SjMacky Photography Reviews

22 | Arnold, MO
See photos, pricing and details

22 Reviews for SjMacky Photography

Recommended by 98%

22
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2010 Winner

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 4.8
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 4.9
Sort by:
  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 09/10/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    If there was higher than a 5 rating Sara would definitely get that! Sara is amazing and the work she does is beyond gorgeous!! Sara makes you feel comfortable and most the time you don't even realize she is there snapping away! We loved having Sara as our photographer and would definitely recommend her to anyone looking to have an amazing memory of your day thru her pictures!!

    Sent on 09/14/2011
  • J

    Julie · Married on 05/06/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sara does an awesome job! I love the candid shots. She is the best photographer that I have met. I found her after looking at a friends pictures and thought they were the best I've seen. I highly recommend SJMacky!

    Sent on 06/02/2011
  • A

    Amy · Married on 02/26/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    There are no words to describe how much I love Sara and the photos she took for our epics and our wedding day. AMAZING!! She is so much fun to be around, you don't even realize she is taking your picture! And they all came out incredible!!

    Sent on 03/08/2011
  • K

    Kim · Married on 10/09/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sara was amazing to work with. My husband is not the most comfortable posing in cheeky and cutesy photos but Sara made the engagement and wedding photos a breeze for him. She has a ton of packages available. Her turn around on the photos is ridiculous! She is lightening fast. Photo discs to you in your hands within a few weeks. She has a ton of original ideas. She is so down to earth. Her talent is amazing. I cannot say enough things about her.

    Sent on 11/01/2010
  • J

    Jamie · Married on 09/05/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sara is ridiculously good at what she does. She made us look like models and was over the top excellent at customer service. There are some vendors that put on like they want to make your day great and then are a let down once they are booked. Sara is the real deal. She genuinely wants everyone to have beautiful photographs and cares about her couples. She was the best thing that happened to our wedding day. Service and skill wise, there is no one better.

    Sent on 10/07/2010
  • L

    Lindsey · Married on 09/04/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our experience with Sara was an extremely positive one. Not only is she amazingly talented, but she is just so fun to be around. We immediately felt comfortable with her and she truly captured our personalities through her photos. Her photo-journalistic style captures all the wonderful candid and special moments through your big day and every time you look back through your photos you feel like you get to relive your day. She is extremely reasonably priced for the quality you get. Her creativity and talent will blow you away. We would work with her again in a heartbeat, it was such a wonderful experience!!

    Sent on 10/11/2010
  • E

    Elizabeth · Married on 06/19/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Having Sara photograph my wedding was the BEST decision I made. Throught the whole process she made me feel at ease and was so organized and professional. When we got our engagement pictures done she made us feel so comfortable and our pictures turned out Unbelievably... i get so many compliments daily about them. When wedding day came she made sure I was calm and ready... she never got in the way and just let us do our thing while she snuck around and got Real images!!!!! Any suggestion I had she remembered and made sure it was covered!!!!! It was so hot outside and she did not complain once!!! She even stayed late to make sure she got all the pictures she wanted!!!!

    Sent on 07/13/2010
  • H

    Holly · Married on 05/29/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sara is ABSOLUTELY fantastic! One of, if not, my favorites...I am so happy that her pictures will be a part of our life for many, many years. And, not only are her pictures amazing, but she really cares and worked hard for us on our day. She also did our engagement pictures in addition to shooting our wedding, and we communicated so well for over a year. I can't tell you how many people have complimented us on our photos, and I feel so happy that she was our photographer. Trust me, you will, too. CALL HER!

    Sent on 06/15/2010
  • H

    Holly · Married on 05/29/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sara is ABSOLUTELY fantastic! One of, if not, my favorites...I am so happy that her pictures will be a part of our life for many, many years. And, not only are her pictures amazing, but she really cares and worked hard for us on our day. She also did our engagement pictures in addition to shooting our wedding, and we communicated so well for over a year. I can't tell you how many people have complimented us on our photos, and I feel so happy that she was our photographer. Trust me, you will, too. CALL HER!

    Sent on 07/12/2010
  • W

    Melissa · Married on 05/08/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    SjMacky was my favorite person to work with throughout the whole wedding process. She was very quick to reply to emails or phone calls.
    The day of our wedding was amazing. She was wonderful. She dealt with all of our rowdy groomsmen and did it was a huge smile on her face. She truly loves what she does and it shows. I couldn't have asked for more beautiful wedding photos that will last a lifetime!

    Sent on 06/17/2010
  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 12/05/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    SJMACKY was my favorite vendor. She's quick to respond to emails, help set up the timeline (which is above and beyond) and her pictures look like they came from a photo shoot. She had 30 images on facebook by 10 am the next day, and another 30 that Wed. By the time we got back from the honeymoon-we had two fully edited disks with out pictures on it waiting for us!!

