Style & Beauty by Kara Allan, LLC Reviews

20 | Lorton, VA
See photos, pricing and details

20 Reviews for Style & Beauty by Kara Allan, LLC

Recommended by 92%

20
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2010 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2009 Winner

4.6 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.6
  • Professionalism 4.5
  • Flexibility 4.7
  • Value 4.4
  • Average response time 4.7
Sort by:
  • K

    Kimberly · Married on 10/16/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I have never been so pleased with a makeup artist, and I have tried several in the DC/Metro area. The service and artistic quality of work I recieved from Kara is second to none. She not only came to my home prior to my wedding day and did an entire run through of my wedding day look, she also came to me on wedding day and took care of the makeup for not only me, but for my mom and bridesmaids as well. If you are looking for someone that truly gives you "the look" you are going for, then please look no further than Kara. I would recommend her in an heartbeat!

    Kimberly

    Sent on 12/08/2010
  • A

    Angela · Married on 09/26/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kara and Yasin were great! I got so many compliments on my hair and makeup the day of the wedding and both held up until the end of the day. Yasin was able to do my hair exactly the way I wanted it in both the trial run and the day of the wedding and Kara made changes to my wedding day makeup based off comments I made at the trial run. They were both very flexible and responsive to all my questions and concerns. Only thing I would change is my lipstick. It was off by the middle of the reception and I wish I would have used one of those permanent lipsticks. I look a little washed out in some of the photos later in the evening.

    Sent on 10/12/2009
  • S

    Samantha · Married on 10/12/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kara was wonderful, and I felt so glamourous on my wedding day!

    Sent on 10/18/2008
  • A

    Abigail · Married on 10/11/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    It was a pleasure working with Kara Allan and her partner Jessica (hair stylist) for my wedding day. I received many compliments on their work. They were easy to work with and had a flexible schedule. Also I learned much about makeup and being a woman in business (different field). Not only do I recommend her for wedding services, but also for her other services as well. I look forward to working with her again in some of her other services.

    Sent on 10/27/2008
  • S

    Shauna · Married on 08/16/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kara did a wonderful job on my makeup for my wedding. Her work was flawless, and my guests complimented me – and Kara all day!! I truly appreciate that she brought my vision of bridal beauty to life, and I am happy to recommend her to my friends.

    Sent on 12/28/2008
  • J

    Julie · Married on 06/28/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kara is an amazing make-up artist. She was easy going and fun to work with. Her make-up skill was excellent. I got so emotional on my wedding day, even after sobbing all through the ceremony and through my dance with my dad, the make-up stayed the same all night long. All my bridesmaids loved their make up also. I would definitely recommend Kara to other brides and bridesmaids.

    Sent on 07/07/2008
  • H

    Karmen · Married on 06/21/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    La Femme did a wonderful job on my hair and makeup! It was one of the best decisions I made in wedding planning. Imagine having to be ready at 8:30am and having to worry about hair and makeup. Thank God Kara was there and I got soooooo many compliments on my makeup and hair. I really felt like the most beautiful person in the world that day. I highly highly highly recommend La Femme. Ohhh, and the makeup and hair was soooo natural. It was very very glamorous but natural. The makeup stayed on the whole day from 8:30am till 11pm. I didn't even have to powder during the day. It didn't feel caked on either. It was light and soooo natural. Highly highly recommend!

    Sent on 10/12/2008
  • G

    Gigi · Married on 10/21/2007

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    She is very friendly and professional

    Sent on 10/23/2007
  • T

    Tamia · Married on 05/27/2007

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kara Alford is a great makeup artist. Her knowledge of beauty tips and advice was great. She has an abundant collection of makeup and beauty products for every skin type and color. She was very professional at all times. I trusted her with my most important asset..my face...and she really delivered. I received many compliments on the day of my wedding for my makeup alone. I would definitely recommend Kara Alford in the future!

    Sent on 06/12/2007
  • S

    Sheila · Married on 05/26/2007

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I was extremely pleased with Kara's service.

    Sent on 06/12/2007
  • J

    Joyce · Married on 05/12/2007

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kara and Connie made me look and feel like a princess on my big day.They were both very professional.I would definitely recommend them to others or would use their services if i should have a function.

    Sent on 06/21/2007
  • K

    Kimberly · Married on 04/11/2009

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kara and her hairstylist Jessica did a fantastic job with my hair and make-up. I took a risk by not selecting my “look” ahead of time, and instead asked them to use their experience to make me look my best. I was very pleased with the outcome of their suggestions.

