heartbeat!

  • J

    John · Married on 09/28/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jenn catered my daughter's wedding. I couldn't be more pleased (the orchids are thriving). Many of my friends said it was the nicest wedding they had ever attended. Thanks, Jenn, for being a big part of the memory of a lifetime.

  • S

    Sara · Married on 09/21/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The flowers for our event were just as I imagined for my wedding day; natural and elegant, incredibly beautiful and unique with touches that set them apart from any other arrangements any of our guests had seen. Jenn PIneau's ability to really listen and capture what the bride envisions is remarkable, and her own personal style and taste is flawless and without comparison. I brought my own vases to Sugar Magnolias, and they worked with what I had to make gorgeous hanging hobnail arrangements that could be moved from the ceremony aisles seamlessly to the dinner tables in the reception. Thank you Sugar Magnolias for bringing out the beauty of our day.

  • User3725548 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sugar Magnolias did a fantastic job for Emily and I's wedding! We, along with our awesome wedding planner, Catherine Stube highly recommend them.

  • Leah

    Leah · Married on 07/27/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The ladies at Sugar Magnolias were absolutely wonderful to work with. During my initial consultation with Jenn, I described our theme and gave a pretty vague description of what I wanted for the flowers. Jenn then sent me a mood board that totally nailed my vision. Because I was wedding planning from Texas, I was never able to meet with her in person prior to the wedding, but both she and Erin were very accessible by phone and email. I was a pretty laid back bride, so I basically shared my preferences and color palette and let Jenn do her thing. I’m so glad I took this approach. Jenn completely exceeded my expectations and included some flowers I would never have known about. Everyone thought the arrangements were gorgeous, and all of my bridesmaids took their bouquets home because they were so beautiful and smelled wonderful. The ladies at Sugar Magnolias made the flower process painless and delivered an awesome product. I highly recommend them!

  • User3396121 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I have to say, I ended up with amazing vendors for our wedding.

    It took some time finding vendors who intuitively understood what I was hoping to create for our special day, but I am so thankful that the right vendors created a day that was magical.

    One search that proved to be a bit more of a challenge than I anticipated was finding the right florist. The design of our wedding was incredibly important to me - I wanted to create California laid back - but still glamorous feel - and while there are incredibly talented florists in the DC area - I felt as though their aesthetic tended to be a bit too composed and ornate for my taste.

    Additionally, I like to think that our floral budget was moderately reasonable- but I was confronted with feeling like a small budget bride if I did not want to spend 5 (or even 6!) figures on floral alone. And who wants to feel like they are the less important bride for their wedding?

    Finding Sugar Magnolias was really a gift.

    Not only did they totally get me - they created some seriously AMAZING pieces for our ceremony and reception. I sent Jenn a few photos of looks I was inspired by, and she took everything I liked to the next level. She came back with design ideas that were simply amazing. And when I needed to tweak things to accommodate my budget, the team quickly adjusted to meet our needs.

    I have to say, I plan to use Sugar Magnolias for any event of mine that needs floral decor in the future. They were incredibly professional, created absolutely stunning work, and VERY responsive. Not something you can find with every florist. Once I get more photos back I will post them so other brides can see how amazing they are - but I strongly recommend Jenn and Erin at Sugar Magnolias!

  • V

    Veronica · Married on 06/29/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We are so happy we used Sugar Magnolias for our flowers! The flowers were so beautiful and unique - Jenn used tiny raspberries and mint leaves in our arrangements, which smelled amazing. Erin Fuller, the office manager, was extremely responsive and helpful throughout the process. Lauren, the woman who came to set up the day-of, stayed for many hours and even let our very young flower girl keep two ribbon wands when she didn't understand the concept of choosing one :) Sugar Magnolias specializes in using local flowers, so they work great if you are fairly flexible and give them some general guidelines (colors, a few specific flower requests) and then let them run with it. Highly recommend!

  • M

    Michaela · Married on 06/22/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sugar Magnolias provides gorgeous, creative floral arrangements. Highly recommend!

  • C

    Corinne · Married on 05/31/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sugar Magnolias is pretty awesome! We so appreciated how attentive and available both Jenn and Erin were throughout our planning process. We were looking for a florist who could supply fresh, local blooms and greenery, and they absolutely did not disappoint. Our flowers were absolutely beautiful!!!

