Skip to main content
Weddings

Spice Catering Reviews

Spice Catering View more information

61 Reviews

Rated
5.0
out of 5.0
Recommended by 99% of couples
  • Quality of service
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    5 out of 5 rating

Awards

61
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2023 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2022 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner

9 User photos

  • M
    Molly H. Married on 10/29/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing experience with Dan &Spice Catering

    Dan and the spice catering team were great throughout the planning and night of experience for my October 2022 wedding. They have packages to start from but were able to customize every piece of the process. Their food was delicious and the stations option is a bit more elegant than a standard buffet but still casual to allow for more movement.

    Spice Catering's reply:

    Hi Molly. Thank you so much for your comments. And I'm so happy to hear you enjoyed the station concept versus a buffet offering. I agree, they are way more fun and elegant!!
  • Britt
    Britt R. Married on 09/27/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Personalized and Incomparable

    I would recommend Spice Catering to anyone. Dan was extremely supportive, kind, responsive, and professional throughout the entire process. He genuinely shares in your excitement for the day and puts forth an incredible amount of effort in executing on all of your wishes. During our first meeting with Spice, we sat down and were coached through the planning process, given space to express our vision, and knew right away that this was the vendor for us. (The complementary to-go blueberry tiramisu was just the cherry on top, which didn't even make it home!) Since that first meeting, Dan was everpresent and would even take trips out to our venue to meet with us and the other vendors, ensuring a comprehensive, informed, and dynamic wrap-around service for the day. He helped us curate our own unique menu, incorporating our favorite foods into the passed hors d'oeuvres - even incorporating wooden serving boards that matched our centerpieces! The food was of an incredibly high caliber, the service throughout the ceremony was outstanding, and the added touches of presentation truly set Spice apart. We had high expectations knowing the quality Spice brings, and even still those expectations were exceeded. Trust me: this is the caterer you want.
  • Mary
    Mary Married on 09/17/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Can't say enough good things about Spice Catering!

    Spice Catering was amazing in every aspect of their service from planning to execution. We worked with Debbie mostly on the planning end and I don't even know where to begin - she didn't miss a beat, she is so detail oriented, which is critical in this line of work. She was also patient as we worked through what we wanted, and allowed us to customize and build out a food experience that achieved the vision we had always dreamed of on our special day. Because of her we didn't have to worry about a thing on the day of our wedding and could just relax and enjoy ourselves. On the execution end, Spice continued to deliver - not only was the food incredible (our guests are still talking about it), but the service far exceeded our expectations. Everyone who worked the day of our wedding was incredible, attentive, and the execution was seamless. Can't recommend Spice Catering enough!

    Spice Catering's reply:

    Thank you Mary for all of your kind words. You were wonderful to work with and we are so glad we were able to exceed your expectations. All the best to you both!!!
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • L
    Lukas S. Married on 07/23/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Delicious and friendly catering with vegan options

    Great catering with even better vegan options. From the quality of the food, timing, temperature of the dishes and friendly staff, there is absolutely nothing to complain about and we happily recommend Spice catering!
    We live in Japan and we planned our wedding in Connecticut remotely with Tim from Spice Catering. Very responsive communication and flexible in incorporating our own ideas.
    We've also only had positive feedback from our guests!

    Spice Catering's reply:

    Thank you Lukas for your kind words. We were thrilled to be part of your big day! All the best to you both!
  • Liza
    Liza R. Married on 07/09/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    So Delicious!

    Working with Dan and his team at Spice Catering was the best! From the tasting to our big day, they were communicative, flexible, honest, and most importantly everything was delicious!!! We loved the stations they offered, so we could offer multiple dishes to our guests and let them pick and chose what they wanted. Everything was displayed beautifully, it was delicious, and the staff were kind and professional. Would recommend to everyone we know!

    Spice Catering's reply:

    Thank you Liza. It was wonderful to work with you both. All the best!!
    I wish you both all happiness in the world!!
  • McKenna
    Mckenna Married on 05/14/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Such an incredible team!

