Styles by Ann, Makeup Artist and Hairstylist Reviews

17 | Milpitas, CA
See photos, pricing and details

17 Reviews for Styles by Ann, Makeup Artist and Hairstylist

Recommended by 99%

17
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2010 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 5.0
Sort by:
  • User4468304 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ann was absolutely amazing! She did my wedding hair and makeup. We started at 5 am because my traditional ceremony started at 8. As a person who doesn't usually wear makeup, Ann made sure to give me a light natural look and left me with detail instructions on how to touch it up without making it look cakey. She is extremely professional and knows her work very well. I was extremely happy with both my hair and makeup, which lasted at least 15 hours (with slight touch ups in between) Toward the end of the ceremony, I was dancing with my guests pretty rigorously, but my hair was still pretty much intact. Very impressive.
    I also asked her to bring a couple of associates to help with my mom, sister's , and MOH's makeup and hair and they did a beautiful job with everyone. Ann is very quick to respond via email, very easy to work with, and is very on top of it. All in all, the services Ann and her company provided were amazing and worth the price tag. I would definitely recommend her to a friend.

    Sent on 10/12/2014
  • N

    Nina · Married on 07/12/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ann is simply amazing. She is very responsive to emails, which is great. She is also flexible in customizing a package that works for me. In fact, I made a last minute decision to add hair and make up for the mothers, and she was able to accommodate it. It was after I booked Ann, that I realized she actually did the hair and make up for one of my good friend's wedding for which I was a bridesmaid. My friend looked gorgeous in her wedding, and I knew I was in good hands with Ann.

    Ann is exceptionally talented, and has an eye for bringing out the glamour and beauty in each individual. For my trial make up, she recommended that I bring a photo of myself with my own make up on, so that she can make me look like a more beautiful version of myself. In the past, whenever I've gotten my make up done elsewhere, I never really liked it because it just didn't look like me. It was a version of what someone else thinks I should look like. Also, because I have single eyelids, most other make up artists didn't know how to deal with that. With Ann, I LOVED my make up and I can't stop looking at myself in the mirror! Ann also knew what hair styles would work with my hair type. I brought photos of over eight hair styles that I couldn't decide on, and Ann was able to consult and pick out a hair style that I love, and works for me.

    For my wedding day, Ann was a joy to work with. She is a true professional, and knew exactly where to set up shop. She made me feel at ease on an otherwise hectic day, and gave me tips on how to keep my make up for the rest of the day. Ann uses high quality professional make up that lasts the entire day. I didn't even have to do any touch up, she's that good. Ann even mixed my very own lip gloss shade, and gave me some extra in a small jar in case I need it. I finished my hair and make up on time and was ahead of schedule. I can't thank Ann enough, for making me feel like a beautiful bride on one of the most important days of my life.

    Sent on 09/29/2014
  • L

    Lisa · Married on 11/11/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ann Ho is very professional and she made me into a beautiful bride. She did my hair and make up and also did my mom's as well. She made my mom look really pretty. I loved how she took the time to place each individual eyelash to make my asian eyes bigger. She knows what she's doing and she's good at it. She arrived on time and got the job done in 2 hours for myself and spent less than an hour on my mom. We got to know each other and shared stories of each others bridal experiences. Thanks Ann!

    Sent on 01/06/2012
  • User2738070 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    WHAT A GEM! I went to ann for a makeup trial and got hair/makeup done for an engagement shoot. She's amazing...hair/makeup was flawless.

    She's really easy to work with and I love her business style; very detail oriented and organized. Before each appointment, ann will send her client a confirmation email (this has been a lifesaver especially if your schedule is jam packed).

    I love seeing her work her magic. She's done both a dramatic look and a natural look on me. Ann's just really good at enhancing a person's natural beauty. I've booked Ann about 4 times for hair and makeup and she makes me look perfect every time!!

    Sent on 10/26/2012
  • C

    Chomon · Married on 10/10/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I booked Ann Ho from stylesbyann.com to do my hair and makeup for my wedding. It’s one of my best decisions.

    Ann is someone who will give you her honest opinions and will not do something that will not look good on you. Since I have no experience with hair, the looks I want are not possible or not-good looking with my hair. She pointed out what I can get and cannot during consultation. I really like her professional feedback. I don't like the vendors who says "yeah, we can do whatever you want" because it might not be the best look for you and you will end up hating it.

    I love how she did my hair. I didn't get to do the trial, and I still wasn't sure of what I want on the wedding day. Ann just asked me a few questions and she did an amazing updo for me. I didn't want a low bun, so she gave me a very modern mid-high updo that I ended up loving so much. Her styles are very modern and sophisticated, unlike most salons that will give you same old updo they’ve been doing since 10-20 yrs ago.

    My hair stayed up intact for the whole day-night even with my veil on for most of the day. I didn't want to take it off at the end of the day.

