Skip to main content
Weddings

Smith Barn at Brooksby Farm (Peabody Historical Society) Reviews

Smith Barn at Brooksby Farm (Peabody Historical Society)

Smith Barn at Brooksby Farm (Peabody Historical Society)

Peabody, MA
4.8 out of 5 rating, 66 Reviews
View more information

Reviews

4.8 out of 5 rating
66 Reviews
  • Quality of service
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.5 out of 5 rating
95% Recommended by couples

Awards

66

3 User photos

  • Allyson
    Allyson M. Sent on 12/13/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Get married here!!

    Getting married at the Smith Barn was the best decision we made. Tammy is a rockstar. She knows that barn inside and out. She is honest, knowledgeable, friendly and runs a tight ship. The barn is absolutely gorgeous. Guests were raving about how unique and beautiful it is. Even in the rain we were married in front of the barn doors and with the twinkle lights on the beams it was the most romantic setting a bride could ask for. We had 175 people, which meant guests had to sit upstairs and they had a blast up there. As the bride and groom we went upstairs and watched everyone dancing and just took a moment to take it all in. If I could get married again I would 100% book the Smith Barn.
  • M
    Matthew C. Sent on 10/27/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Perfect wedding

    From start to finish Tammy and her team will make sure your day goes perfect. From my arrival to the venue (groom) Tammy made sure I didn't stress and that everything was going smoothly. The area was landscaped perfectly and all staff was friendly and prompt. If you're looking for a barn wedding look no further. The sunset over the apple orchard gives perfect picture moments. Thank you for making our special day even better.
  • A
    Alaina W. Sent on 04/04/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The best wedding venue ever!!!

    If you're looking for a wedding venue, look no further!!! My husband and I got married at Smith Barn in November, 2021, and we highly, highly, HIGHLY recommend choosing Smith Barn for your special day!! Choosing Smith Barn was honestly the absolute best decision we could have ever made, and they made our wedding day absolutely perfect from start to finish! First off, the venue was STUNNING, and it truly fit our perfect, rustic farm wedding vision. The ceremony space is a beautiful garden, and the barn overlooks an apple orchard with amazing views. On our wedding day, we had the most beautiful sunset ever, and seeing the sunset over the apple orchard was incredible! Tammy and her team were the best of the best, and they were there for us every step of the way to ensure that we had the wedding day of our dreams!!! They were incredibly responsive, professional, hardworking, diligent, and helpful throughout the entire wedding planning process. Tammy was available at all times to answer any questions that we had, and she provided her expertise to us whenever we needed anything, which helped make the wedding planning process feel easy and seamless. On our wedding day, I felt SO relaxed, and I knew that I made the best decision ever!! Tammy and her team were incredibly organized, and they went through every single detail of what we wanted for our wedding day prior to the wedding, so I knew that our entire event would be perfect! Once I got to Smith Barn, Tammy and her team were SO organized, professional, kind, fun, and excited, and they seriously brought such an incredible energy to us and to our day! When I saw them, they immediately took away any nerves that I had because they were so personable and excited to share our day with us!!! Their passion and dedication to ensuring that we had the best, and most perfect day truly set them apart, and made our day so special to us! They made everything so beautiful, fun, easy, and seamless for us! The day ran perfectly from start to finish in every single way, and Tammy and her team truly went above and beyond to make sure it was everything that we could ever dream of! We honestly LOVED getting married at Smith Barn, and we had the most positive and amazing experience working with Tammy and her talented team! We feel so grateful and lucky that we chose Smith Barn for our wedding day, and they truly made our day the most perfect and best day of our lives!
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • Jared
    Jared R. Sent on 07/06/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Everything we hoped for and more

