STEPHEN MARSH PHOTOGRAPHY Reviews

47 | Fredericksburg, VA
See photos, pricing and details

47 Reviews for STEPHEN MARSH PHOTOGRAPHY

Recommended by 100% of couples

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0

Awards

47
Order by:
  • Victoria

    Victoria · Married on 10/12/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Pleasure to work with!

    Stephen and his wife, Heather, were an absolute pleasure to work with. They were extremely friendly and made the entire process very comfortable. They were flexible with what pictures we wanted and even took pictures I would have never thought of! We cannot wait to get our final pictures!

    Sent on 10/14/2019
  • N

    Natalie G · Married on 06/15/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing from start to finish!

    When I started searching for photographers in northern Virginia for our June 2019 wedding, I was immediately overwhelmed by how expensive they all were. I'm not sure how, but I came across Steve and sent him an email. He responded really quickly, and had prices that were much easier to work into my budget. I booked him over a year ahead of time and he did some family photos for us in the fall so that we could meet him and get a feel for how he worked. He immediately put us at ease and our photos from that session were wonderful. On the day of the wedding, Steve and his wife showed up right on time. They were both so friendly and accommodating, and everyone in our bridal party and family commented on how he and Heather seemed to be constantly moving and getting shots from every angle. Even my husband, who loathes having his photo taken, said he felt at ease with them. We are so happy with our photos from that day and would recommend Steve and his wife without hesitation.

    Sent on 08/05/2019
  • E

    Esther · Married on 07/07/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    So easy to work with and professional.

    My husband and I got married in Upstate New York and Stephen and Heather were a pleasure to work with. Stephen was super responsive, professional and friendly. He understood what we wanted to to capture on our wedding day and we and our wedding party had a ton of fun with him. He and Heather were punctual and unobtrusive and we loved all of the pictures we got after the wedding!

    Sent on 11/15/2018
  • M

    Mark · Married on 03/23/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I cannot express how great it was to work with Steve. I am not someone who usually enjoys posing for hundreds of pictures, but during our engagement session and wedding, Steve and his wife Heather made the experience very easy.

    Not knowing exactly what we wanted the pictures to look like, we gave Steve some ideas and he was able to create a great set for us. If there were certain things we saw that we wanted, he was happy to adjust or try anything. And he was honest. If there was something he thought would look cool, he would let us know and he was right.

    During the wedding there were a couple specific things that we asked for and he did an incredible job of getting what we wanted. More than anything, he is able to make people relaxed so that the pictures come out great. It was truly a pleasure to work with him.

    Sent on 04/30/2018
  • J

    Jonathan · Married on 12/09/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Stephen and Heather we not only the best wedding vendors we worked with, but some of the best people we've dealt with for any service! Communication was a breeze, they made sure to get every shot that we wanted and the overall feel of our portraits exactly in line with our taste. Most importantly, they were an absolute pleasure to work with on the big day; they made the process fun and engaging and were utmost professionals and kindhearted people.

    Sent on 01/02/2018
  • K

    Kurtis · Married on 11/04/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Steve and his wife Heather photographed our wedding in November of 2017. From the beginning they were a pleasure to work with. Our initial meeting with Steve was great. He was easy to talk to and answered all the questions we had. His past work was beautiful and fit our style.

    The day of our wedding, Steve and Heather were absolute professionals. They made my wife and I feel very comfortable being photographed. They had some great ideas for shots and made the day a lot of fun.

    Getting the photos after our wedding was easy. We could not be happier with how everything came out.

