Smock. Reviews

11 | Syracuse, NY
See photos, pricing and details

11 Reviews for Smock.

Recommended by 92%

11
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner

4.6 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.8
  • Professionalism 4.6
  • Flexibility 4.8
  • Value 4.3
  • Average response time 4.5
Sort by:
  • E

    Elissa · Married on 05/26/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We absolutely LOVE our Smock Vettore invitation (with a bit of Palmes thrown in for good measure)! We found Smock online and drove an hour north to the closest dealer (Cambridge Street Papers, NJ), as we wanted to see everything in person. We were blown away by the quality of the products and knew right then we would be getting a Smock invitation. They turned the proofs around so quickly and helped us to create our dream invitation. The paper is smooth and the letterpress imprint is deep; they just feel elegant. They were a bit pricey but so worth it. The amazing packaging and wrapping of the invitations upon delivery was the icing on the cake. We have gotten so many amazing responses from our guests and we are thrilled we went with Smock.

    Sent on 03/28/2013
  • B

    Brittany · Married on 05/04/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our invitations were GORGEOUS. We worked with a local shop to order them, but we were so impressed when the letterpress invitations came in. Great company to order from. Beautiful paper.

    Sent on 06/17/2013
  • User2953960 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I worked with Smock via my wedding planner, Jessica Masi of JCG Events. My husband and I enjoy graphic design, and Smock worked with us to print a design of our creation. We loved the look and feel of the paper, and the invitation suite was truly gorgeous. Though letterpress is not inexpensive, you are making an investment in quality, and we felt particularly good about supporting a creative small business who cared so much about their work. We would recommend the Smock team to any couple looking for unique, high quality stationary for their wedding.

    Sent on 01/13/2013
  • M

    molly · Married on 11/01/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I had an idea to do an engagement announcement / holiday card. After going to all the "best" stores in town I was exhausted and frustrated. No one could give me clear information on pricing or shipping and no one had anything like I wanted. I was also really disappointed as I had really been looking forward to all the announcements, save the dates, invitations, etc. but quickly realized it was not an easy or enjoyable experience. As a last ditch effort I contacted Smock directly. I was immediately given clear answers and great information by Nathan. The best part was when I started working with my designer Sarah. She was incredibly responsive and fun to work with. I am a bit of a perfectionist and I was thrilled to find that she cared as much as I did about things such as: if the red was a "purple" red or an "orange" red and we had a great time getting everything just perfect. She really went above and beyond getting information from me and making sure everything was just how I had envisioned it, (except way better!). As a customer I expected a beautiful product, (but this exceeded even MY expectations!), but I never expected to have so much FUN with my experience. Sarah really impressed me with how well she listened and how much she cared. I will absolutely work with her on my entire wedding set. Also, I'm so pleased with the way my card turned out I plan to frame one and put it on the fire mantle every year so we can remember our first Christmas as a soon-to-be-married couple. Thank you Nathan, Sarah and Smock!

    Sent on 11/10/2010
  • T

    Tracey · Married on 06/30/2015

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We used Smock's letterpress services for our Save the Date and invitations. I was a little nervous about working with a firm remotely as we live in Washington, DC. However, we were designing our own invitations and they offered both the gold foil and letterpress as well as the ability to use only their printing studios. I had a somewhat complex and elaborate design and was probably a fairly high maintenance client in hindsight. Kevin Trease could not have been more wonderful and patient talking me through possible ideas to execute my hair brained ideas on a budget. And their designers were fantastic and accommodated us when wanted to incorporate calligraphy and watercolors, crests, etc. from other vendors to save costs. We were thrilled with the save the dates and invitations and they exceeded our expectations. My only hiccup was that I did not understand that this is all recycled paper (high quality just not completely smooth) and this was not the look i was going for. However, they were able to bring in outside paper for the invitations and they turned out fantastic. There were a couple teeny errors in the final invite packet but nothing anyone else would have noticed, and potentially the error was on my end. I would have loved to use them for our programs and day of paper printing but we couldn't justify the cost. It was not inexpensive however, their prices were on par for the exceptional quality and services!

    Sent on 07/08/2015
  • User2721819 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We went to a Smock trunk show and got to meet with one of their designers. She was friendly and worked with us to create a unique invitation. The invitations turned out beautifully.

