Skip to main content
Weddings

Sew Ridiculous - Bridal Alterations Reviews

Sew Ridiculous - Bridal Alterations

Sew Ridiculous - Bridal Alterations

Ballwin, MO
5.0 out of 5 rating, 32 Reviews
View more information

Reviews

5.0 out of 5 rating
32 Reviews
  • Quality of service
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.9 out of 5 rating
100% Recommended by couples

Awards

32
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2022 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2021 Winner
  • Tracy
    Tracy H. Sent on 07/25/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Incredibly talented seamstress

    Theresa is incredibly talented. My dress fit well enough when I got it, but she transformed it into a glove-like fit. I could not be happier with her alterations and suggestions for adjusting the dress. Theresa also helped me choose an unique bustle that truly makes the dress look hemmed and not just tucked up.

    I was not in a rush to have my dress done, but she finished the work in a timely manner.

    My family and bridesmaids live in California, so I all of my visits with Theresa were solo. Fittings take awhile and quickly Theresa felt more like an aunt and friend. She's given me advice not only on the dress and wedding, but life. I value her opinion and enjoy my visits with her.

    Her sewing studio is located in her home. It is spotless and tastefully decorated. She has a nice private changing room too.

    Sew Ridiculous - Bridal Alterations's reply:

    You are such a sweet young lady and it has been my pleasure. Thank you trusting me with your custom gown. You will always feel like family to me too.
  • Brandi
    Brandi M. Sent on 09/15/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Love my dress!

    Theresa added cups, a corset and a bustle to my dress. She was easy to work with and the dress came out perfect. Highly recommend!

    Sew Ridiculous - Bridal Alterations's reply:

    Hi Brandi. Thank you so much for your 5star review. You where a beautiful bride. Best wishes and God bless
  • C
    Carrie C. Sent on 09/24/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing experience!

    Theresa was absolutely amazing to work with! My dress had many bustle points and she made it look amazing! My dress fit absolutely perfect to me when she was done with the alterations! She also altered my moms dress and it fit perfect as well! You can definitely trust her with your bridal alterations!

    Sew Ridiculous - Bridal Alterations's reply:

    Thank you Carrie. It was my pleasure taking care of your alterations. It was such a beautiful dress and you were so pleasant to work with. I wish you nothing but the best!
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • Erin
    Erin O. Sent on 08/10/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Made by Wedding Experience Gone Wrong and Made it Right!

    I had a horrible wedding dress purchasing experience at Maiden Voyage in St. Louis in which they ordered by dress 4-6 sizes too big initially and then proceeded to order it one size too big again. Theresa assured me it would be ok and she made my dress fit flawlessly and the rest of my wedding dress experience go perfectly. She is absolutely wonderful, talented, easy to communicate with, and I will be back for any other wedding related alterations I may need in the future like bridesmaid dresses!

    Sew Ridiculous - Bridal Alterations's reply:

    Thank you Erin! I fine joy in what I do and I’m so glad your experience with me was more positive than your experience with the shop. I love all my brides and making them happy, makes me happy. God bless!
  • Katie
    Katie M. Sent on 07/26/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Wedding Dress

    I will continue to go to Sew Ridiculous for all my wedding dress needs. She is easy to talk to and does great work!
  • V
    Victoria B. Sent on 08/02/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Theresa is a great!

    Theresa is a great seamstress! She made my dress look even more amazing on me than when I bought it in the store! She was always flexible when I needed to change appointments! Great seamstress and very nice to work with!

    Sew Ridiculous - Bridal Alterations's reply:

    Vistoria you were awesome to work with and your dress so dreamy. Thank you for the kind review. I wish you all the blessing this life has to grant you and your marriage.
  • Trisha
    Trisha Z. Sent on 08/13/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Great lady! Amazing work on my wedding dress!

    I purchased my dress at Maiden Voyage in Manchester, MO. Upon purchasing, Theresa Mahaffey of Sew Ridiculous was recommended for my dress alterations. I purchased my dress off the rack. It fit quite well, but I knew I would at least need my dress train to be hemmed, as our elopement ceremony was hiking in Glacier National Park, MT (highly highly recommend btw). My dress was a showstopper, but I should mention it was a tight fitting dress in nature & I was about 4 months pregnant at the time of my consult with Theresa. With this being my first pregnancy, there were some obvious concerns about how much I would grow in the next month or so and my dress not fitting. Theresa erased every worry! She was nice, personal, yet professional. She came up with alteration options that hadn't even crossed my mind. And man, how she hemmed the highly intricate detail on my dress train??? I have no idea, but it was stunning! Check out the back of my dress. The corset-tie closure is a portion she made and put in place. The dress was originally a zip closure, but the corset-tie closure was the perfect solution to a growing pregnant belly. If you don't visit Theresa for your dress alterations, your loss!

