Skip to main content
Weddings

SILK EVENTS DJ + Lighting Reviews

SILK EVENTS DJ + Lighting

SILK EVENTS DJ + Lighting

Boston, MA
Rating 4.9 out of 5, 100 Reviews
View more information

100 Reviews

Rated
4.9
out of 5.0
Recommended by 98% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.9 out of 5

Awards

  • 100
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2022 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2021 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner

19 User photos

  • A
    Aditi Married on 11/07/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing party!!!

    We just hired Rishi & his team for our wedding reception and they were unbelievable. Within minutes of the dance floor opening they had all 130 guests on the dance floor!!! And it went on for 5 more hours. They were so wonderful and easy to work with, really took the time to understand us as a couple and what our vision was, and executed flawlessly. Rishi did a fantastic job at mixing up the styles to cater to the different ages/generations/cultures and was able to pick up on the energy so well all night. Can't say enough about how wonderful this was!
  • Sabiha
    Sabiha M. Married on 10/10/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Incredible dj!

    Rishi and his team were excellent. Their professionalism and skill are unparalleled. We were very much looking for someone who could blend both of our cultures throughout our multiple days of ceremonies. After speaking with several friends and family members who had celebrated multicultural weddings in the past few years, we learned of Rishi. He was highly recommended, and we were very pleased with his work. He took the time to get to know us before the wedding and understand what kind of music we liked. There wasn’t a song played that we didn’t love. He brought a level of energy that truly elevated our celebration. There was never a lull in the festivities. He knew exactly how to read the room, playing such a great selection of songs that continuously kept spirits high. He kept the dance floor vivacious all night long, really getting guests of all ages involved. We love a good dance floor and knew we had to have that at our wedding to make it a truly special occasion. He gave that to us, and we couldn’t be more grateful. The memories we made with our friends and family those nights will last with us forever.
    As an emcee, he helped our wedding to flow so seamlessly between events. He had his timing down perfectly. The best man and maid of honor speeches, the father daughter dance, the cake cutting, our final song at the end of the night - he transitioned so seamlessly to each event. All our guests knew exactly what was happening and when, so we could all collectively focus on each special moment. He had a charisma and presence to him that really drew everyone in. He engaged wholeheartedly with everyone there, and we really appreciated that. Thank you so much for making our wedding the party we always wanted!!
  • S.M.
    S M Married on 08/21/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Helped make our wedding weekend perfect!

    My older sister had a fantastic experience with Silk Events at her wedding a few years ago, and we didn't think it was possible but mine was even better!

    Rishi and Silk Events were one of the very best parts of our Sangeet and wedding. Rishi was incredibly accommodating and quick to respond as we postponed our events twice from June 2020 and ultimately August 2021, which was tremendously helpful during a stressful time. He and his team did the music and lighting for our Sangeet on Friday and then the baraat, wedding and reception the following day.

    Some highlights:
    -- Our guests cannot stop talking about how much they loved the music and dancing both nights — it was nonstop fun and the lighting was excellent. He can really read a crowd and get people on the dance floor.
    -- Rishi's dhol player is absolutely incredible...he added so much joy to the baraat and overall day and led a really fun call-and-response with guests in the last moments of the reception!
    -- Silk Events seriously knows how to get a baraat going -- the car was a big hit! Definitely order the color bombs for maximum fun and super cool photos and videos.
    -- Rishi helped us with songs for the ceremony and entrances and even made a Bollywood mashup with the Succession theme song upon my request which was above and beyond!

    For a memorable, helpful, awesome and fun wedding DJ... look no further. Thank you, Rishi, for helping make our long-awaited weekend so terrific and special during a very, very busy wedding season!
  • A
    Akhthar Married on 08/16/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Spectacular & Electrifying Music!

    Rishi and his crew offered an excellent blend of music as per our taste and requirements. Rishi ensured that we had a DHOL player, which was essential for our wedding and I highly recommend having the DHOL ( percussion instrument). It truly spices up the occasion.

    In addition to the novelty, we were treated with timely and situational oriented songs and music. Eg: Speech, dance, cake cutting, ceremony, etc.

    Overall, it was a fulfilling day with some high octane bollywood music that ensured guest to present their best swashbuckling moves on the dance floor!

    We highly recommend Rishi and his team for your event!

    Thanks,
    Akhthar
  • Nischelle
    Nischelle K. Married on 08/08/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Phenomenal!

    My family absolutely loved working with Rishi and his team. As a blended family with Indian and West Indian backgrounds, music was very important to us. Rishi was able to seamlessly combine a mix of traditional/new Indian music with Soca and EDM music as well. Rishi was very receptive to feedback and awesome to work with.
  • K
    Kevin L. Married on 07/31/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing Service!

    The Silk DJ team was amazing! We had some very complicated requests and scenarios for our wedding and Silk DJ was able to exceed our expectations. The entire team was very professional and friendly. They were also very prepared and proactive with setup. The music selection was perfect and the DJ did an amazing job reading the room and shifting the playlist accordingly. We would highly recommend Silk DJ!
  • Zoya
    Zoya H. Married on 08/04/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Above and Beyond!

