Stirling Guest Hotel Reviews

47 | Reading, PA
See photos, pricing and details

47 Reviews for Stirling Guest Hotel

Recommended by 100%

47
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0

8 User photos

Stirling Guest Hotel 1
Stirling Guest Hotel 2
Stirling Guest Hotel 3
Stirling Guest Hotel 4
Stirling Guest Hotel 5
Stirling Guest Hotel 6
Stirling Guest Hotel 7
+ 2
Sort by:
  • D

    Diane Smith · Married on 10/31/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Excellent Place for a Party

    We had my son's wedding at the Stirling, and it was perfect. It was on Halloween and we had about 50 guests. TJ (the owner) was great and helped the couple plan an outdoor wedding there, followed by the reception inside. He tailored it to fit their personalities. We had many compliments on the staff, and the food was delicious.
    Since it also has guest rooms to rent, we will be using it for future business events too!

  • A

    Andy · Married on 12/16/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    TJ and his staff went above and beyond to make us feel at home and yet make the entire weekend a spectacular event! The venue is stunning and wonderful, the food is delicious and plentiful, and the people are simply marvelous! We simply can't say enough great things about the Stirling. Our guests haven't stopped raving either.

  • J

    Jessalyn · Married on 10/07/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We got married here in October and I can not even put into words how amazing the Stirling is. When we started looking for wedding venues, the only thing we knew was that we did not want a country club wedding. The second we stepped foot into the mansion and met TJ, we knew that we didn't want to look anywhere else. TJ was absolutely amazing in helping to plan the event. TJ, Peter, and all of the staff was excellent through executing the event itself. Food is outstanding. Guest rooms are beautiful. The mansion itself makes for the most gorgeous photos. When you have a Saturday wedding here, the entire mansion is yours for the night. We were able to continue partying after the event was over as if it was our own home and wake up to a wonderful breakfast with our closest family and friends the next morning. Our day was more perfect than we ever could have imagined. We plan to continue going to chefs tastings here every November to celebrate our anniversary. If you are searching for wedding venues make sure to check this place out. Highly, highly recommend.

    Stirling Guest Hotel 8
    Stirling Guest Hotel 9
    Stirling Guest Hotel 10
    Stirling Guest Hotel 11
    Stirling Guest Hotel 12
    Stirling Guest Hotel 13
    Stirling Guest Hotel 14
    Stirling Guest Hotel 15
  • A

    Ariel · Married on 09/16/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I have absolutely nothing but great things to say about this venue. TJ and Peter are amazing and the place is stunning! I had a 1920s themed wedding there and it was perfect. TJ gladly answered all of my questions before and during the event. The price was very reasonable for this type of event and the best part was that it was "my mansion for the day." The food is some of the best I've ever eaten aswell. If you need an event venue or are looking for somewhere to stay overnight look no further! I would love to stay there again in the future.

  • Lena & Ben

    Lena · Married on 07/15/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    TJ and the other staff at the Stirling were amazing! Our wedding went off without a hitch. TJ really went above and beyond to accommodate any request we threw at him. Not only did he coordinate the catering and staff, he helped us set up/decorate and helped direct the ceremony and make sure everything went according to schedule. Everyone raved about the food and how beautiful the venue is. We loved being able to rent the whole venue for the entire weekend and it was especially convenient to stay in the rooms on site. I would recommend the Stirling to anyone planning a wedding in the area. It is an amazing value and you will not have to worry about a thing on your wedding day!

  • S

    Sarah · Married on 07/07/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Can't say enough nice things about this place and about the staff. Everything was totally beautiful and meant every expectation We expected. TJ was a blessing we couldn't have done it without him. We will pass the word to everyone we know !! We will be stopping for that occasional cuppa coffee. Thank you again for everything you did for us.

  • B

    Beth · Married on 06/23/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our son got married on a stormy Friday night in June. The bride had her heart set on getting married outside and TJ and the staff did everything possible to make that happen. They had to quickly move the chairs several times from inside to outside until Mother Nature took over and the ceremony was held inside. The food was amazing and my family raved about the food from the appetizers to the desserts to the breakfast the next morning. I saw several of the guest rooms my family stayed in, both in the mansion and the carriage house. The décor was beautiful. I would definitely recommend The Stirling Guest Hotel as a wedding venue!

