Stone Layne Baked Specialties Reviews

38 | Edmonds, WA
See photos, pricing and details

38 Reviews for Stone Layne Baked Specialties

Recommended by 100% of couples

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 4.9

Awards

38
Order by:
  • N

    Nicole · Married on 03/17/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I cannot say enough about how much I loved working with Elizabeth of Stone Layne Baked Specialties. I met Elizabeth at the wedding show 'Get Hitched, Give Hope' and immediately knew that I wanted to work with her. Her stunning cakes and vivacious personality is what initially drew me in, but then as we started talking, her story is really what close the deal. I love Elizabeth's holistic approach to baking, and the fact that she is GLUTEN-FREE is a MAJOR plus for a girl who has a family of celiacs (people allergic to gluten)!

    Once we booked Elizabeth the good news just kept coming in - her prices were extremely reasonable and she completely won over my father at out cake tasting since he was previously a 'nay sayer' to a gluten-free cake. We were also able to collaborate on additional desserts like Gluten-free macaroons and rice crispy treats for our guests to snack on during the reception. She had never done rice crispy treats before, but she was up to the challenge - which I loved!

    On the day of the wedding, Elizabeth pulled through 110%. The cake was flawless and was by far the most complimented and photographed piece of décor at the reception. All of the additional desserts were gone when the time came to cut the cake AND the cake was SO good that by the time my husband and I had a moment to even think about getting a full piece (aside from the one we fed each other) every last slice was gone - I guess this is to be expected since for a majority of my family this was the first time they were actually able to eat wedding cake. Fortunately, Elizabeth had our back AGAIN because when I told her that we did not get a chance to enjoy her delicious creation she made up a few little sample cakes and sent them to our home in California.

    If you are thinking about booking Stone Layne, please do yourself a favor and do it. This will be one aspect of your event that you will not have to worry about at all.

    Sent on 03/29/2016
  • A

    Alycia · Married on 10/01/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our wedding cake was not only beautiful, but so delicious!

    Sent on 10/21/2016
  • K

    Kier · Married on 08/28/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    A glowing review simply doesn't come close to the exceptional experience we had with Stone Layne when securing our wedding cake. As you can imagine looking for a Vegan wedding cake that well....doesn't taste vegan was hard. Not only did we find Stone Layne had vegan options but they were gluten free as well. The important message here is the taste, the service, the flexibility, were all incredible. Liz quite literally took an image of a cake I had in mind, mixed with a few internal ideas, and recreated it better than I could have ever imagined. Liz is incredibly professional while exuding the warmth of someone you feel like you have known your whole life and for anyone planning a wedding this is coveted in a vendor relationship. Not only did I use Stone Layne for our wedding cake but our family will continue to order from her for birthdays/celebrations/etc. for hopefully years to come!

    Sent on 01/09/2017
  • L

    Lauren · Married on 08/27/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Liz was amazing to work with! When I first reached out she was so kind over email and I couldn't wait to meet her. My fiance and I tried three of her cakes and honestly had the hardest time deciding. I dream of the next time I get to order a cake from Liz, they are so delicious! I was a bride that didn't know what style I wanted, I had my overall wedding theme down but when it came to cake design I was lost. Liz was so patient and really worked with us to grasp our wedding cake style. What we ended up on was perfect! She was so responsive and flexible, communication couldn't have been better. If you are looking for a gluten free cake that will wow your guests I highly recommend Stone Layne!

    Sent on 01/09/2017
  • A

    Amanda · Married on 08/13/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Absolutely delicious!!! You would never know these incredible cakes were gluten free. Elizabeth has perfected these recipes- moist, tender, flavorful cakes are the result. I highly recommend you try for yourself.

