Weddings

Stone House Bakery Reviews

Stone House Bakery View more information

29 Reviews

Rated
4.8
out of 5.0
Recommended by 95% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 4.6 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.8 out of 5

Awards

  • 29

20 User photos

Sort by:
  • Jackie
    Jackie V. Married on 09/26/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing Wedding Cake

    We had a Stone House cake at our wedding and it was absolutely delicious! My husband and I sampled several other bakers before meeting Lois and there wasn't even a comparison. All of our guests couldn't stop raving about it and on top of that, it was very reasonably priced!! I highly recommend this shop for wedding cakes.
  • Danielle
    Danielle P. Married on 10/24/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Great Desserts!

    We wanted to have a dessert buffet but due to Covid it couldn't happen. Lois did a great job turning my buffet ideas into a dessert box sampler my guests could enjoy! Our cake we had for cutting was so good! Everyone loved our desserts!
  • A
    Ashley O. Married on 08/29/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing deserts and excellent customer service

    This bakery is one of my favorite places so it was a no brained that we were gonna use them for our wedding day. We had our cake tasting here and it was out of this world. They let us taste as many cupcakes flavors as we could think of. On the day of our wedding, Louis nailed it. She came and set up our Deseret bar without even being noticed. She put on a beautiful display. All of our guests could not stop talking about how delicious our cupcakes, parfaits and cheesecakes were. We got a strawberry sweetheart cake and it was incredible. She also arranged for us to have a take home box of cupcakes which was so thoughtful. We didn’t get to try all of our flavors the day of from being so busy so getting to take some home to enjoy was great. We will always recommend this bakery. Incredible and excellent customer service! Thank you so much for making my wedding day extra special and sweet.

    Stone House Bakery's reply:

    Thank you Ashley! It is always our pleasure and we are thrilled to be part of such a wonderful day. Many blessings to you & Matt!
  • Megan
    Megan Married on 10/19/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Delicious custom cake!

    Stone house made us a delicious cake and because of the venue we booked it was free!!! Even though our cake was free Lois allowed us to pick from all of the flavors they offer and we had a three tiered cake, top two layers were cookies and cream and the bottom was Boston creme. Some of our guests were no shows so we had so much extra cake and my husband and I did not mind at all!!! The cake was delicious!!! Lois even remembered that we did not get to try their death by chocolate flavor during our tasting and had four cupcakes in our room the night of the wedding. Delicious cupcakes and wonderful service!
  • Jessica
    Jessica Married on 08/09/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    The desserts were on point!

    I opted out of a large cake since I tend to go towards smaller desserts. Lois come up with the whole plan of little cupcakes, cheesecakes, cookies, and so much more. They were so cute and soooooooo good. I'm a huge chocolate fan so there was no shortage of it. She also delivered and set up everything right on time. I trusted her opinion with all of it, and she did not steer me wrong!

    Stone House Bakery's reply:

    Thank you Jessica, That is so kind of you!!! It is always my pleasure to help out. You guys are my passion!
    Lois
  • Alyssa
    Alyssa B. Married on 05/18/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    May 18, 2019

    We cannot thank Stone House Bakery enough for the most yummy treats that they made for our wedding!! Lois was so great to work with and we are so thankful we found her at the bridal show at The Lodges at Gettysburg!! Her cupcakes, cookies, brownies, cheesecakes...okay, pretty much EVERYTHING is so delicious!! We went with a small cake to cut and then a dessert bar and it was perfect! Everything was the perfect mini size so that guests could pick up and keep dancing! Our cake was absolutely delicious and is currently sitting in our freezer- we cannot wait to defrost it and eat more of it on our one year anniversary! The girls that came to set up did a great job and made it look perfect on the dessert table! Thank you so much to Lois and her team for make our dessert dreams come true and putting a smile on everyones face!! We cannot recommend Stone House enough for all your wedding bakery needs :)
  • K
    Kayla Married on 09/30/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Lois made a delicious wedding cake and a delicious cupcakes. All of our guests raved about the taste and the variety. I will be using Lois again for all future events. The design on the wedding cake was beautiful as well. Lois is so nice and so easy to work with. Forever grateful that she was a part of our special day.

