Stone Oven Catering (Mobile Wood Fired Pizza) Reviews

15 | Exeter, NH
See photos, pricing and details

15 Reviews for Stone Oven Catering (Mobile Wood Fired Pizza)

Recommended by 94% of couples

4.7 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.7
  • Professionalism 4.6
  • Flexibility 4.7
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 4.7

Awards

15

9 User photos

Order by:
  • Cass

    Cass · Married on 10/13/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing- hire them now!

    I can't say enough about the service, the food, or the passion behind it all.
    Tim was great with communication and planning. He hadn't been at our venue before so we met there ahead of the wedding so he could see the space and we could talk about the menu. I'm the daughter of a chef, so I can see when someone is just passionate about good food, top ingredients and creativity with the menu. We were able to do special requests for appetizers and they even suggested we create "Alex Pizza" and "Cass Pizza" for guests to choose from. My biggest regret is that I was never able to get out of the reception room to visit them and see the set up, but they were always making sure my wife and I had food and were happy while we were busily chatting and dancing with guests. They even made sure we had a pizza each to go to the hotel with that night. Honestly, after the big party and finally sitting in comfortable clothes in my hotel room with just my new wife and me eating the literal best pizza I've had in YEARS was a major highlight of the whole night for me.
    The price was so reasonable I still can't believe the deal we got. I can't recommend them enough. One of the best decisions we made for our wedding.

    Sent on 11/03/2018
  • N

    Nikita Bruns · Married on 09/01/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Stone Oven Catering is absolutely INCREDIBLE.

    I could go on and on about this company, because it was 100% the absolute best decision we made for our wedding guests. The food was absolutely delicious, the service was beyond friendly, and they are so flexible. Tim responded right away with any questions we had, he helped us build a menu that would work for all guests, and even made special items by demand for our family and friends. If you amazing catering, Stone Oven Catering is it.

    Thank you for all you guys did for us!

    Sent on 12/24/2018
  • C

    Casey · Married on 08/18/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We are so happy that we chose Stone Oven Catering for our wedding. We both love pizza, and we wanted to offer delicious and unique food for our wedding reception. Tim accommodated our request to have a customized pizza for the bride and groom, which guests really enjoyed. Guests also enjoyed the variety of appetizers - chicken wings, charcuterie, and dips and spreads. Tim was great to work with, and accommodated our budget and needs. Best of all, Tim and his team boxed up pizzas for us to take at the end of the night!

    Sent on 09/04/2018
  • Samantha

    Samantha · Married on 07/07/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Exceptional!

    Tim was absolutely amazing to work with. From the very beginning, he was super helpful, friendly and knowledgeable. He had answers to all the questions I had, and asked questions that I hadn't even thought of. His level of professionalism and presentation is incredible.

    I honestly cannot say enough good things about Stone Oven Catering. Tim went above and beyond and was very flexible with me. He worked within my budget and delivered on everything he said he would. My fiance and I knew that we wanted pizza at our wedding and it was more than we could have hoped for. We also had Tim do appetizers for us and again, we were blown away. Everything was delicious and our guests are still raving about the food months later. I have family from NY & NJ who are very picky about their pizza, and they raved about the food. Honestly, everything was so, so good.

    Additionally, when we ran into a logistics issue with putting out our desserts. Tim's team stepped in to make sure that everything went smoothly and definitely went out of their way to make sure everything was perfect for us. My only regret is that I did not get a chance to eat more of the food!

    As a side note, I have also used Stone Oven Catering for a few corporate events with my work, and they never disappoint. Do not hesitate, book them now! :)

    Sent on 11/30/2018
  • L

    Lauren · Married on 06/23/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We chose Stone Oven for our wedding in June and had the best experience! Tim is very responsive and always willing to talk through the details. The appetizer, pizza and salad buffet was the perfect option for us- it seemed more our style but they still do it in a tasteful way where it doesn't seem too casual. The buffet was beautiful and everyone commented how delicious the pizza was!

    Sent on 08/08/2018
  • J

    j · Married on 05/26/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I hired Stone Oven Catering for our wedding and were thrilled with the outcome. We had a backyard reception under a beautiful sail cloth tent, and wanted a dinner that was yummy, fun, and memorable. We got all of the above!

