Skip to main content
Weddings

Soundwave DJ and Photo Reviews

Soundwave DJ and Photo

Soundwave DJ and Photo

Buffalo, NY
Rating 4.9 out of 5, 256 Reviews
View more information

256 Reviews

Rated
4.9
out of 5.0
Recommended by 98% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.9 out of 5

Awards

  • 256
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2022 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2021 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner

33 User photos

  • Amber
    Amber R. Married on 02/19/2022
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Hire Soundwave for your wedding!

    We met Marie (co-owner & photographer) in 2020 and quickly hit it off. We decided to hire Marie as our photographer & her husband/co-owner Matt as our DJ. We had to postpone 1 year due to Covid. Matt & Marie made postponing painless for us. We finally had our wedding day in February 2022. Matt & Marie played a HUGE part in making our day successful! They listened to every specific request we had and did a great job delivering. Matt absolutely heard us in regards to music choices and gave us the best cocktail hour, dinner music & dancing music we could have imagined. Marie helped guide us all day from 10:30am to 10pm. It was also a pleasure getting to know both of them & spending time with them on our wedding day! Zero regrets about hiring Soundwave. They have a whole crew of DJ’s and photographers you can research & see who fits your style best.
  • J
    Jenn I. Married on 10/09/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    They made my wedding everything I could ever dream of.

    Marie and Matt were amazing. No one left the dance floor and Marie was great very personable. Everyone loved them! They made my wedding a dream come true.
  • Christina
    Christina B. Married on 10/02/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Made our day complete!

    Marie and Matt did an amazing job with our wedding. Marie was very detailed oriented and had fantastic ideas for our pictures. Matt kept the tunes jamming all night at our reception. They really captured us as a couple between the pictures taken and the music that was played. I highly recommend the social booth, our guests were enamored by it!!
  • J
    Jenna B. Married on 09/10/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Barron wedding

    DJ Mak and sound wave were absolutely amazing! The booking process was super simple and the online planner really helped us hone in on what we wanted/ didn't want while still leaving the details to the true professionals. Our dance floor was packed from start to finish for our whole wedding. I had multiple guests comment on how "this is the best wedding playlist ever." While I know people will just say that in the moment and know we are a bit biased, I would agree! DJ MAK was great at reading the crowd and pleased everyone from my old aunt's our wildest friends. We couldn't recommend soundwave and DJ MAK more.
  • A
    Ali L. Married on 09/05/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Bride/Groom

    DJ MAK was amazing & made sure our vibe was strong all night! We appreciate how thorough Soundwave is and everyone we were in contact with throughout the experience was beyond nice & helpful. You can really tell they care about not only you, but also making your day special in any way they can!
  • H
    Hannah Married on 08/21/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Matt and Marie are the absolute BEST!!

    I cannot recommend Soundwave enough! Matt and Marie were by far easiest part of my wedding planning process. From the moment I reached out, they were so kind and responsive, and they continued to be so accommodating and helpful through postponing and changing venues.

    Then, leading up to our big day, Matt was such a joy to work with. We video chatted to iron out the timeline and discuss details. He was genuinely enthusiastic about honoring our vision and tone for the day, which I appreciated so much!

    And on the day of our wedding, he completely exceeded all of my expectations. He helped make our ceremony so special and helped make our reception an absolute party — which is exactly what we wanted!

    He is such a genuinely nice and upbeat person, and he is by far the best DJ I have ever seen. So, look no further for your DJ! Book Matt ASAP. You will not regret it!
  • Paige
    Paige R. Married on 08/06/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    All around great DJ and MC!