  • E

    Ellie · Married on 06/04/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    TJ was great in helping us plan our small wedding, he was willing to meet when I needed to discuss details he helped us stay as close as possible to our budget. Was super helpful and flexible with allowing us to deliver things before hand so that the groom and I didn't have to worry about details during the day. He was helpful in giving ideas on how to set up everything from tables to ceremony and even food and drinks. We were clueless about a lot of things on how to make everything fit our budget. The place was beautiful, clean, and an absolute delight. We took pictures outdoors and indoors as the flowers look beautiful in the first week of June. The bar and food service was great! The DJ was accomadated in a room and had what he needed to set up. Our family and friends were all delighted with everything. We had rooms reserved for some of the family and friends to stay the night. The groom and I also stayed the night. Breakfast was included with room stay and that was ready early since a lot of our family needed to drive 5-8hrs. TJ has amazing people skills he works with your every detail and is very willing to make things work. Funny aside I forgot my bouquet inside once my mom and I were going to walk so that she'd hand me off to the groom and TJ ran inside for me to get my bouquet! My husband and I think their service is excellent!

  • E

    Eilis · Married on 12/12/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    In all honesty I would rate this venue well over five if I could. The property itself is breathtaking, the grounds are kept up perfectly and the owners are phenomenal. One of the biggest things I wanted was a venue with a fireplace since our wedding was in December, what we never expected was the temperature that day to be in the 70's. In a split second we asked TJ & Peter if we could have the wedding outside and with no hesitation they had it done. And if that wasnt enough they got a fire going in the fireplace despite of the unusually high temps outside. Everything was done with a smile and with not negativity at all. They care about the property and genuinely care about anyone who walks thru their doors. They truly stand out aove the rest!!

  • J

    John · Married on 09/26/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our reception at the Stirling Guest Hotel and it was perfect! TJ was extremely helpful with everything and planning was easy. The menu selections are extensive with several options for hors d'oeuvres, appetizers, salads, entrees, and desserts. Chef Ron did a great job and all of the food was excellent! The entire staff was very helpful and courteous the entire time. The accommodations for our out of town guests were great as well as the breakfast the following morning. If I could do it all again I would choose the same location for our reception. You can't go wrong booking this for your event!

  • P

    Pamela · Married on 07/18/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Cannot provide enough positive feedback about this venue! Our day was amazing and perfect thanks to the Stirling Guest Hotel. TJ and Peter offer attention to detail that is second to none. In the months and weeks prior to our wedding, I would call and text TJ with all sorts of questions, thoughts, ideas, and either a) the Stirling already had it covered or b) TJ said "Sure, we can do that!" Their attention to detail was outstanding. The grounds and venue are breathtaking, the accommodations for our out of town guests were spectacular. The chef's menu was gourmet; our guests raved about the food, from hors d'oeuvres to dinner and dessert, to our brunch the next morning--amazing. The service and staff were friendly and perfect. I couldn't imagine a more perfect place for our day. Cannot offer a higher recommendation without hesitation for the Stirling Guest Hotel. Thank you so much!

  • E

    Erica · Married on 06/06/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Stirling was a pheonominal venue for our wedding. Everything was perfect and the owners TJ and Peter are great to work with. The venue itself is beautiful, both inside and out. All of our guests raved about both how beautiful the place was and also amazing the food was. We had our wedding on a Saturday, and so also had all the guest rooms for the night. This was a great bonus; everyone who stayed over really enjoyed it, and the breakfast the following morning was just as good as the night before. We are confident this was the best value we could have ever found, and couldn't be happier with our choice to select the Stirling for our wedding.

  • G

    Gabrielle · Married on 05/30/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Stirling was the first venue we visited in our search for an affordable location for our wedding, and it met our needs and desires perfectly. It's beautiful (inside and out), operated by some wonderful people (TJ and the staff are consummate professionals), had room for both of our families and the entire wedding party in the mansion, and were also able to sleep several friends in the carriage house. It was perfect for us. As a wedding venue, it suits a nice-sized, intimate crowd (we had 115 including 4 vendors) and allowed us to marry on the front steps of the porch, our guests perfectly placed in a semi-circle around us. It made for beautiful pictures and also has a wonderful covered area we used for our cocktail hour (which became a necessary part of our evening as the entire day was unseasonably warm). The food was phenomenal; our guests told us all night how much they enjoyed everything. Overall, the Stirling was an awesome experience, and we will absolutely be back!

  • M

    Mary Kate · Married on 05/09/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I had our wedding at the Stirling in May, and it was absolutely wonderful. We had our ceremony outside on the steps and our reception in the mansion. We also had our rehearsal dinner there the night before, which was outside near the pool area. This was nice because it was still a beautiful setting, but was separate from the mansion area that we used for the wedding. We had a Saturday wedding, so we were able to book all 15 rooms for the night. This was really convenient, as our wedding party and close family members were able to stay at the venue for the night and a delicious breakfast was served the next morning.

