Skip to main content
Weddings

Spinners Entertainment Reviews

Spinners Entertainment View more information

206 Reviews

Rated
5.0
out of 5.0
Recommended by 99% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 5 out of 5

Awards

  • 206
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2022 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2021 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner

26 User photos

  • Melissa
    Melissa M. Married on 09/25/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Super talented and accomodating!

    We hired Jay and Nicole to play at our wedding ceremony and cocktail hour, and Jay DJ'd our reception. I would highly recommend this duo and live music / DJ hybrid to anyone who is looking to have live music at their wedding at an affordable price. The music quality was really great and they are both such talented musicians. Our wedding guests were especially impressed with the live music they played during the cocktail hour. Jay was also so helpful during the planning process and was available to answer all of our questions and customize the music to what we wanted.
  • Fizz
    Fizz W. Married on 09/18/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Hoot & Roar

    Jay & Nicole performed as Owls & Lions for my wedding ceremony [Nicole’s violin was beautiful in their instrumental rendition of Home] & cocktail hour [plenty of bouncy songs, including at least one original]. Jay switched over to the DJ booth for the reception. Being able to have both a DJ *and* a band was exactly what we needed; they were flawless!
    Spinners was responsive when communicating over email & phone. My now-husband and I are the first in our friend group to get married, so we weren’t super sure about how many music selections were needed or what the most applicable kind would be (beat/tempo-wise). Jay walked us through everything over the phone, and made sure we were happy with all the choices so that our day went off perfectly!
  • Mia
    Mia M. Married on 08/27/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Live Band is the Way to Go!

    We discovered Owls and Lions by mistake at our venue tasting in 2019 and I am so glad we did! After hearing a sample there we attended a showcase in Morristown where we really got to enjoy Jay and Nicole perform in addition to a sax player and guitarist. After two postponements due to COVID, what started as Owls and Lions for the ceremony + cocktail hour and a DJ for the reception quickly morphed into Owls and Lions for ceremony + cocktail hour and the full band/DJ hybrid for the reception. All I can say is, no regrets! We LOVED having live music and our guests had a blast!

    I knew we’d have some dedicated dancers in our crowd, but a good bit of observers too. A band was an excellent way to get the dancers up and dancing and allow the observers to sit back and enjoy the show. Jay was great with communication leading up to our event and the night of he was sure to check in with us periodically to make sure we were happy with the vibe or if there was anything they could do differently to ensure we were having the best time. My husband and I aren’t huge dancers, so we were happy to join in part of the time, observe some of the time and mingle with guests at others.
    Owls and Lions performed beautiful acoustic music with guitar and violin during the ceremony + cocktail hour and guests said their energy really added to the good vibes of the night. By the end of the reception so many guests were out on the dance floor singing and enjoying themselves. The band played Stand By Me right at the end of the night and all our guests circled up together and sang at the top of their lungs, definitely a moment we will always remember!
  • Alyssa
    Alyssa H. Married on 08/14/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    They are the Best!

    Owls & Lions were amazing! From ceremony to cocktail hour to reception they nailed every part of our wedding and we could not have been happier. They are truly such a talented band. The ceremony and cocktail hour music was beautiful. The reception music was so fun and all of our guests had a blast dancing. Our family and friends all complimented us on our wedding music. Jay was so great to work with from the wedding planning to the actual day. We highly recommend Owls & Lions for your wedding. They were the best!!
  • Carrie
    Carrie Married on 08/14/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Spinners entertainment was the best find! Jay and his team were absolutely a pleasure to work with. Preparation was hard for me due to a recent surgery and Jay made the process completely easy and stress free. My guest were very impressed by owls and lions during the ceremony and cocktail hour as was I. I felt awful they had to withstand the heat but they always had a smile on their face! Jay once again impressed everyone with his singing of thinking out loud for our first dance. I questioned using that song thinking it was a little overused but the way Jay sings it brings complete new life to it to the song. Jay and his team made the night fun, entertaining and was able to get everyone on the dance floor. I was able to enjoy my wedding and guest with no worries. We also used the selfie mirror and it was a HUGE hit!! I will always recommend them to everyone! Thanks again guys! Hope to cross your path again soon!
  • Melissa
    Melissa R. Married on 06/12/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    The best!

