Skip to main content
Weddings

Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Des Moines Reviews

Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Des Moines

Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Des Moines

Johnston, IA
4.6 out of 5 rating, 23 Reviews
View more information

23 Reviews

Rated
4.6
out of 5.0
Recommended by 92% of couples
  • Quality of service
    4.5 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    4.7 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.7 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.5 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.6 out of 5 rating

Awards

23
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
  • Kendra
    Kendra R. Married on 09/07/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Great experience!

    I loved having our reception at Stoney Creek! I worked with Raegan and she handled everything and made the night go so smooth! We had a wonderful time!
  • A
    Alicia M. Married on 08/24/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Wonderful Wedding Experience!

    This was a wonderful wedding space! Very flexible to our needs and we loved the suit that was included. So convenient for us and our guest to stay at!!!
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • H
    Heather Married on 05/05/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We had an amazing wedding at Stoney Creek. The staff is spectacular! They are very organized and friendly. I had so much confidence on our wedding day and leading up to the day that the event was going to run smoothly. Thank you so much for taking care of us!
  • S
    Sarah Married on 03/17/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We are in love with Stoney Creek. The staff is amazing and it’s beautiful. They’ve helped us with catering issues, figuring out how to do the bar, and many other questions. We cannot wait for our big day we know it’s going to be amazing.
  • G
    Greg Married on 12/02/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Reasonable price, great atmosphere
  • T
    Tenicia Married on 09/23/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    My husband and I had an absolutely wonderful experience having our wedding ceremony and reception at Stoney Creek in Johnston! They were very accommodating and could not have asked for anything better!
  • M
    Matt Married on 08/19/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Molly and the staff at Stoney Creek was great! From the 1st visit to the venue to the end of our wedding they were absolutely amazing!! So great to work with and answered all our questions! Thank you Molly and Stoney Creek for making our wedding day so great!

    Matty and Nathan
  • M
    Mackenzie Married on 07/01/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We chose Stoney Creek for our wedding because of the incredible atmosphere. We are both very active people and love the outdoors. It was the perfect blend of rustic and elegant. Our guests absolutely loved it and everything was perfect. The staff was all very professional and did everything they could to make our day everything we dreamt of. We are so glad we chose Stoney Creek and will forever cherish our memories.
  • A
    Amy Married on 06/17/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We loved Molly! She was extremely helpful and made our wedding day perfect!
  • A
    Ashli Married on 06/03/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    This venue is very nice and did everything possible to accommodate us. They answered all of my questions as they arose and always got back to me within the same day of me emailing them. You do have to select a food vendor from their listing. If you choose this venue, I would recommend not choosing Barattas for your food. Their food at the actual reception was not the same quality of food that we tasted during our tasting we had with Barattas. So choose one of their other food vendors. Overall the venue was exactly what we expected and everything went perfect.
  • J
    Jessica Married on 04/01/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    You have to check it out. It will be worth every penny.

    Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Des Moines's reply:

    Thanks so much, Jessica! We loved having you and your families here for your reception! Good luck and best wishes in your marriage!
  • C
    Carmen Married on 01/07/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Our wedding was top notch thanks to Stoney Creek in Des Moines! Molly & Krissi made sure everything was perfect! We absolutely loved every moment of our day. There really is no words to describe how relaxed it really was because Stoney Creek did it all for us! I highly recommend to any future Bride & Groom looking for a stress free way to celebrate your wedding & reception all in one place! So many memories were made on our special day! Thank you to the Stoney Creek Staff!
  • B
    Becca R. Married on 09/15/2018
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    A wonderful place for a wedding reception

