Sautee Mountain Retreat Reviews

11 | Clarkesville, GA
See photos, pricing and details

11 Reviews for Sautee Mountain Retreat

Recommended by 91%

11

4.6 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.6
  • Professionalism 4.5
  • Flexibility 4.7
  • Value 4.4
  • Average response time 4.6

11 User photos

Sautee Mountain Retreat 1
Sautee Mountain Retreat 2
Sautee Mountain Retreat 3
Sautee Mountain Retreat 4
Sautee Mountain Retreat 5
Sautee Mountain Retreat 6
Sautee Mountain Retreat 7
+ 5
Sort by:
  • R

    Regina · Married on 03/15/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great Experience

    I had my sons rehearsal dinner here. We also booked most of the cabins for The wedding party and out of town guest. The dinner was perfect. We had around 100 guest. The staff was very accommodating and helpful. The cabins were the perfect set up for accommodating a lot of people while offering privacy,

    Sent on 08/12/2019
    Sautee Mountain Retreat 8
    Sautee Mountain Retreat 9
    Sautee Mountain Retreat 10
    Sautee Mountain Retreat 11
    Sautee Mountain Retreat 12
    Sautee Mountain Retreat 13
    Sautee Mountain Retreat 14
    Sautee Mountain Retreat 15
    Sautee Mountain Retreat 16
    Sautee Mountain Retreat 17
    Sautee Mountain Retreat 18
  • A

    Abby · Married on 11/13/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We held our wedding and our reception at Sautee Mountain Retreat in Clarkesville, GA, and I cannot recommend it highly enough. If you are looking for a lovely, relaxing, intimate and affordable wedding and/or reception venue, this is the perfect place.

    The Event Coordinator, Kathryn, took care of us from our very first inquiries, through selecting vendors and an officiant, to the very last hour of our reception. As we did not employ a wedding planner, her assistance was invaluable. ALL the preferred vendors were impeccable. And, during our ceremony and reception, Kathryn made sure that every detail was flawless and that we and each of our guests had the best day ever. :)

    My family and friends continually commented on how the Retreat—the lodges, the garden wedding site, the reception hall, and the wooded environment—were both elegant and deeply relaxing. Moreover, my husband and I and my family took advantage of the lodges for our wedding night. The one-bedroom, four-bedroom, and five-bedroom cottages are well-appointed with every amenity, and I’m sure we will be back for family reunions.

    Thanks to everyone at Sautee Mountain Retreat for creating the perfect wedding for us!

    Sent on 11/16/2016
  • D

    Dorothy · Married on 11/22/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sautee Mountain Retreat is the absolute best place in North Georgia for a wedding, family reunion, corporate retreat, girls weekend out, etc. Kathryn Vazquez is the best in working with on details, handling changes, being flexible, and having great back-up plans. She is extremely professional, responsive, and so understanding of all the changes we had to make due to our families making last minute decisions. Not only was the personnel outstanding from Kathryn, cleaning personnel, and caterer, but also all the facilities are kept extremely clean, attractive, and well stocked (cabins/villas/lodge). Due to Kathryn's flexibility and unexpected warmer weather, we were able to move our wedding to the Serenity Garden outside by the waterfalls. The facilities and personnel all contributed to having an absolutely wonderful wedding and creating great memories for all the family and friends able to come.

    Sent on 02/09/2016
  • C

    Christy · Married on 09/12/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We got married on 9-12-15 and it was the most amazing day and such a beautiful place to get married at. Our guest told us it was like a fairy tale wedding. I am so very thankful to have found this place and that we got married there.

    Sent on 02/10/2016
  • L

    Leah · Married on 09/06/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our wedding was beautiful and everything was perfect! I am very unorganized and they were flexible and extremely helpful on my day.

    Sent on 02/10/2016
  • User5109686 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sautee Mountain Retreat was the perfect place to stay for our large family for a North Georgia Mountain wedding. The cabins were clean and very comfortable. Sunday we had a brunch at the lodge before saying good-bye. Kathryn was SO helpful through this whole process. I highly recommend Sautee Mountain Retreat!!

