Weddings

Sara Vars Photography Reviews

Sara Vars Photography View more information

30 Reviews

Rated
5.0
out of 5.0
Recommended by 100% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 5 out of 5

Awards

  • 30
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner

24 User photos

Sort by:
  • R
    Rachel M. Getting married on 01/01/2022
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    100% Recommend!

    One of the best decisions I made throughout the wedding planning process was booking Sara as our wedding photographer! We have the most gorgeous and perfect photos to remember our wedding day by and I could not be more grateful. On our wedding day, she showed up and immediately began taking pictures; she worked nonstop all day! She always seemed to be there when I wanted a picture taken and was proactive in taking pictures we had not talked about, like getting a couple shots in front of the most gorgeous sunset! She navigated all the crazy family picture combos so naturally and everybody commented on how great she was! Thanks so much Sara!!
  • Katy
    Katy G. Married on 12/03/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    So glad we chose Sara!

    Choosing Sara to photograph our wedding was the best decision we made. Everyone felt at ease around her and comfortable having their picture taken. Sara captured just how happy we felt on our wedding day. I'm so thankful for the beautiful picture we have to remember the day.
  • Joe
    Joe B. Married on 08/21/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    MD Wedding

    We hired Sara for our August wedding and could not be more pleased. She was so much fun to work with and captured our day PERFECTLY. Absolutely professional and would highly recommend.
  • Jenny
    Jenny H. Married on 05/08/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Everyone is still telling us how beautiful our wedding photos are.

    We are so happy that Sara was our wedding photographer! First, we were so excited after we saw our engagement photos. They were so great! Then COVID happened and we had to reschedule multiple times, and Sara was great about working with us through that. We finally got to have our wedding, and the photos were amazing!!! We had a large wedding party and she kept us right on schedule and was very familiar with our venue, so she already knew the best picture spots! The day was full of many special moments and Sara captured everything so perfectly. Everyone is still telling us how beautiful our wedding photos are.
  • Kayla
    Kayla T. Married on 11/07/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Wow oh wow

    What can I say? Sara was a pleasure to work with and my pictures turned out so beautiful! She made all the photos seem natural and unstaged, she was so polite and she was super flexible when we had to downgrade our ceremony due to covid. If you're looking for a great photographer she is your girl!
  • Devyn
    Devyn C. Married on 08/01/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Loved all the moments

    Sara was super easy to work with and was extremely organized. From the very beginning, she had a calming personality. She was super flexible when I had to change my date and the location of my wedding. She captured all of the moments perfectly!

    Sara Vars Photography's reply:

    Thank you so much for your sweet review Devyn! You guys were so amazing to work with and made the day so much fun!
  • Jared
    Jared W. Married on 11/02/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing Photographer

    My wife and I chose Sara because of the amazing photos she has on her website and the way she edits her photos. She took our engagement photos and did the wedding photography (along with another person on her team). We did our engagement photos at the top of the Bromo Seltzer Arts Tower in Baltimore and she was super accommodating there. She knew exactly what pictures she wanted of us, and she let us pick a couple poses that we wanted too. She has photographed there before so she knew how to navigate through the location and made the whole process really smooth.
    The engagement pictures came out absolutely amazing and it was actually hard to narrow down which ones we wanted to post because they were all so good!
    Sara and her team were incredible at the wedding. They helped walk us through our first look, get all of family and friends pictures done before the wedding so we had more time during the cocktail hour, and keep everything moving along to stay on schedule. Once the actual wedding started, I honestly didn't really see them after that, but in the best possible way. They were able to blend right into the crowd to make all of the pictures look really natural, and they didn't interrupt a single event to take pictures. They were always ready for whatever was happening next and from the teaser pictures we've seen so far, we're going to have trouble narrowing them down again..!

    Sara Vars Photography's reply:

    Thank you so much for your kind words Jared and Shelby!! We had such a blast working with the two of you!
  • J
    Julia Married on 05/03/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Sara is the best!

