Skip to main content
Weddings

Shaded Soul Band Reviews

Shaded Soul Band

Shaded Soul Band

West Hartford, CT
Rating 5.0 out of 5, 40 Reviews
View more information

40 Reviews

Rated
5.0
out of 5.0
Recommended by 100% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 5 out of 5

Awards

  • 40
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2022 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner

14 User photos

  • Emily
    Emily G. Married on 01/15/2022
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Everyone should book Shaded Soul Band for their wedding!

    I wasn’t looking to book a band for my wedding, but it was the best decision I could have made! We saw the Shaded Soul Band at a bridal show, then went to see them live, and within 10 seconds of hearing them play we knew we had to book them. They sounded amazing! Renee, the band leader, was so easy to work with and so professional. Renee went above and beyond. She would call every so often to check in and see how we were doing with wedding planning. And when we had to postpone our wedding because of Covid, we got a ‘not a problem’ and the change was made. It was seamless.

    The day of the wedding the band started playing and everyone was on the dance floor. They were the talk of the wedding. People even continued to talk about how good they were the day after. It was non stop dancing as soon as they started playing. The music is one of the big things guests like to judge and the Shaded Soul Band had our guests wishing they booked this band for their weddings. They were a huge hit amongst our older and younger guests. I honestly can’t recommend them enough. If you want to have the best music for your wedding, book the Shaded Soul Band!
  • Alexandria
    Alexandria Married on 10/02/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Incredible!!!!

    It was truly an honor to have the opportunity to hire Shaded Soul Band for our ceremony, cocktail and reception music. Renee was incredible to work with. Her communication was efficient and super helpful leading up to the big day. The band learned a few songs for us, too. Our guests are still talking about their band a few weeks later. They have set the bar for wedding entertainment, or even just live music in general! We totally recommend to anyone and feel you must include their band in your budget. You won't regret it. Everyone was on the dancefloor and they were so excited, that they even danced between salad and dinner courses! It was the best night!
  • A
    Andrew W. Married on 06/26/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Grooving with Shaded Soul

    Shaded Soul played great and we danced the entire evening! Everyone enjoyed each tune :) The Band brings lots of energy and love to the party. I'd highly recommend them.
  • S
    Shannon B. Married on 10/10/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Book them!

    I'm got married on October 10, 2020. As a bride planning a wedding in the middle of a health crisis, I was hesitant to get any type of entertainment. I was planning a backyard and small wedding. I was nervous because I just couldn't imagine people dancing in close proximity in a time like this. One of my mother-in-laws only requests was to get a DJ so I had to oblige. I asked around and received a couple leads on Shaded Soul. I got in contact with Renee and she is AWESOME!! Renee was professional, thorough and knew how to keep the party going! She kept the ceremony and reception moving smoothly and flawlessly. I couldn't have imagined having our wedding with out her! She is also a part of a band! If you are planning a wedding/party no matter how big or how small, book Renee and if you are wanting live entertainment The Shaded Soul Band sounds fantastic (check them out online!) I am so glad I took the guidance from my mother-in-law and got a DJ. Don't wait, BOOK SHADED SOUL BAND!!!!!! You'll be grateful you did!

    Shaded Soul Band's reply:

    Hi Shannon,
    Thank you so much for the great review! It was such a pleasure to work with you during the planning stages and to share your day was even more special to me. You did an amazing job with all of the planning on your end so it made it easy for me to do my job and guide you through the process on your Wedding day. I was so happy to see the look on your face when I asked your friends and family join in a circle around you and Jake for your last dance of the evening. It was truly a special moment for all! You and Jake are an amazing couple and I wish you all of the happiness in the world. Please keep in touch!
    Thanks,
    Renee Prescott
  • J
    Jennifer H. Married on 10/03/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing wedding band!

    We had an amazing experience with the Shaded Soul Band at our wedding in August! Our guests frequently commented on how great the band was and how much fun they had dancing to their music. They also did a great job on the ceremony and cocktail hour music. We highly recommend!
  • A
    Arianna Married on 10/12/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Shaded Soul

    Awesome, kept the dance floor packed the whole night

    Shaded Soul Band's reply:

    Arianna,
    Thanks so much for having Shaded Soul Band as your entertainment! You're Wedding was so beautiful! The pictures you got need to be on the cover of a Wedding Magazine! From the first dance to the last dance everyone had a great time and the dance floor was packed because you have great family and friends! We kept the special dance song we learned for the dance with your father in our repertoire. Thanks for sharing your special day with us.
    Best wishes,
    Renee Prescott
    www.ShadedSoulBand.com
  • Ashlee
    Ashlee S. Married on 09/14/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Shaded Soul kept people on the dance floor all night!