    The venue itself is beautiful and elegant. The artwork, furniture, and other details are so exquisite that we felt the need to do very minimal decorating. It is definitely different from the typical reception hall, which we loved. It created a unique and intimate atmosphere for our big day. The grounds are also gorgeous, making it a perfect place for an outdoor ceremony.

    Additionally, the entire staff is phenomenal. We worked with TJ to plan the event, and he was very helpful and easy to work with. We were planning the wedding from out of state, and he was so accommodating and just made the whole planning process very easy. The staff was also fantastic. Everyone was very personable, professional, and went above and beyond to ensure that everything went smoothly on the big day. The food was delicious. The rooms were beautiful. The pricing was very reasonable. I cannot say enough good things about this venue. Everything about it was more perfect than I could have imagined, and I have absolutely no complaints. My husband and I will definitely be returning in the future!

  • E

    Emily · Married on 05/02/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I just had the most outstanding wedding at the Stirling Guest Hotel. It was a perfect May day. Our ceremony was outside and all the trees and flowers on the grounds were in bloom making the air smell amazing. The mansion is so impressive and such a character to its own. I love that many of the furnishings are original to the house (lanterns from 1920's China for example and the crystal chandeliers in almost every room). We had a vintage-inspired wedding and the setting could not have been more perfect.

    And let me stop for a second to gush a bit about the delicious food. My husband and I wanted something that was really us - and that meant a breakfast inspired meal for dinner. Chef Ron was up to the challenge and we had an amazing menu. We got so many compliments on the food (mini-monte cristo's, bacon wrapped sweet potatoes, and an amazing mashed potato bar). The staff was so sweet and brought my husband and me each a plate so we could actually enjoy our food without having to sacrifice any time with our guests. One of the best things about the Stirling is that at the end of the evening, our bridal party was able to stay the night with us (in incredible rooms I may add). We stayed up late singing songs around the baby grand piano and enjoying each others' company.

    TJ and the rest of the Stirling staff gave us such an amazing day. TJ was easy to work with and very happy to answer all of our questions in the months and weeks ahead of the wedding. If you are even considering getting married in a mansion, do take the time to visit the Stirling (it's just a fun tour in and of itself). The grounds are so gorgeous, the Mansion is stunning, the service is outstanding, and the price is very reasonable especially given that you get to stay there. Five stars and then some.

  • User4545028 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I cannot say enough great things about the Stirling Guest hotel and its staff! My husband and I had our ceremony and reception at the Stirling on 10/18/14, and it was absolutely amazing. TJ and Pete made the planning process as easy as possible, and were so great to work with. The grounds and mansion itself are meticulously maintained, and all of our guests couldn't believe just how gorgeous it was! The food was to die for, and the waitstaff were not only helpful, but were sincerely genuine and seemed to truly love what they do. Our wedding was on a Saturday so we were lucky enough to have the 15 rooms at the mansion for our closest friends and family, and it was such a cool experience to say in such a beautiful mansion for the night. Not only will we continue to recommend the Stirling Guest Hotel to everyone we know, we'll be using the Stirling for future events of our own!

  • L

    Lyndsay · Married on 09/13/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We held our rehearsal dinner, ceremony, and reception at Stirling and I could not have been more happy with how everything went!!

    For our rehearsal dinner we went with a BBQ menu and tables set up outside by the pool so that it would be completely different from our wedding day. The food was amazing and everything went smoothly.

    The only downside to our wedding day at Stirling was that it rained. We had originally planned to have our ceremony outside on the porch, but it was not to be. Instead we had our ceremony inside with the "aisle" being the staircase down into the main room. Because of the smaller space, some guests unfortunately had to stand and I was a little worried about that. However, I didn't hear any complaints from anyone and it actually made the whole experience so much more intimate. Stirling did a fantastic job of getting that space ready for the ceremony and then seamlessly changing the room over with tables for our reception during cocktail hour. I was really impressed. The food was once again fantastic. Over two weeks after our wedding and we are still getting complimented on the food there and guests asking us if they can just go there to eat.

    The owners of Stirling were easy to work with and were always responsive when we needed to ask them questions. Additionally, perhaps one of the best things about the place is that with your reception fee, you get all of the 15 rooms to assign to guests for the night of your wedding! The rooms are so ornate and amazingly decorated and it was so nice to be able to share those with some of our closest friends and family. Bonus, there is a breakfast buffet included for anyone who stays over.

    The only downside some might have is the space limitations. We only had 100 guests and with any more than that having the ceremony inside might not have worked as well as it did. But if you are having, even up to 120 people, really consider Stirling. I would recommend it to anyone.