    Sent on 01/13/2018
  • L

    Lindsay · Married on 10/15/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We are so thrilled that we stumbled upon Stephen Marsh Photography. From the time we contacted Stephen, he was responsive and professional. He walked us through the process, gave us documents to guide our planning, and worked seamlessly with our planner to coordinate as we approached our wedding day. The value of the package that Stephen and Heather offer is unbeatable. Not only did the package fall right within our budget, but we received two talented photographers and 750+ printed photos (including several enlargements). Stephen and Heather want to be with the couple from the beginning to the end of their special day. They do not believe in limiting the couple to a certain number of hours. As a result, we got photos of everything from getting ready to our send-off. Stephen and Heather also do an amazing job of capturing every moment without anyone feeling like the photographers are "in the way." I barely remember seeing them the entire night, and yet they caught every moment. Like magic! Having two photographers allowed us to get more photos and similar photos from different angles. After the wedding, their turnaround time was great. As we hoped and expected, our photos were so beautiful! Definitely contact Stephen Marsh Photography...they are the best!!

    Sent on 12/24/2017
  • M

    Maggie · Married on 09/08/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Steve and his wife are AMAZING! My husband and I could not be happier with our photos. They truly captured the day in the best way possible. They were fun and energetic. Steve was easy to stay in touch with and walked us thru the process step by step. The photos are amazing, the turn around time was fantastic. There's not enough great things we can say about Stephen Marsh Photography. His pricing is competitive (we even got a Friday Wedding discount!) and you really get every memory you asked him to capture. Cannot recommend him enough!!

    Sent on 11/16/2017
  • A

    Amy · Married on 08/19/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful photos and very prompt with communication!! Made the process easy and would definitely recommend to any couple looking for photography!

    Sent on 12/27/2017
  • K

    Karnjana · Married on 06/14/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    These guys are absolutely amazing! Very easy going and with work worth anything you want to do. Highly recommended!

    Sent on 06/22/2017
  • D

    Dana · Married on 11/05/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Absolutely amazing! We chose Steve and Heather to do our Engagement pictures in Lake George and Wedding photos in Saratoga and could not be happier! From our first conversation on the phone, Steve was excited and super supportive of our ideas. They made those awkward kissing photographs fun and we had such a blast shooting with them. They had awesome jokes and kept our wild wedding party entertained all day and we ended up with the most beautiful photos. It was also a great surprise that the photos were loaded to the website a month and a half after our wedding, which we thought was pretty quick considering there are about 1200! Thank you so much, Steve and Heather, for all of your hard work and spending so much time getting to know us, our family and friends and pulling everyone's personalities into our photos!

    Sent on 12/20/2016
  • User4903515 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Steve and Heather were amazing to work with! Very friendly, funny, and efficient - they got all the shots we wanted without taking hours. They got everyone smiling and relaxed and did very well despite the terrible heat and the rain. I am so glad I hired them!

    Sent on 08/16/2016
  • C

    Camila · Married on 05/14/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    ABSOLUTELY amazing. Stephen and his wife, Heather, are pure professionals who keep it fun and exciting, who know what they're doing, and who have plenty of experience in this field. It more than shows. I still cry every time I look at our pictures - they're nothing short of perfect. We had Heather with me and the girls while we were getting ready. Stephen hung out with the guys and took their pictures. Then we did individual shoots alone (my husband and me). Everything came out the way I imagined it. It truly made our wedding seem like the fairy tale wedding we wanted. Words can't express how thankful we are for their service, and we cannot recommend them enough!! The price for the package we got was an amazing deal as well. Hard to find a better deal - excellent professional photographers for the outstanding price. Love them!

    Sent on 07/03/2016
  • M

    Megan · Married on 04/30/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Steve and Heather were so much fun to work with both in the days leading up to our wedding and on the wedding day itself. We had such a magical and beautiful day and couldn't be happier that Steve and Heather were there to join us. Throughout our wedding day, Steve and Heather had the rare ability to be everywhere, but nowhere at the same time. By that I mean, they got so many beautiful shots, but they never took any moments away from the bride/groom/families to get the shots. This was something that was very important to me. While doing our family pictures and bridal party pictures, Steve had a fun way of reminding us all to smile (and not fake smile!) so that we could get the best pictures possible. It was so fun watching him creatively choose picture locations and set up the scene. He was able to get all the shots in, and have fun at the same time, laughing and joking around with us all while he was taking pictures. This contributed greatly to our overall wedding feel, just having someone there with us that truly loves their job and has fun doing it. After the wedding, we had all our edits (800+!) within a month. We live out of state, so Steve even shipped our 4x6 prints to us to look through before ordering our enlargements. Steve was very quick to respond to any questions we had about prints and enlargements, and was able to quickly make any changes we asked for.

