Spotlight Event Services Reviews

47 | Morehead City, NC
See photos, pricing and details

47 Reviews for Spotlight Event Services

Recommended by 99%

47
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0
Sort by:
  • C

    Caitlin · Married on 05/06/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We used Spotlight Event Services for my sister's wedding (ceremony + reception) last weekend and Rodney was awesome! It was so nice not to have to orchestrate anything or make song requests because he had it all under control! All throughout the planning process, Rodney & Sarah were super responsive to all my emails and were great to work with. I have worked with several other DJs in the past, and I would highly recommend Spotlight to anyone who asks! The most helpful thing to us was the DJ Music Worksheet that Rodney put together and had us complete. It allowed us to spell what we wanted when we wanted it and there was no question about what to do or play. About a month before the wedding we ended up needing to add Ceremony services to our package and it was super easy. We love Spotlight!!

    Sent on 05/08/2017

    Spotlight Event Services's reply:

    Thank you for the wonderful review! It was a pleasure to help make your sisters special day a success. Best wishes to the bride and groom!
  • V

    Veronica · Married on 09/04/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rodney was amazing! He was very professional and helpful throughout the whole wedding planning process. He was easy to communicate with, and even gave great suggestions for a timeline and different games to do during the reception. He made our special day even better then we could have ever hoped for. Thanks so much Spotlight Event Services. You guys rock!!! A+++++

    Sent on 09/17/2016

    Spotlight Event Services's reply:

    Veronica, thank you for the kind review! We were so pleased to help make your wedding day a success!
  • J

    Jerad · Married on 06/18/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Spotlight did an amazing job! They set up on the beach so we could have music during the ceremony. We tried having wireless mics but it was a little breezy for that.
    The reception had a fantastic selection of music that they catered for our taste. They had several activities/games that got all our guests involved.

    Sent on 10/22/2016

    Spotlight Event Services's reply:

    Thank you for the wonderful review Jerad! Your wedding day was perfect!
  • User6263378 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rodney was great to work with! He was very responsive to my emails and made sure I was comfortable with everything. I also booked my officiant through Spotlight Event Services, and James did a great job as well. He took our vision for the ceremony and made sure to incorporate it into the ceremony.

    Sent on 06/30/2016
  • O

    Olesya · Married on 06/04/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had the pleasure working with Spotlight Event Services, specifically James Serretti for our wedding on June 4th. James did a great job at our event, he was very professional, fun, and on top of things. We enjoyed working with him and would definitely recommend Spotlight for any other event.

    Sent on 06/06/2016
  • J

    Jillian · Married on 06/04/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rodney was the DJ at our wedding on June 4th and he was amazing!! First of all, he was so responsive throughout the entire wedding planning process. He answered all of my emails immediately and gave me a lot of helpful song suggestions to get me started. He played the music for our ceremony and did a great job accommodating a different song for the groomsmen entrance, bridesmaids entrance, and bridal march. During the reception he did a great job with the flow of events and keeping everyone out on the dance floor. I would absolutely recommend him to anyone looking for a DJ!

    Sent on 06/21/2016
  • B

    Bethany · Married on 05/21/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    When we first started researching entertainment for the wedding, I was shocked on the expense and I refused to be that bride/groom to uphold the crazy statistic of wedding costs. Couples should not go broke or in debt before they start their new life. When I saw this company on wedding wire, I thought, really? Let's see about this. We met with Rodney and his wife, Sarah who did our photography. It was a no brainier. Their magical personalities made this one of our first and easiest decisions. People say, if it's too good to be true, it probably is..... Well, Rodney and Sarah blew that theory out of the water (pun intended- we had an aquarium wedding). They treated us like family and all through the night it felt like the were old friends. Rodney didn't break a sweat with custom requests and even added special surprises, like a private dance all alone in front of the shark tank while people were gathering for our bubble farewell. Sarah was like a sister, 'anything you need, just tell me'.. And I'm usually not one to ask for favors or bug anyone for help, but I really needed her...... She gave me so much strength that day. I don't think she even knows that. Our families loved her so much and when it came to posing us and taking charge on a major time crunch, she put us all under her wing for I am sure will be amazing pictures that documented the most amazing day of our lives and I think our guests lives. I can't wait to see the pictures. During the ceremony, Sarah was buzzing all around, but I didn't even notice her. During the reception she followed us all over, but was never intrusive, it was like having an angel all night. I can't wait to see the pictures..... I am sure there are some amazing candid shots. I don't know how Sarah did all that work by herself. She must really love what she does. I know this sounds like a very flowery and possible insanely long review..... But I mean every word from the bottom of my heart. Book these guys!!!!!!!!!