    From the moment we started working with Jay until the day of our wedding, he was an absolute pleasure to work with. During our first call with him, we could tell how passionate he was about music, his band, and making weddings unforgettable.

    Jay is responsive, easy to work with, and he truly cares about the couple and their special day. We worked with him throughout the pandemic (postponing our wedding multiple times) and he did everything he could to put us at ease and accommodate our date changes.

    We did a mix of band and DJ and they were AMAZING. Coming from someone who has been to too many weddings, I truly believe the music is the most important part and it makes such an impact on whether guests have a good time or not. Owls and Lions played during our cocktail hour and the first half of our reception and then Jay switched it up to DJ mode for the rest of the night- this was the perfect combination! He also made sure to get everyone on the dance floor at one point for a group photo which was awesome (and the photo came out great)!

    Owls and Lions was hands down the best choice we made when it comes to our wedding. So many of our guests commented during and after our wedding about how talented the band was and how much fun they had (thanks to the great music)!

    As the bride, I am so happy to reflect on our wedding day knowing that all of our guests had a great time and thankful that I was able to dance the night away (I think I only left the dance floor once to eat)!

    Thank you Jay and Owls and Lions for making our wedding INCREDIBLE- it would not have been the same without your talent.
  • Mark
    Mark Married on 06/09/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Wedding Review from Mark V

    Having Jay play at our wedding was one of the best decisions we made! Planning a wedding during a pandemic is not easy but Jay was so comforting, professional, responsive and flexible throughout the entire process! He took the time to truly get to know us to best prepare for our special day. The day of the wedding, Jay was such a pleasure to work with, so talented and kept the night moving and enjoyable for everyone! Jay helped to seamlessly drive the day with his music selections and kept it intimate like we requested and we trusted his every move. We have already received a ton of compliments and people inquiring for his information to book for future events! We HIGHLY recommend choosing Jay (Owls and Lions) for your wedding.
  • C
    Carlie M. Married on 06/06/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Jay made the entire reception!

    Jay DJ'ed my wedding this past June 2021 and I can honestly say I am STILL singing! I still have guests saying how amazing the playlist was all thanks to Jay. He was incredible with keeping the party going and made sure everyone was having a good time. The music selection was EXACTLY what we wanted and I still don't have a voice from belting out all my favorite songs! He sang acoustically and played the guitar during my cocktail hour, which was a huge hit with my guests. I cannot say enough good things about him and wish he could DJ every event in my life! Thank you so much Jay you crushed it! And thank you so much for working with me during all my covid postponements, you helped make our replanning so much easier!
  • Nicole
    Nicole S. Married on 06/03/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    A crowd favorite!

    Jay and Nicole joined us from Spinners Entertainment - as Owls and Lions for the ceremony and reception, and dj-ing for the reception. They were excellent! Their renditions of Wildflowers (Tom Petty), The Girl (City and Colour) and Crazy Little Thing Called Love (Queen) made the ceremony so personal and perfect. The party kicked off amazingly at the cocktail hour with live renditions of so many great songs. The DJ set had everyone dancing all night, and Jay worked with my sisters to ensure their duet/Matron of Honor speech went off without a hitch. Thank you Nicole and Jay!!
  • B
    Brent Married on 05/22/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Truly the best!!

    Jay and Spinners Entertainment are truly top-notch and made the music portion of our May ‘21 wedding planning so easy. The Honey Badgers provided amazing live music during our ceremony and cocktail hour. DJ Monopoli kept the dance floor packed all night and did a fantastic job playing songs that our guests of all ages loved. Everyone that we dealt with were true professionals and a pleasure to work with. We continue to get compliments on the entertainment from our wedding guests.
  • B
    Betty S. Married on 05/15/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing to work with

    It was so lovely to work with Jay. Despite being very busy, which I would say is a great sign, he made time for us and accommodated all of our requests. He was happy and present during our wedding and we couldn’t have asked for a better dj/mc. We also hired Owls and Lions which I heard from my guests were great! I unfortunately was too busy running around to enjoy the live music during my cocktail hour.