    So easy to work with, and besides marrying my husband, the best part of the wedding was her pictures!

    Sent on 12/29/2009
  • M

    Mindy · Married on 11/13/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I can�t believe how lucky we were to find Sara. I could tell the first time that I met her that she was going to be so much fun to work with. Sara listened to what I wanted and also gave some awesome suggestions, things I would have never thought of. On the day of the wedding, I was a little stressed with getting everything together and Sara stepped in and calmed me down. She took charge of getting people where they needed to be but yet did it with such professionalism. She saved our day! She kept us on schedule and we made it to the wedding with lots of time to spare. During the ceremony and reception, I didn�t even notice Sara was taking pictures. She kept her distance and we hardly knew she was there; however, she captured every memorable moment.
    We got married on a Friday and Sara had our pictures to us by the following Wednesday. When my mom and I reviewed my pictures we both just cried. I had never seen such gorgeous pictures in my life! She caught everyone�s facial expression and captured moments that I will forever cherish. I had over 900 pictures to choose from and I can say that there was not 1 picture that I did not like.
    Sara prices were reasonable and she was very flexible on her package options. I never stop talking about Sara and I recommend her to everyone I know. I have friends who wish they could have done their wedding over just so they could have Sara take their pictures. I plan on using her for future events!

    Sent on 12/29/2009
  • P

    Janice · Married on 10/03/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I was so happy with SjMacky Photography. Sarah is an amazing photographer who takes some of the best wedding pictures I have ever seen. She is also has a very quick turn around on the pictures. I would recommend her to anyone getting married.

    Sent on 12/30/2009
  • M

    Melissa · Married on 08/01/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sara was very easy and fun to work with. She captured the best moments perfectly. Our pictures and album were beautiful! It was great to have a second photographer too.

    Sent on 12/29/2009
  • C

    Christy · Married on 06/27/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sara is amazing. She did both my engagement photos and my wedding photos. I have gotten hundreds of compliments and it's all Sara. She's kind and patient. She was smiling my entire wedding day even though it was the hottest day of the year. She was organized and it really kept the flow of the day going. Sara is worth WAY more than what she charges. She was able to get us our pictures INSANELY quickly after the wedding. They were waiting for us when we got back from our honeymoon. I just can't say enough nice things about her.

    Sent on 11/19/2009
  • E

    Emily · Married on 05/23/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    So easy to work with and so good at what she does. I would definitely recommend Sara to anyone!

    Sent on 01/03/2010
  • T

    Jaime · Married on 04/25/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Saying I was pleased with our service would be a huge understatement. I was thrilled with the overall experience and continue to get nothing but compliments on our pictures. She was personable, flexible, professional, incredibly talented and I will continue to use her services in the future.

    Sent on 12/31/2009
  • M

    Mike and Sheri · Married on 04/12/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Thank you so much for so many things?for being an amazing photographer, having a wonderful personality, sharing your talent with so many of us brides and grooms, providing us with outstanding pictures, etc. I am simply in awe. Honestly. Again, I continue to just sit and watch, re-watch, and re-watch the slide show over and over again as does my mom. The pictures are just unbelievable and words cannot even begin to explain how extremely happy and pleased we are with them. We all LOVE them. Sara, I truly am sincere and we feel so lucky and blessed that we found you to be our wedding photographer and share such an amazing day with us. It is your work and talent that allows us to continue to live the day over and over again and will get to continue to do so as we enjoy our married life together until death. OK, that was grim, but honestly, we will always have our wedding pictures to cherish and remember our amazing photographer.

    I am sure you are truly surprised that I did not email from the honeymoon. Ha ha! We almost bought internet minutes because we were both dying to see them as we received rave reviews from mom on Tuesday morning. She had already emailed them to every sole she had an email address for. She was definitely a truly proud mom and thank you for being able to express that in all of the pictures.

    You know I love all of the pictures, but the cemetery pictures?thank you so much for making them so classy, yet truly showing the emotion without making them seem so somber. I am able to look at them and not cry, but truly appreciate all of the emotion in them. Thank You!

    Sara, thank you for everything. You had a huge role in our day and there was never a single moment during the course of the past year that we were not absolutely, positively thrilled to say that we had you as our photographer. We are so lucky! Please know that I do mean every single word I have said in this email. Ask Mike?I don?t just compliment/praise people if I do not absolutely mean every word.

    Thank YOU!

    Sent on 12/29/2009
  • D

    Diana · Married on 12/21/2007

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sara was so wonderful to work with! She made my husband (who hates being photographed) feel comfortable in front of the camera. Her creativeness was what we were drawn to and she definitely captured our wedding in such a unique way. It's been two years since our wedding and we still get so many compliments on our pictures and get asked who our photographer was.

