Stout's Island Lodge Reviews

9 | Birchwood, WI
See photos, pricing and details

9 Reviews for Stout's Island Lodge

Recommended by 95%

9

4.7 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.8
  • Professionalism 4.7
  • Flexibility 4.8
  • Value 4.4
  • Average response time 4.9

6 User photos

Stout's Island Lodge 1
Stout's Island Lodge 2
Stout's Island Lodge 3
Stout's Island Lodge 4
Stout's Island Lodge 5
Stout's Island Lodge 6
Sort by:
  • L

    Lauren · Married on 09/20/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our wedding at Stout's Island Lodge was absolutely perfect! The island itself is already a very special and beautiful place, so to add a wedding to that mix is really special. Our guests loved the activities and grounds of the island, and enjoyed the lodge and the wonderful rooms. From the ferry staff to the general manager and owner, everyone worked tirelessly to make sure our wedding was perfect. Everything we brought with us was taken care of and whisked from the ferry right to our rooms or event space. They even packed it all up for us and put it back on the ferry at the end of the weekend. There are so many things that the staff did for us during this weekend, but one thing that really stands out in my mind is right before our band started to play, there was a huge rainstorm. We had the sides of the tent off until this point because it was a gorgeous day. All of the staff including the general manager and owner were running around soaking wet, putting the sides up as fast they could, all the while smiling and working so hard just to keep us all dry and the party going. After planning with Stephanie and Emily all year and then to have such amazing support from them and the rest of the staff, I really felt like everyone who worked there was like family by the end of the weekend. I could go on and on about Stout's and what a perfect place it is to bring everyone that you love together for a wedding. We've heard from so many of our guests that it was the most fun and special wedding that they've ever been a part of. I wish we could do it all over again, and we are so excited to go back for many anniversaries to come!

    Sent on 10/07/2014
  • A

    Ashley · Married on 08/10/2017

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    From the first phone call until the last ride back to the parking lot, we were beyond happy with our choice of getting married at Stout's. Emily not only exceeded our expectations but took the time to go the extra mile to ensure that we had solid communication and attention (even during a transition time for Christine--thanks for your help in the beginning). The island is beautiful and offers something for everyone--kayaking, canoeing, swimming, bags, bonfires, cozy cabins, exceptional food, and fireplaces galore. We were able to host an intimate ceremony overlooking the lake and a reception that matched our personalities. The staff at our wedding was very friendly. Kelly the gardener wanted to ensure that we had an extra special touch by providing us fresh flowers at our door. Chef did a fantastic job catering to our individual desires along with a guest with food allergies. The food was enjoyed by all our guests (seriously consider the mac 'n cheese)! There are a lot of reasons why we love this place, and we look forward to our next trip! If you are considering a unique experience for your guests, look no further. A boat ride to a private island, plenty of activities to enjoy, beautiful scenery, and minimal decorations needed set the stage for the perfect day. Thank you, Emily! Thank you to Chef! Thank you to all who helped make our experience one that we will never forget!

    Sent on 11/28/2017
    Stout's Island Lodge 7
    Stout's Island Lodge 8
    Stout's Island Lodge 9
    Stout's Island Lodge 10
    Stout's Island Lodge 11
    Stout's Island Lodge 12
  • J

    Jackie · Married on 06/27/2015

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Stout’s Island provided us with a wedding experience that blew our expectations and hopes out of the water. We were looking for a unique wedding venue, and Stout’s Island Lodge definitely delivered. We had a wedding in late June and really loved having the chance to spend the whole weekend with our guests. The grounds were stunning. We had beautiful weather, and our guests really enjoyed taking advantage of the many different water toys, yard games, bonfires at night, etc. These experiences coupled with the great food and cocktails allowed all of our guests to bond and have a great time. A month later, people are still asking us if we can make this an annual event.
    In addition, I can’t praise the staff at Stout’s Island enough. Every staff member who we encountered was friendly and helpful. In our case though, the staff truly went above and beyond when one of our vendors showed up and forgot a number of items. For example, when the flowers for our wedding arch were forgotten, the staff at Stout’s Island recognized that we were in a pinch. Without me even knowing that this was an issue at the time, the staff members started to pull flowers from the gardens on the property and beautifully decorated the arch. Stout’s Island, we can’t thank you enough!