    Sent on 08/26/2016
  • M

    Marissa · Married on 07/23/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Elizabeth was a pleasure to work with! The cake for our wedding turned out beautiful and we received several compliments. She captured our style and decor perfectly, while helping to stay within budget. We had a very specific geometric look we were going for and she instantly captured our vision and helped us design the perfect cake. She offered great ideas as well. Not to mention, it was DELICIOUS! We would highly recommend using Stone Layne Baked Specialties!

    Sent on 11/03/2016
  • R

    Rebecca · Married on 07/17/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Liz was great to work with and cake turned out not only beautiful but absolutely delicious!!!

    Sent on 11/04/2016
  • K

    Kate · Married on 07/16/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    One of the biggest disappointments of my wedding night was that I only got a 1x1 inch square of my beautiful cake! The wedding went by so fast that my husband and I never got to sit down and actually eat our cake. It was a beautiful cake, minimal decor and full flavor. Elizabeth is a genius with cakes and I can not wait to have this cake again in a year, and actually eat a slice!

    Sent on 07/21/2016
  • User6935688 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our cake was not only beautiful, but delicious. Elizabeth modeled it off a photo I found on Pinterest. Many of our guests commented on how delicious our cake was. It was absolutely perfect and she was a pleasure to work with, very accommodating and professional. I would absolutely work with her again for future events!

    Sent on 07/08/2016
  • K

    Kendehl · Married on 04/30/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I LOVED working with Liz - there was no one else I wanted to do my wedding cake! We met at a wedding show and I just knew from our first meeting that she was the sort of person I would want to work with - sweet, enthusiastic, and her desserts were so, SO GOOD!

    She met with me and talked through design to help create my dream wedding cake. It came out even better than I had imagined - her skill in designing each flower is so amazing, it was hard to tell they weren't real. I am still so in love with it that looking at photos has me almost as dreamy-eyed as looking at photos of my new hubby, ha.

    I love, love, loved my wedding cake and seriously wish I could eat it all over again. What's more, it was gluten free - now I love me some gluten, but my sister-in-law has Celiac disease and has spent years avoiding the stuff. It was such a nice surprise to tell her she could eat as much cake as she wanted. :)

    Thank you Liz for being such an amazing part of our big day!

    Sent on 07/18/2016
  • User4377948 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Liz is amazing! She's the sweetest and is so good at her job! People at my wedding were raving about the cake, saying it was the best they had ever had at a wedding! And it was gluten free! I was so impressed! Can't wait for the 1 year anniversary cake! :)

    Sent on 11/08/2015
  • Mark

    Mark · Married on 10/17/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    If Jesus was a baker and was hanging out in 2015 baking, he would be a she and she would be called Elizabeth Rayborn of Stone Layne Baked Specialties. Basically my fiancé and daughter has a bunch of food sensitivities and Elizabeth went to town in her kitchen designing a cake that had the right texture and composition but none of the food stuffs that would upset my fiancé and daughter. On our wedding night, my wife got to party on cake like it was no ones' business and I who had starved myself so that I could fit into my tuxedo, wasted no time eating as much cake as possible. The cake was so awesome, I went around to every table and admonished anyone that wasn't eating it, ordered the service to collect any cake that was not touched and boxed up, but had the staff move the cake to my sweetheart table where I ate any half eaten cake. I easily had more cake then anyone at the wedding. Am I ashamed, No! I probably ate more than half the cake and gained 10 pounds, but did I care? No. I would do it again. Even if it meant that I had to starve myself for another month and run 100 miles, eating Elizabeth's cake is like the second most important thing to do on my wedding day, besides getting married. Like if on the eve of your wedding you are left at the alter, and you had Elizabeth's cake, it is not that bad of a wedding. It's a week later, and I'm writing this review with half eaten cake on my lap. I've been posting to Instagram and Facebook, cake shaming pictures. Pictures of me half naked in bed with an empty box of cake. All I can do is think about cake. My wife and I's first fight was about who was going to eat the last box of cake. My wife snuck eating a cake box that I hid in the freezer. This is serious people! Don't mess around with decisions that will haunt your marriage, hire the best cake person and do your wedding right. I highly recommend Orange Creamsicle and Carrot Cake. And if you have any left over cake, please call me, Mark 206-607-9415. Cake! Cake!