    We had two main concerns leading up to the wedding that Tim and his team alleviated:

    First, our worry was that a pizza truck would be too informal for our older relatives, a New York City crowd, and somewhat formal reception attire (my husband wore a tuxedo and our male guests were at bare minimum in khakis/sport coats, but most were in full suits). However, Tim and his team did a fantastic job making delicious food that looked high quality and was well-presented. Moreover, he was so helpful in ensuring that our guests' food allergies were met. He had gluten free dough, dairy free pizzas, and even went as far as sourcing dough with no eggs in them for two individuals with egg allergies.

    Second, we fretted that a single pizza truck could not feed our 175 guests in an appropriate amount of time. It turns out, we had nothing to worry about because all our guests were fed during the roughly 1 hour speeches/dinner slot AND had opportunity to go up for seconds. The best part was that Tim and his team even made about 15 extra boxes of pizzas for us to have at the end of the night. I will never forget leading our wedding guests through town towards the bar we were having our after party at, while simultaneously eating pizza.

    Tim, his wife, and his team were superb and we would 1000% have them cater our wedding again. The value proposition is great, and our guests loved having a different wedding reception dinner experience! Thank you Stone Oven Catering!


    ***

    As an aside: Tim has a team that staffs the truck and the buffet. However, we separately hired 6 servers to bus/clean up our wedding.

    Sent on 08/15/2018
  • A

    Amber · Married on 09/23/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I am so happy we went with this different, yet fun, AND delish dinner choice for our wedding! He was prompt, professional, and really delivered artisan pizza! So happy we went with them!

    Sent on 09/27/2017
  • J

    Jessie · Married on 10/22/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Tim and his crew were fantastic to work with. We had a terrible storm hit us during our wedding that threw off our plans for the food but they helped us adapt and make the most out of a crazy situation. My wedding was beautiful and memorable and everyone loved the pizza.

    We chose this option because of how affordable it was. When I realized that food for weddings usually ran $40-$100 per person I was floored and I had no idea how to afford it. Stone Oven Catering's prices are extremely reasonable and we were able to feed over 90 people with pizza and ceasar salad in under $2000.

    Sent on 11/13/2016
  • S

    Stephanie · Married on 10/09/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Tim with Stone Oven Catering is fantastic! I highly recommend him for a wedding or any other event!! My husband and I knew we wanted pizza for our wedding, and I found Stone Oven online right away. From the start Tim was incredibly accommodating, responsive and fun to work with. He was willing to work with our budget and provide exactly what we were looking for. Not to mention the pizzas themselves, which are DELICIOUS! He makes them fresh in his stone oven right at the event, and they were a hit! Multiple guests told me this was the best wedding food they had ever had! He even has a delicious gluten-free crust that my family loved, so everyone was able to enjoy some stone oven pizza :) He took requests, and even made a few pizzas for my husband and me to take with us at the end of the night. Stone Oven Catering was amazing, and we could not have asked for a better caterer for our dream wedding day!

    Sent on 10/17/2016
  • A

    Alaina · Married on 10/17/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Tim, his team, the food...everything was amazing! We were planning from afar, and Tim was easy to work with by phone and by email. Not only do they provide pizza, but they will also purchase the plates, flatware, and napkins for your event to use (all disposable). We also worked with them to have appetizers (delicious!) and an extra staff person to help serve cake. All of the staff were so nice, even bringing my husband and me pizzas as we were too busy to go out and order.

    The cherry on top was the extra pizzas they boxed up for us at the end of the night to take home.

    We are so glad we went with Stone Oven Catering for our wedding. I would highly recommend them to anyone looking for an alternative to a 'traditional' caterer.

    Thank you, Tim and Stone Oven Catering, for making our day special!

    Sent on 10/19/2015
  • B

    Bruce · Married on 10/10/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Outstanding professional group of young people with their act together!!! This caterer proves there is still impeccable service and quality food out their to be found. This is the ultimate fire brick oven pizza. Managers and servers were over the top with customer service, special requests, delivering hand crafted pizza to each table while using freshest ingredients resulting in exceptional food. Would definitely use again and again...

