Shimmer and Spice Reviews

36 | Philadelphia, PA
See photos, pricing and details

36 Reviews for Shimmer and Spice

Recommended by 100%

36
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0

11 User photos

Shimmer and Spice 1
Shimmer and Spice 2
Shimmer and Spice 3
Shimmer and Spice 4
Shimmer and Spice 5
Shimmer and Spice 6
Shimmer and Spice 7
+ 5
Sort by:
  • C

    Christina · Married on 07/20/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Couldn't be happier

    100% recommend!!! I had an outstanding experience with Shimmer and Spice from start to finish. I wanted to be glammed up without looking like I had a ton of makeup on my face and my vision was realized PERFECTLY. Kristyn and Maggie were always responsive, my trial with Maggie went great - she is so talented, able to do what you want but also make great suggestions. On our wedding day, Maggie did my make up as well as my mom and bridesmaids, the high temperature for that day was 97 degrees, and she was outstanding! She was on time, professional, patient, easy to work with and most importantly AWESOME at doing makeup. Everyone looked beautiful. My mom looked the exact same at the end of the night, still beautiful and radiant and she was the first person that day to have her make up done. Even after midnight and walking outside to join some of our guests for post wedding drinks they were telling me my make up still looked amazing. I would recommend Shimmer and Spice to anyone and wish I had more excuses to have professional make up done.

    Sent on 07/25/2019
  • Elizabeth

    Elizabeth Perry · Married on 06/14/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Highly Recommend!

    I had a great experience with Shimmer and Spice from start to finish. Kristyn was responsive, informative, and so helpful in booking make-up artists for my wedding day. We were SO lucky to have booked Maggie and Penelope. Maggie was so patient and sweet at my trial, she took my feedback and helped me to find the perfect look. The day of the wedding, they arrived on time, were extremely professional, had us ready ahead of schedule, and were so fun to work with. My bridal party looked incredible all night thanks to this very talented team. I couldn't recommend this group more!

    Sent on 07/13/2019
  • A

    Alyssa Connell · Married on 06/04/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Shimmer & Spice = peace of mind

    I am so happy and grateful to have worked with Shimmer & Spice. Maggie is a dream--not only extremely talented but also very kind and relaxed (and therefore relaxing to be around, especially on your wedding day). I had only had my makeup done professionally a few times before and hadn't loved either look, since I didn't think I looked like me. But after working with Maggie, I wish she could do my makeup every single day! At my trial, she figured out what would work best for me, including a lipstick which I went out and bought later that day because I loved it, and the right (very comfortable) false lashes to make the whole look come together. I felt totally calm and confident on my wedding day, and Maggie created a beautiful look that lasted the entire day and evening. I felt like myself but even more festive--and the makeup photographed absolutely beautifully, which is so important!

    Choosing wedding vendors takes a lot of research and trust. I couldn't be happier to have worked with Shimmer & Spice, and with Maggie. I'm so glad she was part of my wedding day.

    Sent on 05/14/2019
  • Teresa

    Teresa · Married on 05/25/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Soft Glam Asian Bride ~

    I had a ton of reservations about hiring a MUA for several reasons: (1) I'm south east asian (Cambodian) with an olive complexion, and my bridal party was also all Asian American with different skin tones and eye shapes, (2) I wanted to look like myself, but glowing, and didn't want to look like a stranger on my wedding day, and (3) my twin was my maid-of-honor and I wanted to stand out from her.

    But my worries washed away once I worked with Penelope. I truly felt like a glowing bride. She nailed my skin tone, the eyeliner (so that my eyes were the right shape!) and even though my twin looked gorgeous, Penelope made sure my makeup was a shimmering bridal look that was not over-done. And I was SHOCKED how my makeup stayed after I was a crying mess at my ceremony. Amazing.

    I also did my own makeup at my house for my morning tea ceremony , and after seeing some pictures I wish I had hired Penelope for my morning ceremony too. I know my face well and think I typically do a great job my own makeup. But Penelope made me look so glowingly perfect.

