Skip to main content
Weddings

Shrewsbury String Quartet Reviews

Shrewsbury String Quartet

Shrewsbury String Quartet

Lewes, DE
Rating 4.9 out of 5, 45 Reviews
View more information

45 Reviews

Rated
4.9
out of 5.0
Recommended by 97% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.9 out of 5

Awards

  • 45
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2010 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2009 Winner
  • Kristen
    Kristen K. Married on 11/28/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Brilliant!

    Tony is just wonderful - kind, flexible, and talented! He was very accommodating to our plan changes due to Covid. We got married November of 2020 with just our immediate family and canceled most of our vendors (DJs, Photobooth) based on the change in our party size.We didn’t want to compromise on the ceremony and are so glad we didn’t. Toni & team learned two songs for us and because we didn’t have a DJ he also played for our first dances and through our small luncheon. It was a very special part of our day.
  • Colleen
    Colleen Married on 09/13/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing musical addition to our wedding for a really reasonable price

    Tony Gizzi and The Shrewsbury Quartet provided the ceremony and cocktail hour music for my wedding on 9.13.19. These talented musicians were so easy to work with. They provided many music selections and honored our choices. They played each song beautifully. The quartet music really made the whole wedding unique and elegant. I found them on Gig Masters and saw a clip of them playing for a mini wedding on The Rachel Ray Show. It was so gorgeous, I booked that day without much more thought. In person, they gave me goosebumps.

    Tony mailed us a flash drive of music for free. I love having it as a keepsake to listen to their music. I also found their prices extremely reasonable. Plan to tip because they are worth more than their fee!!They were very professional and we were thrilled to have them as part of the wedding team.
  • C
    Caitlin Married on 12/02/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We hired the Shrewsbury String Quartet for our wedding and I could not be happier!!! They were so wonderful in accommodating every song we wanted played, and they sounded absolutely lovely! I come from a very musical family, as does my husband, so we knew we needed the best, and we absolutely got it with the Shrewsbury String Quartet!!
  • T
    Thomas Married on 08/27/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We had the Shrewsbury String Quartet perform both the Ceremony and Cocktail Hour for our wedding. They arrived early to The Desmond, performed flawlessly, and "wowed" our guests!! The contract process was quite simple, their website provided plenty of samples to help select the music for our wedding, and their performance was exceptional!! Our music selection was pretty conventional, so I can't speak to how special requests would go - but I don't think you can possibly find a better quality outcome!!!
  • J
    Jackie Married on 09/26/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Shrewsbury String Quartet came highly recommended to us by a family friend. Working with Tony has been a breeze. He is timely, kind, and knows exactly what he is doing. He offers great song suggestions and puts a nervous bride at ease. Shrewsbury String Quartet has been an easy vendor to use and I would recommend them to anyone!
  • L
    Lisa Married on 07/24/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The Shrewbury Quartet was a beautiful addition to our wedding ceremony. Our guests are still talking about them. Toni was very responsive and great to work with. When choosing songs for specific times in our ceremony, he knew exactly what we were talking about and was able to offer suggestions. We had a catholic ceremony outdoors and everything was amazing! We would highly recommend them for any type of wedding! Thank you for being a part of our special day!
  • N
    Nicole Married on 01/10/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    They played at my wedding this weekend and were wonderful! Beautiful music for my ceremony, very easy to work with and reliable
  • A
    Allyson Married on 11/22/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Everyone raved about how beautiful the string quartet was and how it added a special touch and flare to the ceremony. The only downfall is that because I was the bride I didn't get to see much of their performance.
  • User1925142 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Shrewsbury String Quartet played wonderfully at our ceremony and cocktail hour! They worked well with our vocalist from our family.

    Tony was very responsive throughout the whole process.

    Would highly recommend them!
  • L
    Lorraine Married on 10/19/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    They were excellent. Provided perfect ceremony music during our wedding. A joy to work with.
  • C
    Christina Married on 06/06/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    My wedding ceremony at Talamore Country Club was perfect, and a lot of that was due to this incredible quartet. We had two special songs we wanted them to play, one of which they didn't know, but we found the sheet music and they learned it just for us! It was a special song my mom loves and it honestly made her whole day when she walked down the aisle to it. Everything they played was perfect. Thanks you so much!
  • L
    Lindsay Married on 05/31/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Shrewsbury was perfect. Tony, the leader, was responsive and knowledgeable, and they were able to play exactly what I wanted for the ceremony. I would highly recommend them for both ceremony and cocktail hour music.
  • S
    Sarah Married on 11/15/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Shrewsbury Strings were great! They did our ceremony music and were incredible! They are extremely well priced for such an elegant addition for your wedding! They were a joy to work with, very helpful and accommodating during our planning, and could not have been better the day of the wedding! I would definitely recommend them to anyone in the future!! Absolutely beautiful!
  • Deborah
    Deborah Married on 10/27/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Tony Gizzi at Shrewsbury String Quartet is THE BEST!! I have known him as a friend for years and was at a wedding he performed at (which I recommended him for). He blew me away! Gorgeous music, very professional when wedding ran late. I HIGHLY recommend Tony and the Shrewsbury String Quartet. You will not be sorry.

