Skip to main content
Weddings

Sterling Events Reviews

Sterling Events

Sterling Events

New York, NY
5.0 out of 5 rating, 84 Reviews
View more information

Reviews

5.0 out of 5 rating
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2024 Winner
5.0 out of 5 rating
84 Reviews
100% recommend it
  • Quality of service
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    5 out of 5 rating

Awards

84
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2024 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2023 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2022 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2021 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
  • B
    Brian A. Sent on 04/23/2024
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Danced the Night Away!

    Jon and Sterling Band made our wedding even better than we expected. We originally thought about a DJ but my husband Joey was really hoping we could have a live band. With the recommendation of our awesome Wedding planner Jesse Reing, we engaged Jon and the band for our evening. The band was incredible and is still being talked about from our guests. The range of music and the talent for the price we paid is true value. The band took our selections and carefully mapped out an evening of celebration and lots of dancing. I can't say enough about Jon and Sterling Band! We highly recommend! Brian and Joey.

    Sterling Events's reply:

    Hey Guys,

    TY for the very kind words...It was a BLAST!...you procured a fantastic playlist and your guests were amped!

    and TY's of course to Jesse from 'events by jesse' for bringing us together
  • Amanda
    Amanda Sent on 11/07/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best weekend of our lives thanks to Sterling

    I go off vibes and I knew we had something special with Sterling. Jon took a lot of time to get to know us and our guests ahead of time and understand what would set the tone for one big party. The band is so talented and Sterling was a big hit with our guests. We can’t thank them enough.

    Sterling Events's reply:

    Hi Amanda
    ty SO much for the Kind words.

    Soooo glad the evening was unique special...and alot of Dancing!!
    Best wishes
    Jon
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • Jamie
    Jamie D. Sent on 09/13/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Sterling Band is the best!

    We got so many compliments about our music the entire wedding. Someone said she was happy just to sit at her table and listen to the band play. They were energetic, fun, personable, and so talented. They were outstanding for both the Jewish and secular music. Highly recommend!!!

    Sterling Events's reply:

    Ty Jamie
    A beautiful day for 2 beautiful people!
    Very. Cool spot and your peeps came to party.

    Best wishes
    Jon
  • B
    Ben M. Sent on 09/15/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    You and Your Guests Will Want to Keep Dancing

    You all were AMAZING, it feels like you hyped us up for how good it would be and somehow exceeded the hype. Everyone kept on saying how great you were. Just an incredible job. Thank you again so much to you and all of your band members!

    Sterling Events's reply:

    Hey Ben,
    I love what you said! Ty so much..terrific party…I guess it ain’t hype if u back it up…Seriously though…thank-you!
  • H
    Hang P. Sent on 08/10/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Hire sterling band!

    We got SO MANY compliments about Sterling Band on our wedding night - they had such great energy and are incredibly skilled performers, keeping our dance floor PACKED all night! They performed oldies, top 40s, hip hop / rap - we were all so impressed. Jon is such a loving soul who REALLY cares about his clients - he worked closely with me/my husband leading up to the big day to make sure everything was in order and carefully curated high-energy dance sets to keep the room pumping. He also was just genuinely excited to make sure we had a good time (we were a COVID delayed wedding for 3 years!) and he was even texting me about the weather the week leading up to the wedding to send positive vibes. Jon's not only a great band leader, but will become a friend!

    Sterling Events's reply:

    We waited a long time to celebrate w you. Incredible energy from your guests. Your assessment?
    Way too kind and thank you!

    Love
    Jon
  • D
    Devin H. Sent on 07/09/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The band everyone is still talking about

    Sterling band was the best money we spent on our wedding day. It was a wonderful experience working with Jon on all the coordination and their team was absolutely amazing. From the acoustic ceremony, jazz trio for cocktail hour, and 8 piece band for the reception they brought endless energy and talent. Guests still rave about the band; they were a highlight of our wedding! The most remarkable thing about them is the variety of their setlist and how they can alternate between genres and styles seamlessly. That was something important to us in a band and they delivered above and beyond.

    Sterling Events's reply:

    TY Devin for your kind words
    We loved the variety of music you requested and you guys deserved a remarkable night!
    Best
    Jon
  • I
    Ivy D. Sent on 10/01/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing Band!

