Skip to main content
Weddings

Sara Shonfeld - Rabbi & Interfaith Officiant Reviews

Sara Shonfeld - Rabbi & Interfaith Officiant

Sara Shonfeld - Rabbi & Interfaith Officiant

Levittown, NY
5.0 out of 5 rating, 123 Reviews
View more information

Reviews

5.0 out of 5 rating
123 Reviews
  • Quality of service
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    5 out of 5 rating
80% Recommended by couples

Awards

123
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2024 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2023 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2022 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
  • David & Elissa
    David E. Sent on 04/08/2024
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    We very highly recommend Rabbi Sara Shonfeld as your wedding officiant!

    My partner and I had a Jewish wedding in March 2024 and Rabbi Shonfeld made the ceremony the most memorable part. Although we’re not very religious, we wanted to embrace all of the different aspects of a Jewish wedding but we also did not want our ceremony to be overly long. We met with Rabbi Shonfeld over a year before our wedding date and she really took the time to get to know us and offered a wide variety of options for the ceremony, essentially à la carte. Rabbi Shonfeld provided us with very thorough explanations of the different religious aspects or traditions we could have in our ceremony if we wanted, whether we wanted to make it more reform, conservative or orthodox.

    Less than four months before the wedding my mom passed away very suddenly and unexpectedly. Rabbi Shonfeld spent a tremendous amount of time with us to adjust the ceremony to make sure we honored my mom in the best way. She also suggested numerous ways we could do so, and gave examples of things she has done in the past to honor the memory of loved ones during a wedding ceremony. Additionally Rabbi Shonfeld helped us make it so the ceremony honored my mom but also make sure it didn’t feel like a memorial service.

    Rabbi Shonfeld was very professional and accessible throughout the entire process when working on delivering our perfect ceremony, and providing exactly what we needed and wanted. She took the time to thoroughly explain everything to us so we understood all of our options and the meanings behind the various wedding traditions.

    My partner and I both agree that we believe the ceremony was our favorite part. Rabbi Shonfeld made it so personal, and the perfect combination of serious and some fun, and she never overstepped in any way or interjected too much. We really cannot say enough great things about Rabbi Shonfeld. She was amazing. Everyone told us how beautiful they thought the ceremony was; Rabbi Shonfeld gave us a ceremony beyond our dreams. We highly recommend you use Rabbi Shonfeld as the officiant for your wedding (she also does interfaith weddings!)

    Sincerely,
    Mr. & Mrs. David & Elissa Figueroa
  • M
    Miriam M. Sent on 03/30/2024
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Sara is great!

    Sara was very collaborative, helpful, and an overall joy to work with and we are so lucky to have her for our officiant! Her joy is contagious - so many people asked about her and mentioned how great she was!
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • C
    Colby M. Sent on 03/25/2024
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    A Perfect Blend of Tradition and Personalization

    From our initial inquiry, Rabbi Sara was incredibly responsive and attentive to our vision for our special day. Despite not being particularly religious ourselves, we were looking to incorporate Jewish traditions into our wedding in a meaningful and inclusive way. Rabbi Sara took the time to meet with us beforehand, where she listened attentively to our story, our vision, and our desire to create a ceremony that was intimate and special for not only us but also for our children, who are an integral part of our new family.

    Rabbi Sara's professionalism and expertise were evident from the start. She offered valuable insights and ideas, patiently guiding us through multiple drafts of the ceremony until it perfectly reflected our wishes. Her clear and prompt communication, whether through text or email, made the planning process seamless and stress-free.

    On our wedding day, Rabbi Sara's performance exceeded our expectations. She conducted the ceremony with grace, warmth, and sincerity, creating a truly unforgettable experience for us and our guests. Her ability to capture the essence of our relationship and family dynamic made the ceremony deeply personal and meaningful.

    We are incredibly grateful to Rabbi Sara for her dedication, professionalism, and the beautiful memories she helped create. We wholeheartedly recommend her to anyone seeking a wedding officiant who will go above and beyond to make their special day truly magical.