    Jay and his company was definitely a one stop shop for us! He provided live music, dj, mc, and we even got our photo booth from him. Highly recommend! :)
  • A
    Amanda A. Married on 03/20/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Highly recommend!

    We booked Spinners Entertainment for our wedding on March 20, 2021. We were not disappointed! Our MC Anthony was incredible! He played a variety of music and would check in with us periodically to make sure we were happy with everything. I would definitely recommend them to anyone getting married! They are reasonably priced and I thought everything was great!
  • N
    Nicole A. Married on 03/12/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    We loved Owls & Lions!

    We booked Owls & Lions for our wedding and we were not disappointed! They are the best of both worlds-- a band for the ceremony/cocktail hour, playing mostly indie folk rock, and a DJ for the reception, playing dance music to get people moving. Jay, Nicole and Chris are fantastic musicians/singers/DJs, very professional and extremely easy to work with. They could really read a room and seemed to know exactly the right song to play at the right time to keep the party going. If you're looking for something a little different for your wedding music experience, look no further!
  • R
    Robert C. Married on 11/01/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Unforgettable evening

    This hybrid band will leave your guests wanting more. There are absolutely not enough words that can describe the experience I had with Jay with Spinners Entertainment and the rest of Owl and Lions. From the moment we spoke I knew this was the band I was going to hire. Planning a wedding can be stressful to begin with but Jay makes it that much less stressful from the get go. Leading up the wedding and the day of are a testament to his professionalism. What I can say is that the music will not disappoint either. From the ceremony all the way through the evening Owls and Lions has everyone on their feet. They played everything perfect and made the evening unforgettable. Almost 9 months post wedding everyone still talks about the band. That says something about them. I love these guys and continue to try to find ways to get them to perform again.
  • K
    Kristen K. Married on 09/13/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Owl & Lions were AMAZING

    Let’s me just say owl & lions were absolutely amazing! They were beyond responsive, flexible and creative. Every guest at my wedding LOVED them singing while guests arrived, singing the recessional, professional, cocktail hour and slow dance songs during the wedding. They have such an unique spunk and a different spin of just a normal DJ. They even were able to replicate my wedding invite to be used as the photo booth print outs which I could not be any happier with! I would 100% recommend them time and time again. The guests enclosing myself still are talking about how amazing they were!
  • A
    Alexandra S. Married on 09/07/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Professional, Amazing, TALENTED band!!!

    We absolutely LOVED Owls & Lions. Jay and Nicole are both amazing musicians and had the perfect vibe together - they really completed our little micro wedding!! Very cool, laid back and FUN!! I’ll book these guys again and again if I have the chance to!
  • Angela
    Angela B. Married on 09/01/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    September Wedding in Hope, NJ

    I cannot say enough great things about Owls & Lions, they brought our wedding to life! They are such talented musicians and they had all my guests raving about how good they are. On top of their talent they also were able to go with the flow of not having a dance floor due to the pandemic. At first I thought not having a dance floor at my wedding would be awkward and they made it anything but that. I believe my guests fell in love with this band and highly recommend them!
  • Austin
    Austin P. Married on 08/22/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing!!!!

    Jay was amazing! We had Owl & Lions perform during our ceremony and cocktail hour and then Jay took over as MC/DJ for the night. The guests loved it all! Everyone came up to us saying how much they loved the Owls & Lions set. They gave the perfect vibe for a great start to the evening. Check out their songs and social media and youtube. Jay was also a phenomenal DJ. He made sure everyone was dancing the whole night and had a great time! 
    When the pandemic hit, we had to reschedule our 2020 wedding for 2021. Jay was the first person to reach out to make sure we were doing fine and that he was ready to go for the new date. Jay was also very responsive and put up with all of my random last minute emails (including my request the night before the wedding for Owls & Lions to play an extra song during our ceremony). 
    All in all, he exceeded all of our expectations, as both a performer and a professional. We highly recommend if you are looking for wedding entertainment!!
  • Bridget
    Bridget F. Married on 04/04/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Rescheduling Wedding

    Unbelievably helpful, compassionate and thoughtful when looking to change my date. Jay from Spinners was the first person to help me see the silver lining of changing our wedding date and changed my mindset. Thank you for everything. I cannot wait til the big day.
  • Matthew
    Matthew H. Married on 03/10/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    So blessed to have Owls and Lions!

