Weddings

South Tampa DJ Reviews

South Tampa DJ View more information

42 Reviews

Rated
5.0
out of 5.0
Recommended by 100% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 5 out of 5

Awards

  • 42
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
Sort by:
  • A
    Amanda Married on 04/12/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    So much fun!

    Kelly exceeded my expectations as the dj for my wedding. He was prompt with responses, very open to suggestions, professional, but most of all FUN to work with!! I would recommend him for any event!
  • M
    Megan Married on 06/24/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Kelly was the most amazing dj ever! I had multiple people tell me they've never seen so many people dance at a wedding and ask who my dj was. He read the crowd perfectly and pleases both the older and younger guests.

    A dj so make or break your wedding and kelly made it! Don't miss out on him!!!
  • D
    Deidre Married on 04/08/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    If you want your guests to dance all night long, non- stop; if want your guests to go home talking saying it was one of the best weddings they have EVER been to; if you want huge 55 inch monitors playing music videos on the dance floor then...pick Kelly as your DJ! He was a key reason why my wedding turned out the way it did. I usually don't like wedding DJ's but Kelly was fantastic! He not only kept the party moving all night he also saved me money! My lighting vendor's GOBO light blew during prep. Kelly was there to save the day with back up GOBO lighting AND he told them to give me a refund. Pik Tampa DJ you will not be disappointed!
  • Matthew
    Matthew Married on 04/07/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Giving Kelly all 5 Stars isn't an exaggeration, Kelly is the man! My experience with Kelly from the beginning was great, I was referred by a family member that also used him for their wedding. Kelly is a very down to Earth guy who truly knows his music and his equipment. He provided a great planner as well that helped a lot throughout our planning process. On the day of our ceremony, he got to the venue a few hours in advance for set up and was in full professional mode. I also appreciated how he took it upon himself to dress up and match our wedding colors. From the ceremony, to cocktail hour, to dinner and the reception we gave him an idea of the music we liked, a few requests, and he knocked it out of the park. He didn't just sit back and press play on a laptop and call himself a DJ, he was actually mixing music and getting the party engaged. He had my 70 year old aunt with both hips replaced out on the dance floor! Everyone talked about how great of a job he did, and my wife and I are grateful of the service he provided. Highly recommend.
  • A
    Alison Married on 03/25/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Kelly is the best! Honestly, don't look any further. If you are looking for a quality, fun, professional and talented DJ for your wedding, you have found him. Our wedding was 3/25/17 and I can't tell you how many compliments we have received on how fantastic our music and DJ were. The way he mixes genres and different decades of music is unparalleled. And when we were late coming into the reception due to traffic and limousine issues, he absolutely nailed it when it came to getting back on track and keeping everyone pumped and excited. He played specific songs I had requested but mostly we just let him run with it and I'm so glad we did! He also did our uplighting (I asked for a soft amber and it was perfect) and our monogram which went perfectly with our style. So talented- he was one of our favorite vendors! You won't regret choosing South Tampa DJ.
  • D
    David Married on 01/14/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Kelly is fantastic. Book him for your wedding or event without hesitation. The music and MCing was great, he had tons of up lighting, microphones for the ceremony, and he made our monogram for us and projected it onto the wall. Kelly was somehow able to pull off our ceremony, cocktail hour, and reception even though they were in 3 different places (not close to each other) and our wedding venue and timing weren't ideal for him to be able to do that.
  • N
    Natalie Married on 01/07/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Kelly did a fabulous job for us! As a procrastinator, I got in touch with him to book kinda late, but he worked around everything and kept me up to date on what needed to be done and had been done through email and phone calls. When we met with him, he was very helpful for us figuring out what we wanted. My husband and I set up our venue day before. On the day of the wedding when I walked in, I stopped in my tracks because he completely transformed the room with the lighting! It was beautiful! Kelly played everything we asked him to, and even stuff we didn't realize we wanted! Everything was fantastic!
  • M
    Melanie Married on 10/01/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    One word to describe South Tampa DJ~ Wow! From our first conversation with Kelly, his responsiveness, attention to detail, and his professionalism were all top notch! Throughout our planning process, to wedding day... Everything was PERFECT!

