Scarlet Petal Reviews

32 | Westmont, IL
See photos, pricing and details

32 Reviews for Scarlet Petal

Recommended by 95%

32
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2010 Winner

4.7 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.8
  • Professionalism 4.7
  • Flexibility 4.8
  • Value 4.6
  • Average response time 4.8
Sort by:
  • V

    valerie · Married on 06/25/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We worked with Lee from scarlet petal. She did an AMAZING job with our wedding flowers. From the moment I walked in there she narrowed down my vision. At the trail prior to the wedding, I made minor changes and she mocked them up immediately and they were perfect. On the wedding day, the bouquets, ceremony decor, and reception decor exceeded by expectations. She is wonderful, fun, responsive, and reasonably priced. She was honestly one of my favorite vendors to work with!

    Sent on 07/18/2016
  • M

    Melissa · Married on 12/05/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I worked with Lee at Scarlet Petal and she was one of my favorite vendors! I had a general vision for our venue and Lee was the only florist/designer to add to it and provide her own input, which I very much needed and appreciated. She worked her magic on the night of the event, and even made sure to find me during cocktail hour to take a look at the space to ensure it was how I wanted. At that point, she still was able to make two tweaks to the layout, which made me so happy. Lee really managed to create something even better than my original vision, and the price was perfect. An incredible value. I have since recommended Scarlet Petal to my friends.

    Sent on 02/01/2016
  • User4328074 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Lee at Scarlet Petal is AMAZING and made our November 2015 wedding absolutely perfect! Flowers and decor were extremely important to me, but I only had a general idea of what I was looking for, didn't know a lot about specific types of flowers, and was planning my Chicago wedding from New York City - which made everything a little more difficult. In spite of all of this, Lee made everything so easy! She met with us when we were in town, put together samples, helped us come up with flowers and decor that fit well with our vision, and then was very responsive to my many emails when I had questions and wanted to change a bunch of things here and there. She also took the time to meet with us again closer to the date and go over all of the details one by one. We appreciated her experience and expertise, and everything the day of the wedding was amazing. Our flowers turned out gorgeous, Lee and her team took care of getting everyone their bouquets/corsages, all set-up, and take down, and I didn't need to worry about a single thing. We received many compliments on our flowers, were so happy with everything, and highly, highly recommend Scarlet Petal!

    Sent on 12/15/2015
  • User5566859 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Lee at Scarlet Petal was amazing. She was incredibly easy to work with, accommodated our weird schedule (we live out of state), stuck to our budget, and most importantly, provided BEAUTIFUL flowers. The flowers were one of my favorite parts of the day. The reminded me of Bhldn, which is exactly what I wanted. The value was also incredible...I was pretty amazed we got all we did for the price we paid (rare in the wedding world). Lee provides a showing of all your centerpieces a few weeks before the wedding so you can see the real product and request alterations. Again with flexibility, she was able to do this remotely for me, since I live out of state and was unable to come in. I requested a couple minor changes and the final product looked just like what I had envisioned but better. The flowers fit in perfectly with our space, and Lee also provided several extra decorative elements like a bird cage for our cards, which saved me the trouble of having to purchase a card box. However, the most impressive thing Lee did happened on the day of the wedding. I mistakenly ordered only four bridesmaid bouquets when I needed five. When I realized my mistake, I texted Lee to see if she could give my maid of honor a rose or something to carry, and she somehow created a perfectly matching fifth bouquet on the spot! I would absolutely recommend Lee and would use Scarlet Petal again if I ever had the need to.

    Sent on 10/28/2015
  • User4324989 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Lee did a FANTASTIC job on the floral arrangements for our wedding. She was able to transform our ideas into reality, and the best part is, we didn’t have to wait on the day of to find out. As we provided ideas and visions to Lee, she would continuously create arrangements to ensure our expectations were aligned. Not only is she a great florist, but she’s such a pleasure to work with. She’s very responsive and provides her professional opinion to ensure quality product for the big day.

    Sent on 06/29/2015
  • R

    Rebecca · Married on 03/03/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Scarlet Petal did an amazing job with our flowers for our wedding. Everything was stunning and people could not stop talking about my bouquet. The staff at Scarlet Petal was very professional and made the day worry free.