    Shaded Soul kept people on the dance floor all night! Their sound is incredible and they really know how to play to their audience. Their fantastic energy really set the mood for the entire wedding. There was pure joy in the air as guests were so eager to have fun and dance the night away.

    Shaded Soul Band's reply:

    Hi Ashlee,
    Thanks for the great review! I'm so glad you came up and sang with the band. I'll send you a short video clip of you singing with us. We hope to see you at one of our Summer concerts next year. I hope you come up on stage and sing with us again.
    Thanks,
    Renee and the entire Shaded Soul crew!
  • K
    Kathy D. Married on 09/07/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Excellent!!

    I cannot tell you how everyone said the band made the wedding !!They were so smooth and just plan awesome that everyone was smiling and dancing!! No one is easier to work with than Renee!! She “has your back “ at all times!
    True professionals!
    Played all types of music for everyone !
    She worked very well with the bride & groom so much that they could enjoy the wedding!!!
    Excellent !! You must book them!!

    Shaded Soul Band's reply:

    Kathy,
    Thank you so much for the wonderful review. It was a pleasure working with you in planning your daughter's Wedding! My favorite part of the day was when Kailey walked down the isle to meet Robert as the electric guitar version of here comes the bride was playing. That was the perfect song for both of them! They are both lucky to have you and we are equally as lucky that you trusted us to be a part of their special day. Please keep in touch.
    Renee and the entire Shaded Soul crew!
  • J
    Jennifer T. Married on 09/06/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Sister of the Bride

    Shaded soul is the band to get for your wedding definitely. Renee Prescott the bandleader is awesome person to work with. And her band is awesome they play everything from the oldies so the current anything that you wish for pretty much. I'm also grateful that I've known this band for well over 19 years and it was a blessing that they were available to play for my sister's wedding. they were great even with the weather being bad and the switch up happening at the last minute they're very flexible and very great to work with. I highly recommend them.
  • T
    T Married on 07/20/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Your own private wedding concert!

    Shaded Soul was a blast to work with. Renee was not only happy to help us customize our wedding music but she also genuinely seemed excited to help us pull off a few surprises throughout the night. The band learned two new songs at our request and they absolutely delivered. We were so impressed by the energy, the quality of the musicians and their willingness to personalize our day. I would highly recommend them for your special day! We'd hire them again in a heartbeat.

    Shaded Soul Band's reply:

    Thanks so much for the wonderful review. We were more than happy to learn the John Legend and Darius Rucker songs for your special dances. It was also great to see that dance floor packed all night! If you have any fun pictures of people dancing please send them. I'm sure the band would love to see them. We hope to see you at some of our Summer Concerts next year!
    Take care,
    Renee Prescott and the Shaded Soul Band Members
  • Samara
    Sam Married on 06/15/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Personable, talented and affordable

    We were so thrilled and relieved when we found the Shaded Soul Band to play at our home wedding in June. Finding a talented and experienced band was a top priority for us. When we found them we knew they would be a great fit compared to other bands that came across as “cookie cutter”.

    From start to finish, Renee’s expertise and experience was evident with her communication and delivery. Renee was easy to work with and that made our wedding process much less stressful. Anytime we had a music issue, she had our back, which was key since we had a home wedding with little preexisting infrastructure.

    They learned several songs for us, including our first dance, and several songs in tribute to New Orleans (they nailed every single one!)

    They definitely played a wide variety of music, and had everyone on the dance floor. Our wedding was multi-cultural with different age groups, they had the dance floor filled from children to seniors, and everyone in between, from start to finish!

    Each band member brings something to the table, they are all incredibly talented.
    My parents, family and friends were impressed with how accommodating, professional and fun they were.
    We have received many compliments
    “on the band”. Even friends who are music afficionados were complimenting on how awesome they were and that they had such good vibes!

    Thank you again for your patience, energy, expertise and talent, you guys rocked it!
    We recommend this band hands down, and would hire them again; best in town!

