Shining Stars Catering, LLC Reviews

46 | Kansas City, MO
See photos, pricing and details

46 Reviews for Shining Stars Catering, LLC

Recommended by 96%

46
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner

4.8 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 4.8
  • Flexibility 4.8
  • Value 4.8
  • Average response time 4.7

1 User photo

Shining Stars Catering, LLC 1
Sort by:
  • D

    Delice Dominguez · Married on 10/27/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    make your daughter’s wedding dreams a reality

    As a mom you hope to make your daughter’s wedding dreams a reality, and that’s what Shining Star Catering did for my daughter. Shining Star Catering knows what they are doing. I rate them as No. 1 in my book. They were my go to for everything and it was the smart and perfect chose. I live in Miami, FL., I had to plan my daughter’s wedding from Miami in Kansas City. With the help of Marvin and Deborah Williams from Shining Star Catering, they made it all possible for me to do. The food was so flavorful, everyone was commenting on how great the food was (we had Italian). The staff was just as amazing and accommodating. The venue was a dream come true. Most of my communication was done via email, but Marvin and Deborah made the vision come true. He made himself available at all times, Marvin even stayed around the day of the wedding to guide me. That was a weight off my shoulders, because I did not have a wedding planner. That’s what you call amazing service.

    Sent on 11/02/2018

    Shining Stars Catering, LLC's reply:

    Delice, it was such a great day and we loved working with you. I know the challenge of planning long distance weighed on you, but it made it all that more fun when we could chat and have fun planning the little extras the week of the wedding. Marvin and I felt like we made great friends through this process. Thank you for letting us be a part of this special day.
  • N

    Naomi Stewart · Married on 10/27/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Caring, patience and blessed!

    It was truly a once in a lifetime experience for me. Orchestrated by God. After all I was marrying for the first time and to my high school sweetheart, after reconnecting, 50 years later. Shiningstars Catering was everything I expected after being referred to me by someone in Hotel management at one of the largest hotels in the city. They were extremely patient and understanding as I flip from one request to another. They provided us with a special Jamaican chef who helped in preparing my menu so our guest could enjoy a Jamaican/American Buffett. We are still receiving compliments regarding the food and the amount available. (No one left hungry!).
    Their options for China, silverware and linen accessories completed my reception setting!
    The best part....every member of that team was wonderful, and for that I offer my sincere thanks in making my dream a reality.
    “We are eternally grateful ”.
    Naomi & Michael

    Sent on 12/31/2018
  • A

    Allison Bertken · Married on 10/13/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Highly recommend

    We are so happy Shining Stars was the cater for our wedding!! We had their passed appetizers and plated dinner service and it could not have been better. All of the guests were raving about the food. The food was incredible, but I was blown away by the service staff. They had so many professional service staff members working. Once we licked our plates clean, someone was there to take our plate. I had doubts about the speed of serving our 200 guests. This was not an issue at all. The whole process was extremely smooth. Deb, Marvin, Kenya and Yoshi were incredible to work with. They are so passionate and it shows in everything they do. They not only want your food/ service to be perfect, but they go out of their way to make sure they can help in anyway they can to make your wedding a dream come true.

    Sent on 12/26/2018

    Shining Stars Catering, LLC's reply:

    Beautiful Ali and Michael. Through the 17-18 months of planning, you were both a joy to work with. You will always have a special place in our hearts. We are so happy that you placed your trust in us, we will never forget your amazing, perfect wedding.
  • Lisa

    Lisa Barnicle · Married on 07/28/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Perfection from beginning to end!

    Shining star helped make our daughter‘s wedding a complete success! The food was absolutely delicious. We are a family of picky eaters with specific dietary needs and they were very flexible. They worked with us to ensure everyone had something they could enjoy from the rehearsal dinner to the hors d’oeuvres to the main meal. Wedding planning was not our favorite thing to do but Deborah and her team helped ease the pain! Renee was very responsive and helped us stay on top of every detail. We would absolutely recommend shining star catering!