    Sent on 12/29/2009
  • C

    Clara · Married on 11/03/2007

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sara is incredible! She was so warm and interested in doing a great job for us. In addition to her positive attitude, she shot amazing pictures for us both in our engagement shoot and for the wedding. Sara also went above and beyond by putting our proofs into a great spiral bound book. I would recommend her to anyone!

    Sent on 01/16/2008
  • L

    Lisa · Married on 04/30/2011

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I can't say enough good things about Sara McDermott of SjMacky Photography! Sara was so easy, nice, and fun to work with throughout the whole wedding process. I knew I wanted her to shoot my wedding since the time she shot my sister's wedding a few years before. Her pictures turned out gorgeously, so I knew I had to book Sara! Sara of course remembered my sister and our family, and it was just like we were old friends. She made me feel very comfortable with the whole process and never pressured me to get a certain package. She was great during our engagement shoot, going above and beyond to get the best shots. She even crawled into some bushes and got one of my favorite pics from the shoot that day! Her turnaround time is excellent; I never had to wait long to receive her photos. I was on my honeymoon when she sent a link to the proofs from the wedding online. She even created an awesome slideshow of the best pics with the package I chose. She had great ideas for locations for pictures for the engagement session and the wedding day (throughout the Missouri Botanical Garden), but she also took our suggestions for backdrops. The pictures turned out AMAZING!!! We love Sara's photojournalistic style; there are so many great candid shots of our guests and wedding party. I know several other girls who chose Sara for their pictures and loved her as well. I would recommend Sara for anyone wanting to preserve their wedding memories in the best way possible!

    Sent on 06/02/2011
  • T

    Tricia · Married on 09/08/2007

    2.4
    • Quality of service:
      2.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.5
    • Value:
      2.5
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      1.5

    We loved our engagement pictures and working with Sara, but the wedding day was completely different. We have some very good pictures from the wedding day, but overall the shots were very sloppy. A lot of of the pictures could have been framed better to eliminate some of the extra background. For example, I don't appreciate a picture of a trash can and big blue recycling can in the picture of me and my dad right before walking down the aisle. The shot could have been framed/zoomed better to cut that stuff out. She didn't bother to fix my dress, move a piece of hair, etc. for ANY shots. We have almost as many pictures of the BEST MAN as the bride or groom.... way too many of the BEST MAN by himself. The photo session after the wedding was very disappointing. Horrible positioning and framing of the pictures... most of the pics have shadows across our faces or we're squinting really bad. The first proof book wasn't what was promised, and it took way too long to get the second. Pretty unprofessional once she's paid in full.

    Sent on 08/30/2008

    SjMacky Photography's reply:

    I came across this wedding review just about a week ago and honestly had no idea it was here. I was astonished that these comments were written because not only are they extremely misleading, some are downright untrue and I have email corresponences to prove it. This bride was offered an additional free "portrait" shoot since it rained on her wedding day. The first proofbook was ordered and on it's way back to me within 5 days of the wedding. The "delay" in the 2nd free proofbook (which I did not owe her, but reordered anyway to be nice) was NOT because of me but rather due to HER untimeliness in getting me the images she wanted edited and put in her proofbook. Once she finally got me the images her proof book was sent to her in about two weeks. The original proofbook was actually MORE than was promised as I went ahead and put more images than I was supposed to. She was upset that she didn't get to "pick" what went in there. I explained to her the same thing that I had told the 60+ brides BEFORE her why I pick the images, apologized for the misunderstanding, and happily offered her a new proofbook where she could hand pick every single image after the free reshoot (newlywed shoot). I never recieved one email that she was unhappy with her pictures, but did receive an email that stated, and I QUOTE, "Thanks Sara! The pictures are great and we really enjoyed having you and Jodi with us that day" The supposed blue recycle bin as her dad was walking her down the aisle is not the case either, I snapped a picture of her coming out of the butterfly house to meet her dad about 500 feet away and I was as zoomed in as I could get. It's an image that could have been deleted but I kept it in case it brought back a memory of what she was feeling as she walked out the door. The pictures of her actually walking down the aisle with her dad are all beautiful with nothing but flowers from the butterfly house in the background.Even though this wedding was shot in 2007 I went back through my files and looked to see the "poor positioning" she was talking of and there honestly isn't ONE that in my opinion is poorly positioned. It's not my fault she doesn't like the way she looks in the photos as I always do my best to make sure my clients look THEIR best. I am constantly fixing the dress and removing stray hairs away from the face so I find it hard to beleive that I did not do this for her on her wedding day. I am wondering why this client waited more than a year after her wedding to make this review. The most disappointing part here for me is the last statement in her review that states that I am "unprofessional" after I have been paid in full. Let's see...even two months AFTER I received final payment I gave her a free shoot, additional photoshopping and slimming out of her favorite images PLUS ordered her an additional free proofbook so that she could hand pick the images that went in there, and yet I don't see any mention of them in the review.

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review