Weddings

Sonesta Milwaukee West Wauwatosa Reviews

Sonesta Milwaukee West Wauwatosa

Sonesta Milwaukee West Wauwatosa

Wauwatosa, WI
Rating 4.7 out of 5, 18 Reviews
View more information

18 Reviews

Rated
4.7
out of 5.0
Recommended by 93% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 4.6 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 4.6 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.6 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.7 out of 5

Awards

  • 18
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
Sort by:
  • Jaime
    Jaime P. Married on 10/10/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Excellent experience

    Very nice venue and very accommodating. They were willing to work with us however we needed in order to meet all COVID needs.
  • B
    Beth Married on 10/28/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We had an amazing experience having our wedding reception at the Crowne Plaza thanks to Veronica and her team! Veronica was professional, flexible and readily available to all of our requests. From start to finish, Veronica went above and beyond to make sure our dreams became reality. We would highly recommend and encourage anyone looking to have their dream wedding reception to book an appointment with Veronica.
  • D
    D. Married on 09/30/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Veronica was a pleasure to work with and helped us relax during a stressful process. Having a venue that only does one wedding a night was extremely attractive to us. The Crowne Plaza’s entire team did not rest until we were happy. We cannot thank them enough.
  • S
    Shaina Married on 09/16/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Tess Zahn was absolutely perfect. She replied to us on our days off, was very patient with us while we were trying to make decisions, offered honest suggestions, and made planning our day (and our actual day) a completely wonderful experience. She is a huge asset to your staff, and if we lived in town, I would request working with her for all of our party planning events.
  • M
    Michelle Married on 06/17/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The detail that Veronica gave us and the staff was amazing. They even checked in with us the day after to make sure that we were satisfied with how the day had gone. People always say that something will go wrong, nothing actually did in any aspect (except for the ring bearer got nervous and did not walk down but no biggie!). It is was recommended to us from a friend who had gotten married there 4 years before us and we will absolutely recommend them to anyone else that we run into who is looking for a vendor. The food was delicious and the late night snack was a hit!
  • A
    Abby Married on 10/08/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Great place for a wedding! The staff was wonderful and the event was beautiful! Thank you Crowne Plaza!
  • S
    Steven Married on 07/09/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    My wife Pamela and I were treated very professionally and respectfully by the whole staff. All in all everyone that was invited to the wedding had a fabulous time. The food was great and the planning was exceptional. It made our special day so very perfect and unforgettable. Steven and Pamela Lukomski
  • K
    Kirsten Married on 09/26/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The Crowne Plaza West was a BEAUTIFUL venue for our reception. We not only had the banquet hall, but also the hallway outside the room with counter top space for decorations/place cards/guest book, and the lobby areas with comfortable seating for guests. The staff checked in with us during the night to ask how everything was going, and brought us a drink of our choice right to the head table! Stacey was very organized and detail oriented, and did a great job coordinating the table set-up and decorations. The package included chair covers and chair ties that really added to elegant look of the room.
  • S
    Sarah Married on 10/04/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Everything was amazing! Our wedding was almost a month ago and we are still getting compliments on it! The food was superb. We dropped off our centerpieces and wedding favors the day before our wedding and explained to Victoria how we wanted the tables set-up, she did it exactly how we asked and it looked even better than what we pictured. We received quick responses to all emails and even if it was her day off, Victoria would respond and let us know she would get back to us when she was in the office. We did a buffet package and were impressed with everything that came with it. Not many places offer chair covers and bows in the package. Plus our entree choices included pretty me rib without an up charge. My husband and I had special cheesecakes made for us and we didn't eat them at the reception so the staff took them up to our room for us.
    I would recommend Crowne Plaza Milwaukee West in a heartbeat.
  • K
    Keri Married on 10/08/2011
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Kris at the Crowne Plaza has been absolutely wonderful to work with. All my questions answered & easy to get a hold off. Planning our wedding reception has been seamless ... thank you Kris. Not to mention the ballroom is modern and gorgeous with marble countertops and NO ugly chandeliers!
  • S
    Stephanie
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Easy to work with, not really any advice. It was painless and they made sure my special day was great! Stacey G. even went out of her way to supply coloring books at the kids table. She was awesome and responded to my emails in a timely matter.
  • T
    Tom Married on 10/17/2015
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    First, the Crowne Plaza centrally located in the Metro area and just off 94. It is a beautiful venue. The staff is extremely helpful and our meal was wonderful.
    What is really nice is the Crowne Plaza is large enough to accommodate an event for 300+, while intimate enough that "your" event will be the only event there that evening. The staff can focus on your special day.
    Our wedding at the Crowne Plaza was beautiful!
    Thank you!
  • R
    Robert Married on 10/17/2015
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The hotel did an excellent job from beginning to end and we were very happy with the end result. There was a period where the person we were working with left and someone else had to take over so took a little while getting them up to speed but everything ran smoothly. It was never frustrating or unpleasant working with the hotel. If we had to do it over again we would without hesitation.
  • J
    Jen Married on 06/25/2011
    Rating 4.7 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    We were very pleased with our experience at the Crowne Plaza. Kris was extremely helpful. She was wiling to hold onto many very large guest gift baskets starting two days prior to the wedding which took over much of the employee office. We left all of our decorations at the hotel a few days before the wedding and were so grateful that everything was arranged when we arrived at the reception, without an additional charge. We chose a dinner package and were actually surprised with how many beers and wines were included. The food tasted great and many guests were complimentary of the venue.
  • D
    Dami Married on 09/23/2017
    Rating 4.6 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Great service! Veronica was awesome, she made the process seamless for us. She was great to work with!
  • J
    Jason Married on 10/01/2016
    Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    Tess is a wedding specialist who cares about your wedding. She is willing to work with you to give you the best experience you can. She understands people can be demanding or have unique requests and she does everything she can to accommodate. She is a professional. She has an out-going and creative personality which is nice to bounce ideas off of.
  • K
    Kristina Married on 11/11/2017
    Rating 3.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    Everything was well put together and the event was great. Was wondering why there was a tip jar at the bar...since I payed a 21% Service charge fee and after asking what that was for - was told that it was tipping the servers/bartenders. Since I paid their tips (which totaled $1000), wondering why my guests were being asked to tip more.?? That was my only disappointment.
  • Lisa
    Lisa R. Married on 10/05/2019
    Rating 1.6 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 2.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 2.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 2.0 out of 5

