Skip to main content
Weddings

St. James Hotel, Est. 1875 Reviews

St. James Hotel, Est. 1875

St. James Hotel, Est. 1875

Red Wing, MN
Rating 4.8 out of 5, 88 Reviews
View more information

88 Reviews

Rated
4.8
out of 5.0
Recommended by 95% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 4.7 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.7 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.8 out of 5

Awards

  • 88
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner

20 User photos

  • Tori
    Tori A. Married on 08/06/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing team!

    Abby was great to work with and helped us with every detail! We appreciated having everything there: the flowers, catering, and hair and makeup
  • Tracy
    Tracy R. Married on 06/19/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Beautiful wedding venue!

    Abby and the St. James Hotel staff made our day extra special. The staff was attentive, quick to respond to our questions, and overall just friendly to all of our family and friends. The hotel's historic area was the perfect location for our micro wedding. Best weekend!
  • Susie
    Susie C. Married on 07/10/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    So Amazing! The best wedding venue you'll find.

    We had a wedding over the weekend at the St James and it was spectacular! Leading up to the event, the St James staff was so helpful and quick to respond to our questions. The day went off without any issues and many of our guests came up and told us it was the best wedding they've ever been to, and many said it was the best wedding food they've ever had. We also had the River Blu SPA inside the hotel do hair and make up and that was just so convenient. They also did such a beautiful job. I would highly recommend them. I can't thank you enough for exceeding all of our expectations. We wanted to give our daughter her dream wedding and we wanted our guests to feel welcomed, well fed and entertained. It was all that and more!
  • C
    Claire S. Married on 07/19/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Sophisticated, Classy, Elegant

    An absolute charming, exquisite venue.
  • Stephanie
    Stephanie G. Married on 04/06/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Best venue ever

    This venue ended up being the perfect match for me and my groom. We had half of our guest list travel from out of state and it was so convenient to have everything in the same place. The wedding sales manager Abby is phenomenal at what she does! Super responsive and invested in making the day-of a smashing success. I am a walking billboard for this venue. I had multiple guests tell me it was the best food they've ever had at a wedding too! No regrets. If you're considering - just do it!!
  • Kristen
    Kristen P. Married on 02/09/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    A beautiful, reasonably priced venue with great staff!!

    The hotel staff, especially Abby Hanson, were super easy to work with and very responsive to our questions and needs. The meal we chose we delicious and beautifully prepared (I had multiple compliments from guests). The historic wing was had a romantic set up. The wait staff was incredibly kind, helpful, smooth, and on top of their game.

    The venue itself had very reasonable pricing (especially compared to the pricing in the twin cities) and included a suite stay with a jacuzzi and a couple other gifts for us.

    The hotel itself has multiple restaurants in it so it's good for celebrating the night before the wedding and the morning after.

    We would highly recommend the St. James Hotel to anyone looking for a cozy romantic spot!
  • D
    Daniel J. Married on 01/13/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Cannot Speak Highly Enough

    If I could go back and choose our wedding venue 100 more times I would choose the St. James Hotel every single time! I could write volumes on how great the venue is and the staff are but I would do you a disservice if I said too much more than, just go see it and talk to them! You want to experience it for yourself. I'm sure that you will find the St. James to be absolutely fantastic. The hotel is kept up beautifully, the history is rich and the details magnificent. The diversity of spaces for your wedding cannot be matched, whether it is the gorgeous Historic Wing with library and fireplace, the intimate Laurentine, or the majestic Summit with spectacular river views, such big windows! Go see the Summit room! Go visit the St. James Hotel! I'm sure it will either become your venue or set the bar for your search and you will be so glad you went. A few details about our wedding: January 13th, 2019- Sunday Brunch Wedding. We used the Historic, Laurentine, and Summit and were delighted with all three spaces. The food was excellent. The staff was great. And the prices were fair, especially for a winter, Sunday, brunch wedding. I said I wouldn't say too much but it is easy to get carried away when speaking about the St. James Hotel.

    Thank you St. James Hotel!