    After checking out 4-5 other venues in the Greater Boston area, we found ourselves at Smith Barn on a cold day in January. Even in the dead of winter, the warmth radiating from both Tammy Messina (venue coordinator) and the space itself was undeniable - we knew we had found our wedding venue. From that day all the way up until our wedding, we couldn't have asked for a better planning/wedding day experience. We ended up having to postpone our wedding due to COVID-19, and while we were bummed out, Tammy worked with us to find a new date immediately and made everything as stress-free as possible throughout the entire planning process. As for our wedding day - it was truly perfect. Smith Barn and its grounds provided such a beautiful backdrop for our pictures, ceremony, reception and dancing - everything had a naturally rustic charm that a lot of venues strive for but have a hard time authentically bringing to life. Despite temperatures hovering around a 90-95ºF for most of the evening, there was plenty of shade to be found outdoors, and the AC made the barn super comfortable all night long. One of the best day-of perks of the venue though is Tammy. She knows the place like the back of her hand and was there to firmly but kindly push things along from the moment we arrived until the last Uber left the property (sorry for keeping you late, Tammy!) We are so happy that we chose Smith Barn to celebrate our special day, and highly recommend it to any couples looking for wedding venues in the Greater Boston area!

    - Jenny & Jared
  • Marissa
    Marissa A. Sent on 09/27/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Just book it!

    If you're considering Smith Barn as your venue, just do it! The venue itself is beautiful, and the string lights make it feel so intimate and magical. The farm also makes for a beautiful photo backdrop. The whole night (and even days/weeks afterwards) people kept commenting on how beautiful and warm the barn felt.

    Tammy Messina is absolutely amazing at her job as coordinator. Everytime I had a question I would text her call her and she would call me back within minutes. She is so friendly, accommodating, and knows her stuff!
  • A
    Alison F. Sent on 08/06/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    One of a kind!

    If you are thinking about a rustic barn wedding, go no further than the Smith Barn and book it! Everything from the day we booked The Smith Barn all the way to the day after went smoothly and absolutely perfectly! The Smith Barn coordinator, Tammy Messina, was responsive, attentive, professional, experienced and supportive every step of the way. We had no doubt from the beginning that we were in good hands that we could rely upon to keep things seamlessly on track the day of the wedding.
    As for the Barn itself, it is charming, inviting and a unique venue. It is a real barn, not a function facility built to look like a barn giving it character. Every one of our guests commented on how it felt intimate and that they were not "guests." Rather, they were friends and family enjoying an evening together.
    The Smith Barn is one of a kind when it comes to venue and service.
  • A
    Ann Sent on 08/01/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Beautiful all around

    Tammy is the coordinator here and she is awesome. Answered any and all questions I had. She made the day run so smooth. I literally didn't have to worry about a thing! Beautiful venue with helpful staff!!
  • Keryn
    Keryn S. Sent on 05/18/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Stunning and versatile Venue!

    Wow what a gorgeous venue! It is stunning and versatile. There are historic buildings, gardens, orchards and the barn itself is rustically beautiful. This was great for photos. Be sure to take advantage of the entire property. We got married in the garden across the street from the barn and used the gazebo for a cigar bar. Barn needs little decoration as the lights are always strung from the banister and columns. Tammy, the event director is very organized and was responsive and easy to work with. You choose from a list of caterers, all of which were excellent.
  • K
    Kerri Sent on 07/31/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Just had my wedding at Smith Barn this past weekend, and it was more than I could have imagined! Tammy and Leann were amazing to work with! They answered any questions I had, and really worked to make our day as special as possible! All our guests raves about the service, and how beautiful the space was. So, THANK YOU SMITH BARN! ❤️
  • T
    Tiffini Sent on 07/14/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Smith Barn was the PERFECT place for my husband and I to get married. It is so stunning which I didn't fully realize until we received some of our professional photos. The setting is so diverse and gorgeous. Tammy was easy to communicate with and really helped with the flow of the day as did her staff. They were all so kind to us, it really makes you feel special. If I had to do it all again I would always come back to the Smith Barn.
  • Kristin
    Kristin Sent on 05/26/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Dream Venue on the Farm