    Whenever my wife and I now listen to Owls and Lions we are immediately brought back to our wedding day. She and I feel so blessed to have had Nicole and Jay play for our wedding. These two are so talented, passionate and, generous with their music. Our guests raved about them and they are looking for any excuse to have an event to invite them back. We will forever associate Owls and Lions with our wedding!
  • Nikki
    Nikki Married on 11/08/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Our wedding

    They both were so nice and they were so good everyone loved it all
  • Becca
    Becca U. Married on 11/03/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Quick to repsond

    Quick to respond to my message and reasonably priced
  • Jessica
    Jessica S. Married on 10/05/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Accommodating and amazing

    We really bucked tradition and trolled our families with our wedding, and Jay and the Spinners Entertainment crew not only enabled our insanity, but also made sure everyone had the best time. (Our bridal party walked down the aisle to a song from the "Dumb and Dumber" soundtrack and I, the bride, marched out to "Another One Bites the Dust.") All that, in addition to my pain in the ass mom's annoying song requests for our reception (and my own request to make sure that everyone in our reception knew it was her, not me, who requested Kenny Rogers), was made an amazing reality. Jay even made my in-laws smile, which I haven't been able to do in the almost seven years I've been with their son. I cannot recommend these guys enough, and I am absolutely honored to have had them make our day so special.
  • Lauren
    Lauren W. Married on 09/22/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Owls & Lions

    We highly recommend Owls & Lions for a wedding venue or any other event. To say they met our expectations is an understatement. We have all been to hundreds of weddings and most DJ’s are the same, we knew we wanted something different, something better. Our venue recommended Owls & Lions and from our first call with Jay we knew they were the right choice. Jay and Nicole felt more like guests playing music at our wedding than anything else. The whole experience was so authentic and personal, which was a goal of our overall feel. Nicole played an instrumental version of our wedding song as I walked down the aisle and Jay sang it for our first dance. From start to finish the experience was incredible. We really can’t thank Jay and Nicole enough and look forward to working with them in the future!

    Lauren & Rob
  • Lauren
    Lauren W. Married on 09/08/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Beyond our expectations

    I can’t thank Spinners Entertainment enough for the amazing job that they did for our wedding September 8, 2019. From my very first phone call with Jay I knew that we would end up booking with them. His enthusiasm and passion for what he does is incredible. He was so easy and fun to speak with and share ideas with. Instantly he got the vibe that we wanted for our wedding and was able to easily guide us in our selection of entertainment. We loved that they have so many entertainment options to chose from!

    Throughout our entire wedding day they evolved to suit the vibe of each setting. Jay and Nicole played guitar and violin out on the beach prior to and during our ceremony. Our friends and family said it was so cool to be sitting out on the beach listening to them play! Walking down the isle to the instrumentals of one of my favorite songs was a dream come true and they played it so well!

    For cocktail hour we had their band Owls & Lions perform. They were absolutely amazing! If you are looking for a wedding band that will be different from all the rest, book them! So many people came up and asked us during cocktail who they were and where we found them! They definitely set the tone for a fun night!

    Jay was the perfect MC and kept things flowing seamlessly. We kept Kevin the drummer from Owls & Lions all night so we had a hybrid DJ setup. In our opinion it was so much better than just having a DJ or just having a band. Him and Jay kept people on the dance floor all night.

    So many people have called to tell us that it was the best wedding that they have ever been to and I attribute much of that to Jay, Nicole and Kevin. I had never met them in person before the wedding because we live a good distance away. When we finally got to meet on our wedding day they truly already felt like friends. We are looking forward to going and seeing Owls & Lions perform as soon as we can!

    Thank you thank you thank you!!

    Love,
    Lauren & Matt