    Thanks Penelope and Shimmer & Spice, it was perfect :)

    Sent on 07/02/2019
  • Tracy

    Tracy Pasciullo · Married on 04/05/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing team!

    The Shimmer and Spice team are AMAZING! I was lucky to have Maggie be the artist for my wedding. I normally do not wear a lot of make-up so a full face was overwhelming for me. Maggie took her time, listened to my feedback and the results were perfect. I felt like myself with a little extra glam- exactly what I wanted. I would recommended S&S time and time again. Love them!

    Sent on 05/21/2019
  • G

    Gina · Married on 12/29/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The best glam squad

    Kristyn made me feel like an absolute movie star on my wedding day! The wonderful experience with Shimmer and Spice started with the trial. Kristyn really took her time, listened to my feedback and made sure everything was perfect. In addition to being a highly skilled makeup artist, she is also a lovely person and fun to hang out with! On the day of my wedding, she was right on time and did a fantastic job with me and my bridesmaids (and shout out to Maggie, the other wonderful makeup artist from Shimmer & Spice!). Kristyn also made me a custom lip color that I wore on my wedding day (and still love and use!). I highly recommend Kristyn and the team at Shimmer & Spice.

    Sent on 05/21/2019
  • Morgan

    Morgan · Married on 11/16/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Truly the best around!

    Kristyn and her team are INCREDIBLE artists. Kristyn and Penelope did the makeup for myself and my bridesmaids, as well as my mother, godmother and grandmother for my wedding in November. Even with so many people, Kristyn and Penelope kept everything running smoothly and on time. Everyone looked absolutely flawless and the makeup lasted ALL night - even through HOURS of sweating on the dance floor! Multiple people commented on how perfect my makeup still looked at the end of the night (and let me tell you, that makeup had no business still being on my face after running all over the city all day, constantly moving between the cold weather outside and overly warm interior spaces - truly impressive). Kristyn is a sweetheart and a total pleasure to work with, from first contact to the wedding day - a fantastic experience. I recommend her to everyone I know who is looking for a makeup artist for their wedding. Shimmer and Spice truly can’t be beat, and if you’re looking for the best around, look no further! Thanks for all you do, Kristyn and team!

    Sent on 02/10/2019
    Shimmer and Spice 8
    Shimmer and Spice 9
    Shimmer and Spice 10
    Shimmer and Spice 11
  • Danielle

    Danielle · Married on 11/03/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Loved Mary & Penelope’s work!

    Mary and Penelope helped to create make-up looks for myself, and nine other ladies in my bridal party. I couldn’t be happier with the way my make-up turned out. Mary listened to exactly what I wanted and executed it PERFECTLY. She truly nailed it. I highly recommend her and Shimmer & Spice.

    Sent on 11/17/2018
  • E

    Erin · Married on 10/06/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wedding Makeup

    Mary did the makeup for my wedding and she nailed natural, pretty makeup for me and the rest of the girls. My mom and mother in law also got their makeup done and it was so beautiful - they loved it! Scheduling was super easy and any questions were answered during the trial. Highly recommend!

    Sent on 11/10/2018
  • Caitlin

    Caitlin · Married on 10/05/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kristyn really gets that natural glam look!

    I was so lucky to have hired Kristyn for my engagement photo and wedding makeup! I am really not a makeup person, and I don’t wear much in my day to day life. I found Kristyn on Instagram and immediately loved her natural/glam style (seriously, go check her out!). She is so talented that literally everyone she touches looks like the best version of themselves, without looking overdone. Kristyn did my makeup a total of three times, with looks ranging from every day makeup for my engagement photos to natural glam for my wedding. I couldn’t believe how perfectly Kristyn did my makeup each time—this is coming from someone who always feels like I have to “tone down” my makeup when I have it done professionally.
    Kristyn is such a warm and engaging person, and you immediately feel comfortable when you meet her! I think one of Kristyn’s best attributes is how closely she listens to her clients and how she works to address each individual’s need. From the first time she did my makeup, Kristyn really took her time getting to know my typical routine and any problem areas I was concerned about (for example, I have combination skin, and I have a tough time getting my makeup to last more than a few hours). Kristyn recommended airbrushed makeup, and my makeup stayed on from noon-3:00am, even lasting through some late-night karaoke after the wedding!
    Kristyn was a professional and calming presence the day of the wedding, and my whole wedding party felt at ease with her. My sister, mom, and mother-in-law all raved about their makeup! Even my mom, who normally hates wearing makeup ended up having lashes added because she felt like they looked very natural—Kristyn is that good! I couldn’t have imagined working with anyone else for our wedding. I would highly recommend Kristyn to any bride who wants to look like the best version of herself on her wedding day!

