SHADOWING LIGHTS Reviews

24 | Granite Bay, CA
See photos, pricing and details

24 Reviews for SHADOWING LIGHTS

Recommended by 100%

24
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0

9 User photos

SHADOWING LIGHTS 1
SHADOWING LIGHTS 2
SHADOWING LIGHTS 3
SHADOWING LIGHTS 4
SHADOWING LIGHTS 5
SHADOWING LIGHTS 6
SHADOWING LIGHTS 7
+ 3
Sort by:
  • Sonia

    Sonia · Married on 03/23/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Emma is Amazing!

    I hired Emma on a recommendation from a colleague and she was definitely the right choice. Emma is super laid back and easy to work with. She wants to bring out the best in you and your partner with natural elements and real life feel. She and her assistant were so great to work with on our wedding day; she really helped capture our happiness and we're so grateful for that.

    Sent on 04/23/2019
  • T

    Teddy · Married on 12/22/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had the wonderful opportunity to have Emma do our engagement shoot and we're thrilled with how the photos turned out! If there weren't scheduling conflicts we would have loved to have her shoot the wedding as well. Right from the outset she was warm and friendly and it was clear she enjoys her craft (and it shows in her beautifully captured photos!). It was easy to follow her instructions and to be as natural as possible (despite the couple's general awkwardness), thankfully never feeling rushed or bothered by anything. We'd definitely recommend her to any of our friends for their photo needs and we can't thank her enough for making this occasion so special! :)

    Sent on 06/02/2018
  • Katrina

    Katrina · Married on 10/05/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    AMAZING photography experience

    Emma and her team were FANTASTIC! She was very easy to work with from the beginning. Her responsiveness was fantastic and she was very straightforward about her process. She provided us a wonderful experience and the results of the photos of our wedding day are perfect. I could not have asked for a better photographer to document our special day. Emma and her team get 100 thumbs up from us :)

    Sent on 12/12/2018
  • J

    Josephine Chung · Married on 09/22/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful Wedding Photos

    My husband and I got married in September of 2018. We had a great experience with Shadowing Lights! Our photographer, Emma, made the process smooth and she worked within our budget. Throughout the whole wedding planning process, she kept us in the loop and made sure that everything, leading up to the wedding day, was clear and not stressful for the both of us. We got all of the photos that we wanted; whether it was photos with our family, friends, our bridal party, and even the little details of our wedding day that we might have missed (since we were so busy). On the actualy wedding day, Emma came on time and helped coordinate timing of photos so that everything runs according to the schedule that we had set. After the wedding, we received our photos so quickly! The photos were beautiful! Very natural, yet very professional. We loved how we were posed for the photos and how she even captured spontaneous and candid moments in our wedding! We have gotten so many compliments about our photos and how beautiful they are. We are so happy with our decision with Shadowing Lights because it captured every moment of our special day!

    Sent on 12/12/2018
    SHADOWING LIGHTS 8
  • A

    Ashley · Married on 07/01/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Emma was simply the best! We had Emma shoot our engagement and wedding photos and we couldn’t be happier with how they turned out. Her creativeness shined in finding the perfect places and light to shoot. Every time someone looks through our beautiful wedding album they always ask who our photographer was! I would highly recommend Emma for her professionalism, creativity, and beautiful spirit. She’s the best!

    Sent on 07/24/2018
    SHADOWING LIGHTS 9
  • C

    Christina · Married on 04/22/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had a great experience with Emma and her second shooter of Shadowing Lights photographing our wedding! She was recommended to us by our wedding planner and we were really impressed with her portfolio. She was responsive through the process, timely, and most importantly we really love the photos - our family and friends also agree that the photo quality is great. I felt like she understood what we were looking for in our photos. There was also quick turnaround time for us to get the photos back. We we would highly recommend Shadowing Lights photography for their wedding to anyone. We also got a photobooth for our wedding, Emma customized the background for the photo printouts, and it was a lot of fun for the guests.