    My entire wedding had a rock theme so Rishi and Rushi had to find a way to combine rock music, 90s throwbacks, classic wedding songs, plus bollywood into one night and oh, boy did Rushi deliver! Everyone was dancing the entire night - in fact, I don't think I left the dance floor once. With that said, the MC was amazing keeping everyone on track, etc. Rushi did a great job and you can clearly tell this is their industry as they knew exactly how to handle last minute changes and did it all so seamlessly and with a smile. Cannot recommend them anymore!!
  • M
    Mitch W. Married on 08/02/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    The Perfect DJ Team

    Rishi and the Silk Events crew are second to none. We actually hosted two weddings, one in Boston, MA and one in Dayton, OH, and they blew both out of the water. Some reviews from our guests:
    Bartender: "Who is your DJ? I work 25 weddings a year, and this is the best DJ I have ever heard."
    Ohio venue coordinator: "Your DJ was soooo good. We don't have anything like that here."
    Bridesmaid: "That playlist was FIRE"
    Groomsman: "Best dance wedding I've ever been to."
    We couldn't recommend the Silk Events team any more - thank you to Rishi and the entire crew for making our wedding truly unforgettable.
  • AR
    Ar Married on 04/10/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Recommended DJ

    Rishi did a fantastic job at our micro wedding. They were safe, accommodating, and very helpful with our changing plans. Everyone told us they loved the music selection. I would definitely recommend Silk Events!
  • S
    Shreya D. Married on 04/01/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Professional and creative from start to finish!

    Silk Events (DJ Rushi and MC Virag) were absolutely wonderful at our Hindu wedding ceremony and reception at the Hyatt Regency Cambridge. They are true professionals - flexible, available ahead of and during the event, responsive, and self-sufficient. AV was excellent, and it was effortless from our perspective. Highly recommend!
  • Isabelle
    Isabelle J. Married on 12/07/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing amazing amazing

    Rishi and his whole team are absolutely incredible. We heard them play at our friends' wedding and knew then that we had to have them at our own. They did not disappoint. Every single person was on the dance floor the entire time. Amazing, amazing, amazing, to say the least. We will recommend them to everyone we know!
  • Sheba
    Sheba Married on 08/31/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Exceeded my expectations!

    I just had my wedding and I felt compelled to leave a strong review. From the moment I first talked to Rishi I felt Silk events was a perfect fit for us. He understood right away what we were looking for and was very accommodating to our needs. We booked our DJ late in the process but felt that we were in good hands with Silk Events. You will see why people rate them so high.

    At the reception we had Reet and Sakshi. They really helped make it a special day. We had an Indian fusion wedding and they worked in an excellent mix of English, Hindi and Spanish songs. They were very well-prepared with our list of songs, and even did an impressive job working in a song for our parents without losing the crowd. They knew I was pickier with the songs so they made sure to ask if they had questions or if they had any recommendations, and the crowd loved their picks. I had multiple people, including one of my guests who is a DJ himself, tell me that Reet and Sakshi were phenomenal. Thank you so much guys!
  • V
    Varun C. Married on 08/31/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Top notch DJ & Lighting -- would recommend to everyone!

    Rishi was prompt, responsive, and helpful throughout the whole process. He had a level of comfort and familiarity with our other vendors and event staff that made the evening so much more enjoyable. Beyond that, his DJ Lighting and Dhol services were perfect, on time, and appropriate (incl. specific cultural asks we had).
  • Nisha
    Nisha F. Married on 08/24/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Exceptional!

    We had an exceptional experience with SILK Events for our Sangeet/Garba and wedding ceremony/reception. Sakshi and Virag were very professional and responsive during the weeks leading up to the wedding. We had multiple phone calls to review everything together including timeline, music preferences, pronunciation of names, and overall "vibe" of our wedding weekend. We felt that our input was heard and they certainly delivered! They was skilled at "reading the crowd". The dance floor stayed filled the ENTIRE time for both our Sangeet/Garba and wedding reception nights. They found a perfect balance of both Bollywood and American music that kept all of our guests dancing. It was awesome to have Sudeep playing the dhol at the baarat and reception-- he even let our guests give it a try! We would highly recommend SILK Events!
  • A
    Akshay S. Married on 07/27/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    An absolute pleasure to work with

    We could not be happier with the service that Rishi and his team provided on our wedding day. With so many decisions left unmade, we were worried about how the day would go. Rishi not only did a great job with the general audio and lighting of the event, he went above and beyond when it came to timing and making announcements so that the day went smoothly and without chaos. He was kind, knowledgeable and just a pleasure to work with. Did a great job amping up the crowd when needed and also calming them down when we needed quiet. 100% would recommend and look forward to working with him for future events.
  • R
    Rachel S. Married on 07/27/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Couldn't have asked for a better DJ/MC pair!