    I am comfortable with makeup and I wear heavy, crazy eye makeup on weekends, so I was worried that I might not look special or different from my own makeup. But I was wrong. I looked so different in a softer way that I don't want to look like my old look after the wedding. I want to keep looking at myself the whole day. Everytime my groom mentioned how big my eyes were on that day, I am so glad Ann did big eyes for me. hehe. I’m greedy.

    Ann was very patient and took her time during the hair & makeup. She really cared about the details, and will not rush just to finish it up. She stayed until I was dressed up and helped me put the veil, and even gave me lip-cream and instructions on how to maintain the makup for the whole day.

    Ann is flexible with timing and super quick in responding to emails. She’s the quickest to get a response among all my other vendors. Hair & makeup by Ann Ho is worth every penny of it. It is the best money I've spent on my budget wedding. It’s that worth it. Thanks Ann for making me beautiful! I am so glad that I booked you and that you are available for my day.

    Sent on 11/03/2010
  • C

    carrie · Married on 03/20/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Finding the right "dress" and the right "make up artist" were among the top priorities for my wedding planning. Let's be honest - we are brides and we want to look the most beautiful on our wedding day. After doing A LOT of research, I chose Ann and her team for their services for the wedding. Ann is truly talented and amazing in her craft. I can go on and on but go directly to her website and look at the makeovers - before and after shots. There are tons of reviews you can always find, but I needed data and proof. She is truly gifted and all knowing in her ability assess your features and work with your strength to make you the most beautiful you can be. If you can get her "booked," you are very lucky. She is in very high demand from both new and repeat clients, and I would book her VERY early. Aside from her talents, I really liked her professionalism. She was very reasonable and very honest. She addressed any concerns I had prior to the wedding. Even though she does know best, she will listen carefully to you and make sure you are happy with all the choices/ideas because she respects you as a client. Undoubtedly, you will spend several thousands of dollars on photography -- the photos are what remains from the wedding for years to come. You want to look your absolute best for that and for all your wedding guests..I was so incredibly fortunate to book her for my wedding day...I can honestly say that I looked amazing, and it was due to her magic with my hair and make up :)

    Sent on 06/05/2010
  • P

    Michelle · Married on 07/11/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ann helped make me look beautiful for our big day.

    I brought in some photos to show what look I was going for + we had a trial session prior to the wedding.

    I totally changed my mind on my style on the day of the wedding and Ann was so great about it - completely accomodating and understood exactly what I was going for.

    She has a natural talent with colors and with her technique is amazing.

    I highly recommend Ann, she made me feel at ease and everyone commented on the beautiful look, I felt like a star for a day =)

    Sent on 07/28/2009
  • P

    Ampy · Married on 06/20/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ann Ho is a true professional. She knows what works and what doesn't . She's open to ideas but for a person like me who is clueless with makeup, i rely on her decisions. Due to my hectic schedule, I never got a chance to do a trial with her. I had Ann do my hair and makeup on the day of my wedding. Ann did an amazing job! I was extremely pleased. Everyone complimented my hair and makeup. I truly recommend Styles by Ann if you want great hairstyle and makeup on any special occasions.

    Sent on 01/28/2011
  • L

    Phuong · Married on 05/22/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ann is truly talented and passionate at what she does. Her artistic hands can sculpt and enhance your natural beauty for any occasion. Ann did my hair and makeup for my wedding and her professionalism was top notch. I felt gorgeous on my special day and I also took my husbands breath away when he first saw me coming down the aisle. Thank you very much ANN!

    Sent on 06/01/2009
  • L

    Ly · Married on 05/09/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I'd booked Ann as my makeup artist for my prewedding pictures and my wedding. I love how i looked both times. I highly recommend her to anyone getting married soon.

    Sent on 05/23/2009
  • C

    shirey · Married on 05/09/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Hmm...where do I start. I stumbled upon Ann after reading a bad yelp review on a different makeup artist and it had a link to Ann's website as the person the bride decided to choose. After seeing Ann's work, I was amazed. At first I thought the price was out of my budget, but after my trial hair and makeup, I realized what I paying for. Ann is so great at everything she does and I couldn't imagine working with anyone except Ann. She has the best personality and you can tell she wants the best for you.
    She did a phenomenal job for my wedding hair and makeup and touch-up before reception. Her assistants did a great job on my bridesmaids too. Everyone said I was beautiful and gorgeous and would say that Ann did a great job. She's always on time and honest and really truly cares about the bride looking and feeling her best on her big day. She's worth every penny...her work is priceless and she'll make you look better than you have ever looked in your life. I highly recommend her. =)

    Sent on 05/26/2009
  • P

    Patty · Married on 03/21/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wow...Ann is the best. She replied to all my emails so quickly every single time. I was really stressed and had lots of questions, and she answered them so clearly. I came in for the trial with my sister and a friend, because i am one of those people who is just never sure what i want and always needs a second opinion. Ann made me feel so comfortable. She went over all the details of the makeup. She is so knowledgeable about makeup and hair. She gave us so much info about beauty and tips about makeup. The makeup trial came out so beautiful, but let me tell you what she can do about hair. I had also gone to my regular hairdresser to get a consult and it was horrible. Ann did the most beautiful updo on me. I can just go on about this.