    Smith Barn is a gem. Tammy is a consummate professional and runs the show here. She truly keeps the integrity of the barn and will be there every step of the way until your wedding day. On our wedding day, Tammy was behind the scenes making sure everything went perfect and we could not thank her enough for making our day so special. From the brick walkway for the outdoor ceremony, to the stunning string lights hanging in the air conditioned barn and all the little touches truly make this a dream venue!
  • S
    Samantha Sent on 11/11/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    My husband and I were married on 11/4 at the Smith Barn and we could NOT be more thrilled with how our day went! Tammy Messina is incredible. She checked in with me constantly to make sure I had everything I needed, and she worked with my vendors all day so that I could focus on my husband and our guests. I am the type of person to stress and worry about everything, and I have never felt more laid back than I did on our wedding day! Tammy was there any time I needed something (even a glass of wine!), and put me completely at ease. The Barn itself was gorgeous. I was concerned about not having much foliage in early November, but we had absolutely the most gorgeous day. I would recommend the Smith Barn as a venue for anyone looking for an alternative to a ballroom!!! I would just add, couples need to book FAR in advance. We booked in June 2015, and they only had 3 dates to choose from. As I understand it now, they are entirely booked for 2017 and are currently booking for 18 and 19 right now.
  • P
    Paula Sent on 10/02/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    My husband and I had the best experience with Smith Barn. Tammy is absolutely amazing. I have no idea how she is so calm and organize with all of the vendors and planning a wedding takes. She called me weeks before my wedding finalizing everything and answering every question. If I texted her she got back to me the next day. On the day of I got out of the limo and there she was ready to grab my dress and get me ready to walk down the aisle. She was amazing during the reception, she even hunted down my friend who knew how to bustle my dress. Love her. Also, Smith Barn is so beautiful! My guests had so many great things to say about the location! I wish I could go back and relive it all again!
  • J
    Jessica Sent on 09/25/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We had an amazing wedding at the Smith Barn. It was everything we wanted in terms of a rustic feel, while still being gorgeous and formal enough for an evening wedding. It was also really convenient for our guests to get to. Tammy was easy to work with - very responsive by phone and willing to answer any question you might have. I didn't feel over-managed at all leading up to the wedding, but on the day of, Tammy was there for any support we needed. We got so many compliments on the venue and we are so excited to see our photos!
  • E
    Erin Sent on 08/30/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The best review I read that helped us a lot with deciding on Smith Barn. The review was that Tammy who runs the barn is amazing day of the reception, leading up to the event Tammy isn't that friendly/helpful to deal with. For us this didn't matter because we read this in a review and we were prepared for it. Tammy is not a wedding planner and the barn is the barn there is not much she can answer/do about your wedding. Your caterer does the work and can/will answer your questions. Tammy is there to make sure that the historical barn does not get ruined and help make everything run smoothly day of. I have no complaints about Tammy she was great to us, especially day of offering drinks and helping with entrances, etc. I feel that reading that review prepped us for not needing to bother Tammy, use your caterer. The barn was AMAZING we got married end of August which was scary because of the possibility of hot humid day with no AC or a rainy day being stuck inside. Luckily we had the first weekend in August this year that was not disgustingly hot. Everyone was comfortable, the sunset and views were beautiful. The guests were in awe how beautiful the barn was inside and out. I highly recommend Tammy & Smith Barn for your wedding, go into it with the above information and that if it is hot, cold, raining you will have to deal with it...its a barn.
  • S
    Susan Sent on 12/28/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I was recently married at the BEAUTIFUL Smith Barn in Peabody, MA and I cannot say enough great things about this venue. The function manager, Tammy, was amazing. From the moment we had our first appointment straight through to the day of our wedding she was there to answer any questions and made sure our day was perfect! I see some other reviews showing frustration about no email communication but I never saw this as an issue since she was always available to speak to me directly. There is something to be said about that level of customer service!
    The venue itself is just gorgeous and the staff was so professional. We had over 200 guests and everything went so smooth! The bartenders were so friendly and moved through our line of thirsty guests very quickly!
