Senate Garage Reviews

16 | Kingston, NY
See photos, pricing and details

16 Reviews for Senate Garage

Recommended by 100%

16
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 5.0

5 User photos

Senate Garage 1
Senate Garage 2
Senate Garage 3
Senate Garage 4
Senate Garage 5
Sort by:
  • Paige

    Paige · Married on 08/10/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Perfect Venue

    When my husband and I went to check out the Senate Garage, it was the first venue we saw. We booked that day! The space is absolutely gorgeous; the Senate House made a beautiful backdrop for our ceremony and the reception was stunning! The lighting, bar, all the exposed brick was perfect for the rustic-industrial look we wanted for our wedding. Not to mention how amazing the staff was to us. April was so helpful and easy to work with. I felt stress free and supported throughout the planning process thanks to her. Our wedding went perfectly thanks to this venue and all of those who were a part of making it unforgettable.

    Sent on 08/11/2019
    Senate Garage 6
  • P

    P · Married on 03/21/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We held a non-profit meeting of about 100 professional at Senate Garage. The feel and look to Senate Garage holds true to the spirit of old time America and is an excellent example of how a re-purposed structure can carry its beauty through the decades. SG was extremely accommodating and able to work with our needs to provide everything we required to hold a modern, quaint and polished professional meeting. The sound/acoustics throughout the space was superb. This venue is located in a great location to Downtown happenings in Kingston. Our group will be happy to return!

    Sent on 04/22/2018
    Senate Garage 7
    Senate Garage 8
    Senate Garage 9
    Senate Garage 10
  • Sara

    Sara Martucci · Married on 01/19/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Perfect wedding venue

    We visited eleven different venues after we got engaged and Senate Garage was our favorite. As our first date was in January, we chose a January date for our wedding and needed to have a venue that had enough space inside for both the ceremony and reception. Senate Garage was really the perfect venue for us, as it had plenty of space for our guests but also felt intimate and cozy. It is a beautiful and well maintained space that barely needs any additional décor to make it look amazing. We also loved its location in charming uptown Kingston. April was our main contact person throughout our planning process, and it was truly enjoyable working with her. She is highly organized, responsive, and extremely helpful in answering all logistical questions.

    Since we chose a January wedding, there was a winter storm the night of our wedding. In the days before, April was in regular contact with us regarding the steps they were taking to make sure everything would go smoothly. She talked with the Department of Public Works and the bus company we booked to go over the best routes for our shuttle to and from the hotel. Once it started snowing, they made sure the pathways were shoveled and salted. At the end of the reception, April and Judy personally escorted our guests to the buses to make sure everyone made it safely on the bus.

    Overall, April & Judy are wonderful and Senate Garage is an amazing place to have a wedding!

    Sent on 07/28/2019
  • A

    Alex · Married on 09/15/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The best place to get married in the Hudson Valley

    Get married here! Save yourselves the stress of looking at dozens of venues and just choose the Senate Garage. My wife and I got married here two months ago, and now that the dust has settled and the pictures have been developed, we are happier than ever with our choice.

    First and most importantly, the people there are top-notch in terms of professionalism, organization, and kindness. We met the owner Judy and worked mostly with April - both were delightful in every sense.

    The venue is staggeringly beautiful. Our guests have gotten in touch in the past few weeks and told us how unique, gorgeous, and fun the space is. April worked with us to customize it to our style, and the results were amazing. Bridge Creek Catering, the team that handles Senate Garage weddings, were also outstanding (see their reviews for confirmation) and work extremely well with the Senate Garage team and space. Collectively, they made an A-team that we felt had our backs at every turn.

    As far as planning, April kept a great balance of staying in touch and keeping things moving while still giving us space to make decisions. She navigated the state park system for our outdoor ceremony onsite (recommend this!), which saved us a lot of time and stress. The Senate Garage also provided us a great packet if local vendors and artists for every aspect of our celebration (shout out to The Sheeley House for accommodations, Silver Arrow Band for music, Chops Grille for the afterparty, Le Canard Enchaine for the rehearsal dinner, All-Transportation Network for shuttles, The Dancing Tulip for flowers, and Jonathan Gies for custom signage and artwork).

    I can't say enough good things about the Senate Garage space and team. They made our wedding perfect (to us!), and we'd recommend them without hesitation.

