Skip to main content
Weddings

Sound Wave Entertainment Reviews

Sound Wave Entertainment

Sound Wave Entertainment

Gainesville, VA
4.9 out of 5 rating, 103 Reviews
View more information

Reviews

4.9 out of 5 rating
4.9 out of 5 rating
103 Reviews
99% recommend it
  • Quality of service
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.9 out of 5 rating

Awards

103
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2021 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner
  • L
    Laura O. Sent on 11/13/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best DJ! Hire Chris Rao Now!

    Chris Rao and Sound Wave Entertainment did an absolutely INCREDIBLE job DJing our wedding! Our dance floor was bumping from beginning to end, which is entirely a credit to Chris. Chris is super kind and easy to work with as well. My partner and I had extensive Must Play and Do Not Play lists, as well as a few complicated events during the wedding (Indian baraat entrance into first dance, surprise group dance on the dance floor), and Chris executed them just perfectly. The music flowed seamlessly between classic, 80s, hip-hop, Bollywood, and reggaeton songs. Moreover, Chris was an integral part of our wedding night as a whole being a success: When our wedding was falling behind schedule, Chris worked so helpfully with our vendors and made sure our speeches and reception continued onward and smoothly. Chris was an absolute pleasure to work with, and we feel lucky that we were able to have him DJ our wedding. My partner and I even say that we wish we could throw another party just so we could hire Chris again! We highly recommend Chris and Sound Wave Entertainment if you are looking for a DJ for a wedding or any other event.
  • Irina
    Irina Sent on 05/23/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Phenomenal DJ experience!!!

    Chris was nothing short of a miracle. He stayed with us despite us having to postpone due to COVID - keeping us on and working with us all the way from early 2020 through our big day on April 30th, 2022. He was so nice, responsive, knowledgeable, upfront, honest, and provided amazing music choices. He chose a fantastic playlist within all the numerous parameters we set, mixed the processional beautifully, and MC'ed the reception flawlessly. *Chefs kiss* Everyone had the absolute best time, in large part to his working the crowd and knowing what dance songs to push next. He is punctual, diligent, and an absolute must to hire for your next event or wedding!
  • S
    Sydney V. Sent on 05/04/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Awesome DJ!

    Chris was amazing to work with for our wedding DJ! He was very responsive and let choose what music we wanted to play. He took the time to have calls with us to get to know us as a couple and personalize our day. He provided back up microphones for our ceremony and even stayed to play music during our late night social hour. His pricing is extremely affordable and he was so great to work with. Highly recommend Chris for your wedding DJ!!
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • R
    Rachel G. Sent on 06/19/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Absolutely Wonderful!

    Chris was awesome! I will definitely be recommending him to anyone i know getting married in the area.
  • A
    Angela O. Sent on 10/23/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Great Wedding DJ

    Overall, Chris was great to work with. He had great reviews on here and came recommended by our venue. We had a 45 minute call prior to the ceremony to go over music tastes and the timeline. He provided some great feedback and suggestions, which I really appreciated. He was also flexible with me picking some of the songs later because I couldn't make up my mind. He helped with setting up the ceremony music for our string band, which was really nice, along with the microphones. He also dealt with me requesting music at the end of the night after some adult beverages, so he deserves a big thank you! I would highly recommend him for any wedding!
  • Courtney
    Courtney Sent on 09/18/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Really let us personalize

    Chris was great to work with! He let us pick whatever songs we wanted throughout the day but also picked music himself. Everyone loved the music!
  • Elizabeth
    Elizabeth H. Sent on 01/11/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Did an amazing job getting to know me and my husband

    Chris did a wonderful job talking to me and my husband about what we did and didn’t want and helping us keep on schedule for the day. We always had people dancing and would hire him again without question!
  • J
    Jeff Sent on 10/06/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Soundwave DJ - THE BEST experience!

    From our initial phone call, through the actual event, Chris went above and beyond to make our daughter's wedding a memorable and special day. Email, phone and zoom meetings to prepare were convenient, fun and productive; coming up with ceremony, cocktail hour and reception music lists was collaborative and executed perfectly. Especially during this pandemic, when many of the plans had to be altered, and size of our reception decreased, Chris kept the dance floor moving and exciting (and socially distanced) and was the perfect Emcee. Having heard of nightmare DJ stories, Chris was the exact opposite -- professional mics and sound equipment and an excellent mix of music. Highly recommended!!
  • Jessica
    Jessica M. Sent on 09/23/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Chris Rao is a godsend!

