Skip to main content
Weddings

Seattle String Quartet Reviews

Seattle String Quartet

Seattle String Quartet

Seattle, WA
4.8 out of 5 rating, 18 Reviews
View more information

18 Reviews

Rated
4.8
out of 5.0
Recommended by 96% of couples
  • Quality of service
    4.6 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.7 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.9 out of 5 rating

Awards

  • 18
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner

1 User photo

  • S
    Stephanie H. Married on 07/19/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Wonderful Music for our Wedding

    Working with the Seattle String Quartet for our wedding was wonderful. They were very responsive and professional. We provided a list of songs from their repertoire and schedule for the ceremony and cocktail hour. They were on time, played beautifully and our guests loved having them there. Thank you so much!
  • Kylie
    Kylie A. Married on 07/02/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Beautiful music for our day

    We booked a string trio for our wedding and had a few special request songs for the bride and recessional. They were professional and played everything beautifully. Additionally they were very affordable and punctual.
  • Y
    Yan Married on 05/26/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    As a former violin player, I really wanted to have a violin-cello duo for our wedding and I had some very particular song choices in mind. I spent hours listening to samples from different string groups around the Puget Sound, and we ended up hiring the Seattle String Duo due to a combination of fair, straightforward pricing and their sound samples sounded the best (in tune, the right tempo, etc.). Even though their pricing changed between my initial inquiry and when I formally hired them, they were so kind as to honor the initial estimate.

    I worked with Elaine and Jan ahead of time on logistics and song selections and they were very friendly and willing to accommodate, without an extra charge, the specific selections I had in mind, even though it wasn't listed as part of their normal repertoire. Elaine gave me the best advice too-- to make sure to wait a few seconds before making my grand entrance as the bride. :-)

    Day of, Barb and Jim played our ceremony and cocktail hour and they were absolutely amazing. Their years of professional experience shone through as they played selections ranging from classical to pop/rock to Disney (our genre choices), which contributed to an elegant atmosphere to our ceremony and cocktail hour.

    If you're looking for a string group, don't do what I did and waste a lot of time listening to endless sound samples-- just hire the Seattle String Quartet!

    Seattle String Quartet's reply:

    Dear Yan, Thank you for your kind words. We appreciate your articulate review and praise. Sincerely, Elaine
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • Nicole & Lydell
    Nicole L. Married on 05/25/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The String Trio arrived early to ensure strings were tuned perfectly before guest arrived. They did a fabulous job and have no complaints!
  • L
    Larisa Married on 07/22/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We booked their harp player and violinist for our wedding ceremony and cocktail hour. They were wonderful, sounded gorgeous, and our guests were moved by their music. They have a selection of song ideas on their website, but are also open to custom songs (for walking down the aisle to, etc.).
  • Mark
    Mark Married on 10/17/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We (my wife and I) were so very happy with Jan and her string quartet. We asked for them to play Titanium and Just Like Heaven and they jumped on learning the sheet music and played the music as if they were Cure and Sia/David Guetta Fans forever themselves. The music they played made our wedding that much more special and we highly recommend them for your special day.
  • User2345371 2+ years ago
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Thank goodness the Seattle String Quartet was available to play at our wedding! They were Heaven-sent! We had engaged another group 5 months earlier and were disappointed by the lack of communication and commitment. It turned out to be a blessing- as we found the perfect (5 star) alternative in the SSQ!!! The music was divine, and the musicians could have been plucked right out of the philharmonic (as their backgrounds reflect). After our disappointment with the first group I was embarrassed to contact Elaine so close to our wedding, and then was amazed at how quickly she mobilized and arranged everything. I also found it a bit odd to be talking with Pastor Jan, Elaine's partner in Kansas, to discuss music for a wedding in Seattle, but worry was unfounded. After I spent hours on the internet searching for music Jan suggested the perfect pieces to co-ordinate with the different parts of our ceremony. We could not be happier with the results and highly recommend Seattle String Quartet for a perfect venue!

    Seattle String Quartet's reply:

    It was a joy working with you. Thank you so much for the wonderful review.
  • User2285532 2+ years ago
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The Seattle String Quartet was extremely easy to work with. They played a critical role in our ceremony and would absolutely use them again. Not only were they great to work with, they performed extremely well, so all in all a group I'm happy to endorse.

    Seattle String Quartet's reply:

    We truly appreciate your kind words.
  • User2272577 Event on: 08/01/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The Seattle String Quartet's music was the highlight of my mother-in-law's 90th birthday dinner. Delicious food and wine, lovely garden setting at a winery, smiling guests. All these elements would have fallen flat if not for the Seattle String Quartet imbuing the atmosphere with music graceful and at perfect tempo.

    One guest suggested the musicians wear colors other than "mournful" black. And we weren't quite sure if we sure tip or how much.