    Sent on 03/25/2012
  • M

    Meganne · Married on 08/06/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful arrangements and wonderful service! Picking flowers for our wedding was a difficult task because I had a very specific vision in my mind, but I did not know anything about flowers. Scarlet Petal was able to figure out all of my needs – even when I could not articulate them. Esther was fantastic. She was the only florist that listened when I said that I wanted to have lanterns as a part of my centerpieces! After I described the colors I was looking for, the lanterns, and the mood I wanted at my wedding she was instantly able to start talking about ideas that would create the atmosphere I wanted. I felt like I could trust Esther to make my wedding day beautiful from the start and I am glad that I did. The centerpieces were breathtaking, and all of the bouquets, ceremony decorations and reception accents were beautiful. Esther and Scarlet Petal were incredible to work with, and their work was outstanding.

    Sent on 10/12/2011
  • E

    Elaine · Married on 07/24/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I first met Esther last fall when she was setting up a wedding at a venue I was considering (and ultimately chose). I was clueless about the floral and decor issues and she helped guide me. She was really flexible in changing around our plans as I learned more about what I wanted and what I liked. Esther was really helpful in working within my budget without sacrificing what I wanted, and really worked to understand my vision. Prices were less for more product than at a few other places I looked at.

    I visited the studio a few times over the winter and spring-- not a fancy showroom but very practical. In the spring/summer, they always had tons of flowers being prepared for the weekend. One perk is that their wholesaler is in the front of the building, so when I wasn't thrilled with a choice of flower at my showing, we were able to look at and touch a huge variety of orchids until I found what I wanted.

    When Esther showed up on my wedding day with our bouquets, I was floored. They were more of what I wanted than I had envisioned or described. We got a million compliments on Esther's centerpieces-- weeks later, people are still telling me how much they loved them! Staff was super responsive on our wedding day too.

    Thanks Esther & Scarlet Petal!

    Sent on 08/28/2011
  • R

    R. · Married on 07/16/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Esther and the team at Scarlet Petal were so amazing that I don’t even know where to begin. My husband and I got married in July at the InterContinental Chicago. We visited two other florists before finding Esther, and we knew within five minutes of talking to her that we’d found our wedding florist. We knew next to nothing about flowers, but we did have strong opinions about what looks we liked and didn’t like. Esther was quickly able to pick up on our tastes and made outstanding suggestions. She even brought out flowers and vases to help us visualize. And unlike the other florists we met with, Esther helped us strategize ways to make the most of our budget. Our flower arrangements and bouquets were absolutely gorgeous. Had I not known how much we paid, I would have guessed our flower budget had been thousands more than it was. We received so many compliments on our flowers, and we definitely have Esther to thank. She was absolutely delightful to work with, and we so much appreciated her patience, honesty, and creativity!

    Sent on 01/08/2012
  • S

    Sarah · Married on 05/07/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jenny Anselmo at Scarlet Petal was fantastic! After our first meeting, I thought she had a good idea of the look I wanted - elegant, simple, not overdone. Her proposal was right on target and everything was pretty easy from there. She made the ceremony and reception beautiful with the chuppah and centerpieces with lilies. Our bouquets were lovely as well. I found the process pretty easy and painless and the outcome flawless. I would use them again for an event and would recommend to anyone planning an event.

    Sent on 12/23/2011
  • K

    Kelly · Married on 02/19/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Scarlet Petal provided our flowers and decorations. They did an amazing job! We received many compliments from our guests. The venue where we had our wedding said it was one of the best looking weddings, and that all of the flowers and decorations were beautiful. We were able to see samples before our wedding, and their timeline for final head count was very easy to work with. Scarlet Petal is a great vendor to work with.

