Stems Floral Design Reviews

22 | Santa Rosa, CA
See photos, pricing and details

22 Reviews for Stems Floral Design

Recommended by 95%

22
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner

4.7 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.8
  • Professionalism 4.8
  • Flexibility 4.7
  • Value 4.7
  • Average response time 4.8
Sort by:
  • K

    Kate · Married on 05/24/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Working with Stems/ Vanda floral Design was such a great experience. They were so helpful, setting up the centerpieces for us, and renting out lanterns so we could have the centerpieces we wanted. The flowers for our ceremony were absolutely beautiful -the bridal bouquet was GORGEOUS, I cried when I saw it. I was planning a Sonoma County wedding from Indiana, so they were very responsive and easy to work with via email. Thank you to Bryce for all of his help!

  • S

    Susana · Married on 07/01/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    These guys recently switched owners. Bryce took over my order and was incredibly professional, delivered exactly what I wanted, and delivered everything on time. The flowers were the exact palette I was looking for, and my bouquet was absolutely gorgeous!! The arbor they made for our ceremony area was also stunning, and we received so many compliments from our guests (including from my mother-in-law who is a floral decorator herself). Thank you so much Stems Floral!!

  • N

    Natasha · Married on 06/10/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My family has been going to Stems for all of our floral needs for years! I'll be honest that they weren't my original first thoughts for my Wedding florals as I wanted something more bohemian and all I had seen from Stems was very classic, timeless displays. But wow, did they prove me wrong!!!!!!! They made me the most beautiful, organic, cascading bouquet I had ever seen. They really made it custom to my style and were willing to work with me and my vision.

    Delivery day of was seamless. They are pros and execute without haste!

    I brought them a palette to follow, inspiration photos from Pinterest, centerpieces to fill, and had a moongate for them. They went above and beyond and it was truly beautiful. I'm a little sad about Barb retiring, but I know her son will do the Stems legacy proud! Thank you!

  • Michelle

    Michelle · Married on 02/18/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Barbara at Stems was amazing. She was highly recommended by both our venue and our day-of coordinator, and they were right! She worked hard to make sure all of our flowers were beautiful, and they were exactly what I had described to her I wanted. And to top it off, she is an incredibly sweet and warm person. We can't recommend her more highly!

  • S

    Susanne · Married on 05/01/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Barbara was the first florist we interviewed. She was low-key and low pressure. She did have a checklist of all the various ways flowers could be used in the ceremony which we found helpful. We interviewed several other florists but liked her style of design best. The flowers were GORGEOUS and received countless compliments on the day of the event as well as afterwards when looking at photos. I do not like the "Club" style of bouquets that seem to be popular these days and she was willing and able to make my bridal bouquet in the cascade style where hands are hidden behind the bouquet. I wanted this for the bridesmaids as well but either I didn't communicate that clearly or she misunderstood since the bridesmaids bouquets were in the "club" style. They were still beautiful! One regret was since we left for our honeymoon immediately, the hotel ended up with our gorgeous urns of flowers. I wish I'd thought to make arrangements to have the flowers sent to a seniors home or hospital. Highly recommend Barbara.

  • J

    Jack · Married on 07/18/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Barbara is a professional. Unlike other vendors, she did not try to upsell nor did she bombard us after the initial meeting. Hers was the lowest of 3 quotations. Follow-up communications were easy and she ended up delivering exactly what we wanted.

  • R

    Ria · Married on 08/16/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Barbara did an amazing job on our wedding flowers. She was a pleasure to work with. She had great ideas and worked with our likes and dislikes. Barbara stayed with in our budget and didn't push us to rise it. We got lots of great comments on our flowers and we both loved them. We would use Stems again and would definitely recommend Barbara and Stems.

  • User3514327 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We did not decide to have a florist until about one month prior to the wedding. My Wedding Coordinator, Denise Kramer, once again worked her magic and hooked us up with Stems. After one 15 minute meeting with Barbara, I gave her my vision and did not see her again until the day of the wedding, as I was planning everything from the other side of the country. Needless to say, with little guidance, she was able to bring a fairytale wedding to life. Barbara's talents are unparalleled and her taste is flawless. She was not only able to find flowers that were out of season (peonies in July) with virtually no notice but also had special roses flown in! She knew the layout of my venue and decorated it "to the nines." The flowers added a tough of elegance to my venue that I never would have envisioned myself. Barbara surpassed my expectations. So glad we chose Stems!!! Would recommend to any bride looking to at that touch of flare!!! Love Beth & Jeff

  • User3314920 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Stems Floral Design kept to our style and colors but went above and beyond what we expected with our floral arrangements. People raved at how beautiful our flowers were. Stems provided the highest quality of service of all of our vendors but was also competitively priced. I highly recommend Stems Floral Design.

  • M

    Mia · Married on 09/03/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I could not have been happier with them, they have done several arrangements for me and do an amazing job every time!

  • Lindsey

    Lindsey · Married on 07/23/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Stems provided the flower arrangements for my rehearsal dinner and they were just stunning. When I met with Barbara and told her my vision, she completely got it and was already putting together a sample before I could finish... It was perfect! Stems is a wonderful local shop with great ideas and deisgn techniques that produces magnificent flower arrangements for special events and otherwise. I would HIGHLY RECOMMEND them to anyone in need of beautiful flowers for their event.