    Our wedding was in April 2016, and we have guests STILL commenting on how much fun they had with our photographers and how they love all our pictures.

    Overall, we were blown away by how easy Steve and Heather made our wedding-day photography and how perfectly their personalities meshed with our bridal party, friends, and family. You can't beat having someone there with you all day that feels like a friend, AND gets beautiful pictures along the way.

    Thank you, Thank you, Thank you for all your help making our day so special <3

    Sent on 08/11/2016
  • M

    Megan · Married on 04/30/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Steve and Heather were so much fun to work with both in the days leading up to our wedding and on the wedding day itself. We had such a magical and beautiful day and couldn't be happier that Steve and Heather were there to join us. Throughout our wedding day, Steve and Heather had the rare ability to be everywhere, but nowhere at the same time. By that I mean, they got so many beautiful shots, but they never took any moments away from the bride/groom/families to get the shots. This was something that was very important to me. While doing our family pictures and bridal party pictures, Steve had a fun way of reminding us all to smile (and not fake smile!) so that we could get the best pictures possible. It was so fun watching him creatively choose picture locations and set up the scene. He was able to get all the shots in, and have fun at the same time, laughing and joking around with us all while he was taking pictures. This contributed greatly to our overall wedding feel, just having someone there with us that truly loves their job and has fun doing it. After the wedding, we had all our edits (800+!) within a month. We live out of state, so Steve even shipped our 4x6 prints to us to look through before ordering our enlargements. Steve was very quick to respond to any questions we had about prints and enlargements, and was able to quickly make any changes we asked for.

    Our wedding was in April 2016, and we have guests STILL commenting on how much fun they had with our photographers and how they love all our pictures.

    Overall, we were blown away by how easy Steve and Heather made our wedding-day photography and how perfectly their personalities meshed with our bridal party, friends, and family. You can't beat having someone there with you all day that feels like a friend, AND gets beautiful pictures along the way.

    Thank you, Thank you, Thank you for all your help making our day so special <3

    Sent on 08/11/2016
  • D

    Duane · Married on 08/15/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Steve did an outstanding job from start to finish at the LeBlanc/Backus wedding. He was great with my grandkids who were 4 and 7 years old and always moving. He was a lot of fun to work with throughout the entire day and extremely professional.

    Sent on 08/30/2015
  • User5368958 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had such a great experience working with Steve. Photos are amazing!

    Sent on 08/22/2015
  • D

    Deirdre · Married on 06/20/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I LOVED working with Steve. I found him to be really easy to work with and I could not say anything negative even if I tried. I found him on Wedding Wire and I liked his photography and fair pricing. He works with his wife and they make a great pair. He takes the lead while his wife is a second photographer who assists him and takes candid shots as well. Our pictures were stunning. He was very timely the day of the wedding and very professional to work with. Him and his wife were great at getting great shots without interfering with the ceremony or private moments with the family. We went to the Empire State Plaza for pictures after the ceremony and Steve got very excited about this. He made it so fun because you could tell he was enjoying being our photographer. He got gorgeous romantic shots while still getting some more silly shots as my husband and I are a little goofy. It was a great balance of what I wanted and our personalities. Him and his wife were flexible with getting shots that we requested and they stayed until about the last hour of our wedding which was even longer than I had expected. I HIGHLY recommend him as a vendor.