    I highly recommend this venue!
  • User2663792 Sent on 06/27/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    If you are looking for an place where the service is perfect go here and see Tammy. She was so amazing only downfall she doesn't have an email but when you call her she always answers, so it wasn't a problem at all. Tammy controlled the night so perfectly I didn't have to worry about anything. I would recommend the barn to anyone looking for a beautiful rustic place to have their reception. It was like a fairy tale wedding!!
  • M
    Megan Sent on 05/09/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We had our ceremony in the Woodland Gardens and reception at the Smith Barn on May 7, 2016 and we couldn't have picked a more perfect place. We got so many compliments on the venue itself and how amazing it looked. Tammy the site coordinator was extremely responsive to all my questions and was amazing on that day letting us know what to do and keeping things in order. Such a beautiful and laid back venue to have a wedding.
  • User2425035 Sent on 11/13/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Smith Barn was magical! Even the undecorated barn was so unique looking and even better once the holiday lights are turned on. It held our 210 guest wedding without fail and nobody ever felt crammed. The only complaint was the small bar has a tendency to back up quickly due to it being sort of tucked away, but it's made up for by very affordable drinks. Note also that it is only a cash bar, but there is an ATM accessible in the kitchen. If you're looking for a rustic barn wedding that's easy to get to and affordable, definitely check out SmithBarn! But do it soon because there is probably over a year and a half wait.
  • C
    Christine Sent on 10/27/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    5 Stars isn't enough.
    It was perfection from the very first point of contact.
    Tammy was helpful and always returned calls, if missed. Even on a weekend.
    She is so well versed in how to keep the day moving in the right direction, we would never have stayed on track if not for Tammy.
  • Beka82
    Rebekah Sent on 10/31/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    All of my guests commented on how beautiful the barn was and most of them have never been to a wedding in a barn! Tammy was wonderful and even though plans changed (it was pouring rain and we planned to do the ceremony outside) and traffic, there was a major accident and guests were late because of it, Tammy made sure things ran seamlessly. Thank you so for making my wedding a special celebration.
  • User2784536 Sent on 09/26/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    You won't regret having your wedding here! Tammy is amazing!
  • User2343331 Sent on 09/30/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Tammy is awesome! She always had time to talk to me while I was planning my wedding and help me with any questions I had. She was so amazing the day of the wedding- she made my anxiety go right out the window and everything went perfectly.
  • S
    Stacy Sent on 01/02/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We had our wedding at the Smith Barn on November 8, 2014 and it was an absolutely perfect venue! The barn and grounds surrounding it are ideal for a rustic wedding. We got married at a nearby church and then had our reception at the barn.

    We worked with Tammy who was extremely helpful and professional throughout the entire planning process. Tammy promptly returned my phone calls and was always upfront about what could and could not be done at the barn. For instance, real candles cannot be used in the barn, however, knowing that this is a historical barn, we completely understood and had no complaints. Also, the barn provides a list of preferred caterers that you must choose from; we actually found this extremely helpful because it narrowed down our search for a caterer. (We went with Creative Catering and were extremely satisfied.) Tammy had great suggestions and she was a pleasure to work with!

    The barn itself is naturally beautiful and has little white lights strung inside so there is no need for extensive decorations. We couldn't have asked for a more perfect venue!!

  • D
    Daniel Sent on 10/24/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We visited one venue when searching for a wedding site, because after seeing Smith Barn, we knew this was where we wanted to get married.

    If there's a single negative about Smith Barn, it's that Tammy, the event manager, doesn't use email, but she's more than willing to address every issue over the phone and was very helpful with everything.

    On the day of the event, Tammy was beyond anything we could have hoped- she was on top of everything, and refused to let anyone worry about a single detail, because she had it covered.

    The look of the venue alone is enough to want to get married there, but knowing that everything would run smoothly without having to stress about any of it, made it perfect.
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message