    Sent on 11/19/2018
  • N

    Nissa · Married on 09/08/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kristyn did my wedding makeup and she is the best! If you want to look like yourself, just more glam, then she is for you. Natural glam makeup is how i would describe her. Not to mention she did some awesome eyelashes that I wish she could do for me every day. My face stayed in place the whole night (even through crying..) and I loved what she did with my bridal party and mom's (who can be really picky..). She was easy to work with and heeded all of my requests, I would highly recommend her!

    Sent on 06/01/2018
  • C

    Costina · Married on 08/19/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    If you are planning a wedding and get to hire Shimmer & Spice for makeup – consider yourself lucky, you are in good hands. Kristyn is an amazing soul and truly talented artist. Kristyn’s talent shines through from the moment you do a trial with her. I was impressed by the question she asked – my makeup routine, how I normally do my eyeliner, what products I may be sensitive to. She takes notes on this, along with the products/colors she uses throughout the trial.

    On the actual wedding day – she was a joy to have around. She was first to arrive and put my bride jitters at ease. I admired how well she got along with the various personalities in the room – my serious mom, my laid back sisters, my 7-yr old flower girls and my loud/animated childhood best friend. All required their own unique makeup “look” and she crushed it. When it was my turn, Kristyn had all the notes and pictures from our trial ready. As a bride, having the right makeup artist is such an important aspect of the day – I was relaxed and felt like I was in good hands as soon as I took my makeup seat. More importantly, I felt beautiful walking down the aisle – received many compliments, especially from the groom who appreciated how much I looked like myself, only ‘fancier’. We had a rainy wedding day, where we still attempted to take some photos outside – my makeup stayed in place through our outdoor, indoor & late-night celebrations :)

    Sent on 10/04/2018
  • P

    Pamela · Married on 08/17/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kristyn was absolutely fantastic. Not only does she know her stuff when it comes to make-up, but she’s really easy to chat with and can immediately understand the look you are going for. I took my mother and mother-in-law for a trial since they were worried about how they’d look on the day of and they were overjoyed. She also offers a unique service of creating a custom lipstick so that you can retouch throughout the night, which all 3 of us decided to do and loved. I would highly recommend using Shimmer and Spice anytime you want to look extra fantastic!

    Sent on 09/03/2018
  • R

    Rebecca · Married on 06/16/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kristyn is simply the best. I first heard about her from a friend who works in the industry and weeks later my hairstylist also brought her name up as one of the best so I knew she had an amazing reputation. Let me start by saying I have NEVER had a good experience getting my makeup done. I once had to go wash off everything the person did and redo it myself because it looked so terrible. That being said, I was very nervous about my wedding day makeup, I knew I needed someone who would put me at ease. At my trial, Kristyn listened to what I wanted and did her best to give me what I was asking, unfortunately, regular makeup just didn't stay on me (my face seemed to absorb the makeup) and I was left feeling like it wasn't quite right. I talked to Kristyn about it and she suggested we try air brush. That did the trick! My makeup was FLAWLESS all day and night. She even made me lipstick that I now wear regularly. My bridesmaids all loved their looks too and looked amazing in all of the photos. Well worth the money to feel confident and beautiful on your wedding day!!