    I wish I could give her a higher rating! My fiance and I chatted with a few different photographers before we met with Sara, but immediately after our meeting with her, we knew we wanted her to do our wedding. She is so down to earth and easy to work with, and was wonderful throughout the whole process.

    We had a pretty big wedding (ended up at about 200) and she was able to capture so many amazing moments throughout the night - even though the crowd was scattered about 3 different areas. The colors are so vibrant and the lighting is just perfect in every single one.

    I wish I had more events that I need a photographer for because we would 110% call Sara for each one.

    Thank you again!!
  • B
    Brandon K. Married on 03/16/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Patience and Quality!

    Not being from the Baltimore area it was difficult to not "shoot from the hip" when deciding on the photographer for our wedding. We scored big time with Sara Vars. We used her for our engagement shoot as well as the entire day of our wedding. We had her bring a second photographer as well and both women were absolutely amazing! Both my wife and I were extremely happy with the experience we had with Sara Vars Photography.
  • K
    Kelly H. Married on 03/02/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Book Sara you won't regret it!

    Sara was amazing to work with. She took so many beautiful photos at our wedding. She had a wonderful calming presence over the whole day that made everything so much easier. I would recommend her whole heartily.
  • april
    April Married on 09/22/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    The best photographer!

    I couldn’t have asked for a better photographer! Ever since we first met with Sara I just got “good vibes” from her which means a lot to me. She was very nice, down to earth, not pushy and of course I thought that her portfolio was simply beautiful. She was so kind and helpful through the whole process and answered any questions/concerns that I had. When working with her for our engagement and wedding photos she gave just enough direction without going overboard and made it fun. She made us feel so relaxed and comfortable, it was like we had known her for years. You can tell that she truly cares about her clients and loves what she does. I’m beyond thrilled with my entire experience and have recommended her to several people (and will continue to do so)! The pictures from our wedding are absolutely beautiful and I’m beyond thrilled!
    Thank you so much for everything!