    Kelly was prompt on the day of our wedding, and looked extremely professional. His equipment was top of the line, and the sound quality was fantastic. Kelly facilitated transitions between ceremony, cocktails, dinner and dancing seem seamless!

    Our one ask from Kelly was high energy, and people on the dance floor. He didn't disappoint! I don't think ur guest left the dance floor the entire evening. Our only disappointment was last call. We had so much fun, that the time seemed to fly by.

    I can not begin to thank Kelly enough for making our wedding a HUGE success! We even got a surprise the next day when Kelly had amazing snap shot of our first kiss as husband and wife! 5 STAR SERVICE! Thank you Kelly!
  • J
    John Married on 03/12/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Kelly did an amazing job at our wedding reception. His macbook crashed 2 hours before our ceremony, and he didn't miss a beat. He rushed to BestBuy in an uber, and saved the day. Everything went off without a hitch. Kelly is also amazing at timing. He keeps everyone else on a strict schedule, and was extremely helpful to everyone. His uplighting was amazing at our venue, and his video boards were first class! I highly recommend him because at your venue you need someone who can GET THINGS DONE. He does just that without being overly pushy. He was extremely professional, and I've had multiple people say that he was the best DJ that they've ever seen at a wedding. He handled all of our requests with no issue and we had a BLAST! Kelly truly had an impact on the best day of our lives. Thanks to Kelly for all of his hard work and dedication. His passion shows in his work. You won't be disappointed with SouthTampaDJ, I promise you!
  • D
    Drew Married on 01/16/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Kelly was one of the reasons why our wedding went so well. People were treated to great music throughout the entire evening, and Kelly made that all possible. From ceremony, cocktail hour, to reception... Kelly ensured that our guests didn't miss a beat. Our guests immediately hit the dance floor and they stayed all night! Kelly used a great mix of old and new songs to cater to our guests of various ages. He was so professional throughout the entire process and made our night one to remember. I highly recommend using Kelly, for your large or small event. Our wedding was 200 guests and he kept them all on their feet. He loves what he does and it shows with his services. The lighting he brought was a great addition as well, it gave our wedding that extra special touch. People have been contacting me saying how much they loved our DJ. You won't be disappointed!
  • H
    Heather Married on 11/07/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Kelly is a kicka** DJ that knows how to spin all your fav tracks into one amazing night...even when you send him the longest request list he's seen in his 15yrs of business! He did the ceremony music on the beach and then my reception for 5 hours. Everyone was up dancing from my grandmas to the babies for most of the night:) We had a multicultural group, so it was tough at times to please everyone but he did a perfect job and did everything I requested for music and more:) He is a great DJ and good human in general:) Thanks!!!!
  • M
    Melissa Married on 10/10/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Kelly was AH-MAZING! He helped my wedding vision turn into a reality and my wedding would not have been the same without him. He is so friendly and upbeat, a true entertainer and not your cheesy wedding DJ. Kelly knew how to keep the dance floor full and the party going. A true one of a kind DJ. I wish I could get married over and over again just to keep using his services.
  • M
    Monica Married on 05/23/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Kelly was an excellent DJ! He worked great with the venue and other vendors and his music selections were perfect for our attendees. We had a blast at our wedding and I'd definitely recommend Kelly for yours!
  • User2056784 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Kelly was a fantastic DJ and very accommodating to our goofy wedding party's antics. We threw him a curveball by asking him to play mostly country and he accepted the challenge with his own DJ twist, making our wedding weekend one we will never forget! He is an expert and went above and beyond to make our day perfect!
  • N
    Phil Married on 10/18/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Requested and met with us well in advance of the wedding and also the week before. Provided a checklist and timeline of events for us to fill-in and then reviewed it with us before wedding day. Accommodated most music requests.
    During the wedding reception, partnered with separately-booked live band and there were no hiccups in music/entertainment. Provided wireless microphones and speakers for speeches that were separate from our dancing area.