    Sent on 10/10/2017
  • S

    Shannon · Married on 01/26/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had an absolute blast on our wedding day, not just because we felt all the love from each other and our guests, but our wedding photographer Emma was AWESOME! When I look back on the memories from that day, it makes me so happy to have a summer wedding near Sacramento! The venue, the lighting and the unique photos captured from that day are the memories we will always have with us. Thank you to Emma for the beautiful photos and putting up with our crazy wedding party! We appreciate everything you did for us! Much love <3

    Sent on 06/04/2018
    SHADOWING LIGHTS 10
    SHADOWING LIGHTS 11
    SHADOWING LIGHTS 12
    SHADOWING LIGHTS 13
    SHADOWING LIGHTS 14
    SHADOWING LIGHTS 15
    SHADOWING LIGHTS 16
  • T

    Trevor · Married on 10/15/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Emma and her team did such a great job capturing the memories for our wedding. Photography was one of the top priorities for us and we were recommended Shadowing Lights by our wedding planners, Linen+Lilac.

    While she normally worked east bay and city weddings, she drove out to our home in San Jose for a non-traditional engagement shoot in our home. This was a great opportunity to get to know her, and for her to get to know us in the comfort of our own home, and meet before the wedding. She was so accommodating and helped us feel comfortable amidst our awkward moments.

    She has a great sense of humor and captured so many great shots of the ceremony and reception, including (by request) a lot of shots of the venue itself and guests. For the day of, her companion photographer was able to capture the other activities of the guests while we did our own shoots, which was great to see what everyone else was up to!

    Since we had a videographer as well, Emma and her team were awesome at grabbing great shots amidst the videographer and their team being around as well.

    The turnaround time for the engagement shots and the wedding were great, and she even gave us a sneak peak of a few photos to whet our appetite. We have no regrets and cherish the memories Emma captured.

    Sent on 02/10/2018
  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 09/24/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Emma was a pleasure to work with for our engagement shoots & wedding day. If you check out her samples that is what you will be getting. She is a very creative photographer with great ideas and an even better attitude. Our first choice of engagement photos location did not work out as it was unfortunately too windy, but instead of charging us more for a second day of her time she did it free of charge. She gave us the photos from both engagement sessions which were all professionally edited and captured. You can download your photos straight from her website in web and original quality.
    Emma was also amazing at responding to all our emails and our questions in a very timely manner. The wedding photos are amazing.

    After working with Emma on our engagement photo shoot the actual day was a breeze. It felt like we were already friends and she was celebrating our special day with us by helping to get the photos we desired by saying nice things and complimenting us. It made our day that much more special.

    Emma and her second photographer were happy, energetic, and an overall pleasure to work with. There are a lot of photos that capture the emotion of the day that we would not have had if she had not made comments to help bring us out of our shell instead of worrying about everything being perfect. We are very happy with the final product and also the speed of which she got us all of our wedding photographs. Emma also worked with us on the timing of the event to be sure we captured everything during the big day. We can't thank her enough for all the hard work and the dedication she gives to her craft and her clients. Thank you Emma for such an amazing job!

    Sent on 10/27/2017
  • A

    Albert · Married on 06/04/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Absolutely professional and amazing. So glad we had Emma take our photos. Could not recommend her more.

    Sent on 07/29/2016
  • A

    allison · Married on 03/19/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I loved Emma and her photos. Choose her! She's awesome! Friendly, professional, on time, puts you at ease, doesn't get in the way, and takes great pics. I didn't have a wedding coordinator and she helped me put together the schedule for our wedding day. I wholeheartedly recommend her.

    Sent on 08/24/2016
  • S

    Shannon · Married on 01/02/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Hiring Emma Williams to be our Wedding Photographer was one of the best decisions we made in our entire wedding process! When it came time to plan my Winter Wedding in San Francisco, as an event planner and someone who has an eye for detail myself, it was hard to imagine someone else helping to carry out the most important day of my life. It was imperative that we hired someone who could truly capture all our love and the magic of our day. Right from the start, we knew Emma was going to exceed our expectations. She helped us organize our shooting locations for our engagement shoot and post-wedding ceremony shots all around San Francisco. Our Engagement pictures came out even better than we had expected and we knew Emma was organized, focused, fun, reliable and probably the most perfect person to help us make our wedding vision come to life! Throughout the year and a half of planning, every time we met with Emma, she always had excellent suggestions, creative ideas and always made us feel like we had everything under control, even when we didn’t know exactly how to solve every problem. I am so grateful for her and the dedication she showed to us on our Wedding Day and throughout this entire process. Our guests were blown away by everything. We have heard that our wedding was “the best wedding ever”, “breathtaking”, “beyond magical”…I could go on! And it wouldn’t have been so spectacular if Emma hadn’t devoted herself to our dream wedding day. Our Wedding Day was simply, the best day ever. It was beyond what we could’ve ever imagined. It completely surpassed our expectations because we were blessed to have such a truly dedicated and passionate woman to help everything come to life. Emma, we cannot thank you enough for making our day so magical. Words can never describe how happy and blessed we felt on this very special day. You are the complete package and more. You will forever be a part of the happiest and most magical day in our lives! We love you!

