San Ysidro Ranch Reviews

15 | Santa Barbara, CA
See photos, pricing and details

15 Reviews for San Ysidro Ranch

Recommended by 93%

15

4.6 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.8
  • Professionalism 4.8
  • Flexibility 4.3
  • Value 4.5
  • Average response time 4.9
Sort by:
  • H

    Heidi · Married on 07/15/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I cannot say enough good things about this place. It was pure magic. Our whole wedding was absolutely perfect. We were married in the Wine Cellar and had the reception in the Wine Cellar outside area under the twinkle light oak trees. Our guest said the food and wine was the best wedding food they have ever had and the service was incredible. Mauricio was on top of everything and made the whole night run smoothly. The location and grounds could not have set a more perfect scene for our romantic garden wedding.

    Sent on 09/27/2016
  • User5457075 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We could not have asked for a better venue than San Ysidro for our small reception dinner. It was absolutely perfect in every way. The food was incredible and the ambiance beautifully elegant and casual all at the same time. Loved every minute of our dinner reception.

    Sent on 09/21/2015
  • User5118992 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our dream wedding venue. Everything ran so smoothly; from the coordinators to the servers, the entire staff gave excellent service throughout the wedding. Obviously the gorgeous venue doesn't hurt the atmosphere either! Wish we could go back and do it again!

    Sent on 05/27/2015
  • R

    Richard · Married on 04/19/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We love SYR to begin with, little did we know Maxine and her team would help create the most spectacular wedding event for us. Maxine always made herslef available and had a close eye on the details we had requested. The ranch staff was superb, kind, professional, and ensured that whatever we and/or our guests needed was but a minute away. We thank you all for creating the most memorable day, our wedding day, flawless and for ensuring the grounds were so prestine (as ususal)! THE place to get married if you want an intimate, detailed and amazing day. As one of our guests stated "This is heaven on earth."

    Sent on 05/03/2015
  • User2694836 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    There are not enough stars in the sky to rate this extraordinary place! San Ysidro Ranch is a dream come true. Maxine and her team are absolutely incredible. The venue was beautiful, the food was delicious, the pastry chef created the wedding cake of our dreams, and every step of the planning process here was an absolute delight. SYR allowed us to have an intimate and deeply personal event that was uniquely "us." Although they do not require that you use their vendors, they also provided a list of referrals that was spot on.

    Sent on 01/27/2014
  • Monique

    Monique · Married on 09/09/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    AMAZING AMAZING AMAZING!!! Words cannot describe how perfect SYR is for a intimate private wedding.

    We had our dinner in the wine room at San Ysidro Ranch and our family was stunned when they walked in. One of them said this is something you would see only on the Bachelor.

    Location and decor- Breathtaking and really needs minimal extras to make it stunning. We only added votives and flowers to our table and otherwise it was the simple beauty of SYR.

    Event Staff- Working with Dodie to book our event and finalize our contract was so effortless and took all the stress out of the wedding dinner. I am a very OCD type person and I was put at ease knowing they would do a spectacular job. I finalized the day of details with Maxine and she was so sweet and easy to work with. She made sure no detail was overlooked and made sure everything stayed on schedule the day of our wedding.

    Food- my brother described it as "I have never had anything so heavenly in my mouth." Everyone loved their meals and the staff accommodated all of the dietary needs of our group. The food was so spectacular there are not even words to describe how great it was. The sea bass was melt in your mouth delicious.

    Wait Staff- Jamie and Velanya were our servers and were BEYOND AWESOME. They accommodated our groups dietary needs and kept everything running smoothly. I catered weddings for 15 years and I would say they are the best of the best. Thank you for making our event perfect.

    Sent on 09/23/2012
  • K

    Katie · Married on 09/20/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    San Ysidro Ranch is one of the premier wedding locations in Santa Barbara. They offer an elite level of service along with food and beverage. I always look forward to working at the ranch because I know the team there aims to exceed each guests' expectations. The wedding we worked together on went so smoothly and the team at SYR was a huge asset. Our wedding was an intimate gathering in the wine cellar and patio but with so many stunning locations on property to choose from, the sky is the limit! I would recommend them to anyone!

    Sent on 09/14/2015
  • S

    Lisa · Married on 04/06/2005

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We stayed at the Lilac Cottage and held our ceremony there. It was better than we could have imagined, the service was fabulous, they assisted in finding our officiant, they catered, recommened our bakery and florist, and we had our dinner afterward at the restaurant-also incredible.
    They provided us with a great wedding story; while we were at dinner, the staff tried to light a fire in the fireplace for us, but previous staff had closed the flue. We returned to a smokin' cottage. They immediately moved us to the The Kennedy Cottage at no cost to us, took all our sutff there, even scattered our rose petals on the bed for us! It was unforgettable!!

    Sent on 10/25/2009
  • W

    Wei · Married on 12/09/2012

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I really like the environment of the ranch. And the best thing of holding a wedding over there is that they only accommodate one wedding per day!!!

    Sent on 03/11/2013
  • User2741073 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Maxine and Sarah were such an amazing help! They were there every step of the way and always available to answer questions and show us rooms or let us view the property. It need not be said that the service is superb and the venue is stunning! Everything was perfect and they were very accommodating and welcoming. We cannot wait to go back to visit!

