South Hills Country Club Reviews

8 | Pittsburgh, PA
See photos, pricing and details

8 Reviews for South Hills Country Club

Recommended by 91% of couples

4.6 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.6
  • Professionalism 4.6
  • Flexibility 4.5
  • Value 4.8
  • Average response time 4.3

Awards

8

9 User photos

Order by:
  • Jami

    Jami · Married on 09/14/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    September wedding.

    My husband and I recently got married and had our reception at South Hills Country Club on September 14th 2019. It was honestly a dream come true! All the staff members were so fantastic! (We had 148 guests attend our reception, and the ballroom can hold a lot more!)Everything was more perfect then I could ever imagine! The food was delicious! Every staff members there want out of there way to make sure our wedding was everything we ever wanted plus so much more! We still have our guests approaching us telling us how much fun they had at our wedding and how beautiful everything was. I highly recommend South Hills Country Club for your wedding!!

    Sent on 10/15/2019
  • Elizabeth

    Elizabeth · Married on 08/03/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing Experience

    The general manager, Frank, and his team at South Hills Country Club went above and beyond to make our wedding perfect. Barb was so easy to work with and was very knowledgeable. She would give vendor suggestions as well as decorative ideas that worked well in the past. Chef John and his kitchen staff are AMAZING. He catered to our wants/dietary needs and made our menu exactly what we wanted. We are still receiving compliments on the food from our wedding. Glenn and the banquet staff were very accommodating and friendly to our guests. The staff at SHCC made the whole wedding planning experience seamless and stress free. I would highly recommend SHCC to any future bride looking for a fantastic venue and staff.

    Sent on 09/24/2019
  • E

    Elizabeth Ann Madden · Married on 08/04/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    South Hills Country Club

    Barb went above and beyond to make sure our day was perfect! John went above and beyond to make sure all of our food was perfect and exactly what we wanted!

    Sent on 10/30/2018
  • S

    Sarah · Married on 04/14/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Because of Barb and the South Hills Country Club staff, we had our dream wedding reception. The service was top notch, the food was delicious (the menu is spectacular), and Barb's professionalism is one of a kind. Barb has been in the wedding/banquet industry for 20+ years; she has seen it all and has coordinated wedding receptions of all sizes, so seriously no need to look any further. Barb will coordinate and create your dream wedding reception; for example, we wanted a small, intimate & elegant and fun reception, but we fell in love with the member's lounge (which is the smaller room with the best view of the golf course, with a beautiful fire place and bar area, but does not have a dance floor), so guess what Barb was able to do for us? Barb was able to accommodate 5 tables for our 50 guests and add a portable dance floor (where we danced all night, even the old folks danced), while still enjoying the perks of the beautiful & elegant, member's lounge. This is indicative of Barb's creativity and experience in this industry. I highly recommend the South Hills Country Club for any banquet or event, especially a wedding reception, as I will be booking my future events at the South Hills Country Club. -Barb & the entire South Hills Country Club staff, thank you for your wonderful service and for coordinating our dream wedding reception. -Sarah

    Sent on 04/24/2018
  • E

    Ann · Married on 10/01/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wedding was beautiful! Barb at the club made sure that everything was taken care of and was coordinated. Food was amazing, the venue looked beautiful, and we had a perfect wedding.

    Sent on 10/08/2016
  • V

    Vicki · Married on 05/06/2017

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our daughter and son-in-law's wedding reception here on May 6. And I highly recommend this venue. The rooms are beautiful. The food is beyond excellent. The entire staff is kind, courteous, professional. Barbara, Glenn and John were an absolute pleasure to work with. The wait staff couldn't have been nicer or more accommodating. Everyone who attended loved and enjoyed the evening. It was the perfect reception!

    Sent on 05/25/2017
  • User3130740 · 2+ years ago

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    South Hills Country Club was a great venue!! Barb was very easy to work with and pulled everything off without a single complaint. She gave great advice to help things go smoothly. We did a sit down dinner serving one menu option. The service was quick and my guests were able to get up and dance. Bartenders and servers were all very professional and friendly. It was so nice not having to do all of the set up and clean up! Thank you to everyone there!

    Sent on 05/29/2015
  • J

    J · Married on 04/29/2017

    2.2
    • Quality of service:
      2.0
    • Responsiveness:
      2.0
    • Value:
      3.5
    • Flexibility:
      2.5
    • Professionalism:
      1.5

    I will start off by saying the country club would have been a very beautiful venue (and was when we looked at it a year before our wedding) if they had not been doing a massive amount of construction on the grass which was all torn up and brown dirt in a lot of places. There were so many issues overall I can't even begin but to say make sure that you have everything in writing. After 11 months of discussion with Barb of what we wanted/how we wanted it, it's as if that whole period of time never happened and we started anew 1 month before our wedding which was insanely stressful. The chef was rude to us during our tasting but the food turned out very well and everyone liked it. The club was set up how we wanted it in the end but it took going over there 3 times the week of to get it that way. Don't expect the "on-course" photographs that are listed on the services provided for the fee. Every tree we/our photographer asked about was off limits because it was "on the course". It was a nice venue for the price and people liked the food/wedding, but for all the added stress and work I had to do to make sure Barb was on track in the last month I would have rather have paid more for a more professional/full service venue.

    Sent on 05/21/2017