    Sew Ridiculous - Bridal Alterations's reply:

    Holy Smokes! Trisha, those are gorgeous photos. You are a beautiful woman and bride. God bless you and your new family for eternity.

    Thank you for letting me be part of you special moment.
  • K
    Kathya C. Sent on 04/21/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Wedding dress

    Mrs. Theresa altered my dress to perfection! She is also very sweet and I highly recommend her for you dress alterations!

    Sew Ridiculous - Bridal Alterations's reply:

    Kathy’s, what can I say? It was truly my pleasure. I love what I do and every bride I meet. You look beautiful and happy! God bless and thank you for letting me be part of your wedding plans.
  • Hannah
    Hannah B. Sent on 02/20/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Choose theresa!

    Theresa is a MIRACLE WORKER. She was able to take a sample dress that really did not fit and turn it into a beautiful, well-fitting dress. All of the changes she made looked purposeful. She is truly so knowledgable and skilled. If you're considering her, choose her!

    Sew Ridiculous - Bridal Alterations's reply:

    You are so sweet Hannah! Thank for your kind review. It was my pleasure to work with you on your dress, to make it perfect for your wedding day. I love what I do, it’s my super power!! Haha God bless
  • R
    Rachel R. Sent on 01/20/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Theresa is our fairy godmother!

    Theresa is amazing! She did my wedding gown, as well as dresses for my sister, my mom, and the mother and sister of the groom, plus my sister's wedding gown and dresses for my mom and me for my sister's wedding. She did a wonderful job on every dress and even restored my mom's veil so it could be my "something old"!

    Sew Ridiculous - Bridal Alterations's reply:

    Rachel you were such a beautiful bride! I was truly honored to work on your families dress for your special day and also your sisters. I had such fun with your whole family! Please stay healthy and God bless.
  • A
    Alison R. Sent on 08/04/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Very comfortable

    Theresa was amazing from the first time I met her and made me feel so comfortable and welcomed me into her home. I definitely would recommend her to anyone looking for a seamstress!!!!

    Sew Ridiculous - Bridal Alterations's reply:

    Thank you Alison. It was such a pleasure to work with you. I loved your dress and you looked amazing in it. I can’t wait to see the pictures.
  • R
    Rachael A. Sent on 01/12/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Wedding Alterations

    Theresa went above and beyond to ensure my dress fit like a glove. The turnaround for alterations was very short, and Theresa made sure my dress was ready in plenty of time. The dress looked amazing and I would recommend Sew Ridiculous to anyone who what great service and quality alterations!

    Sew Ridiculous - Bridal Alterations's reply:

    Thank you Rachael for the sweet review and the great photos! It was my pleasure to work with you on your dress and I am so please everything went well with your even. I pray for your happiness and wish you all the blessing God has to offer you.
  • C
    Chinara B. Sent on 08/23/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    It was a fun experience.

    I was so glad to have her. She did her thang on my dress. She made it fit me so well and it was also a very fun experience.

    Sew Ridiculous - Bridal Alterations's reply:

    Thank you Chinara. You were so fun too. You looked amazing in you gown. I can’t wait to see the pictures
  • Carly
    Carly G. Sent on 08/04/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing Job!

    I found Terresa through a recommendation from a friend, and she did an amazing job altering my wedding dress. She was very responsive and easy to make appointments with, even through the beginning of COVID as everyone was trying to figure out what was going on. Overall, I had 3 appointments: the first to do initial alterations, the second to fine-tune final details and figure out the bustle, and the last to check the fit. My dress was pretty form-fitting and required a lot of alterations in the top, which Terresa took care of perfectly. I was so lost when it came to which kind of shapewear would work best with my dress shape and material, and she was able to recommend what would work best. She even stored my dress until the wedding week and pressed and packaged it for the big day. My dress overall required quite a lot of alterations, but I felt like I was charged a fair price and could not have been happier with the result. My dress fit perfectly on the big day and I felt amazing in it. I would definitely recommend Sew Ridiculous for any bride!

    Sew Ridiculous - Bridal Alterations's reply:

    Thank you Carly for the wonderful review. I had such fun with you during our fittings. What a beautiful bride you made. I wish you great blessing in your marriage. Take care
  • M
    Morgan P. Sent on 09/08/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Extremely helpful!

    Theresa was amazing and got my dress in last minute due to Covid, but she made it even better than I thought possible! I highly recommend!

    Sew Ridiculous - Bridal Alterations's reply:

    Thank you Morgan! You were a pleasure to work with and I loved your dress. You looked like a fairy princess. I can’t wait to see pictures.
  • K
    Kayla N. Sent on 07/30/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Covid bridesmaid

    My good friends wedding was June 5th 2020. It was a very hard situation dealing with weather or not the wedding would even happen. We got our dresses and I had waited thinking it was Forsure postponed. Lucky enough, things went back to normal and the wedding was on! Theresa fit me in in a short time and to make thinks better, my dress was TWO sizes to small and couldn’t be taken out! I don’t know how she did it but Theresa made it work! Thanks again!