    Sent on 12/30/2018

    Shining Stars Catering, LLC's reply:

    Lisa, it was such a joy to work with you and your family. We loved being able to be a part of your happy rehearsal dinner and the wedding and reception were amazing. Thank you for allowing us to be a part this beautiful day!
  • J

    Julie · Married on 06/30/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Best decision we made!

    Hiring Shining Stars was one of the best decisions we made for our wedding! We knew Deb and Marvin were amazing partners but the proof really came the night of our wedding. Our guests had RAVE reviews about the food. It blew my expectations! I still remember one of our final meetings, we sat down with Deb for a good 2 hours, sipped champagne, tasted appetizers and talked through the nitty gritty. She was so supportive and easy to work with. Plus, made the process special which is hard to say with all vendors. I recommend Shining Stars to anyone who wants a high quality, fresh meal for their wedding. Also, we recommend the wedge salad & Parmesan crostini’s - the best :)

    Sent on 12/29/2018

    Shining Stars Catering, LLC's reply:

    Julie, it was amazing to work with you and Dan. I felt such a special connection with the both of you and we are so happy to have made your wedding day exactly what you hoped for. It means so much that you put this trust in us. Thank you from the bottom of our hearts!
  • S

    Sheila · Married on 07/01/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wedding Done Right

    Deb and Marvin did a fantastic job at our daughters wedding January 19, 2019. Their attitude was "whatever it takes" to make that day special. Marvin even parked his truck to block the entrance so the limo could roll up and make a grand entrance! The weather was crazy and they had multiple contingencies in place. They managed plating 150 hot meals in record time! We were never worried about the reception and could thoroughly enjoy our daughter's day.

    Sent on 01/26/2019

    Shining Stars Catering, LLC's reply:

    Sheila, you are awesome. We had such a great time working with you and your amazing and beautiful daughter, Natalie. It was a beautiful evening! Thanks for letting us be a part of it.
  • Jessica

    Jessica Endaya Keefer · Married on 05/12/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    A dream team for a dream wedding

    Deb and Marvin of Shining Stars are fantastic people to work with. SSC was one of the first vendors we hired and I don’t know what our wedding would’ve been like if we had not gone with them. Their expertise and professionalism is unmatched and their willingness to work with our budget, while creating a dream experience is something our guests still rave about today. (Our guests STILL reference the carnitas tacos from our reception!) Their tasting events helped us make informed decisions (we went with stations as opposed to a traditional buffet) and Deb’e speedy responses made the entire process stress-free. We feel so blessed to be one of their couples and have since our wedding, recommended them to all of our friends and family.

    Sent on 12/29/2018

    Shining Stars Catering, LLC's reply:

    Jessica and Kenny, you hold a very very special place in our hearts. It means so much that we have gotten to see you so many times since your wedding because of your generous recommendations to family and friends. It is amazing to know that we have been connected to so many of your friends and family weddings because of your recommendation. Thank you SO much!
  • E

    Emily · Married on 03/18/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Shining Stars catered my wedding in Kansas City in March. I can't say enough great things about Deb and her team! She spent time with us to really understand what we wanted. I LOVE the fact that china was included in the price of our catering. I chose the mismatched vintage plates and everything looked absolutely stunning at the reception. We went to several tastings and all of the food was always amazing. Our wedding day menu was no exception and we received many compliments about our food. I highly recommend hiring Shining Stars for your wedding or special event!

