Square Mile Events Reviews

17 | Hoboken, NJ
See photos, pricing and details

17 Reviews for Square Mile Events

Recommended by 100% of couples

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0

Awards

17
Order by:
  • Tiffany

    Tiffany · Married on 01/19/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    A joy to work with, highly recommend


    We worked with Joanna for day of coordination and partial wedding planning services throughout — and had a great experience every step of the way.

    For Day-of coordination:
    With almost the entire guest list traveling from out of town to get to our wedding, I knew we’d need the help of a wedding planner. I’ve been to so many weddings where members of the family or bridal party were responsible for a lot of the clean up (either at rehearsal dinner or after reception) -- making sure center pieces, gifts, display/decor items got home safely. Our goal was to make sure our families didn’t have to worry about anything other than getting back to their hotel at the end of the night. Joanna and her assistant Em took care of literally everything for us - and the entire reception ran smoothly from start to finish. It was a huge help to have her on site to answer questions both at the rehearsal and the reception, and to be the main point of contact for all the vendors since our ceremony and reception weren’t at the same venue.

    For partial wedding planning:
    Overall I’m a very organized person and I have experience planning some events for work, but even so I opted for partial wedding planning which ended up being a big help. Joanna was available to look over contracts + pricing and offer recommendations on vendors. She helped us find a last minute lighting vendor, recommended the limo service we ended up choosing and also had a hand in helping us find our DJ (her recommendation was booked, but he helped us find who we ultimately chose).

    Also, we got married in January so a ton of wedding decisions and payments had to be made right around the holidays (Nov/Dec). Joanna kept us on track (and also kept some of our more unresponsive vendors on track) making our lives so much easier given the busy time of the year.

    If you’re on the fence about whether or not to book a wedding planner, I’d say to do it. If you’re in the NY/NJ area and considering working with Joanna - I’d highly recommend choosing her to help with your big day.

    Sent on 10/29/2019
  • R

    Rosa · Married on 11/17/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Custom Planning Service

    Having spoken to friends that have gotten married before us and doing tons of research on my own, I knew we absolutely needed professional help if we wanted to pull off the wedding of our dreams. Joanna is a true expert and professional when it comes to planning and coordinating a wedding. From the first day we hired her, she gave us great advice and tools to keep us on track and recommended amazing vendors that executed our vision perfectly. She's an incredible listener, and an even better problem-solver. As part of the custom package she created for us, we had countless email exchanges and in-person meetings for over a year before our wedding, and she helped ease our fears and calm our nerves every step of the way.

    To say that Joanna held my hand through every step of the planning process might be still be an understatement. Have a venue walkthrough but have no idea what to look for? She's there to ask all the right questions. Need some extra emotional support at your dress fitting appointment? She's there to take 53682 pics and be the best hypewoman. After the wedding, she and her lovely associate Em even packed up all the decor, gifts, and cake and delivered them to our hotel room while we continued our celebration with our friends and family. We did not have to worry about a single thing.

    My now husband and I will forever we grateful to have Joanna as our planner, and I would not hesitate to recommend her to anyone starting their own wedding planning journey!

    Sent on 12/04/2018
  • K

    Kelsey · Married on 05/19/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Finding Joanna was like finding my Fairy Godmother! I was traveling out of state every week for work and didn't know how I was ever going to plan a wedding too! The tools that Joanna provided to ensure that not a single detail was overlooked and nothing was forgotten in the months leading up to our wedding was absolutely perfect. She was so incredibly easy to work with -- my meetings with her felt like catching up with a friend! She was the perfect buffer and go-to person for all of my last minute needs the week of the wedding and Joanna did such an incredible job on the day of my wedding making sure that everything ran smoothly and it all went off just as I wanted it to! It was so nice for my husband and I to not have to stress about a single thing because I knew that Square Mile Events had it all taken care of! I certainly wouldn't have enjoyed my wedding as much without Joanna there!

    Sent on 07/07/2018
  • C

    Colette · Married on 03/11/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Hiring Joanna as our month-of coordinator was one of our best wedding planning decisions. Even though our venue had a coordinator, I knew I wanted to have an outside source to go to for my specific wedding vision, as well as someone to watch over the venue coordinator/employees and the wedding day logistics. Joanna went above and beyond our month-of package. She attended tastings with us, offered countless suggestions from transportation vendors to aisle runners, and made sure each vendor was where they needed to be promptly on wedding day. She was always responsive via email/text. Joanna's spreadsheets, timelines and checklists were essential as we got closer to the wedding day, making sure we didn't miss a thing. I especially valued the google calendar reminders for what was due to vendors and when. My husband and I wanted to enjoy ourselves at our wedding and have a great time dancing and mingling with our friends and family; Joanna allowed us to do exactly that without worrying about a thing. Our wedding day was nothing short of perfect, thanks to Joanna and Square Mile Events!