    Shaded Soul Band's reply:

    Thanks Samara for these kind words. The view from your property is breathtaking and it was the perfect natural backdrop for your ceremony!
    It was such a pleasure to work with you, Michael and your entire family. We were so happy to see all of your guests both young, old and with many different cultural backgrounds on the dance floor. This really shows us that music is a universal language when the dance floor was crowded all night long. It was really cool to have your send off and then have guests come back in and still dance the night away.
    Thanks for letting us be part of your Wedding day! We hope to see you again at one of our local shows.
    Renee and the entire Shaded Soul Band.
  • Kim
    Kim Married on 05/31/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Best Band Ever!

    The Shaded Soul Band was absolutely phenomenal for my wedding. So many guests remarked how amazing they were. They are very easy to work with and make the entire process smooth and seamless! The band learned our first dance and the song selection throughout the night was perfect.

    Shaded Soul Band's reply:

    Hi Kim,
    All I can say is WOW what a night! The day was perfect starting off with the ceremony overlooking the water then an exciting party with you and your guests at Belle Mer. Thanks for having us provide the music for the start of the next chapter in your life!
    Please stay in touch,
    Renee and the Shaded Soul Band Members
  • M
    Melia/Vincent Married on 10/06/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Shaded Soul played at my daughter's wedding. They were fantastic! We couldn't stop dancing. Every time we began to leave the floor, the music started again, and EVERYONE turned around and came back! I was disappointed I had to stop to eat dinner! The music is simply outstanding and infectious and gave a great, uplifting, positive energy to the event. I would hire them again in a second!

    Shaded Soul Band's reply:

    Hi Nancy,
    I'm so glad we were able to provide the music for Melia and Vincent's Wedding at Danfords on Long Island. There were so many people dancing that we didn't even want to stop! The best part of the night for us was when Vincent took the mic and sang (Black magic woman and Shape of you) for Melia. These special moments will be cherished by everyone for a long time. Thanks again for the great review. We hope to see you again at one of our Summer concerts.
    Thanks for a great day,
    Renee Prescott
    Shaded Soul Band
  • K
    Kate Married on 09/22/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We hired DJ Soul to DJ at our wedding and couldn't be happier. She was 100% professional and made sure the music was the right fit for us and our guests. Renee contacted us a few times before our wedding to make sure we had all of the details sorted out. She made sure to play the type of music we told her we liked, while also reading the crowd and tailoring to the different age groups. Renee even took note of a song my sister mentioned in her speech and played it for us. It was a really special touch. DJ Soul is super fun and will keep your party guests on their feet. Wedding DJ's can be hit or miss sometimes, but you will have no regrets if you hire Renee!

    Shaded Soul Band's reply:

    Hi Kate & JJ,
    Thank you so much for putting your trust in me to provide the music that you and your guests wanted. Your family was such a pleasure to work with. Thanks again for the wonderful compliments. I really appreciate it.
    Take care,
    Renee Prescott (AKA DJ Soul)
  • S
    Suzanne Married on 09/01/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Shaded Soul Band was one of my favorite things about my wedding. I knew that they were good judging from videos I'd watched beforehand and their good reviews, but I was truly blown away by their work at my wedding. They have such energy, verve, and joy for their work; we got tons of of compliments and when the dance floor opened, EVERYONE got up and danced! I've never seen that happen at a wedding!

    They also paced the energy of the reception really well with music, directing tables toward the buffet, and pumping up the crowd. They played music that we had requested and stayed within the general style of what we wanted, all while providing their own unique take on the songs. One of the best things was that toward the end, Renee sensed that the older people (grandparents, etc.) were feeling kinda left out by the music choices, so she asked me if we could change up the music a bit. This was unexpected but ended up creating some of my favorite memories of dancing with my grandparents, and I was so impressed and touched that she "read the room" and adjusted accordingly.

    Renee also was an integral part of our ceremony music and lighting. The fact that she showed up so early to figure out a complicated outdoor set-up speaks volumes to how much care and detail she puts into her work. The result was perfect.
  • T
    Todd Married on 07/23/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    This coming year, my wife Sue and I celebrate our 23rd wedding anniversary. Part of what made our wedding day more special than we could have imagined was our good fortune to have booked Shaded Soul. If you've got a great band your wedding will be remembered for years to come. The band has a huge responsibility to set the tone and atmosphere for the entire afternoon or evening and you have one shot to book the perfect band.

    Shaded Soul was tight, brought their A-game with great energy, musical ability, stage presence, repertoire, punctuality and reliability. They were wonderful then and even more extraordinary now.