    The only downside is that they don't negotiate on what they offer. I was a little disappointed that after paying to rent 3 different spaces on the property that they would not give us a break on a 4th space that we wanted to add on, even though they could not offer it to anyone else, and it went unused. I think that it worked out in the end but was a little bit of a bummer considering we were spending so much money.

    Sent on 08/14/2014
  • B

    Beth · Married on 01/20/2009

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This was the most spectacular place to have our wedding! Extremely pricey, but you get what you pay for! Unbelievable service, accommodations, food, cake, etc. It was a day I will never forget!

    Sent on 12/09/2010
  • User3961007 · 2+ years ago

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      3.5
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    San Ysidro Ranch is one of the most beautiful places in the United States bar none. Hosting a wedding or any event here is a fantastic experience.

    Sent on 03/10/2014
  • User5538129 · 2+ years ago

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    San Ysidro Ranch is a beautiful place to get married. I don't regret getting married there at all and it's as gorgeous as they say. I'll share, however, that my parents and I were disappointed by the lack of transparency and weird slip ups that kept occurring while planning my wedding. First of all, the prices we were quoted at the beginning of the experience were nowhere near what it ended up costing. I was getting married on a weekday so we were quoted their non-weekend prices which are significantly cheaper. However they failed to tell us that because it was a holiday period, the price would actually be even more expensive than a normal weekend. So what was originally going to cost us $10,000 was now $25,000. On top of that, they hit us with a multi-thousand dollar charge to remove all of their Xmas decorations from the site. Another example was when we started talking to rental companies about renting chairs (SYR had chairs but they were unattractive and we were told earlier that we could provide our own without issue). Once we arranged that chair rental, we were notified that we would need to pay several thousands of dollars more for 1) the labor cost of moving their chairs and 2) an offsite storage unit for those chairs because they didn't have room. It was really ridiculous that none of these things were brought to our attention earlier. Final example (though I have more, sadly) - my parents instructed the venue to please not open wine or champagne bottles until they were needed, since you're charged by how many OPEN BOTTLES there are, and a lot of places intentionally open multiple bottles of the same wine and serve from all of them to make more $. They did not honor our request, and at the end of the night there were at least 15 opened bottles that were completely full. My parents insisted that we take these home since we paid! We ended up having a beautiful wedding, but it cost SOOOO much more than we had intended because of these types of incidents :(

    Sent on 05/12/2016
  • User3627808 · 2+ years ago

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    San Ysidro is an amazing venue. The grounds are beautiful, the food is delicious but unfortunately, I was very upset with the wedding coordinators. I went through 3 of them (not by choice) while planning my wedding and none of them were on the same page. They did not understand a word I was saying and nothing was communicated with their staff. It was one disaster after another. Thank god my personal wedding coordinator was on top of everything and the wait staff was phenominal! We even had the server drawing and playing with the children of the wedding party to keep them entertained! If this day was left solely up to the San Ysidro coordinators our day would have been ruined! Otherwise, everything was beautiful, the dinner was perfect and the bartenders/cocktail servers were fantastic! They even saved some appetizers for my husband and I while we took photos *without asking* so we could have a bite to eat before dinner :) I highly recommend the venue as long as you get a personal wedding coordinator! If not, stop in for a bite to eat! Worth the money and the drive! Its great just to walk the grounds, relax and enjoy your day. We'll definitely be back to stay a weekend.

    Sent on 10/24/2013
  • A

    Alicia · Married on 05/14/2011

    3.2
    • Quality of service:
      3.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      1.5
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    San Ysidro Ranch is gorgeous and full of history, but planning our reception with them was not the best experience. Basically, you can rent the entire place out starting at $10K or you can rent one of their smaller areas which seat from 2-36 people. Only one wedding is allowed at a time, which I understand.

    When we began our search and visited the SYR, we fell in love with it and wanted to put down a deposit right away. The wine cellar was the perfect size and had the feel we wanted for our 35 guests since we were hosting a formal dinner. Once we put down the deposit, we called our rep with a lot of questions and "no" was not in her vocabulary.

    About 6 months prior to our wedding, I called to arrange another visit and was informed that our rep no longer worked there. We were then assigned a new rep who just didn't do it for us. She was very "nice" but she wasn't very good at the details. For instance, we had the SYR make our wedding cake, grooms cake and additional desserts that were to be placed on the cake table to create a dessert buffet. It didn't happen, the additional desserts were unimpressive, in small amount, and were not placed on the table until the very end of the cake cutting. Boo. I was also told that take away boxes would be provided for our guests to take cake home, and they were not. There were a lot of mistakes made on our invoice that we felt we had to fight for her to correct. We also told them we would like to pay the full balance of our reception by check, which was due 7 days prior to our event, and were told we could do that. When I contacted her to tell her we were sending a check via FED EX, she said she had already run our cc! We could not believe that she didn't call us for authorization! She barely apologized, and would not reverse the charge and honor our check as originally discussed.

    Another situation we encountered was with set up on the day of. We told her our ceremony was at 3:30 pm, at another location, and that our coordinator would like tables set up, etc. by 1 pm so she could decorate and tweak the space. Our rep told us the SYR crew would not set tables any earlier than 2 pm, and if we wanted to pay the staff their hourly rate, that was our only option.

    The food was great, and our guest thought it was beautiful and had a great time. As a customer, we were not impressed by their service. It's funny, at the time of our planning they were noted as one of the best hotels in the world but it didn't feel like it with the event planner we were assigned.





    Sent on 06/29/2011

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review