Semple Mansion Reviews

75 | Minneapolis, MN
See photos, pricing and details

75 Reviews for Semple Mansion

Recommended by 92%

75
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner

4.6 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.7
  • Professionalism 4.7
  • Flexibility 4.7
  • Value 4.5
  • Average response time 4.6
Sort by:
  • S

    Shayla · Married on 02/18/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Getting married at the mansion wasn't the plan until we walked in. Then we couldn't picture our day anywhere else. Katherine and Breanna were great. The mansion is absolutely stunning. Every angel every room every season. If you want an entire place with lots of rooms all for you, this is it. It's old, its stylish, its GORGEOUS. It has a personality all it's own. The vibe was so on point for our theme. Nowhere could have been it but there. It has a library for quite conversation and cake, a big bar for socializing and drinking, a beautiful and ornate ballroom for dancing or eating or both! The staircase will take your breath away its perfection for pictures and for that big moment when your guests first see you. There's a billiards room so the boys have something to do and don't get into too much trouble. And a bridal suite that is so bridal! This place is pricey but that's because it's perfect.

    Sent on 03/04/2018
  • M

    Megan · Married on 10/08/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Having our wedding at Semple Mansion was the BEST decision we could have made. The mansion itself is stunning and perfectly matched our Gatsby-inspired wedding vision. Our guests couldn't stop talking about how beautiful it was and how perfectly intimate our 183+ wedding felt (which can be a hard thing to pull off in many other venues). Plus, the price is definitely reasonable and they offer 10 different catering options, in addition to allowing mansion access (throughout the entire mansion) all day long. One major reason we chose Semple over other mansions is because they didn't nickel and dime us for "extra hours" before 3pm - instead, their rate was up front and 100% fair, which we really appreciated. Beyond that, the staff (especially Katherine!) was phenomenal. They were incredibly helpful with any questions we had, and throughout the entire night, Katherine was there to lend a hand. Plus, the transitions between floors for different parts of the evening was flawless. Our wedding was absolute perfection and we highly recommend Semple to anyone looking for a venue!!

    Sent on 10/27/2017
  • M

    Jill · Married on 07/21/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our family had a wonderful experience @ the Semple Mansion. The staff was incredible with hospitality. They were very kind, attentive, congenial, professional, and worked very hard to fulfill your wishes. Kathryn and Sophia worked as a team and represented each other with dignity and grace. The entire day from morning til midnight was magical. We loved the mansion and its beauty and splendor. The bridal suite was especially enchanting and sweet for the bridal party to prepare for the ceremony. The guests were completely inspired by the immediate beauty of the venue. We also loved the ease of the reception being in the ballroom. It too was magnificent, gorgeous, and lovely! We have absolutely no regrets to share about the Semple Mansion. Truly divine!

    Sent on 06/25/2011
  • M

    Mike · Married on 11/19/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Semple Mansion was the perfect venue for my daughters November wedding. It is romantic and historical, not to mention absolutely gorgeous. We had the ceremony, cocktail hour and reception, dance all in one location. Our guests loved not having to travel place to place, and we were able to use the entire mansion. The bridal suite is perfect for a large party to get ready, the wine grotto is so unique and the ballroom..just gorgeous. Katherine and Laura are very professional and answer questions in a timely manner. We have only positive things to say. The staff and the Semple Mansion made Paige and Logans day one to remember.

    Sent on 12/10/2016
  • C

    Caitlin · Married on 05/21/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Katherine was so accommodating to us and always willing to answer any silly questions at any time! She and her team made the entire booking, planning, and day of process for our wedding absolute perfection and easy as good be! The semple mansion is so breathtaking and the staff was so excellent I wish we could get married over and over again!!

    Sent on 06/03/2016
  • User6372250 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I loved Semple Mansion from the moment I saw it. There is a grand opulence to the venue. Katherine was absolutely fantastic in answering emails and helping us with details leading up to the big day. Laura was so helpful the day of the wedding and truly went out of her way to make our day special. It was especially nice to be able to bring in our own alcohol, which was particularly important to my father, who wanted a specific type of wine. The Mansion is so gorgeous on its own that we didn’t really need to bring in too many additional decorations. It was wonderful to be able to have the entire Mansion to ourselves so the guests could wander to all the different floors and rooms. We were also impressed that there was an elevator for a handicapped relative and for transporting large items upstairs. The bridal suite and groom’s room are perfect for getting ready. We also purchased the lot across the street for guest parking, which made it easy for out of town guests. I highly recommend this venue!

    Sent on 10/05/2016
  • K

    Katie · Married on 10/24/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Semple Mansion was the most beautiful venue for my fall wedding, I couldn't imagine it anywhere else! Katherine was incredible and easy to work with! She was responsive, kind, and thoughtful throughout the entire planning process, as well as the day of. The bartenders the mansion supplied were also incredible and went way above and beyond to help serve guests and clean up at the end of the night.

    Sent on 10/28/2015
  • User4335398 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Best location ever! They don't require to pick any specific caterer, nor do they have a minimum cost on food, drinks, etc. Katherine is such a delight to work with and very flexible with a bride's ever changing mind/details. All our guests said it was the best and most elegant wedding they have ever been to (and no alcohol was served - all reviews were sober :) ) and we did not have any decorations added to the Mansion, minus centerpieces. Piece of cake for any less creative bride like myself.