    Sent on 10/26/2015
  • H

    Hollie · Married on 09/26/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I was so ridiculously excited to find this bakery for our wedding cake, which of course meant that expectations were high - and Liz exceeded every one of them. She took my non-traditional design ideas and ran with them, and her cake flavors were as delicious as they sound. We got so many compliments, and I couldn't have been happier with the whole experience. I thought the prices were very reasonable too!

    Sent on 10/03/2015
  • B

    Brad · Married on 08/30/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Liz was fantastic to work with and such a wonderful sweet person. She was easily accessible, met with us on our schedule and delivered the cake promptly and perfectly. The cake was not only beautiful but absolutely delicious! As a long time gluten-free and dairy-free person, I am so ecstatic to have found her (and friends didn't even know it was gluten-free). I know I will be ordering more from her in the future for other events.

    Sent on 11/20/2015
  • R

    Rachel · Married on 08/29/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I am so fortunate we were able to find Stone Layne. My husband is gluten-free, and we knew we would have several GF guests. Before even trying the cake, we fell in love with Liz. She is awesome and someone you would live to have as a friend. Then... We tried her cakes. They were amazing. I loved her Vanilla the most and walker loved the salted chocolate. Her cakes are better than ones filled with gluten! All of our guests could not stop talking about it. Go with Stone Layne!

    Sent on 11/16/2015
  • User4589521 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had the best experience working with Liz and Stone Layne Baked Specialties! When we cake tasted (gluten & gluten free), Liz was the most friendly & professional, and had the best presentation with the most delicious samples. On the day of our wedding, we were delighted by our cake design and presentation, and the cake tasted as amazing as it looked. And the bonus: our cake was Gluten Free so all our guests were able to enjoy!

    Sent on 09/05/2015
  • S

    Stephanie · Married on 08/10/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our wedding cake turned out beautifully! Liz was super easy to work with from the beginning. She responds quickly to emails and is very flexible. We were coming in from Michigan and she allowed us to ship our cake stand and plates to her directly to save us the worry of them breaking while in luggage. I found a picture of the cake I wanted and she recreated it beautifully and even better than the picture! The cake tasted amazing and was literally the best wedding cake I've ever had by far!

    Sent on 11/17/2015
  • M

    Misao · Married on 08/08/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    If you are looking to work with someone who is creative, professional, and friendly, Liz is your gal! We met her for tasting and absolutely fell in love with her immediately! We got to sample her cakes at the meeting and everything was so delicious! I would absolutely work with her again when we have other big events in the future. :)

    Sent on 11/02/2016
  • User6901262 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Liz did an awesome job with our wedding cake! She helped design the cake by going through photos with me and identifying the elements that I loved but couldn’t name. The cake turned out even better than I hoped. She matched the colors to the wedding colors really well. It was gorgeous! And, of course, delicious! She was a pleasure to work with. I would definitely recommend her.

    Sent on 06/29/2016
  • M

    Melissa Lim · Married on 06/14/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing bakery! Our wedding cake was both beautiful and delicious. There wasn't a slice left, and hardly anyone could tell that it was both gluten and dairy free.

    Liz is creative and collaborative -- she really works with you to bring your ideas to life. She was very patient and worked with us to design the right cake for our 20,000 Leagues Under the Sea theme -- and it turned out better than we imagined. We ended up opting for a two layer cake with two flavors -- almond raspberry and orange creamsicle. The mini cakes she brought over for us to sample were generously portioned -- we could hardly finish it all!

    You really can't go wrong going with Stone Layne. Highly recommended!