    Like many other brides this year, we were disappointed when the pandemic hit and we had to cancel our original wedding plans. We decided to replan a small ceremony and are so grateful for Chris and Soundwave entertainment for making it an amazing day. Chris helped organize the outline for the ceremony and reception which was so helpful - at the time I was so stressed and worried about having to cancel again that I couldn’t even think about what wedding round 2 would be like - and Chris really helped bring it to life. His music choices were spot on and kept people on the dance floor. I wasn’t sure that we’d even have dancing at all during COVID times, but Chris made it happen and all in a way that felt safe. He was a huge part of making our wedding happen and we are so grateful to him for all the support!!
  • Lauren
    Lauren G. Sent on 09/03/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Hire Chris, Seriously!

    First, let me say that having a wedding during COVID comes with challenges. Having to push our wedding back by a few months was so stressful, especially not knowing if our already hired vendors would still be available. Not only was Chris SUPER nice and professional, but he made sure he was available for our new date and kept in contact with me every step of the way! He met with my husband and I a few weeks prior to come up with the perfect timeline for our wedding, get our playlist (including songs we did not want played) and made sure he had everyone’s name pronounced correctly. At our wedding, he transitioned so smoothly between dinner, toasts, cake, etc... Even though most people were hesitant to dance due to social distancing, Chris kept the music up and we had the best time dancing! Brides, you will not regret hiring Chris. We seriously could not have picked a better DJ. 🥂
  • Alexa
    Alexa G. Sent on 02/25/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Could not have asked for a better DJ!

    Chris did an incredible job as the DJ at my wedding! He was extremely organized, always had perfect timing with songs, and very flexible. We had on and off rain/wind on our wedding day, and he was prepared for small delays in ceremony time and adjustments that had to made throughout the night due to the weather. He did a great job selecting songs based on my husband and I's preferences, as well as incorporating songs that we specifically requested that were important to us. I would absolutely book him again for an event!
  • Emily
    Emily Sent on 11/19/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Great DJ- Very Organized

    Chris was fantastic! He was very helpful throughout the planning process- he answered all our questions when we were looking for a DJ, kept track of our song requests, and met with us in person to plan our reception timeline about a month before the wedding! The day of Chris was early, very organized and fun! He kept our reception going on time and got people on the dance floor. I highly recommend working with Chris for your wedding!
  • Hannah
    Hannah Sent on 01/09/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Great DJ!!

    Chris was an amazing DJ at our wedding! He was on time, professional, and very fun! He was super helpful and knowledgeable during our wedding planning. 10/10 would hire him again!
  • H
    Hillary L. Sent on 02/12/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Absolute Best Experience!

    Chris was a joy to work with! First of all, the pricing was very reasonable, especially for the area. I was trying to coordinate an east coast wedding while still living on the west coast and Chris was so gracious and easy to work with. He took our song preferences and then crafted an amazing playlist that we and our guests loved dancing to. It made the day that much more special seeing all of our loved ones having a blast. He was absolutely fantastic to work with and I would highly recommend his services!
  • H
    Heather S. Sent on 01/19/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Highly Recommend!!

    Chris did an amazing job for our wedding! He was very professional, guided us through the process, answered all of our questions in a timely manner and most importantly kept everyone on the dance floor all night! Chris was great to work with and I would highly recommend him to everyone!
  • H
    Hannah Sent on 09/27/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Perfect DJ!!

    Chris Rao was the DJ for our wedding at Bluemont Vineyard and definitely made the night go smoothly without skipping a beat! Everyone loved the music and he was such a pleasure to work with. He genuinely cares about you having everything that you need and is willing to work with you. My husband's father sang for our first dance, along with one of his groomsmen on the guitar; Chris had everything for them to get set up and was more than accommodating. Highly recommend Sound Wave Entertainment & Chris for your wedding day!!
  • S
    Steve K. Sent on 09/22/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Clever, attentive, upbeat - fantastic all around!

    We chose Chris for our wedding based on the recommendation of a friend. He met with us weeks before the ceremony and made sure we had the perfect setup and all the songs we wanted (and omitted the ones we didn't). On the wedding day, he was a true professional, hitting all the right notes, from getting the party started to respecting an emotional moment between me and my mom. He even surprised my wife (a James Madison alum) by playing the JMU fight song, unprompted, and getting all her fellow alumni to the floor. We have absolutely nothing bad to say about Chris - book him and you'll have a great time!
  • J
    Jennifer Sent on 09/25/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Awesome dj :)

    Chris was awesome to work with. He came highly recommended from our venue, Bluemont Vineyards, and we could not have been happier with our decision to hire Chris. He took the time to meet with us prior to our wedding to discuss the schedule for the day as well as to get to know us as a couple and our music preferences. Chris did such a great job the day of the wedding with his selection of music and making sure we stayed on schedule. We highly recommend hiring Chris as your DJ!
  • Joanna
    Joanna D. Sent on 06/18/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Chris is the BEST wedding DJ!