    Sent on 04/04/2018
  • J

    Jane · Married on 10/13/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Joanna was a godsend. Even if your venue has a coordinator, you NEED her services. On your wedding day, do you want to be setting up decor, dealing with the inevitable hiccups and running down the street to pickup the forgotten decor item -- or do you want to be drinking champagne with your girls and celebrating with your husband? I am a type A, get it done kinda girl, but there is no level of bride that can execute her own wedding. We used Joanna for the month-of package (as I learned from her, there is no such thing as day-of coordinating really!) and I'm sure when my sister gets married we'll hire her for the whole planning period. As I sat down with my new husband and closest friends at our afterparty -- while Joanna and her team loaded all the decor items, wedding cake, bags, and more back into our house, leaving my family and friends free to celebrate with me -- I knew that hiring Joanna was the best decision we made in all our planning.

    Sent on 10/31/2017
  • T

    Tracy · Married on 05/13/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Michael and I are so grateful to have had the opportunity to work with Joanna (and team) of Square Mile Events! We hired Joanna as a Day of Coordinator, but she and her team did much, much more than that! As I was planning my own wedding, I realized it was quickly approaching and I knew my vision would be complete if I had some help with scheduling the timing of events and coordinating with my vendors. Square Mile Events to the rescue! Joanna is professional, organized, enthusiastic, readily available in all forms of communication and extremely flexible. She goes above and beyond in providing recommendations, checklists, creative ideas and all things to make your wedding vision come to life. The week of our wedding, Joanna finalized all info with my vendors, picked up all of my table numbers, favors and items to be put out at the church and reception and kept me calm knowing that I was in good hands and the day would run smoothly. I will be forever thankful to Joanna and her team for making sure every minute of the day was stress-free and enjoyable for me, my husband and my family. If you are in the process of getting married, I strongly recommend hiring Joanna to handle everything so you can enjoy your best day ever!

    Sent on 08/17/2017
  • J

    Jessica · Married on 05/13/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I don't even know how to put into words how amazing Joanna and the Square Mile Events team is. I hired her for partial planning services and she kept me organized and focused throughout the planning process -- but in a fun, completely low-key and non-judgmental way. She was the most amazing presence throughout the entire process as well as on the day of our wedding -- I felt that I had an incredible new friend, as well as the most organized person in the NYC area! Please hire her and the team. I cannot recommend them enough.

    Sent on 12/12/2017
  • C

    Christina · Married on 04/22/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    You might be the most organized, type-A person on Earth, but no event will test your planning skills as much as your wedding will. The #1 reason why I hired Joanna at Square Mile Events is because I did not want those closest to me (i.e. my mom and dad) to do anything but enjoy themselves during my wedding weekend. Joanna reminds me of Olivia Pope from Scandal - “It’s handled!” No matter what crazy idea I threw at her (or hiccup that happened on the day of my wedding), Joanna handled it perfectly. Of all the wedding vendors I had, I am most thankful for her because of her astute sense of design, her responsibility, dependability, organizational skills, and because she is a true visionary when it comes to making your event special, unique, and truly representative of you and your significant other.

    I always thought that I could plan my wedding on my own; however, less than a week after I was engaged, I immediately hired her for full-service wedding planning to plan my April 2017 wedding. I knew that she was the only person who could take my massive binder of endless magazine clippings and rein it all into the true vision of what I wanted - a classic dinner party that blended me and my fiancé’s Southern European heritage with an edgy, urban vibe.

    I am so happy that I went with her full planning and design services because the moment I chose my venue, we designed an event with the venue in mind. She often sent me design ideas and inspiration, visited my vendors with me, and we attended bridal industry events that inspired several of my wedding details... and, of course, there were countless FaceTime calls! Joanna was able to show me how to make the highlights really stand out so that my guests would be wowed. The moment I hired her, she sent me a timeline, budget tracker, and month-to-month checklist that was leaps and bounds better than anything I could find in a magazine! She is an industry expert that will make your event the best wedding ever!