    We loved working with Spice Catering! From our first call with Tim, he was so informative and honest about pricing, ways we could save, knowledgeable about what we needed and didn’t need, it was all seamless. We did a backyard wedding and had to bring in a tent, chairs, tables, catering equipment, etc. and they worked with me and the rental company directly so I didn’t have to be the middle man. Great food and service! One of the team members that day made sure I had drinks at all time, a plate of food and got me every gluten free dessert that had so I could try everything. It was a delight!

    Spice Catering's reply:

    Thank you for the note Mckenna. So glad to hear Tim and the team took good care of you! All the best!
  • S
    Sue I. Married on 10/30/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Excellent Job

    From start to finish a great experience. Pkanning to execution top notch. More than what we hoped for. Will use them again.
  • Alexandria
    Alexandria Married on 10/02/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Incredible service

    Dan, Tim and Spice Catering delivered the absolute best catering services we could have ever dreamed of for our wedding. They were so professional leading up to the big day and their team came into the venue immediately ready for set up and knew exactly what they were doing. The food experience was truly incredible. I so wish we lived in state so we could use them more for catering services. They often say people don't remember the food at weddings... well, our guests are still talking about it and the food was one of the big highlights of the night. The team did an excellent job curating a beautiful fall menu for us. We will always remember our experience.
  • Kevin
    Kevin L. Married on 10/02/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Everything We Wanted And More

    We used Spice Catering for wedding and we absolutely hit the jackpot! Dan was super responsive and creative when we were coming up with the menu, they were incredibly flexible when we needed to reschedule our wedding due to COVID, and the food was incredible! We went through Spice for party rentals and coordinator recommendations as well, and being able to have one go-to person for everything was an amazing consolidation and stress-reliever. Cannot recommend Spice Catering more highly!

    Spice Catering's reply:

    Thanks for the note Kevin. Your wedding was an absolute joy for me any my staff to work! We are thrilled you had a wonderful experience. All the best to you both!
  • Celina
    Celina C. Married on 09/04/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Delicious food!

    Tim McNamara was a pleasure to work with, very professional and flexible with my requests. All for a great price too! The food for the wedding was a beautiful variety of delicious foods and Spice even cared for my vegan and vegetarian guests in the buffet set-up. I received so many complements on the food from my guests. The staff at the wedding was wonderful and caring as well and they made sure as the bride, that I got enough food. They brought me a plate in between pictures of one of everything of the appetizers. It was amazing, so glad I chose Spice! Thank you all!
  • K
    Kerry W. Married on 09/03/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Spice Catering was GREAT to work with!

    I would absolutely recommend Spice Catering for your next event, whether it's a large wedding or other organized event that needs catering. Dan and his team were awesome to work with. Especially after having to postpone our event twice due to COVID. The food was amazing. We are still getting compliments on the menu, several weeks since our wedding.
  • M
    Meg L. Married on 08/27/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Tim was great to work with!

    Fabulous food and great ideas about how to stay within our budget and have an amazing dinner!
    Very responsive and easy to works with. The servers were fun and accommodating.
  • Jessica
    Jessica D. Married on 07/16/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    phenomenal!

    We used Spice Catering to cater our backyard wedding on June 26, 2021 and they did not disappoint! The food was amazing and the service was beyond exceptional. Kandice and her team were so friendly and helpful and they all just made our day that much more special. Dan was excellent throughout the entire planning process which just made everything so much easier and relieved a lot of stress . Thank you again, Spice Catering! I highly recommend them and would use them again in a heartbeat for any other future events!

    Spice Catering's reply:

    Thanks so much Jessica for your kind words. Your party was so much fun to plan! All the best to you!!
  • J
    Joseph Married on 06/26/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Spice Caterting Made Our Wedding Perfect

    Dan and his group (Spice Catering) are the best at what they do, and I cannot thank them enough for being instrumental in creating the perfect wedding.

    -From the initial point of contact Dan was professional, responsive, and reassuring. This was very much needed after having to cancel our venue from Covid, and then planning the wedding site at my parent’s house instead.

    -Dan helped customize our entire menu to our liking. Food quality was outstanding, and our guests could not stop raving about it.