    Dinner problems

    We decided to host our wedding ceremony and wedding reception at the Crowne Plaza. Everything was great while planning including tastings, plans, emails back and forth.

    Until the wedding night...our meal was wrong, dinner was very late and very staggered. People were still being served dinner at 9:00 when we started with salads a little before 6:30. We waited like an hour between the salads and the main course. No one was coming around to refill waters or drinks. The head table did not even get food forever. When finally served half of them were up wandering because we had been waiting so long. One of the allergy plates did not come out until a few of other wedding party members were done eating.

    We had this great tasting where we picked out a great menu including sauces. We even went over the menu two days prior. It was wrong the night of. We were supposed to have a boneless chicken breast with tomato basil sauce. We had a bone in chicken with peppercorn sauce. We were supposed to have the beef with peppercorn, which did come out correct unless you had an allergy then it came with tomato basil. At the tasting however they made me (dairy free) this great dairy free peppercorn sauce which is what I was expecting and we had in the plans.

    When I brought this up to the hotel I was given a small apology over the phone, but one that included excuses that this service is normal for a wedding. Having served wedding when I was a bit younger I know that this was not great service. I do understand weddings take a while to serve, but service should not be as staggered and should not have taken an hour between salads and main course. And should not have take 3 hours.

    I was expecting a bit that something would be offered to us since the meal was wrong and not what we had planned or paid for. If at a restaurant you are served the wrong food it is usually custom to apologize with something taken off bill or reward given extra since was not what you were paying for.

    We also had a few other problems with my guests booking hotel rooms off our block. People at reservations would tell them there were no rooms left on block even though it was not true or would try to sell them some type of timeshare. I had to contact wedding coordinator at least 5 times about different people being told they couldn't add to block or being charged more.

    Unfortunately almost two months later when the wedding is discussed the lateness of the meal is always embarrassingly brought up. This is sad when we spent months planning and lots of money. I had very high hopes for this hotel throughout the planning process. I'm sad they did not deliver the best service during our wedding dinner.