    Sent on 05/25/2016

    Spotlight Event Services's reply:

    What a wonderful review! We wish Bethany and Brian a wonderful life together! Thank you for choosing Spotlight!
  • S

    Staci · Married on 12/12/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    James was the DJ at our wedding reception in December 2015! He was super helpful and flexible before and during our reception. We got a little behind schedule at the reception, but James was really flexible and helped us get back on track. The introductions went smoothly and he kept everyone on the dance floor! Many people have told us they had a blast at our reception and James played a big part in the celebration! Thank you Spotlight Event Services!

    Sent on 08/08/2016
  • D

    Diana · Married on 11/07/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I used Spotlight Event Services for our DJ and Officiant. They were both very easy to work with and very professional. The DJ helped us with music selections and he was excellent at keeping the guests entertained. The officiant prepared a wonderful ceremony for us and we were able to include our own vows, as well as a special glass crystal ceremony (instead of a sand ceremony). Spotlight Event Services was very affordable without sacrificing the quality of service. I would HIGHLY recommend them to anyone for a wedding and any other events!!!!!

    Sent on 11/17/2015
  • User5499825 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Spotlight Event Services did a great job as the DJ for our wedding. He was always responsive to what I wanted and kept the night moving smoothly. Everyone had a great time dancing to the music he was playing and he kept everyone out on the dance floor. He was flexible as far as what time I wanted him to be at the venue and was set up on time. I would definitely recommend Spotlight Event Services!

    Sent on 10/06/2015
  • A

    Ashley · Married on 08/29/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rodney was incredibly easy to work with from day one. He definitely sold me with the phone interview and delivered on my wedding day. He made sure to get to know us and our style so he could tailor the services to fit us. I highly recommend using Spotlight Event Services.

    Sent on 12/28/2016

    Spotlight Event Services's reply:

    Thank you for such a kind review!
  • User4524369 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Be booked Rodney after a phone consult. We were instantly hooked. He was incredibly so nice and professional. He sounded like he would be a ton of fun! We had a dockside backyard wedding and on he day of, we had 30 mph gusts of wind. My family and friends were trying to set up my bud vase centerpieces, but they kept falling over. They finally decided to tie them together with string and fishing weights and Rodney jumped right on in there and helped my friends and family try to save my centerpieces from falling over. He was in no way obligated to do so, but he did! He kept us on time and made sure we hit every event we were supposed to. We couldn't have been happier that we booked Spotlight Event Services for our wedding!

    Sent on 09/13/2015
  • H

    Heather · Married on 05/09/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Spotlight Event Services did a wonderful job! They provided both DJ and photography services for my wedding and I could not be happier with their performances! Their pricing was very reasonable, both services were $750 each for 5 hours on a Saturday night ($1,500 total). He played all of the music we wanted and avoided all of those we did not care for. They are very flexible, easy to work with, and very professional. We WILL be using them again in the future :)

    Sent on 05/18/2015
  • S

    Savannah · Married on 04/25/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    5 Stars all the way around! I literally have nothing but great things to say about Sarah, Rodney, and James. They were our Photographer, DJ, and Officiant at our wedding in April 2015. They were extremely affordable for a package deal! When we first met with them, we were still unsure of our venue. Sarah, the photographer, referred us to the Train Depot, where we ended up holding our ceremony and reception. She also helped us come up with a timeline for the big day. She really helped us out with some wedding planning. I told her she just needs to add wedding planner to her resume. She went above and beyond what we expected of them! And the pictures are absolutely stunning. Rodney, her husband and DJ, was amazing as well. He gave us tons of recommendations for songs we couldn't decide on. He played great music the entire time and always came to find us when it was time to move on to the next "event." He even played MC for our shoe game and made it so much funnier. He paid attention to our needs the whole time. And James, the officiant, was quite amazing himself. First, he obliged to our bizarre request proudly. We asked him to say the quote from Princess Bride, "Mawwiage. Mawwiage is what bwings us here togeva today. " James did it with a straight, serious face while everyone around him was laughing. I'm proud to say they made my wedding, my once in a lifetime memory, that much more enjoyable. I would recommend them to anyone and everyone in a heartbeat!

    Sent on 05/07/2015
  • User4045859 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The dj was amazing! So nice! Made my nerves go away! Music was great! Only thing the guests wanted changed was we wished the dancing music started earlier than it did!! The photographer wax wonderful! Helped the quiet bride keep the bridal party and family in check!!!