    Sent on 07/11/2018
    Shimmer and Spice 12
  • J

    Josh · Married on 05/20/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    (written by my wife) If you are looking for dewy, gorgeous, glowing, romantic, stunning makeup... then Krystin is your girl. I had met with a couple of other makeup artists and was having a really hard time finding someone. I tried the air brush makeup but found that it dried my skin out soooo much. Krystin was able to create glowing skin that lasted all day. During our initial consulation I brought in some inspiration photos and we worked together creating a "the look". In the months leading upto the wedding we were in constant contact with her assistant Mary in coordinated how many faces, timeline, and if I had any questions or adjustments to the palette we had discussed. Day of was flawless.. everyone was on time and looked STUNNING!!!!!!!!

    Sent on 07/25/2018
  • Melissa

    Melissa · Married on 05/18/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mark was our Makeup artist the day of my wedding, Mark was very down to earth and work with me and a few of my bridesmaids and aunts. He absolutely did a fantastic job. I highly recommend this mark up company for any special occasions

    Sent on 07/20/2018
    Shimmer and Spice 13
    Shimmer and Spice 14
  • M

    Megan · Married on 05/11/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    highly recommend!

    This is a (belated!) review for my May 2018 wedding at the Fairmount Park Horticulture Center. For months I debated having a make-up artist come to the house vs. just walking to a salon that morning, but am so happy I chose Shimmer & Spice! I don't wear much make-up and was worried I wouldn't be able to communicate my "vision" for the day well. I was also afraid of looking pornstar-ish with a bunch of caked-on make-up. Kristyn did an amazing job of making me feel super glamorous and gorgeous but still like myself. She did a great job with my mom and bridesmaids too, and was nice, sweet calming presence on the big day. My make-up lasted from before the Church ceremony through the afterparty, and what remained looked decent at breakfast! Overall - very professional, talented, organized, and responsive!

    Sent on 11/29/2018
  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 05/05/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kristyn and Mary from Shimmer and Spice were AMAZING!!! Everyone looked their absolute best while still looking like themselves. It's a pet peeve of mine when you see a bride on her wedding day and she looks 10,000 times more glammed up than you've ever seen her, so you can hardly recognize her! That's why I went with S&S. I felt absolutely beautiful, but I also felt like I looked like me. I am not someone who wears a lot of makeup, and Kristyn was so accommodating of my fear of, for example, having scary bold eyebrows. She isn't one of those makeup artists who doesn't listen to you. She listens and makes sure you are 100% comfortable with how you look. And, to top it all off, when I finally got a chance to go to the bathroom around 10:00 pm, I knew my makeup would be pretty much gone since I had been sweating on the dance floor all night. NOPE. I looked in the mirror and was shocked to see that my makeup looked just as great as it did 10 hours earlier. Finally, Kristyn and Mary are both so warm and calm, which was the exact vibe I wanted around me and my girls while we were getting ready. I cannot recommend Shimmer and Spice enough!!

    Sent on 07/08/2018
    Shimmer and Spice 15
    Shimmer and Spice 16
    Shimmer and Spice 17
  • L

    L & A · Married on 10/28/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mark did the makeup for my wedding in October, and he did a fabulous job - we all loved our beautiful, natural looks, and were really impressed that the makeup lasted all day and night (through some serious dancing and let's admit it, crying!). He was super nice and a lovely presence as we were getting ready. Kristyn has a great team!

    Sent on 01/30/2018
    Shimmer and Spice 18
  • P

    Prudence · Married on 06/24/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kristyn did the makeup for my wedding in June and she was amazing! Along with the help of her associate Mary, they made my whole bridal party & mom look beautiful. Everyone was so happy with how they looked and I've never seen all of my ladies look so gorgeous! What I wanted most was to still look like myself on my big day (at my best, obviously)...I didn't want heavy caked on makeup and wanted to look beautiful in a natural way and she accomplished that perfectly.

    On top of her awesome skills, she is so sweet, personable and fun and it felt like I had a friend getting me ready on my big day. The whole getting ready experience could not have been better for my whole group and the great energy got me even more excited for what was to come that day! Must add that even at the end of the night after hours of heat and dancing my makeup was still on point without me making one touch up, except to reapply the awesome lipgloss she made especially for me (which I still use all the time)!

    All in all, Kristyn is fantastic and I cannot recommend her enough!!