  • J

    Jessica · Married on 08/31/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I had a quick engagement... three months to be exact. TJ was so wonderful in helping make sure I could have a wedding there, and I'm so glad that we went with the Stirling! TJ and team were wonderful in helping me make my wedding possible and very flexible in letting us come in when we needed to in preparation. The wedding itself was absolutely beautiful... we had originally wanted a bohemian outdoor wedding/reception, but having our ceremony outside on the grounds and then reception inside was such a blessing. It rained for part of the day, which I guess is good luck for us?
    The decor is amazing and so much better than a reception hall. A lot less to decorate too. The food was soo delicious, and made me feel good to know that there was a cook making most everything from scratch that day. The whole reception felt like a fancy dinner party for us/guests and I loved it.

  • P

    Paul and Elisa · Married on 08/03/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Stirling Guest Hotel is a magnificent Victorian Mansion from the beautiful grounds outside to the wonderful grandeur inside. The innkeeper and his team are professional and polite and handle the facility and events there with excellence. The food and service is outstanding!

    Our wedding and reception at the Stirling will no doubt be the most memorable day of our lives! Thank you!! We highly recommend the Stirling- an EXCELLENT, BEAUTIFUL VENUE!!

  • S

    Sandy · Married on 07/27/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I hosted my daughter's bridal shower at Stirling. Our theme was 1920's. The setting was phenomenal. TJ and his staff were wonderful to work with. Prompt answers to emails and the day of the shower the staff was accommodating to anything I asked of them. We enjoyed the roominess of the mansion. The main room was set up as we had lunch. The staff were very friendly to the guests at the bar and tables. The guests raved about the food. My daughter was blown away by how beautiful everything was. It was the most perfect event in the most perfect setting. Everything was smooth and organized. I was so happy to find this gem of a venue close to home. I would highly recommend any event to be held at Stirling. Thank you TJ , your chef and staff! This party will be remembered by everyone.

  • C

    Christine · Married on 07/19/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had a Wonderful Time and could not have asked for a more Beautifull day and location! The Service was beyond compare and All of the employees at Sterling, Including TJ, Truely Helped to make our day Special and one that We Will Never Forget!!

  • S

    Sarah · Married on 06/22/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    TJ and his staff were absolutely fabulous from beginning to end! The communication was always wonderful. I have never experienced an event before where I could say that not one thing went wrong. Now I can!!! Absolutely everything was perfect, the food was delicious, the venue exquisite, and the rooms absolutely charming and spotless!! You gave my daughter the day she wanted and for that I cannot say thank you enough!! Not only were we pleased but so many of our guests raved about Stirling Guest Hotel and could not believe how fabulous it was. As I have said before I would recommend you 100 times over :-)))

  • S

    Samantha · Married on 06/22/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Having our wedding at Stirling was the best decision we could have made. My now husband and i were planning the wedding in six months and trying so hard to find a venue that was not only available but affordable and also felt like us. We found the Stirling and as soon as we pulled up to the building we knew there was something special about the place. We met Tj inside and we were blown away by everything that we saw. Tj was the best, he was in constant contact with us throughout the entire process...even my crazy antics with not making up my mind with the event being outside or inside, and my number of guests constantly changing, and rearranging everything up until days before the wedding, he was absolutely amazing about everything! One of my favorite things about the venue is the entire atmosphere that it brings, i was so excited to show every little detail i could find to my guests,(my favorite is the carvings on the columns in the main room) especially showing my grandfather who used to be an architect, he loved the place! The big day arrived and i of course had my wedding day panic on my face, Tj and his staff took care of everything! I didn't have one worry! The food was amazing too!! I had the quiche....and i want more haha :) I could not have asked for a more perfect group of people to make the entire day from my arrival to departure completely carefree and amazing. We stayed overnight with close family and the wedding parties, one of the best things that the Stirling provided was the opportunity to spend, what i've always been told is the shortest day of your life, celebrating with the people you love into the wee hours of the morning. I would recommend Tj, his staff and the beautiful venue over and over again. Thank you so much for making our special day better than we could have ever dreamed!

    Love,
    The Favas :) <3

    (Don't forget Johnny the dog!! We were all enthralled by him too!!)

  • ngoodlife

    Nick · Married on 06/21/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Absolutely the best deal you will find on this or any other site. Our guests are still raving about how beautiful the grounds were, how delicious the food was, and how perfect the day was. The professionals at the Stirling will make sure your event is everything you've expected and more at a great price. Really cannot express with enough words how great of an experience it was. We even planned our event from Illinois and it was very smooth.

    TL:DR perfect venue, great price, professional staff. Email with any questions!

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review