    Sent on 08/19/2014
  • E

    Erin · Married on 11/09/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    It was a dream wedding! Katherine was wonderful to work with and made it so easy for us! The mansion is gorgeous and has so much character that we didn't feel that we had to over decorate. The architecture is beautiful, so less is more. We loved that there were so many areas for our guests to see...main floor, wine grotto, lounge area and the ballroom. We took advantage of the grand piano and hired someone to come in and play for our cocktail hour. It was a magical night!

    Sent on 12/02/2013
  • User3383991 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Was a dream cone true. The bridal suite was lovely. The men were three floors down so there was no chance of my husband seeing me vefore the ceremony. The stairs were scary but so worth it.

    Sent on 12/25/2013
  • User3013583 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Absolutely in LOVE with everything about this venue! My guests all felt the same way! I had an amazing experience with Katherine and everyone at the Semple. Katherine kept in contact with me throughout the months, answered all of my questions efficiently, and allowed me to do drop by visits with barely any announcement! Don't let the cost scare you away, it is completely worth it! My one gripe is that only one bar service is allowed in to the mansion, Common Roots Catering, and we did not have a good experience with them. The alcohol provided was all local and we did not know any of it. We ended up being given the choice to pay outrageous stocking fees ($175 per beer!) to have Bud Light, Mich Golden, etc. and we weren't even guaranteed not to run out or pay for kegs ($400 per keg!). We weren't happy about that, hopefully Semple will allow other bars to cater in so that people have choices who to hire.

    Sent on 09/27/2013
  • A

    Amber · Married on 07/12/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    When I purchased my wedding dress at Semple Mansion (when Posh Bridal Couture was still there), I could only dream of having my wedding there. A few months later, my now husband and I took the leap and booked the mansion for our big day. From that moment on, I worked with Katherine, the Executive Director at the mansion. Working with her was phenomenal: every time we had a question, we only had to send her an email or call her to get a quick answer. She was great at reminding us of upcoming due dates for payments at the mansion itself, as well as getting updates on details from outside vendors (i.e. caterer, rentals, etc.). She was extremely patient with us as we got closer to the day of and had more and more questions. She updated the table layout at least three times for us and was very understanding to our changing needs. We couldn't have asked for someone better to work with through all of this.

    Almost a year after signing our contact, the day of the wedding arrived. Katherine was there to help us with everything we could have possibly needed. The tables were already set up when we arrived. The transition from ceremony to cocktail hour on the first floor was quick and flawless. All of the staff on hand were great and mansion looked perfect.

    Looking back, we can't imagine choosing a different venue for our wedding. Everything fell into place just perfectly and the day was amazing. We highly recommend working with Katherine and her staff at Semple Mansion if you want a wedding ceremony/reception in an old fashioned, Victorian-style, and romantic wedding!

    Sent on 08/03/2013
  • T

    Tara · Married on 06/29/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I am not exaggerating when I say my wedding at Semple Mansion was the most perfect day of my life. Katherine was phenomenal in working with us and was always willing to show us around "just one more time." My guests were raving about how beautiful the site was, and regardless of how many times I had been in Semple, it still took my breath away. I am so thankful that we had our wedding at Semple Mansion and I couldn't have imagined it being anywhere else. The vendors all knew what they were doing and where to go, so I was truly able to sit back, relax, and enjoy the day.

    Sent on 08/12/2013
  • A

    Anna · Married on 02/10/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I could not be more pleased about my wedding at the Semple Mansion. Katherine and Britty(coordinators) could not be more kind, efficient, and eager to help make my day perfect. Truly, I would recommend the Semple to EVERYONE in the twin cities area. You cannot beat the elegant interior design and beauty of this place! Well worth earth penny.

    Sent on 02/27/2013
  • S

    Jen · Married on 02/18/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I would never have had my wedding anywhere else. My guests had so much fun and it was so unique.
    Katherine knows how to get things organize and help you create a flawless event.

    Sent on 03/01/2012
  • K

    Katie · Married on 10/15/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Katherine and her staff were simply wonderful to work with. My mom and I would pop in on multiple occasions to see if certain small details we wanted would "work" with the venue. Even if we dropped in unannounced, Katherine was there with a smile and willing to show us the ballroom another time!

    We heard nothing but wonderful feedback from our family and friends. Everyone said it was a wonderful wedding and a beautiful venue. We were married in October and I LOVED how the grand foyer and ballroom looked for our reception. It was sunset as our guests arrived and the mansion had such a warm and welcoming feel to it.

    If I had to use one word to describe my wedding, it would be: perfect. And it is all thanks to Katherine and the beautiful Semple Mansion.

    Sent on 11/12/2011
  • B

    Brooke · Married on 09/04/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Phenomenal venue, Katherine is absolutely amazing to work with!! Highly recommend considering Semple Mansion as our day was PERFECT and our guests loved the beautiful, intimate atmosphere. Free parking is a plus considering it's location. The bridal suite was exactly what we needed for getting ready. The ballroom is one of a kind...stunning decor/chandeliers, great built in seating along the perimeter so guests are not limited to their tables, good acoustics for our DJ and slideshow. Could not be happier with our venue choice!