    Sent on 11/20/2018
  • B

    Brittany · Married on 11/11/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our dream wedding at the Senate Garage in early November 2017! The venue is absolutely stunning inside and out, set in a great location in uptown Kingston NY, and has an incredible staff that made our experience there as pleasant and stress-free as it could be. My husband and I toured and booked the Senate Garage about two years before our wedding date after falling in love with the rustic decor and intimate atmosphere. While we were on top of our game booking the venue, our wedding planning efforts didn't really kick in until a few months before the big day. All I have to say is thank goodness for the help of the Senate Garage's wedding coordinator, April! Her engagement with us, attention to detail, and willingness to help in any way possible made the weeks leading up to the wedding a lot less stressful than they otherwise would have been. With years of experience and hundreds of events under her belt, April helped us craft the perfect evening for our wedding day and the whole event went off without a hitch...well, just one hitch ;)

    Looking back I feel so blessed to have gotten married at the Senate Garage in such a beautiful, industrial, romantic space. We've heard nothing but exceptional reviews from all of our guests and we could not offer a stronger recommendation for any couple considering this venue for their special day.

    Takeaways: Book the Senate Garage if you want an industrial, romantic venue (you really don't even need much decor since the walls are already stunning!), start working with April as soon as possible - she will help you create the wedding of your dreams.

    Sent on 12/01/2017
  • M

    Mark · Married on 10/28/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I wish we could say that WE were the stars of our wedding, but we’d be kidding ourselves. Our guests couldn’t stop raving about the beauty and charm of the VENUE! We had been looking for the perfect venue for weeks, but we knew from the first moments stepping into the Senate Garage that this was the place for us. It’s a beautiful blend of vintage charm with modern flourishes, and it perfectly matched our personal style, and the vision we had for our wedding. The spacious layout would work beautifully with a variety of floorplans, and our 100 guest wedding still managed to feel intimate without being cramped - and there was plenty of room for dancing! Having our ceremony and cocktail hour out on the Senate House grounds right around sunset was absolutely magical. Our experience with April and Judy at the Senate Garage couldn’t have been better. From our initial tour of the space up until the very last moments of our wedding, we had their full help and guidance in a supportive yet not intrusive way. Every need was anticipated and thoughtfully provided. We’d highly recommend this amazing venue.

    Sent on 11/04/2017
  • C

    Caitlin · Married on 09/30/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Senate Garage was absolutely amazing for our September wedding. My husband and I booked the space roughly 16 months before our wedding day. April and Judy are easy to work with and help your wedding vision become a reality. They are both great communicators, which helps immensely. April went out of her way to be there for us on our wedding day, and we so appreciated it. We had our ceremony outside on the Senate House lawn, which was a bit of a pain to plan, but April did everything she could to make the process go smoothly. The space is stunning, and I cannot imagine having our celebration anywhere else! Thank you Senate Garage!

    Sent on 12/17/2017
  • G

    Grace · Married on 09/15/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Choosing to have my reception at the Senate Garage was one of the best and easiest wedding decisions I made. From walking in the gorgeous garage doors to tour the venue the first time to exiting the venue as husband and wife, Doug and I felt so incredibly privileged to host our special day in such an incredible venue surrounded by the most incredible catering team and team and staff. The Senate Garage was so accommodating and flexible throughout the entire year of planning and we can't thank you enough for everything!

    Sent on 01/21/2018
  • S

    Scott · Married on 09/09/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Senate Garage is the best kept secret for wedding venues, plain and simple. Not only was it a beautiful, open space with just the right amount of rustic charm for our wedding, but it also let us tread that thin line between having enough room for dancing while also leaving enough space for guests to have a conversation at their tables without being drowned out.

    While the location is fantastic, what's even more impressive is the TEAM. April is a god-send. She kept us calm and collected throughout the planning process, was responsive, willing to speak after hours, and made things so SO easy for us on the actual day of.

    We're so happy that we chose this venue, and could not imagine our wedding anywhere else.

    Sent on 09/24/2017
  • M

    Melanie · Married on 07/29/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We just got married this July and we could not have asked for a better reception. April was very helpful in helping coordinate our big day throughout the process. Jessica at Bridge Creek Catering was a pleasure to work with as well. The food was excellent and her whole team made sure the event went smoothly. We were looking for a unique venue and the Senate Garage checked all the boxes. We can't recommend this place enough!