    Sent on 04/27/2017
  • C

    Christy · Married on 09/10/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I must say hiring Joanna and Square Mile Events was the best decision I made for my wedding. They were such a pleasure to work with and truly understood my vision. I couldn't have done it with out them! I was a bit overwhelmed with who was going to set up all the decor and be the point person throughout the day, until I met with Joanna. She immediately made my mind at ease. She was super organized, trustworthy, honest, reliable and her attention to detail was amazing. I had a 250 person wedding with a church ceremony and a tent reception. There were so many moving parts since the reception was on private property and we had to bring everything in. I met with Joanna numerous times before the wedding to go over decor, set-up, timelines etc. She was always so helpful, organized and understanding. Before the wedding she reached out to all my vendors to make sure everyone was on the same page and knew all the times/details. Her and her team also set up all the decor around the property. Everything came out even more beautiful than I imagined. I truly couldn't have done it with out her and her team. It allowed me to enjoy every single moment of my wedding. It was hands down the best day of my life and I have Joanna to thank for making everything go so smoothly and making it the most beautiful day. To any bride, I would 100% recommend Joanna and Square Mile Events. You will be so happy and relieved to have them on the happiest day of your life!

    Sent on 11/04/2016
  • lorigolightly

    Lorraine · Married on 08/26/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Coming from a type A bride who wanted to be as hands on as she possibly could (and probably would've driven to the venue on the day of just to be reallyREALLY sure), our wedding could not have been in better hands. We hired them as day-of coordinators but Joanna was there for in the months beforehand when I needed feedback on design choices or just needed someone to vent to. On our wedding day itself, all the little design details that I had driven myself crazy over were executed beautifully and the party ran smoothly all thanks to the efforts of Faye and Mallory. They kept me sane, calm, and hydrated so I really didn't have to worry about a thing.

    Square Mile were a godsend on probably one of the most hectic, life-changing days of myself and the hub's lives and the days leading up to it. Joanna and her team are so worth every penny and more.

    Sent on 09/06/2016
  • T

    Tricia · Married on 05/07/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    After taking a hard look at our budget, we struggled with the decision to hire a wedding planner. We felt we had done a lot of planning and could get by on the day of with help from our family and friends. We. were. so. wrong.

    There are issues that will come up on the day of that you could not have remotely planned or prepared for (ex: we accidentally left all our vendor tips in the hotel room. Joanna and Christina saved us). We could list so many examples. Also, regardless of how much you prep, nothing compares to handing off the reins to someone you truly trust to make your dream wedding happen. Someone who knows the back story on every e-mail (not because she had to, but because she wanted to), came to every meeting, knows every detail and every vendor. I can't tell you how many times I said, "Thank God I have Joanna and Christina." I'm sure you will feel the same way from day 1.

    Also, aside from Joanna and Christina's professionalism and responsiveness, they are just the loveliest people. I looked forward to every meeting because their enthusiasm was contagious. When we did a mock up of our ancestry table at Joanna's place a week or so before the wedding (also not necessary but Joanna wanted to make sure the layout was how we wanted it to be), my now husband and I had this moment of "oh bejesus. this is happening" and got a little emotional, and Joanna and Christina were too.

    We were warned that while planning your wedding you suddenly have this weird feeling that you want every vendor to be your BFF, and it's disappointing when you realize not all of them are, despite the fact that you're sharing this once-in-a-lifetime, seismic event with people who are relatively new to your life. When I was about to walk down the aisle and had a big brain fart and was trying really hard to keep it together, Joanna was my BFF, squeezing my hand and keeping me calm. They are the real deal, and we are forever fans. We were so lucky to have them.

    Sent on 06/02/2016
  • M

    Marisa · Married on 10/25/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    If you are wondering if you need a day of planner for your wedding you have come to the right place. Hiring Joanna and Square Mile Events was the best thing I could have done for my wedding and my overall stress level. Not only is Joanna a wonderful person but her attention to detail and organization is like no other. She has such a passion for events and will do whatever it takes to make sure all the pieces come together for your big day! In order to truly enjoy your wedding you need to relinquish control which is not always easy especially on a day like this. Square Mile Events gives you the peace of mind you need so your wedding can be a beautiful day.

    A friend at work referred me to Joanna when I was starting to stress about how my vision was going to come together. Joanna met with me on many occasions to go over my ideas and worked closely with my vendors to make sure everyone was on the same page. The setup day of was one of my biggest worries and Square Mile brought my vision to fruition. Every detail that I had arranged Square Mile brought to life better than I could have done myself.

    I feel so lucky to have had Joanna and Square Mile Events for my wedding. I would recommend their services to any bride! Not only do you get such professional service but you also gain new friends!