    Sent on 12/04/2017
    Shining Stars Catering, LLC 2
  • B

    blach · Married on 08/04/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    goodgoodgoodgoodgoodgoodgoodgoodgoodgoodgoodgoodgood

    Sent on 08/24/2016
  • Reem

    Reem · Married on 07/24/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I absolutely recommend Shining Stars Catering. Deborah was amazing!!! We booked Shining Stars Catering for food, alcohol, linens, cake cutting service, etc. Deb and her team worked very hard to make sure everything was perfect and in budget on our wedding day. The food was fabulous, our guests were pleased with the team, and the linens were stunning. Thank you Deb for helping make my wedding day perfect! Much love! -Reem Lynn Adams

    Sent on 07/25/2016
  • S

    Susie · Married on 12/12/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had Shining Stars cater our daughter's wedding reception and they did a fabulous job. We found out about them at an Open House and like their food so decided to go with them. My daughter worked with them on the details so I can't really comment on the process leading up to the reception. However, I can say the food was fabulous and we had many many people commenting all night long about it. They made themselves available through the evening but also stayed appropriately in the background serving our guests when needed. Thomas was the person who my daughter worked with the most and he was super responsive, very friendly, pleasant and flexible. And, the food was just as we expected! I've already recommended them to brides and will continue to do so.

    Sent on 01/16/2016

    Shining Stars Catering, LLC's reply:

    Thank you so much! It was an honor to be a part of this most important day for your family.
  • J

    Jen · Married on 09/26/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I will only use Shining Stars for my future catering needs! Deb and her team were absolutely amazing for our wedding cocktail hour and reception. Being in Kansas City, we had the BBQ buffet and the food is DELICIOUS! Our guests could not stop talking about how great every piece of food was, including the local BBQ sauce and pickle bar. The team was so accommodating with our wants/financial needs and really made us feel like friends. There was complete trust in their services which greatly reduced my stress for the day. Communication was timely and costs very reasonable for quality of food. We were also able to add bartenders and DIY cake service which allowed us additional flexibility. Wonderful caterers!

    Sent on 09/28/2015

    Shining Stars Catering, LLC's reply:

    It was SUCH a pleasure working with Jen. She was totally focused on making this a special day for her family and friends. It was a relaxed, beautiful and amazing wedding. . .just like Jen herself. We loved every moment!!!
  • C

    crystal · Married on 09/25/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Deb and her team are so wonderful! We met them at a Perfect Wedding Guide wedding fair and it was pretty much decided right then and there. My fiance and I used one of their special event nights to taste their food for the first time. It was incredible! It was even good warmed up as leftovers the next day. The private tasting has been one of my favorite parts of wedding planning. They are so easy to talk to, work with and just a great team to have on your side and for your event. Thank you again!!

    Sent on 09/18/2015

    Shining Stars Catering, LLC's reply:

    Thank you do much Crystal!!! You guys have been a joy to work with and we feel so honored to be a part of your special day!
  • Terrell

    Terrell · Married on 08/01/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Words cannot describe how great Shining Stars Catering is. The caterer that worked with us (Debra) was incredible and was one of the most flexible and accommodating people I have ever met and really she decreased a lot of stress in planning this wedding. The entire experience from the planning to the actual execution was done with the highest of professional courtesy and the food my guests are still talking/asking about. I have no higher recommendation if you are in the KC area for a caterer that gives high quality food for a decent price. Shining star was excellent.

    Sent on 12/15/2015
  • K

    Kathryn · Married on 11/22/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Shining stars is so great to work with. Every person raved about the food at the reception and I haven't tasted anything they make that isn't amazing. They have amazing customer service and are always wanting to help. I highly recommend them to anyone needing food catered for an event!

    Sent on 11/29/2014
  • A

    Ashley · Married on 11/15/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Deb and her staff were amazing! They worked with us to make a menu that was perfect for our wedding while staying in our price range. Everyone at the reception complimented on how delicious the food was…we couldn't be happier with our choice!

    Sent on 11/23/2014
  • M

    Mary Pat · Married on 11/16/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Shining Stars Catering is truly a five star service! From the first time we met with Deborah and her husband to discuss our options and taste their entree samples, we knew we had found the perfect caterer for our daughters wedding reception. Our tasting session was like dining with old friends who shared common interests! They were warm, friendly, and professional, and offered great value for their service. Many of our 400+ guests were complementary to the meal and service they provided. I would strongly recommend Shining Stars for your next event!