    With sincere appreciation,
    Marisa & Colby
  • Erica
    Erica Sent on 02/08/2024
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing ceremony !!!

    Rabbi Sara and Rev. Deb officiated our wedding 1/27/24. I am Jewish and my husband is Christian and Without a doubt the best part of our wedding was our interfaith Ceremony! They truly made it so special and everyone was talking about how incredible the ceremony was and that they’ve never seen anything so personal and beautiful. There was no dry eye in the house! They were both extremely communicative and made our day so special and perfect. Highly recommend using both Rabbi Sara and Rev. Deb!
  • M
    Michael H. Sent on 11/13/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Rabbi Sara is Amazing

    Rabbi Sara recently officiated My Daughters wedding. It was a Jewish ceremony for an interfaith couple performed in front of a very diverse crowd of attendees and Rabbi Sara hit a home run. She captured the audience with her step by step explanation so that everyone understood the ceremony. All raved at what a wonderful Job she did and how she engaged them all. Thank you Rabbi Sara for a superb Job well done.
  • V
    Victoria F. Sent on 12/20/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Officiant Rabbi Sara Shonfeld

    Rabbi Sara Shonfeld was absolutely wonderful . She seamlessly provided a beautiful ceremony intertwining my Jewish traditions and my now husband's catholic traditions. She made it personal to us both. In a bit of irony Rabbi Sara was ond of the house officiants for or venue. She had also been my cousins kids nursery school teacher at their temple in great neck. However, we found her on wedding wire. It was such a blessing to have such a wonderful person be our officiant for us. We could not be happier. Our guests continue to praise how wonderful the ceremony was.
  • Jaclyn
    Jaclyn H. Sent on 12/27/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Excellent!

    Rabbi Sara recently officiated our interfaith wedding. From the beginning Rabbi Sara had such a great energy and her attention to detail was much appreciated. She created a beautiful ceremony combining my Jewish traditions with my husbands Catholic traditions and made everyone feel included. Our guests raved about what a beautiful ceremony it was, and we could not have asked for a better ceremony or officiant!
  • E
    Elena G. Sent on 02/14/2024
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Excellent Experience with Rabbi Sara

    Rabbi Sara truly made my ceremony. My now husband and I were so worried about finding a rabbi to marry us as we are an interfaith couple. We are SO lucky to have met Rabbi Sara.

    She got to know us and nailed our ceremony. It felt so personal and so heartfelt! SO many of our guests asked us about her and if she was still at the party so they could speak to her/thank her. Everyone adored her ceremony. I can't recommend Rabbi Sara enough. She is so professional and easy to work with.
  • S
    Sam K. Sent on 11/17/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Baby blessing

    Rabbi Sara was such a wonderful, thoughtful, and loving person to have as the person who did our baby’s naming ceremony! She had such a great energy, and was so great to coordinate with from our first phone call to the day of! She was so organized and able to put all of the intricate details into our son’s day! We highly recommend rabbi Sara!! As a rabbi, she is highly knowledgeable and connected to the faith, and as a person, she’s wonderful, present, and warm. You will absolutely love having rabbi Sara as a part of your day!!
  • Jenny
    Jenny A. Sent on 11/06/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    A truly magical experience

    I don’t even know where to begin. Rabbi Shonfeld was truly amazing from start to finish. We first met her through zoom and she introduced herself and her style of ceremony and we knew she was the officiant for us. She friended both my husband and myself on Facebook to help her get to know us.
    As time got closer, she had us share our similarities and differences, and our favorite qualities about each other.

    She pieced it all together and sent us a beautiful draft of the ceremony that took my breath away and brought tears to my eyes.

    As for the wedding day, she reviewed everything with us. The ceremony was absolutely breathtaking. People laughed, people cried. She explained everything in English before saying it in Hebrew. She was lively and you could see her passion behind officiating.