    Sent on 04/24/2011
  • M

    Maureen · Married on 09/17/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I worked with Esther for the floral at our wedding (Sep'10) and she is absolutely amazing! I had met with a few other florists when we started planning and I was set on one until meeting with Esther. She was able to draw up an incredibly detailed description of what I had (rather inarticulately:) discussed with her in the span of about 20 minutes. After looking at her plan for our wedding and checking out samples of her work, there was no question who was going to do our floral! The day of the wedding, I was beyond thrilled with the results. The pieces were so lush and stunning, while still keeping with the simple, classic look that I was going for. Esther used these gorgeous silver and glass vessels to add color and variety to the arrangements. I remember sitting at the table during dinner and just admiring everything around me. It was exactly what I had wanted- I had described something out of the 1920's and I honestly felt like I was in the middle of the Great Gatsby:) Esther was a pleasure to work with throughout the entire process and was always willing to throw in her opinion on anything from placecards to linens, etc. whenever I asked. If I had to do it again, I'd go with Scarlet Petal in a heartbeat!

    Sent on 11/08/2010
  • M

    Melissa · Married on 04/17/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were incredibly fortunate to work with Esther on the flowers for our recent wedding. Upon walking into the room, we were absolutely blown away. Esther did a remarkable job. Our guests are still commenting on how beautiful the ballroom looked. We saved some of the flowers and they were stlll blooming almost a week after the wedding!! The wedding was in a hotel ballroom which can be total blah, but Esther transformed it into something magical. Seriously, people have been using that word to describe the space and credit for that goes solely to Scarlet Petal.
    Esther was really easy to work with and understood our budget constraints. Her proposal was super easy to read and understand. When we had questions she promptly sent answers and images to assist us.
    After speaking with a number of other florists, I was really feeling lost and jumped for joy after we met with Esther.
    Oh and my bouquet....even more than putting on my wedding dress, seeing the bouquet that Esther made for me really made me feel like a bride.

    Sent on 05/02/2010
  • R

    Rose · Married on 05/02/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We worked with Jenny and she was fantastic! She did the flowers at my sister's wedding and both of ours turned out great. She was so patient with me and very responsive. She did a great job working with our budget and the arrangements were absolutely beautiful--our expectations were definitely exceeded! Everything was very straight-forward cost-wise, and we really appreciated her willingness to work with our budget. It was very easy to coordinate delivery times as well and the whole process was stress-free. We'd highly recommend!

    Sent on 05/18/2009
  • LB

    Lindsay · Married on 04/18/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jenny was a pleasure to work with and didn't mind me re-confirming details MANY times. As a result, we had a beautiful ceremony and reception. THey are a true pleasure to work with.

    Sent on 04/21/2009
  • C

    Amy · Married on 01/24/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I cannot say enough about how much I loved my florist. I was a super decisive bride and knew exactly what I wanted right when I walked in so we did not have much contact during the planning process. When I did have questions or I forgot to add a nosegay or something of that nature, Esther was quick to respond and get back to me. Where she really stood out was on the day of the wedding.

    We had decided to save money by constructing our own Chuppah (This was the only DIY that we did for our ENTIRE wedding - in retrospect there is/was a reason that I don't DIY) We purchased bamboo poles and used Plaster of Paris to anchor them in buckets that were wrapped in satin that matched our bridesmaids dresses. The covering was my husband's late grandfathers prayer shawl. Well when we made it at home it worked. Day of, not so much, apparently every time they tried to get the prayer shawl up it brought the whole thing down. I had no idea this was happening and somehow Esther made it work, she had someone go out and get her fabric and worked her magic and got it up. If they wouldn't have been able to, it would have been devastating to my husband's family to not have that aspect of his religion in our wedding. So thank heavens for whatever she did to make it work!

    The flowers themselves were amazing, exactly what I envisioned, all blue hydrangea's, NO filler, mixed high and low centerpieces. We walked into see the room before the guests were allowed in and I kept saying Holy shit, is this my wedding?? I then proceeded to swear like a truck driver, because that's what I do. It was good swearing because I LOVED it. My bouquet was exactly what I wanted, the ribbon on it was a little on the whiter side when I was all in Ivory so Esther ran and grabbed different ribbon and fixed it in a matter of minutes.

    She was AMAZING!!