    We hired Brian at the last minute and he did a great job under short notice! He called the week before and made sure that we had everything prepared.
  • Lauren
    Lauren I. Married on 07/31/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Best Photographer and DJ we could have picked

    While planning a wedding during a pandemic was stressful, Marie from Soundwave Photography made the process so much easier. We were stressed about corralling two big families into photos, squeezing in pictures during a cocktail hour and not missing our reception, and coordinating everything while still enjoying ourselves. Marie and DJ MAK helped make our perfect wedding day. We did not have to worry about a thing. We have gotten dozens of comments about how great the music was, what a fun time guests had on the dance floor, and how wonderful the acoustic music was. Marie managed my anxiety over pictures and made the entire day easier for all of us. It was the perfect day because of the professionalism, attention to detail, and expertise of Soundwave. We would 100% recommend them to anyone getting married soon.
  • A
    Andi K. Married on 07/10/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    AMAZING! Matt, Marie and Brian are GREAT!

    Best Day EVER! Thank you! We met Matt while touring the Westin as a venue. We wound up picking both the Westin and Soundwave. We originally had Matt, but after postponing our wedding a year due to COVID, he had a prior engagement. Brian was AMAZING! Kept the party going and there was never a dull moment on the dance floor.
  • Cassandra
    Cassandra S. Married on 07/02/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Perfect For

    We had a flower wall at our wedding and needed a photobooth to take photos of us and our guests at the wedding. It was the perfect addition because it was sleek, slim and it wasn't an eyesore in the room. There was a woman there manning the booth, which was perfect so guests didn't have to fuss with it. The pictures and templates for the photos were fantastic and a nice keepsake for all guests that took a photo!! It was perfect.
  • M
    Michael D. Married on 06/11/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing and Perfect

    Matt and Marie crushed it! Marie’s photo recommendation and on constant hustle to catch every moment made the most amazing pictures. Matt did a awesome job help merge our two families. With my in laws being Hispanic coming up from south Texas, he played the perfect blend of music for everyone on the dance floor. Completely recommend this dynamic duo.
  • K
    Kate S. Married on 06/05/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Soundwave DJ was the best choice!!

    Soundwave DJ was incredibly professional and amazing to work with. Read the crowd really well and kept everyone dancing the whole time. Was very energetic and organized. Helped the night go perfectly! Still receiving so many compliments on our music 1 month after our wedding! Highly recommend!!
  • D
    Dave S. Married on 05/08/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Absolutely Amazing!

    Absolutely great! Loved it all
  • Jennifer
    Jennifer M. Married on 01/05/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing all encompassing wedding team

    We could have not asked for a more perfect day. Soundwave truly gave me my fairytale wedding and MORE!. Marie and Matt were absolutely amazing and made sure everything went according to plan. This company is truly amazing and put the stress of finding all different vendors for the DJ, the Photo Booth, the photographer, the videographer out the window because they are all in this wonderful company. Seriously NO STRESS at all, which what bride can honestly say that??!? Our videographer Stephaine was a saint, pointing out things throughout the day to make it even more perfect. Neilson our photographer is amazing at what he does. My husband and I are not the best at posing but Neilson made us feel at ease and found amazing shots for our wedding day. When the day is over all you really have to look back at are the photos and video and I can honestly say I will have so much awesome photos and be able to watch over and over an amazing video from our wedding. We also had a selfie Photo Booth which I have never seen from any other vendor. Marie created the template and it was so cool to have a different Photo Booth picture than just the typical strip of pictures. Ryan was the DJ for our wedding. He stuck to the script perfectly and had great transitions between songs. You could tell all the hard work that Ryan was doing and that he did not just make a playlist from our recommendations and press play. Everyone in the wedding party had different entrance songs and the entrances went off without a hitch. It seems like many vendors only have one entrance song for the entire wedding party. The week leading up to the wedding every single person from sound wave called me to go over everything from the outline I had provided through their online portal. And as a bride things come up and change last minute, it was nice that I didn't need to seek out the vendor leading up to my big day. I cannot thank this vendor enough for all that they did to make our day as perfect as it was.