    My partner and I LOVE to dance, so music was one of the most important elements of the wedding for us. We have very different tastes in music and Sakshi made the perfect playlists to suit both of us AND get all our guests up and dancing. It was a dream come true. Sakshi and Virag were so responsive to what I wanted early in the process. They did exactly what we asked, and weighed in to help us improve on our plan. They did an incredible job using the playlist we gave them to come up with even more great songs and Sakshi did a fantastic job mixing and transitioning between songs. Virag gently guided our guests in between the events, so we didn't have to manage everything. They did a wonderful job, and we are so glad we chose them! They made the whole event! Thank you!!!
  • Anubha
    Anubha Married on 07/20/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Fantastic Wedding DJ!

    Rishi and Silk Events did a great job DJing our wedding! Everyone was on the dance floor for the entirety of our reception, and we heard months after our wedding that we had the best music. It was easy to work with them as well.
  • Jamie
    Jamie K. Married on 07/13/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Low-key and professional for hybrid Western-Indian wedding

    DJ Reet was really nice to talk to on the phone in advance and respectful of our unusual needs. He professionally managed a kind of odd venue set-up (different audio set-ups in different locations for ceremony, dinner, cocktails, and dancing!) and was open to the idea that we wanted a mix of Indian music and western music but wanted to avoid current top-twenty stuff. Both DJ Reet and DJ Sai were friendly and professional during the event and I felt confident knowing they were handling the music.
  • N
    Nishanthi Married on 07/06/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Great pair! Danced all night long!

    I hired DJ Rushi and Sakshi as my DJ/MC for my wedding and reception! Exceptional pair! They had EVERYONE on the dance floor! We had a Sri Lankan/Greek wedding and they played the perfect mix of Tamil, Greek, top hits. and everyone’s favorite throwbacks. I received so many compliments on how amazing they were and how their playlist was like no other! They followed my recommendations to a T and added their own song mix as well! The uplighting for the wedding and reception were beautiful! The lighting added so much to the space and tied in my whole vision! We also got a monogram designed with our names and elephants which I loved! They absolutely crushed it and I couldn’t be happier with their services! Highly recommend!
  • bosh272
    Urboshi Married on 06/29/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing Wedding DJ!

    We hired Rishi of SILK Events for DJ and Lighting services for our wedding ceremony and reception in Cambridge, MA. Rishi was both professional and personable throughout the entire process - taking the time to understand what we wanted for our big day while offering his expertise where appropriate. Rishi was fantastic in terms of creating a playlist that appealed to our mixed Indian/American crowd and had our guests dancing all night! He was a great MC throughout, especially when rain caused a minor delay, he kept the guests informed and engaged, ensuring that our ceremony proceeded as planned. The lighting was also beautiful and really enhanced our reception decor. Overall, we loved working with Rishi and would highly recommend him and the SILK Events team. Also recommend hiring his wife, Shruti of LoveDecor, for decor! Having them as a team was awesome.
  • P
    Pooja Married on 03/01/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing DJ's!!

    DJ Rishi and his crew were so professional and ready on time for our party. I really appreciated that! Also, the music was awesome! I liked how they used my list but also had a lot of their own good songs! They were great at reading the crowd. I highly recommend them!
  • F
    Forum Married on 10/20/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Wedding and Reception DJ- high energy and super fun evening!

    Cannot thank Viraj and Sakshi enough for an unforgettable wedding! Sakshi kept the energy going for 2+ hours and the dance floor was never empty! The bride and groom never left the dance floor! Even before the reception started, many guests complimented Sakshi playing music and how he is able to play both Bollywood and American Top 40 so well. He did such an amazing job in reading the crowd and altering the music accordingly. All the guests were so impressed by him and we all had a fantastic night because Sakshi kept that energy alive!
  • Arusa
    Arusa Married on 10/07/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We had an amazing experience working with both Rishi and Sakshi for our reception! Both were extremely responsive during the process and gave us a great deal for the services we requested. We were able to borrow speakers for a more intimate event. We were even given an MC at pretty much the last minute and he also did great keeping the event organized. I could not have had such a fantastic wedding without the team. Absolutely loved the music, lighting, MC service and everything else. Best DJ in Boston!!!!
  • F
    Faisal Married on 09/15/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Rishi was really great to work with. I gave him a sense of our background, what we were thinking on music and lighting, and he knew pretty much exactly what we wanted.

    Sakshi was our DJ and Reet helped him with lighting, announcements, and dhol. It was all awesome. Crowd loved it and they worked with us to get all the details right.

    Also really convenient that he works directly with Shruti for decor - everything was synced up and made it painless the day of.
  • A
    Anam Married on 08/25/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We hired Reet to play dhol for my husband’s entrance at the Mehndi. He did an amazing job. I requested that he hype the crowd up and he did just that :) Everyone was hyped and he brought such a positive energy to the entrance. Upon entering the venue, I asked him to play the dhol to a certain song and he did such an amazing job! It was on beat and people were dancing!! Guests told me he brought such an amazing energy to the entrance and they were very impressed by him! I later found that this was his first wedding gig! He killed it :) If you need a dhol player, I highly recommend Reet! He’s wonderful!!