    Sent on 07/27/2015
  • S

    Sabrina · Married on 08/22/2015

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Stout's Island Lodge is a beautiful venue. My husband and I chose it because of the picturesque views everywhere on the island. Our wedding had 100-120 guests so it was a little more expensive to have it on the island but it was worth it to us. They listened to our requests and set everything up. They set up the tent, made sure tables were set up beautifully, and made all of our guests feel welcome. Everyone was raving about how it was the most beautiful wedding and they wanted to go back there someday for a romantic getaway of their own. We will be going back. The manager and assistant managers were amazing -- Thank you Stephanie and Emily.

    Sent on 09/03/2015
  • K

    Kristi · Married on 07/12/2014

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Here is what we told our guests: When we set out to find the place we would begin the rest of our lives together, we wanted a place that exuded the essence of "togethery". A place where we could bring together all the most important people in our lives, who's faces we saw in our future, and who's families we were about to join together, all in one place. We wanted to wake up in the morning and see nothing but familiar faces while wandering around enjoying a cup of coffee, or having an afternoon cocktail. Something intimate, but not necessarily "small". Laid-back and low-key, but not necessarily overly casual. A place with character. Where we could bring our people together for the best weekend vacation we've ever had, and throw in a big party on Saturday Night.
    I can't even count how many guests had since commented on how ours was "THE" best wedding they had ever attended. Unique environment, beautiful setting, tons of fun, great service... all around the best experience they had ever had at a wedding.
    Beyond being the perfect venue, the staff was ridiculously helpful, very accommodating, and sooo nice. The food was amazing - better than I ever could have imagined in the middle of Northwoods Wisconsin, and rivals what we find in the city of Chicago, where we live. Hands down THE best trout I've ever had. The chef, Mike, was fantastic at giving us recommendations on what food & beverage selections would work best with our vision. Stephanie, the owner, was quite meticulous, in making sure every last thing was handled just the way we wanted it, and beyond. Emily, our site coordinator, was extremely pleasant, always responsive, and just made the whole process enjoyable. Which, is worth noting, is a HUGE plus. I dreaded planning the wedding from the start, and everyone at Stout's made it the most wonderful experience I could have imagined. We will be back for many more a weekend at the Lodge.

    Sent on 09/23/2014
  • K

    K. · Married on 07/26/2014

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    We hosted our wedding weekend at Stout's Island Lodge and it was an absolutely amazing setting for family and friends to spend the weekend together. We called it our "adult camp" weekend because there were so many fun ways to enjoy the island - from the swimming dock to the clay courts and lawn games - all of our guests were in awe.

    Stephanie and Emily were very professional and helped guide us on the overall event planning process. It was organized and we felt very take care of at the actual event. All hands were on deck to make it a special weekend for all. The food was tasty and they helped orchestrate ways to feed guests at times we were not hosting so people did not need to leave the island for anything. Food was delicious. Food and wine are a bit pricey, perhaps due to it being an island and needing to transport everything over, but the quality is great.

    Many guests including ourselves already have trips planned to go back!

    Sent on 09/24/2014
  • User4471439 · 2+ years ago

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Beautiful location and very helpful staff! This is truly a romantic fairy tale location great for all sorts of occasions; especially weddings. Best for smaller parties. The restaurant/chef on the island isn't bad at all, but it's definitely not great. Especially for the price, you would expect better taste. However, the staff is very helpful and the coordinator, Emily is very readily available.

    Sent on 10/14/2014
  • K

    Kate · Married on 06/21/2014

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Stout's Island Lodge is a fantastic and unique location. It provides a beautiful backdrop that's unlike many venues and the staff was great to work with. I'm so happy we had our wedding weekend here and I'd do it again in a heartbeat!

    Sent on 09/30/2014

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review