    Sent on 04/27/2009
  • K

    Karla · Married on 11/15/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We worked with Esther and had a wonderful experience. At our first meeting with her, I came with a hodge-podge of pictures and ideas and Esther sat with us for a good 3 hours sifting through everything to wittle down the ideas and come up with a plan. I wanted something different and centerpieces that wouldn't "compete" with our venue (the Chicago Cultural Center) - Esther really understood my vision even though I couldn't find the words to articulate it sometimes. She was very responsive to emails and invited us into the studio to go over the revised plan when I decided to change the centerpieces. She is a true artist and you can tell that she has a fantastic eye - in many of my emails back and forth with her, I couldn't make decisions on things, so I'd just say, "please do what you think looks best, I trust you."

    I could not have been more pleased with my flowers on our wedding. I actually started to tear up when I saw my bouquet and my BM's bouquets and my eyes welled up again when I saw the reception room for the first time. Every single thing was executed perfectly and we're still receiving compliments from guests that our flowers were some of the best people have ever seen.

    Sent on 02/04/2009
  • R

    Rachel · Married on 09/14/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Scarlet Petal is incredible! We worked with Jenny, and she was absolutely amazing!
    We did a lot of internet research and met with a number of very high-end florists. Everything in Scarlet Petal's portfolio was as beautiful, if not more beautiful than the other florists we met with, and they were less than half the price.
    Jenny was great to work with and very patient with us. My husband and I were not well versed in florals, so when asked what kinds of flowers we liked, gave answers like "not pink ones" and "submerged ones." Jenny was able to tease out what we liked and give us an education in orchids at the same time.
    I can't recommend them more highly!

    Sent on 08/05/2009
  • K

    Kerri · Married on 06/14/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had a larger wedding at the Knickerbocker Hotel. I LOVED Scarlet Petal! Jenny did an amazing job with our wedding and we had so many compliments on our arrangments & centerpieces. The best part was also the quality and at a reasonable cost since she gets the flowers wholesale. There is no overhead from a floral shop and no random orders to worry about. I would recommend them to any bride.

    She responds great to e-mails and also called us a few days before when the orcids did not come in the exact color that we were expecting.

    Sent on 10/08/2008
  • User4398427 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Scarlet Petal did a wonderful job with our wedding. I sent over the basic color scheme and look I wanted to go for and Lee sent back a detailed description of each centerpiece, bouquet and miscellaneous items (boutonnieres, extras etc.). She set up a sample showing which was extremely helpful considering its hard to picture what a bunch of flowers will look like together. I wanted a few changes made and Lee was happy to accommodate. On the wedding day, the bouquets and boutonnieres stayed strong all day during pictures and through the ceremony. I received numerous compliments from guests about how gorgeous the flowers were and what an elegant feel they gave the venue. The votives and floating candles were also a very nice touch.

    After the wedding, my mother in law wanted to repurpose some of the centerpieces for our brunch and rather than strike all the flowers as they normally would, Scarlet Petal put the flowers into portable containers (that still looked very nice), refrigerated them overnight and delivered them to the brunch the next day. We paid slightly extra for this but it was well worth it and clear that they were going above and beyond what had originally agreed on.

    My only minor complaint was a few of the flowers in my bouquet and husband's boutonniere came out purple (my color was blush pink). When I met with Lee for the sample showing she said she would not put in those flowers if they came out purple on the wedding day. I know that its tough call to make when we agreed upon a price and certain types of flowers and I understand they may not come out exactly how you want but it did bother me to have purple mixed in with blush when nothing else in the wedding would have that color. Despite the color, they were still mixed into a beautiful bouquet and looked great overall.

    Sent on 09/28/2014
  • L

    Lina · Married on 07/03/2016

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Lee Scott worked with me and my husband, Rob, on our florals for our July 3rd wedding. She was very helpful and detail-oriented. She helped put together such beautiful florals and was very accessible when I had additional questions/concerns. She worked with us a number of times when I changed my mind or needed to adjust minor details with regards to the wedding.
    On the day-of, she even helped me get ready to walk down the aisle, straightened up my dress and made sure my veil was laying perfectly across my back. She went above and beyond her florist duties to ensure I felt beautiful and everything looked gorgeous! I would highly recommend working with Lee. Thanks, Lee!