    Sent on 11/19/2015
  • User4824896 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    As my now husband puts it... "I never could have gotten through the day without Joanna and team". Around the time I started thinking "there's no way this is all going to come together" a friend recommended reaching out to Joanna at Square Mile Events. We worked together in the weeks leading up to my wedding and it saved my sanity. Joanna helped get me organized. She coordinated with all my vendors and the venue. She handled EVERYTHING. I didn't have to do a thing! The whole night was absolutely perfect. I couldn't have dreamed it any better. I'd like to say that there wasn't a single issue... I have a feeling there were but Joanna handled everything! Which meant my husband and I were free to enjoy the best night of our lives with absolutely no stress.

    To any bride getting married I would HIGHLY recommend that you let Joanna and team handle everything and you just have fun!

    Sent on 06/29/2015
  • User4519264 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Where to begin....Joanna is as beautiful on the inside as she is on the outside. She has a true passion for event planning as well as LOVE!

    She took time right from the beginning to make sure she had a clear vision of what we wanted for our day. From there on we got monthly check ins about our timeline and where we were. It was great. We knew each month leading up to the day what we should have accomplished etc.

    She came to every meeting/ was on every conference call. She helped us source a ton of stuff from Etsy as well as side vendors for things like an aisle runner and table runners. Always getting back to me the same day, usually within the hour.

    In my opinion you are given quite a deal. She is so talented and has such a good eye and good taste that you really have nothing to worry about. She was like our third partner in planning! Day of was flawless. She took care of all of our vendors and at the end of the nite, we had nothing to worry about.

    Her professional and emotional support throughout our year and a half were invaluable. I highly recommend Joanna and Square Mile Events for your next event. We'll be using her company for years to come!

    Sent on 11/02/2014
  • B

    Bonnie · Married on 05/02/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Hiring a wedding planner, specifically Joanna and Mile Square Events was the best thing I did for my wedding and sanity. Part wedding planner, part therapist, person that is totally more into your wedding than you are Joanna fits the bill for all of these. Let's face it after a certain point no one wants to hear about your invitation font and paper weight...Joanna does!
    Planning a wedding no matter what the size is stressful and nerve wracking. Joanna expertly helped me in navigating the waters of wedding planning, from choosing a venue on down to checking invitation wording and fonts, over to looking through vendor contracts and letting me know what was expected and what was out of line. She has impeccable taste and knows what works for a wedding and what will flop.
    She was always quick to respond to all my emails, questions and concerns.
    Fast forward to the week of the wedding, Joanna picked up and inventoried all my wedding stuff, she had EVERYTHING organized and ready to roll. This took so much pressure off me at the last minute. We worked out a timeline, she confirmed all my vendors. All I had to do was worry about myself and everything else was under her control. My wedding went off without a hitch, if there was a hitch Joanna made sure I didn't notice it and it didn't impact the day at all.
    If there is one piece of advice I would give to brides out there, hire a wedding planner, hire Mile Square Events, even if its just week of day of event execution. It is worth every penny and more to be able to enjoy your day without a worry.

    Sent on 11/04/2014
  • H

    Heidi · Married on 07/21/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I wish that there was a way to give more than five stars! Joanna was the most wonderful wedding planner and I can't imagine what I would have done without her! From start to finish, she was there with creative and unique ideas to make our wedding day perfect. Joanna has so much experience and she always knows what is up and coming in the wedding world. She had such wonderful ideas about the venue, flowers, vendors, music, menu, etc. and I never could have done it without her. Not only was she an amazing wedding planner, she was also always checking up on me and making sure that I was calm and ready for our big day. Joanna gave us peace of mind that everything was under control so that my husband and I could enjoy our engagement. She went above and beyond in every possible way. I feel so lucky to have had such a wonderful, creative, and warm wedding planner! I would recommend her services to anyone that wants to have the wedding of their dreams!

    Sent on 11/10/2014
  • M

    Maggie · Married on 10/14/2017

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    To say that Joanna and the team at Square Mile Events are experts at wedding planning is an understatement! My fiancé (now husband) and I hired Joanna as a month of planner to help us make sure that all aspects of the wedding were on target and executed seamlessly since both our work/travel/personal schedules were going to be super hectic as the big day approached. As an events professional myself having done events for some of the best luxury brands in the industry, my expectations probably would have seemed unreasonable for some wedding planners - i.e.- every detail needed to be on point and flawless. Working with Joanna was a JOY - I would not hesitate to work with her personally or professionally for any special events! She was super communicative throughout the entire wedding planning process and asked all the right questions. She was great at navigating all the details, sensitive topics, paperwork and questions from all of our vendors. The wedding day itself was so smooth and there wasn't an inch of worry that she would take care of everything. She was extremely professional throughout the journey and also fun to hang out with! If you're looking for a team that is going to go above and beyond to help you plan your big day, you should stop looking now and just hire Square Mile Events!

    Sent on 11/22/2017

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review