    Daniel & April
  • H
    Hannah L. Married on 10/13/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Perfect Wedding Experience

    Our wedding at the St. James Hotel was absolutely perfect -- beyond perfect, in fact. Every member of the staff with whom we interacted was professional, prompt, friendly, and went above and beyond the call of duty to help us make our wedding a beautiful and joyful celebration. The venue is gorgeous, there is ample free parking for guests, the hotel rooms are beautiful, and the food is delicious. Abby Hanson (the wedding sales manager) worked closely with us from day one to give us a seamless, stress-free wedding planning experience. I would recommend this venue to anyone who wants an amazing value and a perfect, beautiful, stress-free wedding.
  • P
    Peyton M. Married on 10/05/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Incredible!!

    I got so lucky finding this hotel to use for our wedding venue! The location is stunning. It feels like stepping back in time. The Edwardian decor is truly impressive. But besides the beauty, the service was the best. Abby Hanson was our wedding coordinator (part of the deal when we booked), and she was there for us every step of the way, from helping us choose our food, to reserving rooms for our guests, and being available on the big day to keep things running on track. We received a free suite on the wedding night and it was filled with beautiful gifts upon entering. If you want a wedding that is self-contained, go to the St. James. Your guests will thank you when they don't have to drive anywhere after the ceremony or reception. I will never forget that day and the St. James made it everything I hoped and dreamed for!
  • D
    Dan Married on 09/07/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Abby is a very talented wedding coordinator! She helped us get everything ready for our wedding day which was of immense help as we mostly planned the event from out of state. The food was phenomenal (Minnesota Pot Roast, Tuscan chicken & pasta primavera) and the venue is perfectly situated along the Mississippi River with stunning views and easy access to downtown Red Wing & the Amtrak station. Could not have asked for a better day! Thank you!
  • B
    Bailey Married on 04/14/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Abby and the St. James team were absolutely fabulous. They were helpful and professional. Our wedding day was perfect!
  • R
    Rihanna Married on 01/05/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We loved having our wedding at the St. James Hotel in Red Wing, MN. I am originally from the area, so I love the Mississippi River, and my husband loves history. This place offered us the best of both worlds with the beautiful views of the river and bluffs, and there was so much historical background within the venue from the woodwork, ceiling, and decor. Abby, the wedding coordinator, made sure everything was perfect and kept me on track with my planning to make sure things were turned in on time, etc. She answered any question I had ASAP and was always there to lend her advice on what worked best with the venue and timelines. The comp suite you are given the night of the wedding is beyond beautiful, and you are given an extremely generous gift from the hotel that you can use forever. Every aspect of the day was perfect, and our guest continue to talk about how beautiful and perfect the venue was. Only downfall was the front desk clerk was a little rude to a couple of our guests, which kind of left a sour taste in our mouths upon leaving the hotel. So that was a bummer. However, we 10/10 would recommend this venue if you are looking for something with views, history, and greatness!
    P.S. We had our ceremony and reception in the Summit Room, and we also did a social hour between the ceremony and dinner in the Historic Area bar.
  • K
    Katie Married on 12/09/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We had an amazing experience at the St James for our December wedding! I have nothing but positive things to say. We used the Historic Lobby for our cocktail hour and the Summit Room for our reception and both spaces were gorgeous. The staff were all friendly and accommodating, and the wedding coordinator, Abby, was great to work with.

    The price was so reasonable, and it was a great weekend getaway for our guests. We stayed at the hotel, got ready at the salon downstairs, and got our flowers from the floral shop in the hotel - all in one place, it couldn’t have been easier or more perfect! So grateful to the St James for making our wedding day an absolute dream!
  • L
    Lindsay Married on 11/04/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Our experience at the St. James could not have been any better. Abby was great! I asked so many questions leading up to the big day and she always responded within 24hrs and most times within 2-3hrs. She is knowledgable and friendly. The venue is gorgeous and recently updated! Great price too! The catering staff goes above and beyond to make sure that you and your guests are well taken care of. The waiters/waitresses were constantly asking us how it was going and complementing us on our big day! My parents even noticed how tentative the staff was! Thank you so much for making our big day special!
  • S
    Shannon Married on 10/03/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We had the wedding and the reception at the St James. Made things so much easier! Food was excellent, and a very good value for what you get. The service was fantastic! The staff was so helpful and kind. Abby Hanson is the wedding planner. She was a lot of fun to work with! The St James is very affordable if you are doing a small wedding. I highly recommend it!
  • L
    Laura Married on 09/16/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I looked and spoke to about 50 wedding venues and was getting so frustrated that I couldn't find something that we loved, wasn't a ton of work and in our price range. We wanted everything in one place with an outdoors ceremony and indoor reception. When I first got info on the St. James, I thought it was too good to be true. It met all of our criteria (we did out ceremony in the park behind the St. James) and was in our price range. I figured there had to be a catch but there wasn't! It was seriously PERFECT!