    Sterling band was absolutely wonderful and truly made the party. We received so many compliments about the band, but seeing everyone up and dancing all night was all I needed to know it was a success! You are all SO talented, each band member adds a different sound to the music. Wish I could enjoy your music more!
    Thank you for making my daughter's wedding so amazing!
  • D
    David S. Sent on 06/13/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The best!!

    Jon and his band are amazing - they had everyone rocking on the dance floor with all kinds of music, including some songs they just learned for us. Everyone still comes up to us to say how amazing the band was - hire Jon without reservation!!

    Sterling Events's reply:

    David
    Watta great party! Great venue Blooming Hill
    Great partying guests, Great fresh non cliched playlist (we loved the Lake St Dive stuff!) and lovely Bride n Groom!

    Best best wishes to you n Tara!
    Jon
  • Morgan
    Morgan S. Sent on 06/21/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Out of this world!

    The Sterling Band made our wedding absolutely electric. Our guests never left the dance floor! From beginning planning to the wedding day, Jon understood our vibe and executed every detail above and beyond our wildest expectations!

    Sterling Events's reply:

    TY Morgan !
    from 'Cant take My Eyes off of U' &Jim Croce to 'In Too Deep '
    to Kendricks' Humble ', 'Aint No Hollaback'
    and ending w '1st Date' and 'Sugar We're Going Down'
    We LOVED playing all your requests.

    You re crowd was awesome...and so were you and Devin!

    TY!
    Jon
  • T
    Taylor H. Sent on 01/02/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Perfect wedding band

    Jon and the rest of Sterling is a fantastic wedding band. They are extremely talented and responsive to the crowds musical preference. They definitely made the party and had people on the dance floor all night long. Highly recommend!
  • J
    Julie F. Sent on 12/31/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Highlight of our wedding!

    Hire this band, it’s as simple as that. We were lucky enough to have them play our wedding in October in the Catskills, and they exceeded expectations. They were easily one of the biggest highlights on one of the most important days of our lives. Their immense talent combined with their understanding the exact vibe we wanted to achieve truly blew us away. They kept the energy high while covering every single one of the wide variety of genres we requested. Every time we see our guests after the wedding, the first thing they bring up is the band. Absolutely one of the best decisions we made for our wedding day. Thank you again, Sterling Band!!

    Sterling Events's reply:

    Wow...awesome words from an awesome bride
    Ty so much.We loved partying w u guys!
    A great celevrstion for 2 really beautiful people

    Congrats agsin and ty!
  • BG
    Bg Sent on 09/06/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The #1 Band

    Phenomenal Band! They generated energy and excitement throughout the event. They are truly a band for all seasons, covering every type of music you can imagine. The quality of their performance is unparalleled and made it a night to remember. Jon covered all the bases and his band members participated with and catered to the guests. Don't bother searching for any other band. "Sterling", the one and only!!

    Sterling Events's reply:

    Wow...ty ty ...great.party...awesome venue.
    The downstairs Bar/club mgr wants us on a regular basis...so do I owe u a finder s fee...? Lol
    Best best time in the Fj!
    Love u guys!
    Jon
  • D
    Darrian R. Sent on 07/03/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    literally the best band ever

    Jon and his band are truly THE BEST!!!! guests still raving about how incredible our band and the music was. The dance floor was packed the entire evening! Jon helped my dad pull off a surprise first dance song that he wrote for me, and Jon even surprised me with singing the song I wanted walking down the aisle! Every genre of music was played including my favorite edm songs. Jon was so fun to work with thank you Jon for making our wedding night EPIC!!!! We are so grateful and will never forget it!

    Sterling Events's reply:

    Hi Darrian
    and EPIC evening to say the least
    the video from the EDM w the light sticks was off the hook
    Great great eve!...and you guys deserve it!

    TY for your kind words!
    Jon
  • V
    Victoria Sent on 05/11/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The best wedding band EVER

    The Sterling Band was simply the best wedding band ever! We had unexpected rain mid ceremony so cocktail hour was logistically hectic. From the moment guests stepped inside they completely forgot about the rain because of the vibes the band created. The reception was ELECTRIC. The band and lead singers brought serious energy and loved interacting with the crowd. Everyone danced from friends to family. My youngest cousin & my grandma never hit the dance floor and were dancing the night away. Everyone raved about this band and said they were the best they’ve ever heard and I couldn’t agree more!