    -Jen & Matt
  • Guivini
    Guivini G. Married on 10/24/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    The Zittel’s Wedding 10/24/2020

    The Conta’s (Matt and Marie) did an outstanding job helping us navigate through COVID restrictions and rescheduling our wedding twice. I am very grateful for their support on making our wedding an affair to remember. They work perfectly with Josh at the Admiral room at the Marin. I will strongly recommend the all inclusive package which includes photographer, photo booth, ceremony dj, cocktail hour and reception DJ. If your wedding needs to be tailored they will be able to handle any request. I am looking forward to hire them for our future major events in our life’s.
  • V
    Vincent Married on 10/24/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    A+ Company All Around

    I can't begin to explain how wonderful of an experience I have had working with Marie (co-owner) and Soundwave. I was engaged many years ago and booked Soundwave. A month before the wedding, we ended up canceling it. When I called Marie to cancel, we spoke for over 45 mins about the situation and it felt like I was talking to an old friend. It was clear to me from the first time I spoke to Marie that she genuinely cares about the people she works with.

    Last year, my (now) wife and I decided we wanted to get married in January 2021. As soon as we decided on the date, I knew I wanted to work with Marie and Soundwave and booked them for photography, uplighting, photo booth, and DJ. Due to COVID, we ended up moving our reception to 2022, a move that Marie completely understood and accommodated.

    Although we moved our reception, we decided to get married in October of 2021. Even though she had another wedding the day we got married, Marie accommodated us and photographed our small, short, ceremony relatively early in the afternoon. She could have had another one of her photographers be at our ceremony, but she knew we wanted her there and she made it work. We also wanted a short video of our ceremony to send to my father and Marie put together a custom package to accommodate us.

    Prior to the wedding ceremony, Marie knew we were looking for affordable venues to rent for a half hour and she reached out to many vendors for us and sent along names and prices for the places that got back to her. Marie did not have to do that, but she took time to do it and help us out. Another example of her character and the way Soundwave runs their business. If you are like me and want to make sure the people you work with aren't just talented, but good people, you will love working with Marie and Soundwave.

    Personal story aside, Marie is an excellent photographer and Soundwave is an A+ company. Wedding planning is a pain, but they offer multiple services (which is super convenient) and their online portal is easy to manage and access. Having all of out photo/DJ/uplighting information in one place is so nice and eases the stress of making multiple payments to different vendors. If you call Soundwave, they will take the time to talk with you and decide which one of their DJ's would be best for your wedding and what you are looking for. I have called Marie multiple times about the ceremony that just happened and the reception that is yet to happen and I have never once felt rushed off the phone. Soundwave will answer every question you have and they will do what they can to accommodate you.

    I made a Wedding Wire account just to post this review. Even after all of these words, I don't think my review does the company justice. Reach out to them and work with them on your wedding day. You will not just be working with a good company, but with good people.
  • Lindsey
    Lindsey P. Married on 10/06/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    AMAZING ceremony and reception DJ!

    DJ MAK is the perfect person to entertain your friends and family on your most important day. He was meticulous with all the details. He visited the ceremony and reception venue prior to the big day to plan and prepare for his setup. He went over timelines, wedding party pronunciations, prepared a backup computer and even a rain plan if needed. We had so many compliments with the live acoustic covers he played prior to the ceremony and then again during the dinner hour. The live music is a nice feature that adds something special and unique to the day. His playlist covers numerous genres that you’ll want to extend his playing time. He’s also great a reading crowds to keep the dance floor filled. DJ MAK takes pride in being personable and professional. Our wedding was perfect and DJ MAK was one of the reasons why!!! He won’t disappoint. Chris & Lindsey
  • L
    Luigi Z. Married on 09/26/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing. I would recommend then to anyone!

    Amazing job! Awesome to work with! We had DJ George who was amazing and made the the wedding that much better even during these crazy times with corona.
  • Steven
    Steven C. Married on 08/14/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Matt and Marie are the BEST!

    Hands down, the BEST around! They will make sure your event is a great time. From photos, videography to photo booths and DJs they have you covered. Truly great people who care about your event. We are so happy we chose them for our special day!
  • Holly
    Holly T. Married on 12/10/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Soundwave was amazing!