    They were incredible to work with throughout the process. They responded promptly to our many questions and helped us every step of the way. The work we had to do for set up and tear down was minimal and they provided pretty much all of the basics that many other DIY venues lacked like china, linens, tables, easels, etc. Instead of being a generic hotel ballroom though, this hotel has so much character! As soon as I walked in and saw the view of the river from the Summit Room, I knew we had to get married there. We loved that everything was under one roof- getting ready, our florist (Clementine is the best!), the hotel for the guests and our complimentary honeymoon suite. It made logistics so much easier!

    The staff was all so helpful and attentive. They really went out of their way and wowed us with little surprises along the way. Our families and guests were so impressed! The food was absolutely incredible! We did tacos and had mac and cheese bites for late night snacks- sooooo good!

    The only problem we ran into was that we ran out of hotel rooms in our block, the St. James and every hotel in all of Red Wing for our date (Sept 16). If you are getting married in the fall, book LOTS of rooms way ahead of time to ensure all of your guests have accommodations. The St. James is a small boutique hotel that has a lot of charm and fills up fast.

    We couldn't imagine getting married anywhere else. Definitely go with the St. James! You won't regret it :)
  • K
    Kelli Married on 04/21/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Our experience planning and holding our wedding and wedding reception at the St. James Hotel was absolutely wonderful. The front desk associates, the wedding coordinator, maintenance, housekeeping, the banquet manager, and the entire staff was incredibly kind and helpful. We were treated as though we were staying at a luxury hotel. The venue was also stunningly beautiful!!
  • J
    Jenna Married on 12/10/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The St. James was so beautiful and perfect for our wedding! Marissa was beyond wonderful to work with. She responded to my questions, even while she was out of the office, to help us nail down every detail. Before meeting Marissa and choosing the St. James, I wasn't quite sure where to start, but she made planning a breeze! The venue is beautiful and accommodating, and our guests STILL compliment us on the food!
  • S
    Stacey Married on 12/03/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The St James is such a beautiful place for a wedding! We had our reception and ceremony there and everything went perfect. Marissa was so great to work with and she helped us so much with all the little details. We are so happy we chose the St. James for our wedding.
  • L
    Laura Married on 11/12/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    This venue is spectacular - all of our guests RAVED about how beautiful the reception room, view, and guests rooms were! The wedding manager, Marissa, was on top of all of my questions and made sure our wedding went smoothly every step of the way.
    If I could do it all over again, I wouldn't change a thing.
  • Jes
    Jes Married on 09/24/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    My husband and I got married at SJH on 9/24 and we were so so so happy with how the day turned out. Marissa was amazing from the very beginning, answering my massive amounts of emails with every question under the sun, to helping out the day before and day of. The staff was amazing as well. Our guests really enjoyed attending a wedding at the SJH. Thank you for making our wedding day so spectacular! We are very lucky!
  • L
    Leah Married on 09/17/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Marissa at the st James hotel made our wedding so memorable. She was always willing to email me back whenever I had a question and she was always willing to meet with me whenever I wanted to see the venue. She made our day perfect. I would recommend working with her at the st James to any of my friends.
  • L
    Lara Married on 09/16/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I can't stress how happy we were with our experience at the St. James Hotel. My husband and I were married there this September and we worked primarily with Marissa. She is amazing. She was patient and understanding through all of our decision making and changes, and she was incredibly easy to communicate with. She was present the day of the event and more than willing to do anything necessary to make sure the day went smoothly -- which it did. The venue is beautiful and historical, and easily accommodates both large and small groups. We had a somewhat smaller guest list and they were still happy to put us up in the large Summit Room for our reception. We can't recommend this enough as a venue, wedding or otherwise. Expect wonderful service and an event your guests will talk about for a long time!
  • B
    Brittany Married on 08/26/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Couldn't have asked for a better place to have a wedding and ceremony! The staff was great, food was perfect and the rooms were beautiful!