    Sent on 10/13/2015
  • T

    Theresa · Married on 05/23/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Stephen Marsh photography was best experience a bride could ask for!! From start to finish he made the experience simple and 100% stress free! When I began researching photographers I knew there were four features I wanted. (1) Two photographers so that different angles and candid moments could be captured, (2) full day coverage so that my special day had pictures from start to finish (3) the agreement to use the photos after words to get duplicates or make photo projects and (4) high quality photos at a fair price. I know that was a lot to ask for, but Stephen Marsh was it!!! He exceeded all expectations, and even went above and beyond by going to two photo locations, checking with us before he left at the end of the night to make sure we didn't want more photos, and made faces to get our ring bearer to smile in photos (no simple task when the ring bearer is 21 months old) It was the little details he cared about which made me feel comfortable we were in good hands with one of the most important vendors of our wedding day. Lastly and perhaps most importantly, his professionalism, creativity and talent for his profession truly amazes me. He thought of ideas, angles, lighting etc. that made for some amazing pictures in which an average photographer would have bypassed. I have been in 4 weddings and Stephen Marsh is the best photographer I have had the pleasure of working with.

    Sent on 06/06/2015
  • L

    Lindsay · Married on 08/09/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I couldn't be happier with my choice of photographers. Steve and his wife were great to work with. They took all of my suggestions and were very patient and professional. The cost was very affordable, but quality was not compromised.

    Sent on 07/15/2015
  • User4133451 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Steve was wonderful from start to finish on our wedding day. He has such an incredible eye - from details in group pics to landscape portraits, and everything in between. I was truly so impressed. He was also very warm and had a great sense of humor. We had such a great time with him. If I had to choose a photographer over again to shoot the wedding, and I could pick anyone I wanted, I would choose Steve again, hands down.

    Sent on 05/28/2014
  • User5266852 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My experience the day of the wedding was fantastic with Steve. He was always in the right place at the right time to capture key moments, and he was warm, friendly and funny. He had an ease about him with guiding the photo process and it was obvious he had a clear vision and plan. Our family and friends raved about him that day and beyond. Upon receiving our photos I was blown away. He not only captured the expected shots beautifully, but his eye for landscaping, placing/positioning in group shots, etc is something all of my married friends are incredibly jealous of. Having Steve shoot our day was the single best decision my husband and I could have made. It is hard to believe he is as affordable as he is given his truly remarkable talent.

    Sent on 07/16/2015
  • R

    Ryan · Married on 11/08/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Stephen Marsh Photography made our wedding extremely magical. They were extremely professional in all of our meetings and made us feel that this day was truly about us. They were laid back, and very easy to work with. They took the time to explore our venues to capture some of the most breathtaking photos of the day we will never forget. They were a go with the flow kinda of couple, which made things go smoothly! Had a wonderful experience and would highly recommend to future couples!

    Sent on 07/13/2015
  • B

    Buddy and Kylie · Married on 10/05/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had the great pleasure of working with Steve and his wife on our big day. They were very professional but helped us all stay relaxed and have fun. They came in the morning and didn't leave until it was getting dark out. He was very open to any ideas I had for photos and incorporated them flawlessly. He had never been to the venue at Spruce Lake Farm but right away he began picking out places for photos and they simply came out amazing. He has a great eye for outdoor shots. I dare anyone to find a better price for TWO photographers that are there ALL DAY. But that wasn't even the reason I went with Steve. I just honestly liked what I saw with his albums on his website and knew he would be the best fit for what we wanted. He took a gazillion photos and we couldn't be happier with the outcome.

    Everyone leaves good reviews but honestly, listen up... You need a great photographer for your wedding. Spend the money. It is worth it. This guy gets it done.

    Sent on 11/21/2013
  • K

    Katherine · Married on 08/17/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Steve Marsh was AMAZING! The photos came back perfect and he and his wife were very fun to work with.

    Sent on 02/26/2016