    Sent on 12/13/2017
  • N

    Nicole · Married on 06/17/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The senate garage is an amazing wedding venue! Judy and April were such a pleasure to work with throughout the whole planning process. We got endless compliments on how beautiful and unique this venue was. It is a completely blank slate for you to do anything with and to get as creative as you want. We had about 200 people at our wedding and the space was very comfortable with a large space for dancing and extra space around the bar. This venue is really an experience for your guests, from the moment they walk in, there are so many interesting things to see and appreciate. We had our cocktail hour outside under a tent and the guests really loved the outdoor space, it was perfect for a cocktail hour spread out throughout the senate house grounds. There is a bridal suite that can be open to guests for lounging or can be closed and kept private for the bridal party; we chose to keep the curtain closed and it was perfect! We loved having a space to get a way for a few minutes. This venue is really something special , and will give you a gorgeous backdrop for photos and beautiful lighting inside with the way the sun shines through the windows. If you want something a little different and unique yet classy and simply beautiful, this is the place for you!

    Sent on 07/09/2017
  • R

    Rick · Married on 06/03/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sharp, unique venue with a pleasant, professional team. We had difficulty finding the right venue and team to work with, until we found Senate Garage. About 15 mins into our first visit we had pretty much made up our minds. April, who was the lead, was an absolute pleasure to work with. She had a positive attitude throughout, was solution oriented and showed that she actually cared about our wedding. She was very knowledgable about the area and local vendors as well as which came up huge for us. April and Judy (the owner) treated us like family throughout the process. During the wedding weekend, they were outstanding. We couldn’t have asked for a better experience and we’re hoping we made some friends out of this experience because the team at Senate Garage are simply good people. And the venue is absolutely gorgeous, spacious and our guests were very impressed and enjoyed the space very much. We were lucky to get in when we did because this venue seems poised to take off in popularity. You’ll have an excellent and memorable experience.

    Sent on 06/07/2017
  • L

    Liora · Married on 05/28/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    There is not enough room here to adequately express what a wonderful wedding we had at Senate Garage. The final product was really indicative of the time and effort that Judy and April put into making the day so perfect for us. I initially did not think having a Kosher/Orthodox wedding at Senate Garage was going to be possible but Judy went above and beyond to make that happen for us. April was always so helpful along the way answering any questions I had and helping us through any issues that arose. April and Judy truly wanted our wedding day to be special and unique. I think the venue speaks for itself - it's beautiful, historic and one-of-a-kind. From the moment I saw the pictures online I knew I found what I had been looking for (and looking for and looking for). After months of details and planning the day itself turned out exactly as we had imagined and that was in large part due to April and Judy's efforts (as well as our coordinator Kate Arel of A Charmed Affair). Judy was there to the last minute of our wedding even directing us and our guests to the after-party location! Senate Garage really is the full package and the cherry on top is getting to work with Judy and April to plan your event.

    Sent on 12/13/2017
  • K

    Kathryn · Married on 11/05/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    What an incredible venue! We had the great fortune of finding the Senate Garage when it first opened and were able to book our wedding 5 months later. We first met the owners who showed us the venue and we fell in love. It is unique and you can make the space truly reflect you as a couple. It does involve more work but the result was totally worth it.

    They have a projector so we had a photo slideshow going during the wedding which was a really cool and personal touch. April was so helpful in making herself available to come and see the space and working with our wedding planner on logistics. It’s a perfect space that can comfortably hold a very large group but also not feel empty with a smaller one. The bridal suite is also special with vintage furniture and a private bathroom.

    We rented the outdoor grounds through the Senate House and had our ceremony outdoors under a tent. The grounds are beautiful and the old stone buildings and trees make for a truly incredible setting and amazing pictures.

    Our guests were blown away and we had the most perfect wedding at the Senate Garage.

    Sent on 01/05/2017
  • N

    Nicole · Married on 10/22/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our wedding at The Senate Garage in October 2016 and it was the most perfect day. April and Judy were amazing and helped to make sure our special day went off without a hitch. Day of, April helped to coordinate all of our vendors, and ensure everything was just as we had discussed. I highly recommend the Senate Garage. We received so many comments from our guests about how much they loved the space and how unique it was. Thank you Senate Garage! -Nicole & Ryan Magill

    Sent on 01/17/2017
  • R

    Rikki · Married on 10/15/2017

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our wedding at the Senate Garage last October and working with their team was a breeze! The space is absolutely beautiful and super unique - our guests were floored! They're always updating, too, so it was really exciting to finally get in there! Their rates are great. They have a caterer they're already partnered with for food and rentals, which was smooth, but did restrict you on finding additional wiggle room on budgets.

    Sent on 11/26/2017

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review