Sugar and Spice Catering Reviews

59 | Kansas City, MO
See photos, pricing and details

59 Reviews for Sugar and Spice Catering

Recommended by 91% of couples

4.5 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.7
  • Professionalism 4.5
  • Flexibility 4.6
  • Value 4.6
  • Average response time 4.4

Awards

59

8 User photos

Sort by:
  • Jennifer

    Jennifer C. · Married on 12/08/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    How many reasons can you invent to order cake??

    What Heavenly Cake at Sugar and Spice Catering! When your guests are still bragging about your delicious wedding cake in two states and four counties for another week after the wedding, You know it was a total culinary delight to enjoy!



    Of course, when it comes to true confessions, I must admit that when I had my first piece of Sugar and Spice’s Wedding White cake at the showcase, I couldn’t wait for the second piece….so I ate my daughter’s piece too! Then I had her go ask for two more because she needed her own piece of their amazingly delicious cake to savor! Our guests were treated to layers of flavors, such as: Wedding White, Lemon with Raspberry filling, Chocolate on Chocolate, Strawberry with Cream Cheese icing and don’t forget the Red Velvet!



    We were so happy with their talented creations that we also had them serve their tasty dinner to our guests. Our menu was a great value for a full plate of delicious food: Salad, Glazed Ham, Smoked Turkey, Garlic Mashed Potatoes, Southern Style Green Beans, Buttered Corn, Macaroni & Cheese and rolls. Rebecca’s Mac & Cheese had the perfect blend of al dente pasta and cheeses!



    Their attention to detail for our happiness was exceptional! We were very thankful to have them cater our wedding and we are already planning our next cake order for family birthdays!

    Sent on 05/12/2021
  • Marcy

    Marcy G. · Married on 08/30/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing cake and food, a dream to work with!

    Katrina and Becca are the best! They worked with me through 2 dates and a venue change. They adapted to it all with smiles. The food was amazing and everyone had seconds and thirds on cake. Highly recommend!

    Sent on 09/11/2020
  • Greta

    Greta · Married on 05/02/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Of all the tastings I did, Sugar and Spice was hands down the best ever!

    S&S has the softest, fluffiest, delicious cake in the KC metro. I can only best describe their cake as “a cloud” - it literally melts in your mouth. I am picky about wedding cake and had 5 different tastings, and S&S was my favorite hands down. They did my sister’s wedding 8 years ago and their cake is just as good now as it was then. My wedding guests raved about the cake and had multiple pieces! ALL of the flavors they offer are to die for. We had 4 different flavors because we just couldn’t decide on 1! We will be getting an anniversary cake from S&S because it’s just that memorable!

    Sent on 11/18/2020
  • E

    Ellen S. · Married on 09/07/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wedding Cake to die for!!

    We went with Sugar and Spice catering for our wedding cake and...WOW! Our wedding cake was to die for! Best cake I have ever had in my life. From the very start, Sugar and Spice Catering was so easy to work with and all their staff is so friendly. They respond to questions quickly and professionally. Everything went seamlessly and our wedding cake was everything I ever dreamed! I would definitely recommened their cakes for any event!

    Sent on 09/16/2019
  • M

    Mary · Married on 09/22/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rebekah was so easy to work with and came through 100% on my daughter's wedding cake. We had ordered a 3 tier white cake with buttercream frosting and a lemon cake with lemon filling and strawberry cake with strawberry filling and it was delivered exactly, as ordered. It was a little warmer that day and we had an outdoor venue and she made sure it stayed in the refrigerator at venue until close to time for reception to start. Everyone commented on how delicious the cake was and how it melted in your mouth. It was beautiful! Thank you, Rebekah! Mary

    Sent on 09/28/2017
  • S

    Samantha · Married on 09/24/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    They are wonderful! Great prices and amazing quality. Food is great and the cake is phenomenal.

    Sent on 08/15/2016
  • Britney

    Britney · Married on 09/24/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband, myself, and all of the people at my wedding absolutely LOVED the food and the staff. They were efficient, the food was warm and DELICIOUS, and they were so kind. I would recommended them to anyone who loves good food, good people, and good prices!

    Sent on 10/07/2016
  • C

    Caitlin · Married on 06/10/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    You will NOT regret using Sugar and Spice. They made my day so special! They were very accommodating to my requests, and my special day went by without a hitch. Additionally, their food and service are incredible. I would use them again and again. I was very pleased with my experience, and you will be too!

    Sent on 08/15/2016
  • User5572795 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The best food and cake of any other caterer we went to....plus they were in our budget and the owner was great to work with! 5 stars!