    Throughout the rest of the wedding, everyone came over to us saying how wonderful the ceremony was and how much they enjoyed it. I had one more religious guest come over to me and tell me that the ceremony was the most beautiful ceremony she had witnessed.

    You are truly in amazing hands with Rabbi Shonfeld!
  • D
    Diane S. Sent on 10/25/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Phenomenal, personal, best ever ceremony by far

    Rev Deb and Rabbi Sara,

    I am the mother of the groom and wanted to share how beautiful the ceremony that you both officiated was for Pauline and Justin. My husband and I are an interfaith couple as well and we have never attended such an incredibly personalized, equitably intertwined fun, memorable and touching ceremony as the one you both conducted. Every person who spoke with us after the ceremony commented how melodically and seamlessly the ceremony flowed.

    We loved your levity, the significance of what you shared and how you made their story shine through for all who attended.

    Our deepest appreciation for making the ceremony so special and their wedding day so wondrous.
  • Kariel
    Kariel S. Sent on 10/09/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    I wish I could give more than 5 stars!

    We worked with Rev. Deb and Rabbi Sara for our interdenominational wedding in September 2023 and I genuinely cannot recommend them more. Every single guest has told us it was the best ceremony they have ever been to. From our very first meeting they were warm, comforting, kind, and put us at such ease. They were extremely responsive and worked with us to tailor a ceremony that was absolutely perfect for us. Every guest felt included and honored. It truly was so beautiful. They also made the marriage license process absolutely seamless. Overall, our expectations were far surpassed and we could not be more grateful!
  • B
    Brittany R. Sent on 09/30/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing experience

    Sara was an amazing officiant, she took the time to find out our story and how we really wanted our guests to understand our love story. She did it with such elegance and professionalism. We are so happy we were able to work with Sara.
  • M
    Melissa G. Sent on 05/09/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Interfaith ceremony 5/6/2023

    Rabbi Sara and Rev Deb Viola were both equally amazing ! My husband and I had an interfaith ceremony as my husband is Catholic and I am Jewish. Rabbi Sara and Rev Deb work so well together and knew exactly how to seamlessly blend both of our religions. Communication between all parties was great and always received quick responses, was ready to answer any questions we had even if they were silly. They were both punctual and explained everything to use prior to the ceremony and addressed any additional questions we had. Communication even after the wedding was great ! I highly recommend both Rabbi Sara or Rev Deb for any future event you may have. You will most certainly not be disappointed.
  • Hayley
    Hayley Z. Sent on 04/01/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Wonderful!

    Rabbi Sara married my husband and I in February of this past year. We had so many people come up
    to us in our cocktail hour to compliment about just how beautiful and meaningful the ceremony was and even tell us that they had never witnessed a ceremony like ours. Rabbi Sara’s way of explaining exactly how the ceremony would flow months before the wedding put us at ease. She goes over every detail , minute by minute. She is very responsive via email and offers wonderful advise and guidance. There were so many special and meaningful elements put into our ceremony. My husband is catholic and I am Jewish. The way she created and outlined the ceremony to touch upon some of the religious traditions we both wanted on our wedding day will forever be cherished. We are eternally grateful to Rabbi Sara for everything she did for us to make our wedding ceremony as special as it was! We can’t wait to work with Rabbi Sara again !
  • M
    Mallory M. Sent on 10/09/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    A dream to work with!

    Rabbi Sara made the entire interfaith marriage ceremony process both effortless and incredibly meaningful. She was so easy to work with, prompt to respond, and helpful in making the ceremony perfectly us. I would recommend Rabbi Sara for ANY ceremony, but she was particularly wonderful for our Jewish/Catholic interfaith coofficiated wedding. My husband and I loved working with her and our guests could not stop raving over what an amazing job she did creating a sense of welcoming for all. THANK YOU, RABBI SARA!!!
  • K
    Kate A. Sent on 09/25/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Rabbi Sara is amazing!