    Stone House Bakery's reply:

    Thank you Kayla, you have been thru so much it was a pleasure to be part of your big day! Thank you!
  • C
    Crystal Married on 09/08/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I cannot speak highly enough about the team at Stone House Bakery, especially Lois. We tried Lois's cupcakes at a local festival and fell in love, we knew she was going to do our wedding. Her cupcakes are decorated beautifully and are so moist! We had 65 guest and ordered 60 mini and 40 regular cupcakes and they flew off the tables. Everyone was raving about how good the cupcakes were. At the last minute I added an 8 inch wedding cake for my husband and I to cut and serve to our immediate family and she accommodating me the DAY BEFORE THE WEDDING. She went above and beyond and really helped me out in a jam. I look forward to ordering a new cake from her during each anniversary, not to mention cupcakes - all the time!! Thanks again for everything you do Lois, you are truly gifted at what you do and were a pleasure to work with!
  • K
    Karin Married on 06/30/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We were visiting our venue for our menu tasting, and wanted to look at the pavilion one last time. There was a cake top surrounded with cupcakes for the wedding that day (the display was perfect). The bakery was local, and we decided to visit. The staff was inviting, and the cupcakes, cookies, and breads were delicious!!! We had already ordered our cake from a larger bakery, and had huge regrets. However, we did order cupcakes for our after party which were a big hit!!! I wish we had found them earlier!!! They would have definitely baked our wedding cake!!! Stop here, you will not regret the choice!!!

    Stone House Bakery's reply:

    Thank you! Your family, you mom were extremely incredible! Wishing you all the happiness in the world!
  • L
    Lindsey Married on 05/19/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    My husband and I came across Stone House at a wedding expo. After sampling one of their carrot cake mini cupcakes, he wanted to book them immediately lol. Lois at Stone House is very helpful and easy to work with. It didn't take us long at all to select our dessert plan. We chose a two-tiered cake and five different flavors of mini cupcakes. Stone House also let us rent a display for the cupcakes and drove 90 miles to our venue. We still can't believe how reasonable the price was.

    Even better than the price was the quality of the cake. I have never seen cupcakes fly off a display so quickly. My husband and I only got to have 1 each lol! The cupcakes were easily the best we've ever had. Guests were taking 5 or 6 at a time and everyone that was lucky enough to eat one was raving about the taste. The red velvet cake was also delicious, and our top tier of salted caramel is waiting in the freezer for our anniversary! We highly recommend Stone House for their delicious desserts and for being so friendly and easy to work with.

    Stone House Bakery's reply:

    Thank you Lindsey! I LOVE my brides! Especially if they are as nice as the both of you! It was our pleasure to go there. We got a great meal at the restaurant in return with great scenery! The Very best to you! Thank you!
  • N
    Natalie Married on 04/06/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Lois was wonderful to work with! Everyone at our wedding RAVED about her cupcakes and how beautiful the display was! She contacted me a few days before the event stating that the display she wanted to use had broken. However, she was awesome and came up with something even more beautiful than I could imagine! Her prices were very reasonable as well. I would definitely recommend her!!
  • B
    Becca Married on 11/12/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    When I say that they make the best cake I have ever tasted, I’m not exaggerating! When we did our initial tasting, it was hard to choose just a couple flavors because everything was so delicious. We ended up choosing Boston cream and Irish car bomb cakes, and had nothing but rave reviews from everyone in attendance! Lois was a pleasure to work with, and our cake turned out exactly like we had envisioned.
  • M
    Mary Married on 07/01/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    What a find!!! Lois provides us a cake tasting, free of charge, unlike other places we researched! Every single cupcake was delicious and we were able to select any flavor for our wedding cake. We chose a three tiered strawberry shortcake which was decorated exactly as requested and discussed!! Then we also had an assortment of the other five flavors for cupcakes!!

    Everyone raved about the cake and cupcakes! Everything was delicious and fresh and moist! Out of this world!!

    Lois was very attentive to our needs and wishes and she personally delivered the cake and
    Cupcakes on the day of our reception...set everything up in an attractive manner, and was conscientious about making sure the cake and icing would fare well in the heat!

    I most definitely would use them again and again for a bakery and for any special occasion!!
  • B
    Brittany Married on 06/17/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I loved that she charges a flat rate and not per slice; makes it easier when on a smaller budget. The cake tasted amazing and the décor out did the picture I gave them.
  • E
    Earl G. Married on 05/13/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    May 13, 2017 My wedding Day

    What can I say Mrs. Lois may my wedding day special and a year after prepared my Anniversary cake she is the best hands down

    Stone House Bakery's reply:

    Earl, I thank you Earl.. but of course, you know you are my all time favorite Groom! You were the kindness and most attentive Groom I have ever met and wish all Groomsman were you! Send lots of love your way.. Thank you!
    Lois and God Bless both of you!
  • L
    Laura Married on 09/23/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    My fiance and I don't really like cake, but we love brownies. We wanted a three-tiered wedding cake that looked like a cake but was made out of brownie. You would be surprised how many bakers said no to this request! In the end, I'm glad they said no because I ended up with Stone House Bakery. Lois was excited to make our unusual cake, and she did an amazing job! My friends said they were telling people about how delicious it was! It looked absolutely gorgeous too. I really enjoyed working with Lois and Stone House Bakery on our custom cake request.
  • A
    Ally Married on 12/19/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Lois was great. She made a beautiful 3 layer cake and cupcakes for our December wedding and it was beautiful!! Not only was it beautiful, it tasted great. She made the process easy and answered any questions we had
  • User2378496 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Lois and her team created the most beautiful and delicious cake we could have ever asked for. It was the centerpiece of our beautiful rustic Pittsburgh cookie table, and was a HUGE hit with guests! The cake was devoured within minutes and the caterer proclaimed it the most delicious cake they have ever served! As a matter of fact it was so yummy we ate the top and didn't save it! We will be in touch next year to have her recreate a mini version for our anniversary!