  • E

    Elena · Married on 05/28/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Barbara is excellent at what she does. Her costs were competitive with other florists in the area, but she brought the same quality I would expect. The flowers were GORGEOUS and arrangements were breathtaking. I got many compliments on them, and was very impressed with the bridesmaids' and my bouquet. She listened to exactly what I wanted and made it happen. There were great suggestions (bird cage for cards) that I got compliments on. I would highly recommend Stems.

  • J

    Juiena · Married on 09/25/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Barbara is AMAZING AMAZING AMAZING! Her work is absolutely beautiful and she understood my vision right away. She was able to work with our budget and give us something incredible. She is a true artist and I highly recommend Stems... ask for Barbara!

  • K

    Katie · Married on 09/05/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Barbara was a joy to work with and truly worked to understand what were were seeking in our wedding flowers. Our wedding flower philosophy given that we were getting married in a beautiful vineyard setting was that the flowers should accent our venue but that we did not need to make flowers a substantial line item in the budget. We gave Barbara an aggressive target for our total flower budget, and she submitted a proposal that was a bit above the target but that accounted for decorative flowers for which we hadn't accounted. We LOVED the floral arrangements provided for our wedding day, not the least of which was the bride's bouquet. It was stunning. The staff from Stems was extremely professional in their assistance with setup. Barbara even provided us with a beautiful basket to carry our ceremony programs. I truly believe our guests were wowed by the flowers, and would HIGHLY recommend working with Barbara at Stems to achieve your floral vision for your wedding day.

  • E

    Elizabeth · Married on 08/14/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Stems Floral Design did an outstanding job for our wedding. We could not have been happier! I was very particular about our wedding florals, and Barbara carried out every detail I had requested just perfectly. I was blown away by how beautiful the bouquets, boutonnieres, centerpieces, and all arrangements were. Her prices were extremely reasonable and fair (we were able to compare because we had shopped around the area before we were recommended to her), and I believe she even threw in extra things without charging. The wedding was unbelievable, and we have Barbara to thank for playing such a huge role in making it that way!

  • M

    Marina · Married on 09/07/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Absolutely perfect! The flowers were gorgeous and the cost excellent!

  • L

    Laura · Married on 05/09/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    They did an absolutely beautiful job on our flowers. They really helped us stretch our dollar and still end up with stunning flowers. They gave us great advice and suggestions, and we ended up with exactly what I wanted. I would highly recommend them!

  • T

    Taylor · Married on 08/13/2016

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    Barbara was recommended to us by our wedding coordinator and we were so happy we worked with her! She listened to what we wanted, she didn't try to up-sell us on any unnecessary extras, and her prices were very affordable. The flowers came out stunning- we received so many complements! She also included a sweet note with my bouquet which was a very lovely touch on the chaotic wedding day! Thank you Barbara & the Stems team!

  • M

    Carla · Married on 06/19/2010

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    Barbara did such an amazing job with the flowers for my daughter's wedding. Everyone raved. So nice to deal with too. She was an amazing find. Thanks to my friend for the recommendation. You won't be sorry if you use Stems for any occasion flowers.

  • Krystle Locey

    Krystle · Married on 02/20/2010

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      3.5
    • Flexibility:
      3.5
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    Our flowers were beautiful, hands down. I absolutely loved them, especially the bouquets. But I thought the price was a bit absurd. Perhaps prices are absurd everywhere though!

  • B

    wendy · Married on 08/08/2008

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Barbara was wonderful to work with! She did a beautiful job with the 9 bouquets, 2 corsages, and 10 boutonnieres. She sent them in vases which I use regularly in my home. She included a lovely note that I really appreciated on my wedding day.

  • User2461740 · 2+ years ago

    1.8
    • Quality of service:
      0.5
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      2.0
    • Flexibility:
      0.5
    • Professionalism:
      3.0

    Pushy florist doesn't listen
    I hate giving bad reviews, but honestly I wouldn't recommend going with this florist. I am an opinionated bride (aren't we all). I walked into stems with a plan for exactly what I wanted. I supplied photos, fabric and ribbon swatches to ensure I got what I wanted. However as I shared my plan with Barbara (the owner), she disagreed with me and wanted to give me her thoughts on what she thought would look best (roses that contrast with the dresses rather than blend) and spent half her time trying to sell me on other products she thought I needed for the day. Some of her ideas for other products sounded nice, and I agreed to think about it. So she drew up another quote (including the extras) for us to sign, saying we could always take off the extras later if we wanted. However I'm glad I read though the fine print because it said once the quote was signed, we could not decrease our order. I would not have been able to take them off. So I asked her to remove the extras so we could sign the quote for just what we wanted. I chose Stems based on price, and I'm kind of sad I did. And they weren't even that cheap! I thought I'd be okay if I was very specific in explaining what I wanted. I left a fabric swatch of the bridesmaid's dresses for color matching the flowers and I clearly said I want a pink rose to match that. I even supplied a photo of another bride who had flowers that blended with the dresses. However, the flowers delivered were hot pink roses (bridesmaids worse dusty pink dresses). They were pink, but not at all what I asked for!!! The quality of the flowers was good, but the service and end result was poor. If you choose this vendor, I would say make sure you agree with what Barbara wants to do, because in the end, it will be what she wants, not what you want :-(

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review