    Sent on 09/10/2016
  • L

    Larissa · Married on 11/07/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We could not be happier with our choice to go with Emma (a.k.a Shadowing Lights Photography) for our wedding. Emma’s work stood out from a sea of wedding photographers whose photos started to look pretty interchangeable to us after looking through so many portfolios— the same poses, the same angles, the same scenes, etc. Emma has an eye for capturing memorable, beautiful images that transcend the typical list of engagement and wedding shots. None of our images look contrived, or over-posed, or over-processed, yet there was still a certain magic and drama to them that we would not have gotten from just anyone with a nice camera.

    Part of Emma’s secret sauce may be that she’s incredible at putting people at ease and going with the moment. It’s hard not to pose when someone’s following you around and taking photographs of you for multiple hours, but taking pictures with Emma just felt like we were on a fun outing with a friend. Some of our best shots were impromptu ideas that she had while taking in the scene.

    Lastly, her professionalism is just as important as her artistic skill. From the first email I exchanged with her, she immediately sent me links to albums so that I could see her full range of work, not just one or two great pictures from each wedding. She was on time and top of things at the wedding. She worked hard to make sure every second counted. After the wedding, she didn’t stop being responsive as she helped us choose photos for our album, and make revisions.

    Emma is genuinely a great person and a great photographer, and we highly recommend her work. We would have her take photos of us again in a heartbeat!

    Sent on 08/02/2016
  • M

    Maria · Married on 06/27/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Emma is fantastic. A great presence, and a wonderful asset to any wedding or event. She is patient with crazies and creates incredible images. I just left a pretty long review on Yelp that I don't want to regurgitate here, so I'll simply add that on top of the patience and kindness and beautiful photos, there is a sense of joy to what Emma does that really shines through in her photos. Logistically, I will also add that she is super responsive, punctual, flexible, professional and returned our photos in record time, she also [and i discovered this is very important] plays very very well with other vendors. Personality wise, she is cool, funny, laid back, friendly and interacts well with everyone, from high strung sisters, to not so friendly guests to stressed out parents. Thank you Emma, I get teary eyed every time I look at our photos... in the best possible way :)

    Sent on 08/26/2015
  • User5436581 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Do yourself a favor and just hire Emma right now. My husband and I have discussed how amazing she is on so many occasions, you truly are getting an amazing person and photographer when you work with Emma. From the minute we met her at our engagement shoot, we knew she was going to be awesome. She is the most fun and pleasant person to work with, she has such a great energy, and she puts you right at ease. My husband does not do well with having his picture taken, he gets very stiff and weird, and she managed to capture our engagement session and our wedding in the most amazing way, it was as if he didn't even know she was there. She is extremely professional and reliable, we live in Phoenix, AZ and she worked with me and our wedding coordinator seamlessly, she has a great staff that she works with, and I cannot rave enough about the quality of her photos. Everyone we know cannot stop talking about how great all of the pictures turned out. I am a huge fan of Emma's work, I have already recommended her to another bride, and I truly look forward to working with her again in the future.

    Sent on 09/14/2015
  • E

    Emily · Married on 06/21/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Like most people of today, I've become very interested in photography, so the opportunity to hire a photographer for our wedding was a big deal!! As I am a photo-blog rat, I was familiar with a variety of vendors out there, but something about shadowing lights' blog posts captured my attention--her photos captured moments in a very compelling way. After choosing Shadowing lights, I reminded myself that just because her other blog-posts were amazing didn't mean our pictures would turn out just that way--maybe those people were more relaxed or had better planned weddings. What mattered was the blessing of marrying D, and getting a few pictures to remember it by. Fast forward to a short month after our wedding, Emma's blog snapshot of our wedding floored us all. Emma captured the day exactly as I remember it, and used her artistic style to bring out our style (colors were amazing, edited in a way that you can't keep from staring at). She takes beautiful posed photos, but her candids are priceless, I saw so many little interactions between family and friends in the photos that I hadn't seen at the wedding. Her co-shooter Shelby was equally talented and fun! The final high def photos were presented to us on a very easy to use and easy to share website. There are so many photos of our parents, family, and friends that look like they could be in a magazine--Emma has a way of capturing even the beauty of someone's personality in a photo. Our wedding photos are my favorite of any I've seen, but I would bet ya every one of Emma's brides feels that way about their photos (Emma has a way of personalizing the product to you). We were thrilled with our photos and highly recommend Emma to anyone looking to capture their wedding as a story <3