    -The Spice Catering staff at the wedding were exceptional, friendly, and made sure no guest went home hungry.

    -Dan additionally helped us (through Abbey Tent Rental, great company!) figure out all our tent, tables, chairs, etc. needs. We would have been completely clueless without his guidance here.

    Our wedding truly felt and looked like a venue that day so thanks to Dan and the Spice Catering Group for helping make that happen.

    Spice Catering's reply:

    Joe, thank you so much for your comments. It was truly our pleasure to cater your wedding. You, your family and all your friends were great. I wish you both all the best!
    dan
  • D
    David A. Married on 06/12/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Excellent!

    Great food, great service. They made our party a fun event with no stress. The chef and server were exceptional. Highly recommend!
  • Katie
    Katie D. Married on 05/23/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The perfect food for EVERY guest!!

    First off, if you have guests with allergies or dietary restrictions, you NEED to hire Dan and his team! We had several guests attending who had Celiac disease & so we were very stressed about making sure that we had at least one excellent gluten-free option (because no one really wants to eat a plain chicken breast, even if they tell you they're OK with it). Dan and his team went ABOVE and BEYOND for us and our guests! Two of the three main entrees were gluten free, and they were incredible - a Tuscan chicken and a flank steak! It meant a lot that our guests with dietary restrictions were able to eat the same meals as every other guest, and not only that, but they were so careful that we had zero cross contamination issues (which often happens at restaurants) and no one got sick. That was such a HUGE weight off of our shoulders.

    In addition, from the beginning Dan had the most wonderful ideas! We gave him the basic information about what we were planning, and he dreamt up an incredible menu and was more than willing to work within our budget. My now-husband and father-in-law handled the catering with Dan, and when they came back from the tasting, they could not stop raving about how wonderful Dan was and how incredible the food was (and they even brought me some leftovers to try, which was such a nice touch from Dan!). On the day of our wedding, our guests commented so many times on how delicious everything was, and the make your own brownie bar was the perfect dessert option!

    If you want great food at your wedding, a collaborative and flexible mindset, and zero worries about dietary restrictions or allergies, hire Dan and his team at Spice! We could not have asked for anything better!

    Spice Catering's reply:

    Thanks for the comments Katie. It was so much fun to work with you both. Please keep in touch! All the best to you guys!!
  • Jillian
    Jillian P. Married on 10/24/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Absolutely THE best!!!

    Like so many couples our plans ended up changing because of the pandemic. We had decided to work with Dan and his team prior to Covid. We are SO grateful that we had!! Of course, menus changed, venue changed, but he was one of the constants that helped us get to the finish line. His entire team is full of nothing but professionals. They had never worked at our venue before and this did not slow them down at all! The food was amazing. That is the first thing so many of our guests keep telling us! In our tasting, my husband mentioned how he would have been happier with a bit more sauce on his beef, and wedding day there was extra!! That little detail shows just how much he and the team are dedicated to making your event incredible for you. In addition to food, they coordinated all the rentals, we needed everything! We had a beautiful, perfect wedding during a pandemic and so much of that is thanks to Dan and his team at Spice. If we ever have an event we need catering, we will go straight to Spice!

    Spice Catering's reply:

    Jill, thank you so much for the kinds words. Working with you and Martin was an absolute pleasure. You were both great to work with and I'm so happy you were both pleased with everything. We look forward to catering your next event!!
  • K
    Kate B. Married on 10/17/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing & Unique Food! Dan is the BEST

    We went with Spice Catering because of Dan, we had to make massive changes to our big wedding and only had about a month to really plan everything. From the minute Dan got on the phone he was so understanding and made it clear that he wanted to help make our day special. We crafted a meal for the day that fit us perfectly! We went with an Oktoberfest theme for food so we did Pierogi's, Pretzels, Bratwurst, Chicken Schnitzel and ended with a ton of doughnuts which were such a hit. Everything was Delicious! What was even better was that staff kept checking in on me to make sure I was able to eat food. I got so many compliments on the food, but Spice Catering really deserves an award. It was so unique and perfectly executed.