    Sent on 07/28/2015
  • N

    Nicole · Married on 05/23/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Have you ever tasted something so delicious that you obsessed about it eating it again? That's what happened to me with our wedding cake. When we started our wedding planning, the only thing we knew was that our cake had to be gluten free but we didn't know where to start looking. It was by accident that we found a vintage wedding fair at a venue near our house where we tried the most glorious cake I've ever had and holy crap it was gluten free!

    We set up a time for her to come over to chat about her cakes as well as do a tasting. And let me tell you...just the tasting was worth it! She made us individual cakes to sample and it was freaking awesome. The banana cake with salted caramel filling and buttercream frosting is what I still drool over to this day! She was so personable and fun--I knew we had to book her.

    We had difficulty deciding how much cake to get because from the weddings we've gone to, there has always been too much cake leftover. We ended up going with a 2 tiered cake (6" and 8") and then a bunch of mini cupcakes. Our top layer was lemon with raspberry filling and bottom was banana with salted caramel (swoon). The mini cupcakes were blueberry lemon and chocolate vanilla swirl with coconut.

    The day of the wedding Elizabeth delivered the cakes and cupcakes and set them up exactly as expected...actually it turned out to be better than I dreamed. The presentation was gorgeous and I was thrilled. Instead of simply setting the cakes up and leaving, she came up to the bridal suite to give me a hug and wish me good luck. It meant a lot to me that she did that.

    Our guests ended up devouring the cake and cupcakes--so much that we weren't left with anything but a sliver of cake; they didn't even know it was gluten free! I HIGHLY recommend Stone Layne and will be using Elizabeth for any of my cake needs in the future. Even if you're not gluten intolerant, you will not be disappointed by the gloriousness that she creates for you. A+ all the way!

    Sent on 07/01/2015
  • User4047061 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I had the pleasure of meeting Liz from Stone Layne at the 2014 Get Hitched Give Hope auction and I couldn't have been luckier! I am not always a huge fan of cake, but when I tasted her samples I was blown away. They were so light and moist and full of flavor... after that I knew I had to work with her for my special day!
    Not only was the cake delicious, but my goodness it was gorgeous!!! The process of designing and tasting was amazing and Liz made me feel like we had known each other for years. We were able to work off of each other’s ideas and build my dream cake with just the right amount of whimsy, class and glam! I can’t wait to have another excuse to get a cake from Liz and Stone Layne!

    Sent on 06/24/2015
  • A

    Amanda · Married on 04/26/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Liz at Stoney Lane was the perfect baker for our wedding ceremony. We had a Doctor Who themed wedding and wanted cupcakes with special wrappers and a cake topper with special writing on top. We met with Liz a few months before the wedding and the moment we showed her the wrappers and photos of the design, she grabbed paper and pencil and began to sketch it out. She got our vision and ran with it, and the result was more than we ever dreamed of. Even more than that, the cake was absolutely delicious. She does gluten-free baking, and no one at our reception was able to tell. The cake went fast!

    Sent on 05/09/2015
  • User3872577 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Liz is so incredibly wonderful to work with, I wish I had more events coming up to hire her for! She is so sweet while being professional and straightforward. And her food is amazing! We are having her do a dessert bar, mini wedding cake and then she is also catering our post-wedding brunch with quiches and muffins.

    Sent on 03/08/2015
  • T

    Tanya · Married on 03/21/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We used Stone Layne Baked Specialties for the dessert spread at my daughter's 3/21/15 wedding as well as the brunch the following morning and can't say enough good things about it! Liz is professional, wonderful to work with, kind, flexible and great at what she does. Our guests raved and raved about the carrot cake, chocolate mousse cups, brownies, frosted sugar cookies and fruit tarts, as well as the quiches and muffins the next day. We don't even need gluten free products but went with Stone Layne after tasting some of Liz's great samples at a wedding fair, and finding her so easy to work with. Highly recommended in every way - you'll be glad you used Stone Layne.

    Sent on 04/02/2015