  • M

    Mariel · Married on 05/25/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    WOW! Jenn was incredible to work with. I knew after seeing some of her work that she was the only florist I wanted. She truly listened and delivered above & beyond what I expected. Our flowers were so gorgeous, and she created the most lovely bouquets for us. We were definitely on a budget, and she made sure each arrangement was able to be used again if need be! We used our ceremony flowers on our bar and the aisle arrangements went on the cocktail tables. Her professionalism and responsiveness made planning a long-distance wedding much easier. I would highly recommend her without any reservations

  • C

    Carmen · Married on 05/11/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sugar magnolias did a truly magnificent job. They listened to my ideas and wants and put together something absolutely gorgeous. It was everything I had imagined and more! We received so many compliments on the flowers, it was my favorite part of the wedding! I really enjoyed working with Jenn and Erin, they were responsive, flexible and offered great suggestions.

    I would HIGHLY recommend every bride to check them out!

  • B

    Bonnie and Laura · Married on 05/04/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Being an enthusiastic gardener, I considered FLOWERS to be a very important part of the wedding day celebration. We received so many compliments about the hanging flower jars that adorned the trees under which the ceremony took place. The table arrangements were magnificent and the bride's and bridesmaid bouquet outstanding.

  • M

    Marta · Married on 01/12/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our January wedding was elegant yet simple as a guest described the lovely all natural flower and candle displays. I wanted real pussy willow which no other florist would promise but Sugar Magnolias had no problem with my wish. The flowers that were suggested were perfect for the bouquets and arrangements. Our first meeting and follow up emails were always professional and very helpful. I have many friends getting married this year and have highly recommended Sugar Magnolia for their event floral needs.

  • A

    Anne · Married on 11/10/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Loved Sugar Magnolias. They just "got it" right from the start. Everything turned out beautifully and exceeded my expectations!

  • E

    Emily · Married on 10/20/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sugar Magnolias designed our bouquets & boutonnieres, and also provided loose flowers for our DIY centerpieces. Jenn completely understood my vision and put together the most luscious, colorful bouquet imaginable - it was perfect. The staff was completely professional and very flexible. They had two other weddings booked on the same day, but still helped us out by providing beautiful flowers for us to arrange. Jenn also gave us some good advice on how to waterproof the vintage tins I had collected. I also appreciate that they source their flowers locally and even grow many of them on their property -- if you are in Central VA I suggest you visit their quaint shop and gardens.

  • K

    Kelly · Married on 09/22/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The flowers were my favorite part of our wedding. We gave Jen tremendous creative liberty in designing our bouquets, arch, and aisle and table arrangements. As an out of town bride, most of my correspondence with Sugar Magnolias was with the shop's very competent and friendly office manager, Erin. In particular, the customized "mood board" gave me the opportunity to email images and photographs from various websites to Erin as inspiration for our flower arrangements. We had a lovely in-person meeting with Jen 2 months before the wedding to finalize all of the details, and everything materialized just as we had hoped on our big day! Jen and her team use only the freshest and in-season flowers and incorporated succulents and berries as well. She arrived punctually on the day of the wedding and had the arch built and all flowers arranged well before the ceremony began. I HIGHLY recommend Sugar Magnolias!

  • User2664539 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    They perfected rustic, vintage, and country floral setups! They have amazing rentals and a great eye for details. I got more compliments on my bridal bouquet that I could have ever imagined! They were able to take my vague descriptions and bring them to life and then some! I enjoyed having mason jars and milk glass on my tables with the gorgeous local flowers they filled them with! I would recommend them to anyone!

  • J

    Joanne · Married on 07/07/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jenn and her staff were amazing!! Jenn listened carefully to our vision and then carefully orchestrated every component with such skill and created the magical setting we had dreamed of. We couldn't believe how well organized Jenn was. It was the organization that Jenn demonstrated from our first meeting forward that gave us the confidence, on the big day, that everything would be seamless, and it was!!

  • B

    Beth · Married on 07/06/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I was married earlier this month in Spotsylvania and had trouble finding a florist that could provide the gardeny feel I wanted for my wedding and still fit within my budget. After unsuccessfully meeting and paying for a proposal from a florist in Fredericksburg, I discovered Sugar Magnolias' website and could tell I found a winner after looking through their photo gallery.

    Jenn and Erin were wonderful to work with! Jenn created an inspiration board after we spoke on the phone that was spot on what I was looking for. She was willing to make the arrangements for the bridal party and sell me loose hydrangeas so my family and I could create our own table arrangements. My friends picked up the flowers from their shop the morning of the wedding and I was so excited when I saw them - my bouquet was exactly what I wanted and even included my favorite garden rose! The loose hydrangeas had brilliant colors and went perfectly with my decor. I received many compliments on all of our floral arrangements!

    One added bonus - Sugar Magnolias uses mainly locally sourced flowers in their arrangements, so you're supporting Virginia farmers!

  • User2572345 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    i loved my bride bouquet i had no clue what i wanted in the beginning i changed my mind like three times in the end i had pastel pink purple,white and coral flowers they were very patient and treated me great i totally recommend them.

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review