    Rabbi Sara was phenomenal! She made our ceremony so special and personal. She was so easy to work with and customized our ceremony to exactly what we wanted. We had so many friends and family come up to us at our wedding to say what an amazing job Rabbi Sara did with our ceremony!
  • Sara
    Sara T. Sent on 10/18/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    A one-of-a-kind officiant who makes everyone feel like family!

    Rabbi Sara is the kindest & warmest person that you will ever meet!
    She lights up every space she's in and shines sunlight into your ceremony.

    About four years ago, I was a bridesmaid in my friend's wedding out in LI.
    I knew nothing about Rabbi Sara, but by the end of the ceremony, I knew that I wanted her for my own wedding one day.
    Fast forward to this year, she blew it out of the ballpark.
    She had everyone smiling and laughing the entire time, and she works hard to ensure that everyone in the audience feels included.

    As a guest, you're not an observer, you're a participant when Rabbi Sara is officiating.

    Rabbi Sara is also incredibly flexible. She will make any adjustments you want to the ceremony so it matches the feel of the couple.
    I'm a reform/spiritual Jew who was brought up in a reform household, and my Husband is an Atheist who was raised Catholic.

    We requested to have the english translations removed from the ceremony to make my Husband more comfortable. On top of that, we had a good friend of ours co-officiate so he could tell our story. Rabbi Sara went with the flow the whole time.
    She's incredible to communicate with, she's clear in her instructions, she's timely in her preparation and when she shows up to the venue.
    Most importantly, she made the ceremony about us and our love for one another.

    When you hire Rabbi Sara, you're getting a friend for life who loves to remain in touch.
    Thank you Rabbi Sara! You're truly one-of-a-kind and a very special person!

  • K
    Kara Sent on 09/22/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best ceremony we could have ever hoped for!

    Thank you so very much for making our wedding day so special!!!! The ceremony was intimate, fun, meaningful and very personable. The amount of compliments we received was overwhelming and it was all because of YOU!!!! Thank you again for truly making our day the best day of our lives. We will never forget it!
  • R
    Rachel H. Sent on 08/16/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Fantastic and wonderful

    We couldn't think of anyone better to officiate our wedding. When we saw Sara officiate our friends wedding we knew we wanted her to marry us. She was very kind and we loved how she let us build our ceremony. My husband and I were having a nerdy wedding and she added may the force be with you in English and in herbrew at the end. We were thrilled to have her be a part of our day
  • Casey
    Casey Sent on 11/15/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Wonderful wedding officiant!!

    Rabbi Sara was wonderful. She met with us to understand our traditions and what was most important to us for our special day. She was flexible when we had changes to our plan and did a wonderful job leading the ceremony!
  • M
    Mark O. Sent on 05/09/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Beyond amazing!!

    Rabbi Sara was fantastic! She did an amazing job at explaining the process to us, as well as our guests who were unfamiliar with the Jewish wedding ceremony. I personally had family from Israel who wanted to let her know what a fantastic job she did. We couldn’t be happier with the choice we made to go with Rabbi Sara!
  • D
    Debbie K. Sent on 04/05/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Wonderful, Authentic Service

    Rabbi Shonfeld officiated at my daughter's service two days ago .... we could not be happier with how the service was conducted and the positive energy that was felt throughout the room. Theirs is an inter-faith marriage although at our request, such things as a Jewish Ketubah signing and breaking of the glass were included. Most importantly, Rabbi Shonfeld made the service feel very personal. She mentioned that names of grandparents that we were missing and described my daughter/son-in-law first meeting. Everyone at our 70-person wedding complimented us on the service, with several saying it was the nicest service they had ever been to. I attirbute all of it to Rabbi Shonfeld who gives off such a positive, warm energy. We could not be happier with how the service was conducted. It set a wonderful vibe for the rest of the wedding.
  • S
    Steven N. Sent on 01/24/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Awesome Rabbi

    Rabbi Shonfeld exceeded our expectations. She made us feel very comfortable like we already knew her. I would highly recommend her!
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message
Responds within 24 hours