    SoundWave was amazing! Ryan was super easy to communicate with and truly wanted your day to be exactly how you want it. They were by far the easiest vendor we worked with. Always answered emails right away, and their online wedding planner makes it super easy to plan your day and pick your special songs/requests for your DJ. Our DJ took tons of requests that we wanted the night of and even played an extra song at the end of the night! We had a BLAST thanks to SoundWave!!! Their Photo Booth option was almost great, we loved the photo book they made for us with everyone's pictures and special messages. Thanks SoundWave!
  • Nicole
    Nicole Married on 11/30/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Perfection

    We used Soundwave for both our DJ and photographer for our wedding. The price was reasonable and everyone was so easy to work with. Sam and DJ Mak kept everything on schedule and were truly amazing. Thank you to all of you!
  • Donna
    Donna E. Married on 11/05/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Best decision ever

    Choosing SoundWave Dj and Photo was the best decision that we made in terms of vendors for our wedding. Matt, Marie and Stephanie were the absolute best. The entire experience from the first planning meeting to the actual wedding was so stress free because of this team. Anytime we needed to get in touch with them there were extremely responsive and answered all our questions. The planning system that they use is very user friendly and made planning our event super easy to do. When it came down to the actual day, they actually exceeded our expectations. Marie captured all the photos that we wanted and made sure that we stuck to the timeline that we had planned. Stephanie got to work right away on our video and was right with Marie making sure that all our special moments were documented for us. Our DJ Matt was the absolute best part of the night. He listened to everything we wanted in terms of play list and kept people dancing all night long. We actually had a friend call us the next day and tell us how tired they were because they couldn't leave the dance floor because of how awesome the music selection was.
    If you are planning a wedding, I would highly recommend going with SoundWave DJ and Photo. You will not be disappointed.
  • Laura
    Laura S. Married on 10/05/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Exceeding my wedding expectations

    When searching for our photographer and DJ I was having a hard time finding what I was looking for. I spoke with Marie Conta multiple times before deciding to move forward with Soundwave. Her fun and inviting personality is exactly what we needed to not be camera shy. We decided to do a bundle package and use soundwave as both our DJ and Photographer vendor. The process was simple and they were there to help along the way if needed. Based on our conversations and music taste Marie thought DJ Mak would be perfect for us. Let me tell you Marie and DJ Mak did an outstanding job. I can be super picky and hard to please and they listened to everything we had to say and went above and beyond. DJ Mak used our suggested play list and kept our 200+ wedding Guests dancing all night long even after the venue was trying to shut down. Marie was so patient with us even when we were tired of taking pictures haha! She was quite literally in the middle of all of the excitement all day and night and captured such wonderful natural looking pictures. I was not feeling well before the reception and she was thoughtful enough to have tea and medicine sent up to my room to help me feel better. DJ Mak used an awesome saxophone playlist with popular music during dinner and it could not have been more us and fit the room more perfectly.. I’d describe it as elegant but fun! One of my concerns was that the music wasn’t going to be loud enough in our large venue, DJ Mak brought some of his personal speakers to add to the room as a surprise to me and make sure I was a happy Bride. The two together made such a great pair. Our family and friends loved them so much they were voicing their praise to them all night and even gave out plenty of hugs to each of them before they left. We haven’t heard a single complaint from our guests, they haven’t stopped talking about them and my husband and I were blown away. Highly suggest DJ Mak and Marie Conta for your wedding needs, I promise you won’t be disappointed!
  • B
    Brittany Married on 09/27/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Wedding DJ

    DJ mak for soundwave was amazing he def made it a lot easier on me and had my guest up and moving!! I would recommend him and this company to everyone!!!
  • Nicole
    Nicole P. Married on 09/22/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing DJ

    Ryan from Soundwave was absolutely incredible! Due to unforeseen surgery 10 days before our wedding, we had to change up parts of our reception lineup. Ryan was really flexible and allowed us to work with him on the day of to create a memorable experience. I appreciated his flexibility, positive attitude, and DJ skills. He listened to everything my husband and I said about the music and it was a perfect night of dancing!