    “There’s nothing compared to live music; there just isn’t anything” - Gloria Gaynor

  • J
    Julie Married on 07/14/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Beyond my wildest dreams. Music was a top priority for my (now) husband and me while wedding planning. When we came across the video from Shaded Soul Band, we knew we wanted them at our wedding. We immediately connected with Renee (the band leader). She's incredible. She brought up so many things that we didn't even know we needed to think of (i.e. color of linens for band tables to match the wedding). They even learned the semi-obscure song we wanted for our first dance. She's a pro - not just amazing at her craft (a very talented singer and musician), but also at working with all our vendors to ensure everything went off without a hitch (and even better, without our involvement!).
    THE BAND THO. The Shaded Soul Band is full of amazing talent (which you always expect), but also really nice, genuine people who went out of their way to make sure the energy in the room was high. I think one of my favorite parts was when one of the lead singers and the saxophonist came onto the dance floor to dance with us.
    Our guests are still talking about how amazing and fun they were. I highly recommend them for your wedding or really any event.
  • K
    Karen Married on 06/23/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    What a wonderful, wonderful evening we had for the rehearsal dinner of our son and his fiancé, thanks to the Shaded Soul Band. They were set up and ready to play on time, had agreed to learn songs that were important to our family, and interacted very well with all of the guests. I had emails a week later from guests saying that they were still singing songs from the evening. It is difficult to find a band that is not only professional, great musicians, but also fun. I highly recommend this talented and organised Shaded Soul Band.
  • J
    Julie Married on 12/10/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Renee and the band are simply the best and were amazing to work with from start to finish. I am thrilled we chose them to be our wedding band; their music and energy are top notch and guests are still telling us how much they loved the band. In fact, two couples who were at our wedding in December have already approached me about getting Renee's contact information so Shaded Soul can be the band for their weddings.
  • A
    Audra Event on: 10/21/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I recently booked Renee & "Shaded Soul" for the first time for the Wadsworth Atheneum Museum's big 10th Anniversary "Splendor" Gala in October--they were terrific! Renee was so easy, pleasant and professional to work with. It's my pleasure to give the band a 5-star rating. :)

    Extremely talented band/entertainers. I will definitely be working with Shaded Soul in the future!
    -Audra Antrum
  • J
    Joseph Married on 10/14/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Shaded Soul Band was astoundingly good, and not just for a wedding band. One of the tighter bands I've ever seen live. Renee was super accommodating and responsive throughout the process. As a musician who loves music of many different genres, I made a lot of song requests and was very specific with which songs I wanted from their website. Renee and the band learned many of the songs I requested, and they absolutely nailed it. Their singers have tremendous power and vocal range, their sax player is amazing, and the bass player 'funkifies' even the most over-done pop songs and makes you appreciate them more than ever before. Simply put, the band is super tight. Renee herself is high-energy, charismatic, and a talented keyboard player and rapper! They even let me play trumpet with them, and we had a blast jamming together. My wife and I never left the dance floor the entire time Shaded Soul was playing, and my wife did a hoola-hoop performance to her favorite song that Shaded Soul Band had learned for her. Most of our friends were dancing raucously for at least 3-4 hours straight. I highly recommend future brides and grooms book Shaded Soul for their wedding. Having a band is really WAY more special and exciting than having a DJ (it just is), and they are the band to make your wedding the experience of a lifetime. We paid for the extra hour, and it was well worth it!
  • E
    Elisa Married on 09/21/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I am a talent buyer for the Willimantic Third Thursday Street Fest and booked Shaded Soul Band in September. I can't say enough about the professionalism of this band but more importantly their talent and enthusiastic performance proved to be one of our most successful festivals. The crowd couldn't get enough of them and my dealing with Renee was very easy. Overall, a most pleasant experience!! I will definitely be booking them again!
  • M
    Mary E. Married on 12/19/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Shaded Soul Band has played at the Glastonbury Riverfront Music Series 6 times since 2001 attracting over 3,000 attendees. They are outstanding musicians and singers who engage the crowd and get people up to the stage to dance the night away! I've been to smaller indoor events where they did an equally fantastic job. Renee is wonderful to work with and the band is always great. I highly recommend Shaded Soul Band!
  • User2891923 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    One of the best decisions we made was hiring this band. Everything from the hiring process to wedding day performance was seamless. Extremely accommodating and professional. They even let me sit in on drums. Everybody raved at how good they are. So glad I didn't hire a dj