    Sent on 07/22/2016
  • K

    Kelsey · Married on 04/20/2013

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Scarlet Petal is an amazing job for my wedding at the Spertus Institute this past April. From boutonnieres to our 12ft chuppah, they didn't miss a detail. I came to Scarlet Petal with little direction and few ideas. I know my colors and what flowers I didn't like and that was about it. David and Sarah really tried to understand what style of wedding I was going for and what I imagined it would look like. We spent over an hour and half going through images of flowers and talking about how they could incorporate each into different pieces to make them different but cohesive. I left feeling like they really understood me and could take my vision to a higher level.

    When I went in to see a trial piece a few months later I met with David again. I was overall very impressed with their work but asked to make a few adjustments based on my initial reactions. David was very open-minded and flexible to my suggestions and I left knowing I was in good hands.

    The day of the wedding, Sarah showed up to my suite with the bouquets, corsages, and boutonnieres. They were stunning and I was so excited to give them out to family and friends. The rest of the wedding was incredible as well. I can't say enough as to how beautiful the ceremony and reception spaces looked. I was blown away.

    Flowers and decorations are not cheap. Anywhere. But Scarlet Petal really made an effort to work within my budget. We reused almost everything from the ceremony for the reception. They even designed small, simple vases of succulents, used on the dinner tables, that I was able to reuse for our Sunday brunch as well. Overall was completely satisfied with Scarlet Petal and would highly recommend them to any!

    Sent on 06/06/2013
  • L

    Lara · Married on 09/06/2009

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Flowers were very high on my priority list for my wedding and
    Scarlet Petal totally met and exceeded my expectations! I had a certain look I was going for (romantic/vintage farmers market feel) and they totally captured it. I LOVED my flowers!! They were a bit pricey but not too bad considering the service and quality of product I received, it was definitely worth it!

    Sent on 09/27/2009
  • K

    Kristina · Married on 10/01/2016

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Lee and the Scarlet Petal team were so helpful and accommodating when it came to designing and setting up our wedding florals. We got married in September and were looking for a combination of colorful flowers that transitioned from summer into fall. Lee helped us pick a palette of pinks, reds, oranges, and whites (with lots and lots of berries and greenery!) that we fell in love with. Lee gives you a lot of ideas during your first meeting, setting up various options for centerpieces and bouquets on the spot for you to look at. I loved that she was flexible with our budget and suggested easy changes that allowed the budget to stay reasonable, without taking away from the overall look we wanted. The best part is that you know exactly what you are getting when you receive your contract - literally every single flower and color is detailed out for each arrangement - no surprises! You also get a trial run about a month before the wedding where you can make any last minute adjustments.

    I really liked how accommodating Lee was about using elements we already had available to us. Our venue had a bunch of lanterns we wanted to use somehow, and Lee designed it into the table arrangements - she even had her team work with the venue ahead of time to ensure the right amount of lanterns in the necessary sizes were set aside for us. Additionally, Lee was able to use a sash from my mom's wedding dress in my bouquet, which was very special for me.

    On the day of the wedding, Lee's associate promptly delivered the bouquets and boutonnieres to our hotel in the morning and then went to the venue to set up everything else. She returned at the end of the night to make sure everything got cleaned up and was in order. To our happy surprise, they even brought additional arrangements for our sign in, dessert, and head tables as a free bonus!

    I will definitely recommend the Scarlet Petal to all my friends getting married in the Chicago area!

    Sent on 10/10/2016
  • M

    Melissa · Married on 05/17/2008

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Scarlet Petal rocked my world. The flowers, which were identical and just as beautiful as the trial, were amazing. I am in true awe of their work.

    On the day of my wedding, I didn't like my bouquet. She quickly whipped up a new one for me. I was very impressed with her work and style. To top it off, Esther is a delight to work with.

    Many of my guests complimented the decor. I had one male guest ask me, "Are those big balls of carnations real?" I was impressed that a male would notice the flowers! I would highly recommend.

    Sent on 08/25/2008

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review