    Spice Catering's reply:

    Kate, thank you so much for your kind words. It was really our pleasure to with you and to make your day a special one. Thank you for trusting in us to help you with your wedding. All the best to you both!!
  • M
    Michelle S. Married on 09/12/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Mother of the Bride

    What a difference having the right caterer and food can make! Dan and his team of chefs and waitstaff are very professional in every way. Our New England style clam bake menu for our daughters wedding was all prepped and cooked on site and everyone raved about the food. From Lobsters, steaks cooked to order, steamers and New England clam chowder had guests going up for second and third plates of food. Their waitstaff was outstanding and catered to our every need with a personal touch. I HIGHLY recommend Spice Catering for your next catered event!
  • B
    Brenda S. Married on 06/21/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Spice Saved The Day

    This is a year overdue, however, it is well deserved praise! My daughter had planned her wedding for June 21, 2020 (originally not in my backyard)! We obviously found ourselves with lots of changes within a short period of time. I had heard and read wonderful things about Spice, Dan and his staff. All were true. Dan was responsive, flexible and a pleasure to work with. His staff Lisa and Marilyn were simply amazing and a joy to have in our home. Chef Tim's skills in the kitchen were outstanding as well. The food was delicious! Can't go wrong with Spice..Thanks again Dan & Company!
  • M
    Mattys I. Married on 11/30/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The perfect reception

    Had my wedding catered, Billy Turner is genius, menu was amazing, food and service were outstanding, definitely exceeded every expectation. Words cannot express our gratitude to Billy for making our special day so perfect! Breakfast and lunch at the cafe are incredible as well! Highly recommend

  • B
    Becky C. Married on 11/02/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Great caterer for all your needs

    Dan from Spice Catering was an absolute pleasure to work with. He was extremely responsive, met with us on multiple occasions, was always available to talk through ideas or thoughts we had, was honest with his feedback, answered SO many questions, and was open to our ideas so that we could make our wedding unique and personalized. Besides providing delicious food for our cocktail hour and dinner, all rentals were managed through Spice so we didn't have to worry about those and we were able to use their bar services while providing the alcohol. The staff the day of the wedding were great - attentive, always had a smile, worked well together and always made sure we (bride/groom) were taken care of as well as the guests. The chefs know how to make delicious food with great spices/flavors in a wide variety of cuisines and the food presentation is beautiful. The next time we need to cater something, we will def. be hiring Spice again.

    Spice Catering's reply:

    Thanks for the note Becky. It was such a pleasure to work with you!! All the best to you and Kevin.
  • T
    Thomas H. Married on 09/10/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best Party Ever!!!

    We booked Spice Catering and used their venue, Sage on High in Derby, CT. The event was a party/reception to celebrate our son’s marriage, which had occurred months earlier, out of state.
    Can’t say enough about the venue itself, the outstanding food, and the non-stop service provided that day by Susan and her crew. Our guests are still raving about the chowder and the gourmet buffet. They even had a separate buffet area for the many young children in attendance....a truly nice touch which I hadn’t even asked for. Spice Catering was a dream to work with, and I would trust them with any special event, be it large or small....

    Spice Catering's reply:

    Sandra. Thank you so much for your kind words. I know Susan worked very hard that day to make it the perfect party for you!
  • J
    Julie Married on 06/01/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Everything we wanted and more

    From the very start of the planning process Spice was amazing to work with. Dan is extremely knowledgeable and just a genuine person. He took everything we wanted and made it fit into our venue and price range. We also hired Carisa for day of coordination, but she was involved in much more than that and always on top of everything. Everyone raved about the food and the catering staff were wonderful too! Can’t recommend enough!
  • Corinne
    Corinne S. Married on 10/27/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Five Stars

    Dan was incredibly responsive which helped ease my concerns as a bride with many other things to attend to. He was also incredibly helpful in handling things I would not otherwise have even thought about. It made our wedding day a much smoother event. After the wedding we received multiple compliments on the quality of the food as well.

    Spice Catering's reply:

    Thanks for the note Corinne. It was my pleasure to assist you with your wedding. It was a wonderful day!
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message