    Sent on 04/26/2015
  • E

    Eddie · Married on 10/10/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Blue Banyan is true a first class service. Rodney's professionalism and excitement made our event special for all. Rodney went above and beyond to provide us the ceremony and reception we always wanted. Rodney has a unique ability to stay calm and control a normally chaotic situation.

    Sent on 11/07/2014
  • E

    erin · Married on 08/06/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Was super helpful and was always communicating with my venue Staff which made it so easy for me.

    Sent on 08/07/2014
  • C

    Casey · Married on 07/07/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Three weeks prior to our annual family vacation my husband (still sounds weird to say) and i had the crazy idea to elope while we were away. We were 99% sure we didnt have enough time to pull it off and that it was just going to end up being one more fail in our wedding planning process. Then we met Sarah. Sarah, is without question the most helpful person I have ever had the privilege of doing business with. In any any all aspects - not just photography - of my recent wedding, Sarah went above and beyond my expectations. Sarah was like having a wedding planner, a bridesmaid and a photographer all in one. From her very first email, which was less than 24 hours after my initial email to her, to a week after the wedding, She was readily available and quick to respond to any and all questions that i had. She gave great recommendations for venue, dinner and an officiant, Eloping is supposed to be a much more stress free way of planning a wedding, but never in a million years would i have dreamed it to be so easy. Sarah basically helped me plan the entire day (from picking up required paperwork, to the ceremony, to dinner after) in 2-3 days or email conversations. Even more so, she was so thoughtful and responsive to what we wanted. I am a million percent sure that we could not have picked a better person for our big day.
    Oh yeah - she took some pictures too!!! And they were AMAZING!! The amount of time she spent taking pictures and the amount of beautifully edited pictures we received for the money is spectacular. To say we got our moneys worth is most definitely and understatement.
    My husband and I are so thankful to Sarah at Blue Banyan Productions for capturing our special day and making the whole process one that i will fondly remember forever!

    Sent on 07/28/2014
  • User4213524 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rodney was great!! The reception was awesome and everyone enjoyed the music! Thanks for everything!!

    Sent on 06/30/2014
  • C

    C · Married on 04/19/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Blue Banyan did a great job for our wedding. Rodney was extremely accommodating, especially given the inclement weather and our desire to get married outside if it stopped raining for the ceremony. We had planned an outdoor wedding, and the rain made us re-arrange much of our seating and making the ceremony (and accompanying music a game time decision). He moved a speaker inside during the wedding so that guests in the tent and house could hear what was going on - as well as making sure the music would be audible for an outdoor ceremony if it could happen. He was also flexible with the timing of events during the wedding. He helped the transitioning between different events (i.e. cake cutting, first dance, etc.) He was very easy to talk to, and work with, and played a great mix of music. He was also conscious of the crowd, making sure all the children had left before playing any songs with profanity. I would definitely recommend Blue Banyan to someone planning a wedding in the area. We had a great time dancing and much of that was thanks to Rodney's DJing.

    Sent on 05/04/2014
  • J

    jessica · Married on 04/05/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We used Blue Banyan productions mobile dj service for our wedding on April 5, 2014. Best choice hands down! Rodney is extremely professional, helpful and most of all fun! He kept our timeline perfect so we didn't have to worry about anything. All we had to do is tell him the type of music we liked and he took care of the rest-- kept our party so much fun. If you're planning a wedding or any event you need him in your life!

    Sent on 04/07/2014
  • J

    Jessica · Married on 11/09/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rodeny was AWESOME! Played all my favorite songs and was a pleasure to work with! Multiple people commented on how great the music was and everyone partied down! Thank you soooo much for making my special day run smoothly!

    Sent on 11/13/2013
  • S

    Stephanie · Married on 10/13/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rodney is a fantastic DJ and I'm happy to recommend him! During the planning process he was very responsive and helpful which was very reassuring, especially for an out-of-state bride. During the wedding, he got in all of our requested songs and where there were openings, perfectly read our taste in music and avoided everything on my do not play list (despite guest requests!). He was really flexible and I was impressed with how many requests he was able to incorporate while maintaining the integrity of our taste. The dance floor was crowded all night! He was very professional in every sense and we were thrilled to have him as our DJ. Thank you!

    Sent on 10/21/2013
  • J

    Jenny and Cal · Married on 10/05/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    It was absolutely an amazing experience working with Blue Banyan Productions. Both Rodney and Sarah were a pleasure to work with. There is not one thing I would change about the entire day. Thank you so much for all that you did to help make our wedding day absolutely perfect. Y'all are amazing! :)

    Sent on 10/29/2013
  • User3513545 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    He did a great job, everything ran smoothly.

    Sent on 09/05/2013

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review