    On my wedding day, Ann made me even more glam than the trial. It is so amazing! Everyone thought my makeup and hair was so great on the trial, but was even more impressed when they saw me on my wedding day. I really felt sooo pretty. If you are getting married soon, i suggest you go to Ann. She gets booked up really fast, so grab her if you can.

    Sent on 03/27/2009
  • E

    elise · Married on 03/21/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I live in NYC, but I got married in Carmel, CA in March 2009... I thought booking a makeup artist from a distance would be a tough task. My photographer sent me pics of a wedding he shot before and when I saw the bride, I immediately asked him who the stylist was b/c that's the way I wanted to look... romantic and womanly, not too cute and overdone... my photographer sent me Ann's info and after emailing with her, I booked her for my wedding.

    In planning for my wedding, I found her to be so responsive and involved... she asked me questions about what style I wanted and no matter when I sent her an email or how long the email was, I found a quick response from her with all the answers. Ann is so easy to work with and made me feel like she was as focused on my wedding as I was.

    The makeup and hairstyle on the day of the wedding was even more than I could have imagined. Everything was flawless and I've had so many comments about how wonderful and glowing I looked that day. I can't say enough about how above and beyond Ann is in terms of doing hair and makeup. I didn't even have a trial with her so she was able to do a perfect job based on a few email exchanges. I would recommend her to anyone and would welcome emails about Ann.

    Sent on 04/19/2009
  • A

    Analyn · Married on 08/08/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I had done a search for a makeup artist for months, and i wasn't sure who to book. I came across Styles By Ann on yahoo search. I was so amazed by her portfolio, that i had to come in to give Ann a try. We met for the trial and she was so fun to talk to. She told me about airbrush makeup and we gave that a try. Though i ended up not doing airbrush i am happy i had listen to Ann and gave it a try anyways. She was really honest about airbrush. I had spoken to other artist in the past and they never told me a thing about what the downs of airbrush. Ann was so honest. After she was done with the makeup i was already pleased, but when she was sone with my hair WOW...i looked so amazing! I came home and when i walked through the door my sister said i look amazing, that i should get my makeup done like that everyday. I also ended up taking a makeup lesson from Ann. The class was also great. I learned so much and now i try to make an effort to do my makeup. I highly recommend Ann to all the brides-to-be!!! YOu can not make a mistake if you book Ann!!

    Sent on 12/31/2008
  • D

    Diane · Married on 04/17/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My wedding was on April 17th. Ann Ho was my makeup artist and hairstylist. After going through several trials with other artist i was about to give up, but then i was referred to her. I have the difficult asian eyes to do and i was so amazed by what she had done. She made my eye stand out so much and my skin so flawless. I felt like a star that day. Everyone complimented about what i had looked like. People are still talking about it now. My picutres turned out so beautiful as well. I highly recommend going to Ann if you are going anyehere special. She is soooo awesome!

    Sent on 12/04/2008
  • Michael

    Michael · Married on 04/04/2009

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ann has been doing my Hair & Makeup every single time I go to the weddings or parties and she does an amazing job all the time!!!

    I got married about a week ago and every girls want to be a beautiful BRIDE on the wedding day, and the only person that I can think off is ANN and I booked her as my makeup artist & hair stylist and she made me look absolutely stunning !!! Everyone commented on how beautiful I looked on my wedding day. Her assistants also did Makeup & hair for my bridesmaids, my family and they look gorgeous.

    You will see how she turned not so attractive looking girls into beauty queens. She takes her time to ensure that every level of makeup is done correctly. She takes her time but the end result is obvious. It's not one of those 10 minutes makeup that is done by makeup artists who tries to sneak an hour of your time to do a 10 minutes makeup. She ensures layers of concealers, foundations are placed before the makeup is done so that it doesn't show carelessness that many makeup artists tend to do these days. Not only is her work great, but she is a very people-person that is easy to get along with.

    I highly recommend her!

    Thank you so much for everything Ann.

    Sent on 04/13/2009
  • S

    Sharine · Married on 05/23/2009

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ann is an amazing makeup artist.
    I was very happy with her work, and got lots of compliments on it too!
    She is very good, therefore very popular, so she books up fast.

    I can't say enough good things about her.. She is very knowledgable and talented at what she does.
    Any bride who gets their makeup done by Ann is very lucky and has one less thing to worry about!

    Sent on 06/15/2009

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review