    p.s. thought I had already done a review here but apparently I only did the others, haha!
  • A
    Ashley Married on 07/21/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Photography was probably my most important vendor; having great photos to last a lifetime was really important to me. From the second I met Sara, she made me feel comfortable, at ease, and like I was in good hands, and her portfolio sold me!!
    For the wedding, Sara and Molly were true professionals. Our timeline for the day got turned inside out due to unrelenting rain, but they showed up prepared in rain jackets and had enough of the cute clear umbrellas for the bridal party to use. We were limited to Bancroft for taking bridal party photos/romantics after the wedding, and family photos were moved to inside of the reception hall during cocktail hour, but Sara and Molly were so flexible and very creative with their shots (and worth mentioning- they were able to get 60 family photo combinations in an hour!!) Throughout the day Sara kept me relaxed, truly made me feel special and let me enjoy the day. And now that I have the pictures back, I'm absolutely blown away!! From posed romantics to formal family portraits to candid dancing shots Sara captured everything, even somethings I missed. There's not a single photo I don't like, and I don't feel like I missed out on any photo opportunities because of the rain, in fact, Sara managed to get some incredible shots with it!! You truly won't have any regrets hiring Sara, and I'm forever grateful that we did!
  • A
    Anne Married on 05/30/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We used Sara Vars for our small wedding in May of 2018. She was very accommodating as we did not need a full day of coverage. She asked great questions about what we were looking for and recommended a 4 hour package that would provide us with the coverage we needed. She got all the shots we asked for and the pictures turned out beautifully. I would definitely recommend Sara!
  • L
    Lauren Married on 04/21/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Sara and Molly (the 2nd photographer for about 6 hours) were amazing on our wedding day! My husband and I were thrilled to get to know Sara during the engagement photos - she is really warm and welcoming and put us at ease while also capturing some amazing photos, a ton of them actually! Considering the back-breaking work at the wedding and hours of editing photos, we also found the price very reasonable for engagement photos, Sara's work during the wedding, and the extra cost of a 2nd photographer for part of the time.
    During the wedding day, Sara and Molly coordinated so we could meet for our first look and they were pros at capturing the list of shots we had sent - so fast that we had a lot more time for photos of just my husband and I before we headed over to the ceremony. They both really outdid themselves - scaling Federal Hill to get different photo angles, politely taking everyone's photos who asked, and laughing off the antics of my husband's groomsmen. Sara put up with our guests and family members and did her best to make sure everyone was looking at her camera rather than the iPhones other people were trying to use. Sara even went the extra mile at the end of the night and stayed longer than we expected to capture some amazing photos at the end of the wedding! She also reminded us of photos we wanted to take during the reception of certain groups of our guests and helped coordinate to find everyone.
    We couldn't be happier to have hired Sara for our wedding! She is such a pleasure to be around and also a pro at herding/organizing large groups of people and getting all of the photos we wanted! We wouldn't hesitate to hire her again!
  • Alex and Kelly
    Alex A. Married on 12/09/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Hiring Sara as our wedding photographer was one of the best decisions we could have made! Sara takes a very personal approach in her work and really cares about her clients and their vision. She got to know me and my husband over the months of planning and was so wonderfully communicative during the process of planning our wedding that was a destination for us. We loved being able to have Sara do our engagement shoot as well! During that time we got to know how she worked and we were able to get used to working with her in front of the camera! Fast forward to our wedding day - and a surprise snow day at that and everything went off without a hitch! Sara is a genuine sweetheart and is unbelievably accommodating! The snow added an amazing backdrop for our photos, something you could not plan for and she went right along with it executing shots with her eye and creativity. When getting delivered our photo gallery, my husband and I were able to relive our day all over again! She captured the most genuine moments of our day and I’m forever grateful!
  • E
    Emily Married on 08/26/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Sara is amazing! I can not speak more highly of her. Her talent as a photographer is obvious by looking at all of her pictures, but the way she was able to work with our large bridal party, and even larger family, truly shows how professional and organized she is. She is so easy to talk with, and any time I had a question, she would never fail to get back to me with detailed answers in a matter of hours. If you want not only stunning photos, but someone who is extremely professional and a blast to work with, Sara is your girl!
  • C
    Caitlin Married on 04/29/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Sara was just the best to work with! The moment my husband and I had our consultation with her, we knew she was the photographer we wanted. Her portfolio speaks for itself! During our engagement pictures, she made sure we were enjoying ourselves and really got to know us. She captured so many perfect moments at the wedding, down to the little details of the day. We got so many photos and I could look at them all day! The album she made for us with our favorite pictures (let's be honest, it was so difficult to narrow it down to just 24 photos) was such a great touch and something additional for us to treasure.
  • MJ
    Megan Married on 03/11/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Booking Sara was one of the best decisions we made during wedding planning. She was the only photographer we met with, because we just instantly clicked with her (and her pictures are AMAZING). During our engagement shoot, she made my husband feel comfortable (which was great, because he's not a big fan of photos), and was so fun to work with. On the wedding day, it was so relaxing to work with Sara--she made me feel (and look) beautiful. She's incredibly sweet and funny, and was everywhere during the wedding. Every time I turned around, Sara was there getting another great shot, and she caught plenty of moments we didn't even know were happening. Both sets of parents (and everyone else I showed pictures to, which was essentially everyone I know) LOVED the photos, and when my mom is happy, everyone is happy. I can't say enough great things about Sara!
  • L
    Lou Married on 01/31/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I can't say enough good things about Sara!!! She was an absolute delight to work with. I have a groom who HATES taking pictures and she was able to take amazing pictures of us. She even got some adorable ones of my dog for our engagement pictures. She was wonderful I am so thankful to her! She was very affordable and to be honest she could charge double because her pictures are so beautiful!
  • T
    Taylor Married on 07/09/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We could not have asked for a better photographer or a better experience working with Sara! She was absolutely amazing and I have nothing, but good things to say about her. Sara did our engagement photos as well as our wedding photos with stunning results for both. She made having our photos taken, often an awkward experience, extremely comfortable. I highly highly recommend Sara!!
  • S
    Shelbi Married on 05/29/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I could not be happier with our decision to hire Sara as our wedding photographer! I had an extremely tough time finding a photographer whose pictures I liked, who was within our price range, and who offered a second photographer which was something I definitely wanted. My brother was married 6 years ago and I knew I did not want to use the same photographer he did because theirs was constantly in the way, very paparazzi like, and I didn't want that. Looking back on our wedding night, aside from the posed pictures, I never once knew Sara was ever there unless I was looking for her and she got some amazing shots! She was an absolute joy to work with and was very professional and flexible with our timeline, since we ended up being behind schedule. Her colleague Molly was also very easy to work with and extremely effective in corralling our family for the family pictures that we needed to get through extremely quickly. I'm looking forward to working with her again in the future!
  • D
    Debbie Married on 04/09/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    As the mother of the bride, Sara was awesome to work with! She has such a unique eye for pictures, which is why my daughter chose her. She was able to put everyone at ease and take so many shots even though we were an hour behind! I can't wait to see the final photos, but I know the scenarios that she set up were so awesome! It felt very comfortable to have her there, she was always able to get the shot, but never felt like she was in the way.
  • M
    Melissa Married on 11/28/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Sara was a fantastic addition to our wedding vendor list! I searched for weeks for a photographer which matched our location and budget, but when we found Sara it was a match made in heaven. Upon meeting her for our consultation, I knew immediately that she was the perfect fit for our event. She met us at a beautiful location for our engagement photos and provided the proofs to us soon afterward.