    Kara was very professional prior to the event, and always promptly responded to questions I sent via e-mail. I would definitely recommend her services to other brides.

    Sent on 05/18/2009
  • G

    Gail · Married on 11/10/2007

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kara was very flexible and aimed to please. She took the time to get my makeup right and was willing to make changes with previous decisions I made. It was very natural. She was so much fun, she even stuck around to help us get dressed. The only thing that I would have changed was that she was so nice and gave me so many options, that it got a little overwhelming. As a bride I was not sure how much or how little to wear and what colors to go with.

    Sent on 02/21/2008
  • S

    Sue · Married on 05/24/2009

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Kara and Jessica did our make-up and hair beautifully. I would recommend them to my friends for future events.

    Sent on 05/27/2009
  • M

    Melania · Married on 05/08/2009

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      3.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kara was great. She did 7 persons, ranging from 36 to 75, and everybody was very happy with how they looked. She also adapted to my time, my lack of memory to call her or contact her, and she was very responsive to our needs. She also adapted to different styles, from very natural, to very dramatic. Thank you, Kara.

    Sent on 05/24/2009
  • K

    Kristin · Married on 06/06/2009

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Kara and her associate did a wonderful job on my bridesmaids, mother, mother in law and myself. I would recommend her to anyone who asked. Everyone looked so beautiful . They came on site to do makeup which made everything run that much smoother!

    Sent on 06/11/2009
  • V

    Michelle · Married on 02/14/2009

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.5

    I planned my wedding in less than 3 weeks. Amongst the chaos, my original makeup artist bailed on me. I located Kara Allan on the web and immediately called her. She was very responsive and extremely flexible to fit me into her schedule on such short notice. We didn't have an opportunity to meet beforehand and she knew nothing about me. She did an amazing job turning me into a beautiful bride. Her work was so astonding that I even went out afterwards and purchased the same makeup that she applied so I can continue the look on a regular basis. I would recommend Kara to anyone who is a perfectionist. She did a remarkable job.

    Sent on 03/12/2009
  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 03/15/2008

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    We had a fabulous time - Kara and Jessica were awesome!

    Sent on 04/08/2008
  • B

    Kristine · Married on 06/06/2009

    2.8
    • Quality of service:
      3.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      2.0

    We hired a team for both hair and make-up. The team's skill is undeniable: My bridesmaids and I looked great the whole night.

    However, working with the team was stressful. After waiting about a month for an appointment, I was asked to reschedule it. It took several days to plan another time to meet. The day of, the appointment was pushed back. The team, however, did an absolutely fantastic job and were very easy to get along with and fun -- so I decided to choose them.

    A week before the wedding I received an e-mail that the hair person would not be able to make it, and that Kara had found a replacement. However, the replacement cost more. I was, understandably, upset. The situation was straightened out -- the woman who did my trial (and had done such a fantastic job) could make it.

    The day of the wedding the hair person arrived on time, and did an excellent job. However, due to traffic, the make-up person arrived over an hour late. We ended up missing the time we had scheduled to take photographs of the bridesmaids and I.




    Sent on 06/11/2009
  • M

    Jayleen · Married on 04/18/2009

    2.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      2.5
    • Value:
      2.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      2.5

    Kara was professional when I talked to her on the phone, and sent me information through e-mail quickly whenever I had a question. I had set up a trial run for make-up and hair, and two days beforehand she wanted to change the time to do my hair. I didn't appreciate the last minute change question since she knew that I had set up my bridal portraits around her trial run. I understood why she wanted to change it since she the lady that did my hair had no idea what do with permed hair, but she should have thought about that ahead of time. Her make-up part was absolutely beautiful. The problem the day of the wedding was that she was late getting to the hotel, and it made us late to our ceremony site. She told me that each person would get lipstick for touch-ups, but when one of my bridesmaids asked her about it, she just got a deer in the headlight look.

    Sent on 04/28/2009

    Style & Beauty by Kara Allan, LLC's reply:

    The hairdresser that I was using for the brides wedding had become increasing unreliable with showing up on time or at all. I wanted to change the person I was using but the bride was adamant about keeping her appointment. I had a bride whose hair took a lot longer before hand the same day and did end up running a little late. The only person that was promised a lip gloss was the bride. I gave one of the girls one as a courtesy but I that is not a normal practice.

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review