    On a planning side- we worked with Jon closely on our first dance, honor dances and other logistics and really appreciated his experience regarding timing of moments/events since it was our first time getting married. Jon celebrated every idea we had. Some moments were really unique and he made sure to ask all the right questions so it went off without a hitch. Any song we wanted he reassured us that the band would be happy to learn - they love switching up their list and learning something new!

    I really couldn’t recommend this group enough. The word professional doesn’t even begin to cover this band. They are worth every single penny and then some. Save in other categories and spend here since this is what guests will enjoy and remember most from your event. If you hire them you are guaranteed an amazing time!

    Sterling Events's reply:

    TY and Grazie!
    Awesome Party!...took me a day to recover ...wow!
    Ty also for your families being awesomely gracious to us and accommodating us down to the Reeds.

    Bon Voyage!
    Jon
  • Alex
    Alex K. Sent on 03/12/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Perfection

    What an amazing evening! Sterling Band was everything we expected and more. They were super responsive and worked closely with us to plan the perfect evening. The variety of genres they play covered all the bases. So many guests asked us how we found them and had nothing but high praises. They even worked closely with our traditional Ukrainian band to swap sets seamlessly throughout the evening. Don't hesitate to hire them for your event.

    Sterling Events's reply:

    Hey Alex and Lesia
    Hope u enjoyed your time away and I pray for you families and friends back in Ukraine.

    Was an awesome party w us and Pete s Ukrainian Band...there was no time to leave dance floor!

    Best wishes
    Jon
  • Nicole
    Nicole D. Sent on 02/12/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Simply the best!

    If you're considering a band for your wedding, the Sterling Band is it! We hired them for our wedding in December 2021 and would do it 100x over again. They delivered! We had a few friends admit they were skeptical of seeing a band at a wedding after DJs have become so popular over the last few decades but were blown away by their performance and want to book them for their upcoming receptions. Jon was so flexible and easy to work with. His experience is unmatched, and the advice he provided throughout the planning process and on our wedding day was invaluable. For example, our venue had some logistical difficulties to work around with sounds equipment and they made it work! I know bands can get pricy, but we ultimately decided to upgrade to 9 musicians, and it was worth every penny. Jon had my dad with the band singing Tower of Power, had me singing Aretha Franklin, and switched it up with 2000's hip hop, 90's rock, 80's music, classic rock.. you name it. They were so interactive with our friends and family, passing the mic off for people to sing. Could not recommend more!

    Sterling Events's reply:

    Hey Nicole
    Wow TY for the very kind and powerful statement.
    You n Joe were awesome and your crowd, what a blast! The room had some difficulties in terms of length but adding the 2nd system covered that!
    Was great fun w u n Dad both performing on the classics
    and your crowd really ate up the EDM and Top 40 as well.

    Just a great great night.
    Congrats again to you both!
    Hope some of ur crowd books us so we can party again!

    Best
    Jon
    Sterling Events
  • Briana Canterino
    Briana C. Sent on 02/12/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Better then we could imagine l.

    John and the band were unbelievable! John was easy to work with and catered to our crazy schedules making time to personalize our wedding day. They said yes to every request we had and we’re up on all current songs and killed the classics. Truly made our wedding day special to have such great performers. Thank you!
  • Lauren
    Lauren Sent on 10/17/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best band!

    We just had Sterling Band perform at our wedding last weekend and we were blown away! They had the dance floor packed all night. So many of our guests came up to us raving about them. They had such great versatility, playing so many different types of music we wanted. Jon was so responsive and helpful throughout the whole process. He worked with us to put together a detailed schedule of the whole night so we knew exactly what to expect and even helped us adjust our venue’s dinner timing to optimize the flow of the night. We couldn’t be happier and highly recommend them.

    Sterling Events's reply:

    Thank-you Lauren
    You and Jonathan were a pleasure to work with and we loved your song selections!
    Awesome night for an awesome couple!
  • D
    Davide P. Sent on 12/30/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Great music, the band kept the party going for hours!

    The Sterling Band kept the energy going for the entirety of the party, seamlessly moving from rock, to rap, to pop, to reggaeton. My wife and I are Jewish, and I am from Italy, so the band created a medley between the Hora and a tarantella for us, merging our backgrounds. Moreover, the Sterling Band was very approachable and easy to get in contact with and extremely flexible in accommodating all our requests! All our guests loved the music at our wedding. Will definitely recommend to friends and acquaintances for their wedding/celebrations!