    Sent on 10/30/2015
  • User5572692 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I would definitely recommend Sugar and Spice to anyone! Their garlic mashed potatoes are awesome and their white cake is the best cake I've ever had in my life, bar none....the owner Larry, even helped me with my rentals and bar (and saved me a ton of money in the process by giving me his rental discount with a rental company and picking everything up, setting it up and taking it back - all for no extra money). This company is awesome and I loved the fact that I literally dealt with the owner the entire time!! Larry is a great guy - even my husband started going to the appointments with me....they made my reception perfect!

    Sent on 10/30/2015
  • F

    Frankie · Married on 09/26/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Fantastic food, loved their set-up and the price was actually within my budget.... have given their name out to at least 10 people since my wedding. I loved Jennifer, our coordinator, and would've definitely done my wedding cake with them if a friend hadn't offered to do it for free....their cake samples almost made me pay for one anyway! Definitely give them a try - small business, great location and willing to do anything for us!

    Sent on 10/30/2015
  • M

    Megan · Married on 09/05/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sugar and Spice provided a beautiful and delicious wedding cake. 2 weeks out and our guests are still telling me how much they loved the Lemon cake! We also go the traditional white wedding cake which is sooo good too! Our design was the Drummer Boy and it was perfect for what we wanted!

    Sent on 10/22/2015
  • User5572727 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Awesome job Larry! Thank you so much for doing a great job - your BBQ was out of this world and the potatoes were so yummy....Thank you, thank you, thank you.

    Sent on 10/30/2015
  • User5572800 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Loved the food and the guy we worked with, Larry....he was great every time we came and always answered our emails quickly and returned our calls the same day.....we were under the wire to find someone quick and you would've thought we'd been working on the reception for years - he made everything perfect and helped us with rentals too!

    Sent on 10/30/2015
  • User5302397 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    GREAT food. Friendly, down-to-earth people. DELICIOUS white wedding cake! We were very impressed.

    Sent on 07/29/2015
  • User5572574 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The best cake I've ever had and the catering was superb as well.....Larry (I think that was his name but I could be wrong) was great to work with and was actually there the night of our wedding too! We've had so many compliments from our guests - everything was just perfect.

    Sent on 10/30/2015
  • User5572648 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    So delicious! It was beautiful too, but the cake was awesome and I got so many raves... the caterer actually threw away the top of the cake and when I got back from my honeymoon, I called the owner and he promised to make me another - for FREE - on my anniversary.....great price too, not the cheapest around but certainly worth every penny.

    Sent on 10/30/2015
  • G

    Grace · Married on 04/25/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great food and great company....loved dealing with them and loved how well they took care of my reception!

    Sent on 10/30/2015
  • L

    Lynne · Married on 03/07/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Everything was GREAT!!!!! I went to 3 different caterers....1 charged for tastings (WHAT???), 1 was a giant caterer, and this one....the giant caterer gave me a coordinator that didn't seem to know what she was doing, hemmed and hawed about everything, kept adding on charges to our bill, and told me she wouldn't be at the wedding if she booked another job bigger than mine - seriously? I made the best choice I could've made...the owner was great, the food was even better and the wedding cake was out of this world delicious!!!!!!

    Sent on 10/30/2015
  • E

    Eric · Married on 03/07/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Food and cake both were great and under budget - I couldn't have asked for a nicer guy to deal with and Jennifer, who does the cakes, met with us a few times to discuss cake design and was wonderful.

    Sent on 10/30/2015
  • K

    Katherine · Married on 08/02/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Thank you Jennifer and Larry at Sugar and Spice! What a fabulous wedding reception!

    The food was impeccable! The cake was phenomenal! Our guests were delighted and our mailbox was full of complements the Monday after the wedding.

    You make a memorable evening spectacular.

    Sent on 08/10/2014
  • M

    Michael A. · Married on 06/08/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The service we received from Sugar and Spice Catering was wonderful! The food was delicious and we believe that they have the best wedding cake we have ever had! They set up for the buffet line was professional and beautiful. They set up at the time we requested, the staff was friendly and very attentive to all of our guests. We would recommend their service to anyone!

    Sent on 07/04/2013
  • K

    Krystle · Married on 05/11/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I am not lying when I say our wedding cake stole the show at the reception! MANY guest told me that they have simply never had a better cake EVER! It was the best!!

    Sent on 06/01/2013
  • User3428216 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Food was excellent! We received many compliments from wedding guests on the food and professionalism of servers. We had family style and strawberry wedding cake. I am using them again for a bridal shower for a family member.

    Sent on 07/29/2013
  • S

    Simone · Married on 07/27/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sugar and Spice Catering in Parkville,Mo has the best mash potatoes with bacon bits and cheese ever! Everyone at the wedding said that the ham and turkey was really good and moist, and the veggies was awesome!

    Sent on 08/08/2012