    Sent on 09/17/2011
  • Samantha

    Samantha · Married on 08/19/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Words cannot express the flawlessness of this venue!!!! Everything everyone says about this place is true -- it is really THAT wonderful! The mansion is worth every penny as it truly provided a venue for both our ceremony & reception that was full of class. And the glory of the mansion is that it is already so beautiful that it is a turnkey operation --it really doesn't need any further decoration, which saves LOTS of money and effort -- and gives more time to add the personal touches that really matter :) Katherine & Sophia are absolute JOYS to work with -- they know their stuff and will customize the flow of the space to accommodate your vision. We had 185 attendees, and I was somewhat concerned about space, but it turned out to be a non-issue -- & what's more, many of our guests complimented us on the "intimacy" of our venue! It was perfect. It became a joke throughout the evening on how many times we said, "perfect." HIGHEST recommendation for the Semple Mansion!!!!

    Sent on 08/26/2011
  • N

    Nicole · Married on 08/12/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were working in a budget for our wedding and The Semple Mansion met all of our expectations AND was a great value. I would recommend the venue and their staff to anyone!!!

    Sent on 08/22/2011
  • N

    Namrata · Married on 08/05/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Everything was great about the Mansion- including the staff, especially Katherine. The only two things I could critique was that the curtains to the bridal boutique were not closed on the wedding and this really bugged me as the bride. I'm sure the guests did not notice, and that was not the fault of the mansion! Also, it was really hot but that will happen when there are 210 + people in a place. It was a beautiful wedding, a beautiful space, and the staff was so so helpful. I fully recommend it.

    Sent on 08/26/2011
  • A

    Amy · Married on 06/04/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Absolutely Phenomenal Venue! Everyone kept saying how beautiful the Mansion was...it was the perfect reception venue. Katherine was also great to work with.

    The only down side was that the dance floor was hot but then again when you have over a 100 people dancing and having a blast it was only to be expected!

    We would recommend The Semple Mansion to everyone!!! If we had ten thumbs we would put them all up!!!

    Sent on 06/09/2011
  • A

    Alyssa · Married on 06/03/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I can't say enough great things about the Semple. The venue is so incredibly gorgeous and has a perfect space for every part of the wedding. The ladies loved getting ready in the bridal suite and the groomsmen in the billiards room. Guests really enjoyed the convenience of having the ceremony, cocktail hour and reception all in one venue. The transition from ceremony to cocktail hour in the foyer/wine vault to dinner upstairs in the ballroom is seamless.

    The staff at the Semple is phenomenal. I had about 800 questions leading up to the wedding and both Katherine and Sophia were incredibly prompt in getting back to me. There are so many details to keep track of and plan so their quick responses were so helpful. They are total pros in every way!

    One perk of using the Semple is getting to bring in your own alcohol. All we had to worry about was delivery of the beer and wine and the Semple bar staff took over from there.

    We had an absolutely beautiful and memorable wedding day and would highly recommend the Semple mansion!

    Sent on 06/05/2011
  • N

    Nicole · Married on 10/17/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Katherine was wonderful. She is very good at her job and you can tell she enjoys it. She was very helpful and just knowing that she had everything taken care of helped me relax and enjoy every moment of my wedding day. She made our wedding perfect. Semple Mansion is really the most perfect place to get married and have your reception.

    Sent on 10/21/2010
  • M

    Matthew · Married on 09/24/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our wedding was perfect. I realize this is the response people are looking for, but honestly things could not have been better. My wife Sarah and I are still beaming and we were married a week ago. Katherine at Semple Mansion was amazing to work with. She was always available, attentive to our needs, and a fun person to work with. She made things seem easy. All of the vendors involved worked harmoniously and things went off without a hitch. Thank you for a wonderful evening!

    Sent on 10/01/2010
  • H

    Hayley · Married on 08/28/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Semple Mansion is such a beautiful space, and so dynamic. We held both our ceremony and reception there and were thrilled with the outcome of the entire day. We opted not to hold our ceremony on the foyer level as is generally done, but used the ballroom instead. We couldn't have imagined a more perfect space for our ceremony--the ballroom is gorgeous and was large enough to hold our 200+ guests, but still felt quite intimate. Katherine (and our caterer--3 Sons) took our desire to use the ballroom for the ceremony in stride, and were able to flip the room from ceremony to dinner during our cocktail hour! We held our cocktail hour on the foyer level and in the wine cellar--our guests loved the opportunity to explore the space.

    Katherine is great to work with! Every vendor we worked with said the same when they learned which venue we had selected. She and her assistant Sophia are very fun and refreshingly energetic, but also know how to efficiently and effectively execute an event. They were integral in the success of our wedding. They know their venue, and how to best use it. They also quickly and gracefully solved any problems that arose.

    Given the opportunity to do it all over again, we would select the Semple Mansion (and Katherine and Sophia) again, without a doubt!

    Sent on 09/07/2010

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review