    Sent on 08/19/2017
  • C

    Caitlin · Married on 05/22/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kristyn and her team are INCREDIBLE. I am super picky and did makeup trials with 3 different artists... Kristyn was the absolute greatest from every perspective. Not only is she insanely talented, but she is also the type of person you want to be hanging around on your wedding day. No stress, funny, and fun to be around. She made me feel the most beautiful I have ever felt in my life (and made me laugh while doing it!!) To top it off, I changed my mind about the look I was going for on the day of my wedding... Despite not having done a trial for that look, she NAILED it. I cannot thank you enough, Kristyn! All of my babes looked INSANELY GORGEOUS -- your team managed to pull out the individual beauty in each and every one of them so they all looked like the most goddessy, stunning versions of themselves. If you are hesitating on who to use for your wedding makeup - STOP. Call Shimmer and Spice and be happy that you just made the greatest decision for you and your photos ;-) XO, Caitlin

    Sent on 06/29/2017
  • S

    Stephanie · Married on 05/19/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kristyn is the full package: professional, talented, and personable! Working with her was easy from start to finish. During my trial, she took the time to ask me specific questions about the look that I was hoping to achieve. She listened, worked accordingly, and created a look that I *loved.*

    On my wedding day, Kristyn also did makeup for my four bridesmaids and for my mom. On a daily basis, none of us wears too much makeup. Kristyn created perfect looks that kept us all feeling like beautiful versions of ourselves. Everyone loved their looks and there *may* have been a few too many selfies taken that day :) (But seriously, with makeup so gorgeous, how could you not?)

    Perhaps most importantly, the makeup lasted all day. All day! We started getting ready at 8am and it hit a record high for my wedding day of 94 degrees...my makeup still looked perfect when I washed it off at 2am!

    I can't recommend Kristyn highly enough. Her work was beautiful and as a plus, she was lovely to spend time with on the morning of my wedding.

    Sent on 05/28/2017
  • S

    Sarah · Married on 03/31/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kristyn was awesome! She is a such a professional and does really amazing work. She made me look so beautiful the day of my wedding. All of my bridesmaid were super happy with how their make-up too! The day of my wedding the weather was horrible, 45 mph winds and pouring rain. While my hair was a mess by the end of the pictures (we took some pictures outside) my make-up still looked perfect by the end of the photos and throughout the whole night! She was very responsive and organized throughout the whole process. She is really great to work with and her assistants also do amazing work. Kristyn actually did the make-up for my sisters wedding and she did an awesome job which is why I decided to book her for my wedding too! She is really great and if you book with her you will feel amazing on your wedding day! Highly recommend!!

    Sent on 04/17/2017
  • L

    Lauren · Married on 02/11/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kristyn has done my makeup for a few photoshoots and every time I'm obsessed! I don't wear a ton of makeup, but she always listens to what I'm going for and makes me look natural and pretty.

    Beyond that, she's the person you want when you're feeling stressed about a big event or shoot. Kristyn is so funny and totally chill. I wish she could do my makeup every day!

    Sent on 10/12/2016
  • C

    christine · Married on 12/31/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I cannot sing Kristyn's praises enough! One of the most naturally gifted, genuinely kind and caring individuals I've ever had the pleasure of meeting. I was lucky enough to snag Kristyn for my "impromptu" (aka last minute) engagement photos, as well as for my wedding day. Kristyn's talents are undeniable! She listened to my "wants" (realistic or not) and was able to translate the looks I like, my style and vision into a look that perfectly enhanced my features...she made me look and feel absolutely beautiful for my big day and I can't thank her enough. Side note & full disclosure (just so you understand what Kristyn was working with): Getting married/planning a wedding is both exciting and stressful...that stress resulted in me crying each and every time I had an appointment with Kristyn (engagement photos, trial run, and YES...the wedding day). Those times when I was feeling stressed and "crazy," Kristyn not only calmed me down and made me feel "less silly", but she managed to transform my puffy eyes and runny nose into the most amazing looks!

    Sent on 05/22/2017

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review