    Seattle String Quartet's reply:

    Thank you for your thoughtful review. I agree wearing colorful attire would have been fun for the occasion. However, professional musicians wear concert black and tuxedos unless requested otherwise. Gratuities are never expected but always appreciated. Sincerely, Elaine
  • A
    Angela Married on 07/31/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    My fiancé and I are the classy, traditional, romantic type who knew that we wanted live music at a wedding and not just songs playing from a CD, so when we came across the Seattle String Quartet, we knew we had found our dream wedding music! We never realized that we could afford this reality or that it existed! The music was delicate, whimsical, absolutely beautiful, and exactly what we had dreamed of for our wedding...and we could afford it!!! Their website was informative and very easy to navigate. We were able to select from a variety of packages at what we considered a very reasonable price and were able to sample their music to get a taste of what they sounded like. Whenever we had questions (which, we had many!) Elaine Ekstedt replied either right away or fairly quickly so that we almost never had to wait. She was kind, personalble yet flexible, flexible, and had very direct, comprehensive, thorough answers! We special requested several pieces that were very significant to my fiancé and myself and they were able to accommodate that, too! During the time when we were debating whether our wedding would take place out of state or in state, but we really wanted to take the Seattle Quartet with us, Elaine even offered us their CD. Weddings aren't just business to her...she really cared to make our wedding as special and as close to our dream as she could. If we had another special occasion that requires classy, beautiful, breathtaking music, I wouldn't hesitate to go directly to the Seattle String Quartet. I would recommend them to anyone who lives in the Seattle area. They are truly a gem!!!!
  • C
    Cathy Married on 07/12/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We had the harp and string quartet for our wedding ceremony. They were all we had hoped they would be. The music was beautifully played. The music is such an important component of the wedding and they were perfect. Their professionalism was exceptional. I really enjoyed working with the harpest ahead time in deciding the music to be played. She was flexible and I knew that she understood what atmosphere I wanted to create. I can not recommend them highly enough.

    Seattle String Quartet's reply:

    Thank you, Cathy, for taking time to leave this review. We appreciate your kind words and the musicians expressed to me their joy in working with you.
  • W
    William Married on 09/21/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The Seattle String Trio was professional, unobtrusive and added a wonderful ambience to both the ceremony and the reception that followed. They were very responsive and helpful in the selection of music for the ceremony. During the reception the trio played their own selections which were appropriate, well played, and well received. We could not have been happier and I would recommend them without reservation.

    Seattle String Quartet's reply:

    Thank you for this wonderful review. You were great to work with. Blessings on your marriage
  • User1210727 2+ years ago
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Lovely music...were willing to play things not on their standard playlist...made our ceremony extra special and our cocktail and dinner hour elegant.
  • M
    Melissa Married on 06/18/2011
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Pastor Jan and his team provided the perfect music to compliment our garden cermony. We would definately recommend to others wanting a string quartet.
  • User2288229 2+ years ago
    4.9 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    Tremendous experience. They were responsive, and easy to work with and then performed perfectly. I'd gladly recommend to a friend.
  • T
    Tracy Married on 09/19/2015
    4 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    Music was good, vendor was fairly easy to book. No issues with the service.
  • B
    Nicole Married on 04/25/2020
    3.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      2.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.0 out of 5 rating

    Excellent people but the quality of music was not reflected in the price

    I am sad to write this review because the musicians were super professional, friendly and easy to work with. The main person I was in contact with was also super responsive and flexible with the pandemic and COVID uncertainty. She was easy to reschedule with and was understanding. However the actual ceremony music was below average, a lot of mess ups, and not smooth string music like I expected. I listened on the website and it sounded great but day of was very choppy. It was $600 for an hour and for the price I was expecting flawless music delivered.
  • M
    Milan R. Married on 06/17/2022
    3.4 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      2.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    good music, miscommunication

    We hired the string trio to play for our messing ceremony and the beginning of our reception (same venue). We were glad that they had a set list to choose from on their website which helped us narrow-down what pieces they should play. We picked one piece for the prelude, one for the precessional, and one for the recessional. For the beginning of the reception, we told them to play some nice classical music but we didn’t have anything specific in mind. The day-of was rainy and our wedding was outdoors but we’re in the PNW so we had a solid backup plan and had a large tent for the guests as well as a smaller tent for the trio. They were on-time and nice to work with, however the music itself was very disappointing. We had a very clear vision of our ceremony that didn’t include the stereotypical wedding music like Here Comes the Bride.

    At the start of the ceremony, the trio paused as discussed but once our wedding party started walking down the aisle, they re-started playing the prelude music instead of the precessional music. We figured that they might be waiting for us (the couple) to start walking down the aisle to play the precessional music, so we waited until it was our time to go and our wedding planner gave them the agreed-upon cue. They stopped playing the prelude music but did not play the precessional. Instead, they started playing Here Comes the Bride! After a few seconds of us not walking down the aisle (and maybe giving them a bit of side eye) they realized something was wrong and stopped what they were playing to start playing...water music by Handel. Again, the wrong song. At this point we were kind of mad and still not walking down the aisle. They seem to get panicked and flip through their binders to (we hoped) finally play the music we requested. They got ready and for the third time played the wrong song. At this point, our wedding planner walked over to them to verbally tell them the correct piece and they finally got it and we walked down the aisle.

    To their credit, they nailed the recessional music, on cue and everything. After the fact, they blamed this mishap on the rain and the fact that we specified a precessional piece but not an entrance piece. We did a lot of research on the music and got lots of advice from our wedding planner and never encountered the idea of an entrance piece that’s separate from a precessional piece. If you decide to go with them, make sure to be very explicit with them about the pieces and cues or else they’ll ad-lib like they seemed to do with us. Aside from the mix-up, the music sounded quite nice.
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message