    Sara helped us throughout the whole planning process and in my opinion went above and beyond what a wedding photographer would typically do. She knew that I was having some issues finding activities for guests to participate in since we were having our reception at a place that does not allow dancing. She actually helped pitch a few emails and forwarded along some articles she had found.

    On the day of the event, we had quite a big wedding with large family shots, and she managed the crowds with ease. She was flexible with our event schedule and managed to sneak in some lovely candid shots of our guests and the wedding party. I love the finished photographs! They are so lovely, and they are something that I will treasure forever. I asked Sara to take some couple pictures in which my husband really shined as the star of the show. As a shy guy, that is not something that he usually makes a point to be. She accomplished that with ease. Sara is so comfortable to be around and easy to get along with. If you are considering using Sara Vars Photography as a wedding vendor, I cannot urge you enough that it will be one of the best wedding planning decisions you will make!
  • A
    Alice Married on 10/10/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I am so happy that Sara was the photographer for my daughter's wedding. We met with a few photographers and chose Sara because she is easy to work with provides a very good value. She took beautiful engagement photos and my daughter and son-in-law felt very comfortable with Sara. On the day of the wedding she arrived early and immediately began taking photos of the wedding party as they were getting ready. She stays in the background yet manages to capture all of the important moments. Her photos are beautiful. I would recommend Sara in a heartbeat!
  • Kathryn
    Kathryn Married on 09/26/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Sara was absolutely amazing throughout the entire wedding process. She was so readily available to answer all my questions and re-schedule our engagement session about 6 times because of my crazy work schedule! She shot us in 17 degree weather on top of Federal Hill and those pictures are just amazing, we get SO many compliments! For our wedding, Sara became more of a friend through it all. The hotel we used didn't have a day of coordinator that worked with me as the bride specifically. Sara stepped in to help with all of it! She kept us laughing and at ease when I was most anxious. When we got our pictures today I am simply blown away. She managed to capture every memory that I wanted to preserve and they are stunning. The quality of work is just out of this world. I cannot recommend Sara Vars enough!!!!!!