    Sent on 05/25/2015
  • M

    Megan · Married on 05/13/2017

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I would recommend this location to everyone! Not only is there a back up plan in case it rains, everything there is just beautiful. We want to go back for our one year anniversary and see Kathryn as often as we can!!

    Sent on 08/07/2017
  • User4995532 · 2+ years ago

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Our function was the rehearsal dinner the night before the wedding, and providing lodging for most of the wedding party. Kathryn was very helpful in referring us to a local caterer, who we used for the dinner, in addition to being very flexible with our guests. We were allowed to hold reservations for many cabins for weeks without additional deposit after our deposit on the lodge plus 1 cabin. The wedding was held Saturday at the nearby Yonah mountain vinyard. The cabins, grounds, and lodge were clean and well maintained, and we were allowed flexibility in decorating by Kathryn. These folks were very accomodating and helped this to be a truly wonderful experience. Some minor email glitches and confusion re cleanup, but overall a wonderful venue for our needs. Would do it again there in a heartbeat, as knowing the entire wedding party was safe inside the resort and not driving all over the mountain roads gave us huge peace of mind.

    Sent on 04/20/2015
  • B

    Ben · Married on 05/28/2017

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      3.5

    Sautee Mountain Retreat treated us very well. Kathryn was outgoing and helpful, both when we were investigating Sautee as a potential venue and after we had selected it and were moving forward with planning. She was open about the costs and any adjustments to this based on specific needs/questions we had, although this did lead to some confusion about costs down the road. However, Kathryn was extremely responsive whenever I needed to check on something (responding over text within minutes, usually), so these issues were cleared up. Kathryn also had a list of preferred vendors (and it was obvious that she realllllly preferred them, though she did not force us to use any of them) and the few of them we worked with were exceptional (DJ, decorator).
    We had planned a weekend vacation where all guests would stay in the villas all weekend, which worked out very well; families and friends had plenty of time to relax, explore nearby Helen and north GA outdoor attractions, and we had plenty of time to visit with all of them over the course of the weekend (i.e. not just the few hours of the reception). The garden looked beautiful (we were initially concerned with the astroturf ground, but it turned out to be fine, blending in with nearby greenery once Spring plants had returned), and having the reception in the lodge next-door made logistics a non-issue.
    The villas/cabins themselves were fantastic - in my mind the best feature of Sautee Mountain Retreat. Each was well provisioned but felt like a rustic cabin and had a theme (i.e. bears, or fish, etc) - the rooms and beds were spacious and comfortable, and the larger villas had pool tables or shuffleboard in addition to plenty of open space for gatherings, and the 1 bedroom villas had hot-tubs... perfect for relaxing after a long day of outdoor activities.
    I would highly recommend Sautee Mountain Retreat for your wedding/reception- all our guests enjoyed it and we are still thinking about how well everything turned out

    Sent on 06/08/2017
  • J

    Jane · Married on 11/12/2016

    3.2
    • Quality of service:
      3.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      2.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Kathryn is the most over the top, helpful person I have ever worked with. She is the best part of this experience. I think the owners need to look at having a more diligent and hands on relationship with this property. There are many things that could use a bit of financial investment. It is as if the owners decided to buy a money making property that they are not willing to invest any more money in. It is a small town business at this point. Kathryn could help make it so much more.

    Sent on 11/15/2016
  • S

    Stacy · Married on 10/29/2016

    3.2
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      2.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      2.5

    Some things I really loved about Sautee. The cabins were absolutely beautiful! You may not expect it from the outside- but once you step in they were all so updated and well kept. The same goes for the reception hall. If you are looking for a wedding with group lodging this is a creative alternative. On the day of our wedding Sautee was responsive and flexible with timing of cabins which was great as we had people traveling. Some things I struggled with- this venue will leave a lot that you need to handle. It provides tables, chairs, and linens, and only has a prep kitchen. You will need a very strong caterer with staff as there is little to no staff provided by Sautee. Coming from the Atlanta area for a North Georgia wedding there was a level of professionalism that was lost versus other venues we had viewed. However, in the end it was the lodging that sold us.

    Sent on 11/19/2016

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review