    Sterling Events's reply:

    Ty Davide...u know I have special place in my heart n soul for you guys and tour families
    All the Best in the future
    Party was rockin'!
  • S
    Santina D. Sent on 09/29/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Planner + Band = Match Made!

    Jon and his band are true professionals! Working as a Planner, it's so refreshing to have such responsive and helpful vendors the day of. Not to mention - they sounds SO amazing! They definitely got the party going all night long!

    Sterling Events's reply:

    Thank-you Santina!
    Great to hear from a planner as spot on and great as u were to work with!
    Best
    Jon Hanser
  • G
    Gen Sent on 10/24/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Incredible band!

    Jon and his band were one of the highlights for our late September 2021 wedding. Jon worked with us every step of the way throughout the planning process and on the day-of really helped to get the party going. Every band member is so incredibly talented and they truly delivered - from the strings for our ceremony to the singers, guitarists, brass and percussion for the cocktail hour and dinner reception. We had high expectations based on their recordings and they sounded even better in person.

    They not only have one of the largest and varied repertoires out there, but they are also willing to learn new songs just for your event. We requested two songs (one in Mandarin and one in Cantonese) and our guests were amazed when they realized it was not a recording. If you're a true music lover and want your wedding to be remembered, we highly recommend the Sterling Band.

    Sterling Events's reply:

    Gen and James!
    谢谢你的客气话!(thank-you for the kind words!)
    Your party was definitely one of the highlights of our busy year!
    A spectacular wedding in Central Park!

    We had so much fun with the Mandarin and Cantonese songs
    Something new for us! But you guys really partied to the English stuff HARD!
    Great fun
    Congrats again !
    Best
    Jon
  • T
    Trevor B. Sent on 10/18/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The band you’re looking for

    It was really important for my (now) wife and I to hang a fun band that could play a variety of styles, including funk, r&b, classic rock; all mixed with modern pop. It’s a tall order. We interviewed a variety of bands, saw showcases, and watched tape. I knew after speaking with Jon that sterling was our band. They delivered. In spades.

    We’re still getting compliments on the music. They got the party started and kept it going for five hours straight. Highly recommended.

    Sterling Events's reply:

    Hey Trevor
    We love"tall orders!"
    You and friends and family were a ball to party with.
    Great venue,Great people =Great night!

    Best wishes to you and Jennifer!
    Jon
    Sterling Band
  • B
    Brooke T. Sent on 11/15/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    A night we will never forget!

    Jon and the Sterling Band were an absolute pleasure to work with! We originally met Jon at one of our family friends' weddings and when we experienced the energy that his band brought to the party we knew this is what we wanted for our big day!

    Upon meeting Jon, we were immediately drawn to his enthusiasm and professionalism. Jon has a passion for making every couple's wedding party unforgettable and special and he made us feel more excited and confident after every conversation we had with him. Jon invests his time to get to know his couples so that he can deliver an amazing experience. Throughout our planning process, we met with Jon several times to discuss with him what our ideal party looks like. From music and lighting to audio/visual and the timeline of the day, Jon made sure that all details were covered.

    Jon spoke with our venue coordinator to make sure that all of the moving parts were in place the day of. We had such peace of mind working with Jon knowing that everything was going to run smoothly. He truly was a band leader who doubled as a day of wedding timeline coordinator! We got married on a golf course that required additional audio/speakers for our ceremony and cocktail hour. He provided us with ALL of this. We literally did not have to worry about one thing in terms of audio and music for the ceremony/cocktail hour and reception.

    Each member of the Sterling Band is incredibly talented. With Jon’s years of experience he knows how to read a crowd and get everyone on the dance floor. Till this day so many of our family and friends tell us how amazing our wedding was.

    If you are looking for someone that you know you can trust, that's a dream to work with, and that will make sure your dance floor is packed with your family and friends from start to finish, hire Jon and the Sterling Band for your wedding!

    Sterling Events's reply:

    Thank U Brooke
    The long wait is over you finally got to have the amazing party you guys deserved!
    We had a great time as well,slammin requests!
  • Paulina
    Paulina Sent on 10/20/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Sterling Band is the best!!

    Jonathan was incredible. He went out of his way to learn our preferences and give great creative suggestions. He was instrumental in making our wedding celebration perfect and special. The entire band really delivered at our wedding; everyone was on the dance floor the entire time. We are so happy with Sterling Band and highly highly recommend.
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message
Responds within 24 hours