    Sew Ridiculous - Bridal Alterations's reply:

    It was my pleasure to wave my magic wand for your day to come true. Thanks for trusting me with your alterations. Please call or text next time you need help.
  • A
    Ana K. Sent on 07/30/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Perfection!

    Theresa did a great job altering my dress to fit like a glove! Not only did it look great but it felt great too. I wanted to add some extra fabric at the top of my dress to close it up some and couldn’t picture how it’d look like. Theresa knew exactly what to do and how to keep the same general design of the top and make me feel more comfortable in the most important dress I was going to ever wear in my life! I enjoyed working with her and would recommend others to go with her. Your dress will be in good hands!

    Sew Ridiculous - Bridal Alterations's reply:

    Thank you Ana. Your the best. You were so much fun to work with too. You look amazing in your wedding photos. God bless!
  • Deborah
    Deborah D. Sent on 05/30/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best in St.Louis

    Sew Ridiculous was the perfect place for alterations. I didn’t need much on my dress- just a wider zipper, but she took so much care to make it look perfect. We are an older couple but still wanted our special day and dress to look perfect. She made that happen! Thanks You!

    Sew Ridiculous - Bridal Alterations's reply:

    Oh Deborah, what a beautiful bride you made! It was my pleasure assisting in making your dress fit perfect. Thank you for such a nice review too.
  • M
    Melissa Sent on 07/26/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Great experience, would highly recommend!

    Theresa was a pleasure to work with & I would highly recommend her for any dress alteration needs. She is very skilled & knowledgeable and worked quickly & efficiently. Most importantly, my dress looked beautiful!

    Sew Ridiculous - Bridal Alterations's reply:

    Hi Melissa. Thank you for the awesome review. You looked beautiful and I wish you only the best in the years to come.
  • K
    Krista Sent on 08/02/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    wedding dress alterations

    I was referred to Theresa for alterations through the boutique where I bought my wedding dress and I am so glad that I worked with her! She listened to exactly how I wanted my dress to look and was able to alter my dress to match that perfectly. You can tell that she has a lot of experience and skill in what she does. I would definitely recommend working with Sew Ridiculous for your alterations.

    Sew Ridiculous - Bridal Alterations's reply:

    Thank you Krista! I had a lot of fun working with you. You looked beautiful in your dress. I can't wait to see the pictures.
  • B
    Barbara Sent on 07/30/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Very detailed!

    She did wonderful and very timely work!

    Sew Ridiculous - Bridal Alterations's reply:

    Thank you Barbara. It was my pleasure for sure. I hope you will come back to see me for your next alterations need. I do more than Bridal
  • S
    Samantha E. Sent on 08/06/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Theresa did an amazing job, was so kind and flexible, and made the experience so enjoyable!

    Theresa did an amazing job, was so kind and flexible, and made the experience so enjoyable!

    Sew Ridiculous - Bridal Alterations's reply:

    Thank you Samantha. I loved working with you. That dress, wow! You made it even more beautiful. I can’t wait to see more pictures.
  • R
    Robin P. Sent on 09/15/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Thank you Theresa

    My dress turned out perfect and you were so helpful in getting the right undergarments . And thanks for mopping up a few stress tears along the way ♥️

    Sew Ridiculous - Bridal Alterations's reply:

    You are so sweet Robin, thank you. I loved working with you and you made such a beautiful bride. I wish you all the happiness in the world in your new life together.
  • C
    Colleen D. Sent on 07/25/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Wonderful Seamstress!

    Not only is Theresa an excellent seamstress, she is SO patient with her customers! I appreciated her creative solutions to make my dress fit like it was made for me. She takes her time with the bride so you don’t feel rushed and validates every concern you may have, helping you to feel confident for your wedding day. She is very knowledgeable in her trade and created a beautiful under bustle for my dress so it felt light for dancing at the reception. I highly recommend her!!

    Sew Ridiculous - Bridal Alterations's reply:

    Thank you Colleen. I truly enjoyed working with you too. I wish you God's blessing throughout your marriage. Call or text me anytime you need some sewing or alterations done
  • S
    Susan P. Sent on 07/31/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Mother of the bride dress

    Theresa was great to work with. I was having a hard time finding the perfect mother of the bride dress. Theresa basically took a dress that I liked and turned it into a dress that I loved. I would definitely recommend her!!

    Sew Ridiculous - Bridal Alterations's reply:

    Thank you Susan. I loved that red dress. You looked stunning in it! YOu are also fun to work with.
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message