    We are SO happy that we chose Chris to be our wedding DJ! A few highlights:
    - When it rained just as our ceremony was supposed to begin, he quickly switched the music playing to "Don't Worry, Be Happy." Our guests couldn't stop talking about how funny it was! Then, when it stopped raining and a rainbow came out, he of course played "Somewhere Over the Rainbow." Everyone loved it!
    - He listened to our music choices 100%. Every single song that came on was one of our favorites. Our guests couldn't stop talking about how good the music was - and our dance party was epic.
    - He even listened to our speeches and made song choices based on them. When my best friend mentioned in her speech that we listened to Ace of Base when we were growing up, he put on Ace of Base to get the party started!
    - Chris was always friendly, professional, and pleasant to work with. I truly couldn't have asked for a better DJ (and somehow, even with all of that, he's affordable)!
  • J
    Jesseca Sent on 06/19/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The best dj ever

    I cannot imagine having a better DJ than Chris. He handled our ceremony, cocktail hour, and reception and it all went perfectly. He is very responsive, attentive, and professional. It is a worry free experience! I was struggling making a lot of song decisions and was worried about having the right music to fit the vibe we wanted, but he really made it easy. We were able to pick songs we knew we wanted but also lean heavily on his skill. He really knows how to keep the celebration and flow of the event going! We were so thankful to have him during the wedding. We are still getting compliments about Chris and the music a month later. He has a great personality, is very easy-going, and is all around fantastic to work with. I would strongly recommend Chris!!
  • Caitlin
    Caitlin O. Sent on 06/24/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Great to work with!

    Chris was great to work with!! In the planning stage, he was very responsive and organized. He gave us an outline to work with that was very helpful. We had this idea of how we wanted the music to be at our wedding so that it represented us as a couple but would also be enjoyable for our guests. We provided him with a list of songs that were our "must hear" songs. Chris played those songs and also picked complimentary songs that we loved. After our wedding, everyone commented that the music was great and that it was the most fun, laid back wedding they had ever been to! Exactly what we wanted and we couldn't be happier!!
  • L
    Lisa B. Sent on 06/29/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Chris is a great DJ!

    Chris was great to work with leading up to our wedding! He was very responsive and easy to communicate with, and he was helpful in making recommendations for songs when we were having a hard time coming up with ideas. He was a great emcee and made sure to pronounce all of our friends' names (even the very complicated ones) accurately. He played a good mix of slower songs, lively songs, older songs, and modern songs during the reception. Our guests all enjoyed the music and were dancing all night long!
  • E
    Emma Sent on 04/15/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Chris is the best!!!

    Chris was an amazing DJ for our wedding! He had playlists we created but also added his own picks and really knew how to keep the crowd going! Literally for 5 hours, the dance floor was never empty! He did a great job with everything, was responsive and professional. Got never ending compliments on our music from our guests!
  • D
    Dina Sent on 10/13/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    There are not enough good things to say about Chris Rao from Soundwave Entertainment. He is so professional and responsive. He really customizes your wedding to be like you and your significant other. He does not play one soundtrack for every wedding. He put so much time into meeting up with us before the wedding and perfecting our playlist. He lets you customize your songs and much or as little as you want. If you want someone who listens, but also knows how to get the dance floor moving, book with Chris! He is so polite and so sweet. He has a personality that is not overbearing but one that everyone will love.
  • A
    Amanda Sent on 10/20/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The best of the best

    Chris was recommended to me from multiple acquaintances. From the various emails and the first time we met him in person, my husband, Michael and I were extremely impressed with his responsiveness, price, and organization. When we finally met in person, we were relieved to know we were in good hands with Chris. We had expressed how we had a very diverse guest list (country, Cuban, rockers) and had included song requests on our guests' RSVPs. Chris helped us with our timeline and had a lot of wonderful song suggestions on the things we were struggling with( I had been stressing over the timeline... it was like no sweat to him!) When wedding day came along, he worked harmoniously with our day of coordinator (who was my aunt working pro-bono) and was very flexible to adjusting the timeline as we needed it. We had so many compliments on him from our family and friends... his ability to read the crowd kept the party going! I would recommend Chris to anyone if they want an AMAZING wedding!
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message