    Kevin and Mary Pat Nachbar

    Sent on 01/23/2014

    Shining Stars Catering, LLC's reply:

    We were so thrilled to be a part of this joy filled wedding. . .it was a complete pleasure!
  • C

    Chelsea · Married on 09/14/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Shining Stars Catering was wonderful to work with for our wedding. We sat down with the owners, Deb & Marv on two separate occasions - they work really hard to make sure they understand your vision and plan for the day. We did passed appetizers during the cocktail hour and a selection of heavy appetizers for our reception and there was more than enough food for everyone and I heard nothing but rave reviews. The staff was extremely attentive - one worker offered to light the candles on the tables for me because he recognized it hadn't been done. My husband and I didn't get a chance to eat much because we were busy mingling, but Shining Stars made sure to deliver plates to our seats, which was such a nice gesture. My father has severe food allergies and Shining Stars made a special plate just for him which was such a relief for me to know that he had something he could eat! I had a great experience using Shining Stars Catering!

    Sent on 12/15/2013
  • L

    Liz · Married on 07/05/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We have received so many compliments about the delicious food at our wedding! The whole Shining Stars team was fantastic! We can't rave about them enough. We felt like everyone was personally concerned with making sure our meal was perfect. Everything we tried between bridal shows and tasting was delicious.

    Sent on 07/22/2013
  • C

    Christy · Married on 04/26/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Deb and her crew were awesome! We were so pleased with everything!

    Sent on 05/29/2013
  • R

    Rachel · Married on 04/20/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Hands down the best food you can finds for an event of just about any size. Everyone there went above and beyond to make sure it was perfect! As a chef I worked really close with them to make sure that all parts of the catering were up to my extremely high standards of food and presentation. They were a blast to work with and the spread they showed up with was amazing! It's been almost two weeks since our event and I still have my guest calling and telling me how great the food was. They are very willing to make sure that you get what you would like while staying budget as they know how important that is for most people when becoming wed. They only bring the very freshest ingredients to the table and there prices and willingness to create the perfect far exceeded mine and my wife's expectations truly, and if you don't see what you really want on some of there preset menu options, just ask and they will do there very best to make sure you get want you want at a cost you can afford.
    Stephan & Rachel

    Sent on 05/02/2013
  • D

    Diana · Married on 12/31/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I could have not asked for better food and a better catering company to be a part of our wedding day!! Deb from Shining Stars was so great and really helped make my husband and I feel comfortable and confidant in their services!

    We had originally gone with a different catering company for our big day and after horrible customer service, unfair treatment, and getting cheated out of our deposit we decided to cut our losses and find a new caterer to go with. This is the best decision we could have ever made!

    The food was amazing, it honestly could not have been any better!! We had compliments all night and people are still telling us how much they enjoyed the food! I would definitely recommend this company, they love what they do and its shows!

    ps- the horrible company that i would never work with or recommend to anyone is Sugar and Spice Catering! HORRIBLE!

    Sent on 01/19/2013
  • User3421536 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We still have people talking about our food, and it's a year later. We did passed apps during the room flip, and a heavy app buffet for our dinner. Deb was great to work with, and everything looked and tasted great!

    Sent on 07/26/2013
  • C

    Carly · Married on 05/05/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Delicious food! Excellent choices and a great variety for dinner! Deb is wonderful and her staff is very professional. Loved the food!

    Sent on 05/14/2012
  • Angela

    Angela · Married on 05/05/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I was married on May 5th 2012 at Studio B and Shining Stars provided our reception appetizers and dinner. I could NOT have been MORE pleased or happy with Shining Stars. If you are a bride out there looking for an amazing company to cater your wedding please use this fabulous people!! The food was amazing..I have had so many compliments that is was the BEST wedding food they have had. :-) We were married on Cinco De Mayo and so I had an interactive Taco Bar and lots of other yummies!!
    Deb and Jessica were ON it in communicating, they were clear on cost, and what was being provided. They were on time, gracious, and accommodating to all our needs/wants! Bottom line...they are awesome and you should call them !!!!

    Sent on 05/22/2012

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review