    Kept the crowd entertained most of the night and seemed to recognize when the music tempo needed to be changed. One of my song requests hadn't been played until my best man reminded him that it was my request and it was then played. Nothing tragic and his responsiveness to the request is why I still rated him 5 stars!
  • M
    Meredith Married on 10/11/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Kelly was amazing! He provided us great service and really listened to what it is we wanted out of our wedding and catered to us. He did a really good job of bringing everything he could to work with our unique style. He was very easy to work with and provided fantastic service at a reasonable expense.
  • A
    Alex Married on 10/04/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Kelly did an awesome job. He met with both me and my husband before to talk about exactly what we wanted. He did an excellent job the day of. Not only was the music amazing but so were the lights and gobo he brought. He played songs that we had talked about and was also able to work with the crowd to make sure everyone was out dancing which was our priority. I can't say enough good things about Kelly! He is a definitely a true dj and does not just play songs, he performs!
  • User1932452 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Kelly knows how to get the party started and keep it going! We got married at the Sheraton Sand Key - our ceremony was outdoors and our reception was inside. Kelly's equipment was perfect, even outdoors near the beach where it can get quite loud. We had a diverse crowd in terms of age range but he was able to play music to get everyone on the dance floor. We knew he would be an excellent fit when we first met him - he is full of life and energy which is exactly what we were looking for in a DJ! He respected our wishes in song selection and kept the party going - I didn't want the night to end! His music equipment and lighting is top notch and we would 100% recommend him to other couples for their weddings! Thanks again for making our wedding a night to remember! We could not have asked for a better DJ!
  • User1797427 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    AWESOME!!! Very professional and easy to communicate with the entire time. He catered to our needs and had the understanding that the wedding should not be about the DJ, but about the bride/groom instead. Was vocal at the reception when needed but not getting on the microphone whenever he felt like it. Selection of music was perfect for the guests we had. The lighting and look was elegant and professional. I would not hesitate to rehire for other events!!!
  • P
    Patrick Married on 08/31/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Very professional and easy to communicate with the entire time. Had the understanding that the wedding should not be about the DJ, but about the bride/groom instead. Was vocal at the reception when needed but not getting on the microphone whenever he felt like it. Selection of music was perfect for the guests we had.
  • User1762223 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    He did a great job. Everyone had a great time.
  • M
    Michelle Married on 08/09/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Kelly was amazing!!!!! He kept the flow wonderfully and worked well with some of our spontaneous ideas :). Affordable doesn't mean second rate when you are talking about Kelly!!!! He is the best wedsing DJ. :)
  • M
    Mike Married on 08/09/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Awesome DJ. I would highly recommend this guy!!!!! Fast, easy, very efficient.
  • B
    Beth Married on 06/28/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We heard South Tampa DJ at a New Year's Eve party in Tampa and asked him if he could do our wedding. He was extremely affordable, organized, and attentive to exactly what we wanted. He made our wedding an amazing party and even worked extra hours for us for no extra fee. All of our requests were met and all of our guests raved how "the music was awesome!". Thank you South Tampa DJ! I will definitely refer you to our friends and family for events!!
  • User1615100 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    South Tampa DJ Kelly Gump is the best DJ out there! I can't tell you enough how professional he was. The up lighting was unbelievable and his entire set up was great. There was not one wire hanging out or anything for our ceremony and reception. Also we had a ton of people of all different ages and likes, he was able to get everyone dancing. He made our wedding run so smooth at the reception he was on it the whole time. Most importantly he only listened to us! No one else! Everything sounded great and he just really was concerned about what we wanted. I would recommend only him for everyone. The best guy out there!
    A and A