    Lois also prepared 6 amazing pies and 2 dozen tasty little cupcakes to compliment the piles of homemade cookies. Carroll County is fortunate to have this amazing talent!

  • User1881422 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The bakery took complete care of creating my wedding dream for cupcakes. We requested flavors that were not listed and the bakers had fun creating our vision. The cupcakes were amazing. In fact, they were so good we only had maybe three left over. Very friendly staff to work with and just great service and products.
  • H
    Heather Married on 06/15/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Our cake tasted amazing and I received many compliments. Lois and Kacie were amazing to work with.
  • Kathryn
    Kathryn Married on 10/27/2012
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I first encountered Lois' cupcakes at the Howard County Farmer's Market. They are phenomenal!! I knew I wanted to serve them to my wedding guests. Lois was wonderful. She was clear up front that she doesn't do fancy decorations - she is a baker. But that was perfectly fine with me. The cupcakes are so good, and at the wedding, they array of cupcakes we had out for display was gorgeous.
    Lois was great to work with - very responsive to all of my emails. She suggested supplying to-go containers to our guests since some people might like to take a cupcake home with them. GREAT IDEA. Most people took one home, and I saw a few people walking out with literally half a dozen cupcakes. That's how good they are. And a great value! So much less expensive than a wedding cake!
  • D
    Danielle Married on 07/03/2018
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We met Lois at a venue open house in the summer of 2017! We went to consider the venue, and fell in love with Lois and her cupcakes instead! We initially just had a great conversation with her, then she gave us carryout containers and told us to please take a bunch of cupcakes so she doesn’t have to take them back with her. She didn’t have to twist our arms with that one! We knew that day that we wanted her to do the desserts for our wedding!
    We ultimately decided on a few cakes in different flavors, and they were a HIT the night of our wedding! We barely had any cake leftover, and it was a hot summer evening!
    Multiple guests asked us where they came from, and a few even said it was the best wedding cake they’ve ever had!
    We highly recommend Stone House for your wedding!

    Stone House Bakery's reply:

    Thank you Danielle, It was a pleasure and an honor for us to do your wedding cake. I love my brides!!!! You all are like family to me! Many happy days and years ahead of you! Thank you for your kind words!
  • A
    Alex Married on 05/23/2015
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    If you have not tried the cake and baked goods from Stone House yet, you are seriously missing out! I opted for cupcakes instead of a traditional wedding cake and I couldn't have been more happy with how they turned out. Lois, the owner, delivered them to my venue and set them up in a beautiful display. They looked great and tasted even better! They offer a very large variety of cakes and flavors. Prices were slightly higher than some other places I had checked out, but it was well worth the cost. I would definitely recommend this bakery to anyone.
  • B
    Bianca L. Married on 06/18/2021
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Beautiful and Delicious!

    Stone House Cakery did an outstanding job on our wedding cake! We opted for a 3-tiered, white cake with strawberry filling (yum!), and nearly all of our guests commented on how delicious it was! Aside from the delicious taste, the look and style of the cake matched our vision perfectly. Lois did an outstanding job, and we would highly recommend her cakery to anyone who is looking for an outstanding, beautiful, but delicious wedding cake!

    On a side note, we also used Lois and her team to do the catering for my bridal shower and that was another huge hit. Lois created custom-made bumble bee cookies to accompany our theme, and the guests loved them. The sandwiches were also delicious and everyone left feeling happy and full!

    Thank you again Lois for helping make both events fun and extra delicious!
  • Katie
    Katie Married on 05/10/2019
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Best wedding cake ever

    I was SO excited about the cake tasting and dessert part of the wedding (huge sweet tooth) and Stone House did not disappoint. We got married in Taneytown but looked at bakeries all over Maryland and I was shocked at some of the prices I found... for cakes.... Stone House was so incredibly reasonably priced, especially for the value. We went for a tasting and there was no way we could say no. Easily the best cake I've ever had and such unique flavors. Lois and the other woman working just kept bringing us cupcakes and cookies to try. We probably had about 6 or 7 total! We ended up choosing red velvet, almond raspberry, vanilla strawberry, and everyones favorite- Irish Car Bomb. We also did three different types of cookies, which were also delicious and so soft. Sometimes it can be hard to reach Lois but that's just life for a small town bakery I'm sure, I trusted her to deliver and she did not disappoint! Oh also, they do little pastry platters and sandwich trays which we did for the bridal party the day of for lunch and breakfast, worked out perfectly! The cake turned out so beautiful, I wish we could have kept it forever!