    Sent on 09/14/2013
  • L

    Lauren · Married on 04/20/2013

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Was so in love with my wedding invites from Smock — they came out gorgeous, and we got so many compliments on them from our guests. Smock was totally up for my requests to combine different parts of various invites, and sent me revisions until the final product looked just the way I wanted. Letterpress is pricey (anywhere you go!) but I'm a stationery lover, so for me, it was worth every penny. The company did ship a few less RSVP cards than were meant to be in the order, but they responded to my email asking for more right away, and they showed up in the mail ASAP! Great customer service.

    Sent on 09/06/2013
  • M

    Sarah · Married on 11/28/2009

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I happened upon these reviews of Smock just now and felt I should recount my own experience of the business, from late 2009. I had decided - at the last minute - to host a birthday party for my husband and found an appropriate design for the invitations on Smock's site. There were three factors with which Smock had to work in my case:
    1. I live in Australia;
    2. I wanted a stock design customised; and
    3. I was on a very tight schedule.
    The entire team exceeded my expectations in those circumstances and the invitations were just spectacular. Almost every guest commented on them, which is unusual in my experience. A pleasant surprise was the magnificent keepsake box in which the invitations arrived.
    Perhaps the exchange rate and a rush fee I paid affected my recollection of the cost. That is the only aspect in which I could possibly fault Smock, but if I were (heaven forbid) planning a wedding again, I would have no hesitation in spending a little more than I otherwise might on Smock's products. The individual attention, professionalism and end product are absolutely worth it.

    Sent on 03/14/2010
  • C

    Courtney · Married on 09/19/2009

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      3.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    As an contributing editor for Modern Luxury, I would get hundreds of invitation and stationary samples across my desk, but the designs from Bella Figura and SMOCK impressed me so much, I had to have them for my own wedding. After getting the amazing save-the-dates, most of the guests assumed that was the full invitation. I still have people call all the time to ask who did my invitations and save the dates.

    While you do pay a premium for the quality, in my opinion, nothing beats the look and feel of letterpress - especially on the heavy weight bamboo! Because I was in the middle of a move to a different state, I worked directly with the company to order my invitations and can attest to their responsiveness and professionalism. I was also completely taken in by their eco-friendly endeavors, which meant a lot to me in selecting something I wanted to represent my husband and me.

    I couldn't have been happier with the way that everything turned out and can't wait to use them again for our baby announcements...

    Sent on 02/03/2010
  • T

    Theresa · Married on 07/29/2008

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    I have been enjoying my custom stationary from Smock Paper thoroughly. It is rewarding to send a note that makes such a big impression when people receive it.

    My representative, Lindsy provided friendly, informative and timely help throughout the design selection process. My experience with Smock was a pleasant one. I received my order quickly and efficiently with no problems whatsoever.

    The personal note cards I ordered are classy and elegant. They express my personality in such a luxurious way. I highly recommend Smock Paper for brides and anyone who still enjoys writing a letter.

    Sent on 02/16/2010
  • E

    Eliza · Married on 06/20/2009

    2.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      1.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      1.5

    While we absolutely loved the design of our invitations. We were able to play some with the fonts and motifs which was wonderful. Unfortunately the envelopes wouldn't close properly (even with glue). Many arrived open and damaged. The ink also ran on a few of them. They were beautiful invitations, but the production was not where it should be.

    Sent on 08/02/2009

    Smock.'s reply:

    We are so saddened by this bride's experience with us! We're a small business that takes great pride in creating beautiful letterpress invitations in our artisan print shop for all of our clients. This experience is not typical for us. When we learned of the trouble that elizaedel had with her invitations, we worked with elizadel's Smock invitation dealer to see what we could do to make things better. We also started including our favorite envelope moistener with every order to make sure our bamboo envelopes are easy to seal securely, and since then we have not had any issues with our envelopes not closing properly. We also started using a special no scuff ink & eco varnish on dark patterning inks to make sure the patterning ink sets well on our bamboo paper. Again, we regret any stress that our invitations added to elizaedel's wedding. We work very hard to make sure every one of our clients is satisfied by our work.

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review