    Sent on 10/16/2015
  • Cyrena

    Cyrena · Married on 06/13/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I wanted a laid back backyard wedding reception with out favorite food, pizza. Right from the start, we hit it off with Tim, who is the nicest and easiest guy to work with. He really helped us get the dynamic we wanted for our reception and took every one of my calls and answered every one of my questions about every dinner detail. It all worked out perfectly just as planned, and the quality of his food is outstanding. Everyone loved every single thing he made. Better yet, he even made sure my husband and I ate and personally has our favorite pizzas sent to us as we mingled. Tim went above and beyond and did a great job.

    Sent on 08/19/2015
  • H

    Heather · Married on 05/24/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Okay, so a month and a half later and people are still raving about the pizza at our wedding! How many weddings, honestly, do you go to that people are still complimenting the food afterwards? It was AWESOME! And Tim made everything just work perfectly! We had over 115 people served, including seconds and, yes, for some, thirds- in an hour and a half! The pizza was custom ordered to each guest's preference, and everyone was happy and full! Tim also provided all the appetizers for us, too, including two different types of pasta salads (with chicken), regular salad, veggies, cheese and crackers, and fruit- which were also very good! He was always very pleasant, detail oriented, and took care of EVERYTHING (even down to what types of plates and utensils we wanted, and sending a pizza to our table since we were so busy)! He was also easy to contact and work with, and very conscientious about staying within our budget but giving us the most "bang for our buck". He knows what he is doing and really helped make our special day fantastic! Tim, thank-you so much! I would, and have, recommended you to others, and if the occasion calls for it, I would definitely use your services again!

    Sent on 07/08/2015
  • Angie

    Angie · Married on 12/13/2014

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    If you're looking for great-tasting, casual food and a fantastic value, look no further. There were some things I wished I had communicated better as far as presentation goes, but the taste made up for any small quips. Tim is great at what he does, and made a menu for us that went beyond just "pizza." People complimented the food all night long.

    Sent on 04/15/2015
  • User5145911 · 2+ years ago

    1.0
    • Quality of service:
      1.0
    • Responsiveness:
      0.5
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      0.5
    • Professionalism:
      0.5

    Absolutely horrendous service! My fiance and I tried hiring Stone Oven Catering for our wedding this October. It was impossible to get them on the phone and the only way we were able to connect with them was through email. When trying to set up a meeting to go over details, Tim suggested we just 'show up' to one of the events he was working, not exactly the greatest of environments to go over the details of hiring a caterer for your wedding.

    Even after that we still wanted to go with Stone Oven for our wedding because we loved the idea of serving pizza, and because of the value... after about two weeks of non returned phone calls and emails they finally got back to us... to say that they were actually booked for that day! Very frustrating because we wasted so much time trying to get a hold of them that we were rushed to find another caterer with only a month left before our wedding. The icing on the cake? In that same email, he demanded why it had taken US so long to get back to him.

    Hopefully this review will serve as a warning for anyone looking into Stone Oven Catering for their event....

    Sent on 10/08/2015

    Stone Oven Catering (Mobile Wood Fired Pizza)'s reply:

    This person called us two months before their wedding date, and by luck we had just had a cancelation. They asked if we could come to their house to discuss their wedding plans, but it was in the middle of our busy season (after 4 years of great service, we book up fast) and I could not spend four hours driving and talking, I suggested that they come to one of our "public" events and we could talk then. ( most of our customers are referrals or people who have seen us at public events and plan and book their event with us over the phone and through email. People typically love this idea-they can see the beautiful oven, meet the staff and enjoy the delicious food. ( We are not a fancy caterer, most events are under $20 per person!) Immediately after the request to meet over an hour away, I received a request for another wedding on the same date. I told that person that I was waiting to hear back from someone else, and that I would get back to them. Our policy is to cater the first person who requests a day and sends a deposit.) I sent an email to follow up, but they did not respond, and I booked the other wedding. ( And if you called, you could have left a message). As far as "demanding why you didn't call" , I think I ask why you didn't respond, because I felt bad that we could not do your wedding. We are truly sorry that you are so upset that you felt the need to write such a scathing review of people you have never met, and whose food you have never tasted.