    We had a great experience having our wedding reception at Stoney Creek. Alex was a kind and helpful resource!
  • A
    Andrea Married on 08/19/2017
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    As always Stoney Creek was amazing to work with. The staff is helpful and always happy. The facility is perfect for your wedding or any event. I will be back for another wedding.
  • K
    Kim Married on 10/21/2017
    4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      3.5 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    The staff did a great job prior to and during our event. It isn't cheap but it's a very nice place and convenient with the hotel right there.
  • R
    Rachel Married on 10/07/2017
    4.4 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      3.5 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    We had a great time at Stoney Creek! They have things down to a T and the venue itself was perfect - lots of space for tables, dancing, and dessert setup in the main room. The photobooth, bar, and food lines were outside the main room which helped the flow a lot and gave people plenty of spaces to congregate and spread out.
  • J
    Jenny Married on 05/31/2014
    4.4 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Overall, we had a good experience with Stoney Creek. Working with Megan up to that night was absolutely wonderful. She even allowed us to bring out decorations a little early and overflow her office! There was an issue with being understaffed for our actual wedding night. We had one bartender for a large crowd of 350 people, so people were waiting for a while. But, I made sure to let Stoney Creek know afterwards, and they were very sincere and interested in making it right which is great and says a lot about their management. I have also been to several events at Stoney Creek previously, and they went off without a hitch.
  • J
    Jill Married on 06/21/2008
    4.4 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Stoney Creek Inn was the perfect place to have our guests stay and for our reception. We loved the decor! The options of rooms and suites made it workable for all of our guests. We had a coordinator on-site during the reception and Stoney Creek responded to all our needs very quickly. We loved the complimentary whirlpool suite after the reception!
  • Katie
    Katie R. Married on 09/21/2019
    4 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.0 out of 5 rating

    Thanks Stoney Creek

    Raegan did a nice job answering any and all questions. She was unable to be there the day-of, but John was excellent at handling anything promptly both the night of the wedding and the next morning!
  • K
    Kara Married on 06/01/2013
    3.5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      3.5 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      3.5 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      2.5 out of 5 rating
    The staff at Stoney was great for helping us with our guests, getting them all in blocks, and handing out our welcome bags. You get a gift room for the following morning which is very nice. People liked the uniqueness of the hotel which was very nice and the suite for the bride and groom is great! There were some hidden fees we were not aware of until the week the bill was due which was frustrating. They said the bar in the hotel would be open until 2am (the reception was over at 12), but it closed between 12-12:30 so many of our guests then went downtown after the reception to continue the after party. It was worrisome to make sure they were safe during this process because many of them were expecting the hotel bar to stay open. In the hotel environment it can be difficult because you talk/work with different people, so these things can happen anywhere. We now know more of the questions to ask for future room rentals because of this process, but it was a very nice venue and we had a wonderful time none-the-less.
  • M
    Megan Married on 05/06/2017
    3.4 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    Nice facility and great staff, however, some small details forgotten. Example: floating candles in centerpieces. Dinner completed and all silverware/glasses picked up.. how are people to eat the cake and drink champagne. Was not given romance basket that was to be included in package. Room blocks only included king bed rooms.... What about families with children needing double beds???
  • J
    Jalisa Married on 09/07/2013
    2.7 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      3.5 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      2.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    I am very pleased with my wedding reception and I received many compliments on the venue. The night was flawless and the staff members working were very professional. However, getting to that day was an absolute nightmare. I felt like there was an issue every step of the way. The wedding package boasts many perks that other venues did not, but most of them are false advertising. We had to argue and fight for most of the things we wanted. At one point my mother was told they did not care if we had our reception there or not, but the deposit was still non refundable. A few guests had issues booking rooms directly from stoney creek in our block, but were able to book rooms on expedia.com. I was confused the next day to find out that even though guests were told that the block was full there were left over welcome bags. We only made enough bags for the rooms in the block. The only parts of the actual wedding night I was unhappy with were that the bartenders inside the venue were not telling the guests that the keg beer was free and that the hotel bar was closed before our reception ended at midnight when we were told it would stay open until 2 AM. For as expensive as everything is at Stoney Creek, I expected for them to be more willing to make sure we were happy through the entire process. I would suggest the venue to anyone who is willing to fight for what they are paying for, but I do think that there are places that are more willing to keep their costumers happy.
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message