    Deborah Carasso
    Unique Invitations
  • S
    Sue Married on 10/26/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Tony and the musicians produced a lovely addition to our daughter's wedding ceremony!! We received many compliments on them!! Tony responds to all texts and e mails quickly!
  • A
    Angela Married on 09/08/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Tony was really great to talk with. He was receptive to the songs we liked, and shared his quartet's skills. He was always quick to respond over e-mail and made time to do phone calls as well.

    He also went above and beyond, playing "Explosions in the Sky" for us, and working to demo songs. The song demos were interesting: he was able to record and play back a string composition of certain songs we had wanted. It was nice to hear and give feedback so they could give the best performance.

    On the day of the wedding, the trio assembled, and with my groomsman brother's help, put a platform on the beach together for them to perform on. It was really beautiful, and people thought it was a great touch to have string musicians on the beach. Really really classy and I highly recommend. If it's possible, get there earlier just to hear them play for a bit, and then do the ceremony.
  • J
    Jennell Married on 09/01/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Tony at the Shrewsbury String Quartet was a pleasure to work with and ensured that our wedding ceremony music was exactly how we had imagined. Thank you!
  • User1249419 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    They are absolutely amazing! I loved the wide variety of songs they play! They added a beautiful touch to my wedding ceremony. They are very easy to get in touch with and respond quickly!
  • T
    Tamara Married on 02/16/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    From the moment I contacted tony everything was great. He always go back to me in a timely fashion. He gave me a CD with some demos of the songs I could choose from and the website also had samples. I think they also do custom songs if you just ask. They arrived early for my ceremony and played beautifully. Everyone loved them!! I can't wait to get my video so I can hear them again
  • J
    Jessica Married on 02/02/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The most responsive and flexible vendor that I worked with for the whole wedding! As soon as I emailed, every time, Tony responded IMMEDIATELY (or almost immediately)! We selected Shrewsbury because it was very obvious that they're very familiar with the Catholic ceremony, and we come from a very up-tight Catholic church. They worked with our friend that we asked to sing during our ceremony, and were so accommodating with our music selections. Music was beautiful and the audibility was perfect in our XXL, carpeted Catholic church.

    Shrewsbury also played our cocktail hour (30 minute drive from our church, with a 90 minute break in between ceremony and reception), to rave reviews. Though audible from everywhere in our cocktail space, we had guests who told us they enjoyed the music so much that they specifically hung out very close to the musicians, because they thought Shrewsbury was so wonderful.

    If you're wondering if a quartet is worth the money for the added elegance, DO IT! And book Shrewsbury String Quartet. I PROMISE - you will not be disappointed.
  • C
    Christie Married on 12/15/2012
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We used the string quartet as ceremony music only. Tony was very easy to communicate with, quick to respond to calls and very helpful because I really felt like I had no idea what I was doing with ceremony music! Most importantly, they sounded absolutely beautiful on our wedding day. We received so many compliments at the quality of the music. They will also take requests outside of the typical- we used Coldplay for our recessional.
  • User1172868 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I was looking for violinists that would be able to perform a catholic church ceremony and the fact that the Shrewsbury String Quartet website has a specific page that addresses catholic ceremonies and recommends songs was already impressive to begin with, but when you actually speak to Tony, he's even more helpful and impressive.

    Tony was 100% responsive and accommodating, and I feel confident in recommending his services to all brides. The ceremony was beautiful and they were excellent performers - incredibly professional.
  • A
    Ann Married on 10/14/2012
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    A perfect touch to a perfect day. My only regret is that I didn't get to hear very much of them as I was the bride. They arrived on time, played before the ceremony, during the ceremony (on request) for a song, and after while we greeted our guests in the recieving line. Very classy touch to our memorable day.
  • K
    Katherine Married on 09/09/2012
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Working with Tony from Shrewsbury String Quartet was a dream! He was so helpful in helping me select my songs for the ceremony, and I loved their website. They even have a funny wedding blooper video section! It was great to be able to listen to demos of them playing the actual songs to get a feel for what I wanted at my wedding. The day of, they were professional and the music sounded excellent. Thanks Shrewsbury String Quartet! Also very affordable!!
  • User1010225 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I am so happy that I went with the Strewsbury String Quartet for my August wedding! Tony was incredibly responsive and professional. Also, their website is so helpful! It allows you to listen to previews of the different songs to help you make a decision. It also offers insight on choosing music for a Catholic wedding (which I needed help with). They were also very affordable. I chose a string duo for my wedding to stay with in budget and was a little nervous that it might not sound like enough in a big Catholic church. Tony assured me that all the songs that I had picked would sound good with a duo and he was right! The music was beautiful and I loved being able to afford live music at my wedding that wasn't the typical organ. I didn't have any contact with them the day of the wedding, but they showed up early, rehearsed with my brother (the vocalist) and helped produce a beautiful ceremony. I can't thank them enough!