    Sent on 09/21/2014
  • Melissa

    Melissa · Married on 05/24/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Emma is nothing short of amazingly awesomely stupendously awesome, and is everything you want in a photographer and then some. She worked with us and was always so sweet and flexible during a hectic time for us. I can't thank her enough for all she's done!!! I especially appreciated her attitude and demeanor on our wedding day. It helps to have someone to keep you calm, at ease, lighthearted, and keep on time following you around on your big day -- not only to truly capture moments, but to keep you sane! Photography, as for many couples, was very important to us, and she was worth every penny of the investment. Her creativity and eye don't disappoint... I know it takes some time to adjust and get comfortable being in front of a camera - at least I think if you're not a professional model ;) -- which is why e-sessions are always a good idea. She not only guides you through, but she captures a moment like nobody's business and makes it a gorgeous piece of art. I've already recommended Emma to one of my friends, and would do so again to anyone in a heartbeat. She's incredibly talented and I'll cherish the art that she's captured and created for us for many years to come!

    Sent on 11/10/2014
  • User3848249 · event on 04/19/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Emma has done a spectacular job with our photos thus far! We had an amazing engagement session with her at Bishop Peak and Montana de Oro in San Luis Obispo, CA :) Even though these were both new locations with kind of tough terrain, Emma hiked through and found some great spots... she's brilliant. Everyone we know has been so impressed with the beautiful shots and say that the pictures really capture us... my fiance and I most definitely agree :)

    Sent on 05/29/2014
  • C

    Cindy · Married on 10/13/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Emma was awesome! She got beautiful, creative shots that everyone loved. We even have a friend who saw our pictures and then booked her right away. She really caught our most memorable moments from our wedding and I'm sooooo happy we found her.

    Sent on 02/02/2014
  • User4114171 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Emma was wonderful! She is lovely to be around and is both fun and professional. Her photographs are amazing. She creates artistic, beautiful, timeless, and creative images. I am so happy we found her. She captured the day perfectly. I HIGHLY recommend Shadowing Lights Photography!

    Sent on 05/19/2014
  • M

    Marcella · Married on 06/15/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Shadowing Lights was absolutely perfect on my wedding day. Emma was very professional and caring at the same time. She made sure to meet my husband and I before getting into any details, over Skype, just to see how we were together and how we felt about the whole experience. She is very sweet and direct, which gets the job done in the best kind of way. The day of our wedding I barely even saw Emma...that being said, my photos turned out better than I could have imagined. That is how awesome she is! Every personal touch and kind word Emma gave us made our day that much more special. Thank you so much, I wouldn't change a thing~

    Sent on 11/27/2013
  • H

    Heather · Married on 09/01/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Emma with Shadowing Lights is an absolute joy, and her work is stunning. Planning the photography was a breeze- she was very organized but not at all stuffy. We felt comfortable from the beginning. Emma understood the look we were going for and also had wonderful ideas that made for amazing photos. I would recommend Emma and her team to anyone. Her work is thoughtful, well-composed and personal. I feel so lucky to have found Shadowing Lights. The photos and experience will be forever cherished.

    Sent on 02/07/2013
  • V

    Victoria · Married on 07/16/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    "We are in love with the stunning images Emma captured for us. She is amazing, creative, and very talented! Every moment of the best day of our lives is saved forever! Thank you Emma!" -Victoria & Kyle Rodrigues

    Sent on 01/23/2012
  • R

    Rebecca · Married on 05/26/2013

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    Shadowing Lights provided excellent service. I received many comments on how relaxed and fun the photographers were and many more comments on the quality of the photos and the amazing price we got. I highly recommend Emma and her team.

    Sent on 05/18/2014

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review