Skip to main content
Weddings

Samantha Phillips Photography Reviews

Samantha Phillips Photography

Samantha Phillips Photography

San Diego, CA
5.0 out of 5 rating, 16 Reviews
View more information

16 Reviews

Rated
5.0
out of 5.0
Recommended by 100% of couples
  • Quality of service
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    5 out of 5 rating

Awards

  • 16
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2022 Winner

61 User photos

  • A
    Alexandra A. Married on 06/18/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    One of the best wedding decisions we made was hiring Samantha

    Samantha is a one-of-a-kind photographer. She is both extremely talented and just an overall great person. She was easy to work with from the moment we started communicating months ago. She took the time to get to know my partner and I and that 1000% showed in the photos she delivered to us. She also offers vendor guides, timeline suggestions, inspiration and more to the couples who book with her. Both our engagement and wedding photos were beautiful and truly captured my partner and I for who we were.

    She also was so so accommodating to us. She went above and beyond to make sure we received exactly what we wanted and got the shots we wanted. She also offered helpful suggestions to our wedding timeline to make sure we got the most of our time with her.

    Finally, Samantha and her husband Colton—who was the second shooter—are just amazing, wonderful people. They are sweet, kind, funny, helpful, hardworking and hiring them just makes me want to be friends with them.

    Hiring Samantha for your wedding photos means you'll not only have beautiful, incredible photos to cry over for the rest of your life but also an extremely helpful friend. I'd hire her again in one second. Thank you Samantha!!!!!!!

    Samantha Phillips Photography's reply:

    Ahhh, Alex!! You are an angel. Thank you so so much! I can't wait to see you and Gerardo again soon!
  • Nicole
    Nicole M. Married on 05/22/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best Decision We Made!

    It's hard to know where to even begin with a review of Samantha Phillips, but her work can be described as nothing less than OUTSTANDING.

    Samantha truly goes above and beyond for her clients; she does way more than any photographer should and she does it without even being asked. To start, Samantha includes a free engagement session in the cost of her services. From the moment we met Samantha and her husband, Colton, we were so excited to have booked her. During our shoot, Samantha suggested we include our pup but we were concerned because we didn't want to have to worry about our dog during the entire shoot. Samantha problem solved and told us that her husband would be happy to "pet-sit" for shots without our dog.

    My (now) husband and I had never had professional photos done and were both a bit camera shy. Samantha was amazing at giving us directions and prompts that led to some of the cutest and most genuine photos I've ever seen. Samantha and Colton are both very easy-going and fun, so working with them immediately felt like having a (super talented) friend taking pictures of us. Honestly, we both just want to be friends with Samantha and Colton now. For us, that's important. Your wedding day is an intimate day and you want to feel comfortable with your photographer since they will be there for every moment.

    Aside from the fact that her photography is stunning, Samantha sets herself apart from others with her work ethic and speed. She got us our entire, edited, engagement gallery within days!

    After our engagement shoot, Samantha continued to go above and beyond. Her referral list is excellent (I found my makeup artist based on her recommendation) and Samantha, while primarily a photographer, is also something of an undercover wedding planner. Samantha literally helped set up the timeline for my wedding, and while I had a great planner, I knew that if something went wrong at any point that Samantha would step in. You definitely should not be relying on your photographer to do planning for you (please don't do this!), but Samantha as an "insurance" policy was pretty amazing.

    Throughout the process, of all my vendors, Samantha had the best communication and I felt like I was communicating with a friend. I even vented to her on multiple occasions and she was always there to lend an ear.

    On the day of the wedding, Samantha came early and then largely took the reins of making sure that we moved from point A to point B prior to our ceremony. We were running a bit late and things were a bit chaotic with our families, but Samantha was flexible and made sure we got all the shots we needed, even if we totally ended up messing up the order of them for her.

    Samantha's husband, Colton, served as her second shooter and she didn't charge anything extra for this. That's unreal. Because of this, Samantha was basically able to be in two places at once which was necessary because our venue (SD Safari Park) had our ceremony and reception on opposite ends of the park. I hope that Samantha will start to charge extra for this feature ;)

    Somehow, Samantha managed to get these insanely beautiful shots and, yet, was able to do it in stealth mode because I feel like I never even saw her camera.

    If this is all not enough for you to book Samantha Phillips, this next part should solidify things. Many photographers promise to get you a sneak peak album within a week or 2 so you have something to post. For most people I know, they get this album about 2 weeks after their wedding. Samantha sent us our sneak peak album of 35 perfectly edited images THE DAY AFTER the wedding. We took our first photos at 3:45pm on 5/22. At 3pm on 5/23 I already had an email from Samantha in my inbox with that sneak peak gallery. That's less than 24 hours and that's just UNREAL. Of course, true to form, the images are stunning. It's incredibly hard to choose which ones to post. That's with 35 images; so, I'm pretty concerned with whats to come when she gets the whole gallery back to us.

    Overall, I cannot recommend Samantha Phillips Photography enough. This woman has real talent and that talent is only matched by how hard she works to deliver the best product. I'm forever grateful to have found her and if you don't book her you are making a mistake. Don't start your marriage off on the wrong foot. Make sure to start things off right by booking Samantha!
  • Tyler
    Tyler D. Married on 04/01/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Samantha Phillips was amazing!

    Samantha was incredible to work with! Her photos of my wife and I at the Japanese Friendship Garden were absolutely amazing, and I cannot recommend her enough. She has an amazing unique style, and she makes the photos and posing for them effortless and fun.

    She also charges a very reasonable price, included comes free engagement photos so she can get to know you which is really fun.

    If you are looking for a high quality photographer that is a pleasure to work with and very professional, I highly recommend Samantha Phillips Photography.

    Samantha Phillips Photography's reply:

    Thank you so much for the kind words, Tyler! It was such a pleasure to work with you and Zoe and I am so honored to have captured your stunning wedding!
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • R
    Roseann Married on 02/05/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Phenomenal

    Samantha was an absolute pleasure to work with. Not only were the pictures she took phenomenal but the amount of support she provided myself and husband was above and beyond what I expected. I was a post-Covid bride with people not responding to me at times due to the uncertainty of regulation changes and she was there to ease my stress and give me vendor recommendations. Thank you for an amazing experience, Samantha! I can’t wait to use your services in the future to capture more memories.

    Samantha Phillips Photography's reply:

    Thank you so so much, Roseann! You and Robert were so wonderful to work with and I can't wait to see you both again soon!
  • M
    Michelle P. Married on 10/29/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Engagement Photos

    Recently had the experience of getting our engagement photos done with Samantha. It was such a great experience and I would recommend Samantha to anyone. She makes everyone feel comfortable and knows exactly where to take pictures that come out better than expected. With her experience, we really placed our trust in Samantha and we loved every single photo she captured. She even got them back so quickly and for that we are grateful!

    Samantha Phillips Photography's reply:

    Thank you so much for this review, Michelle! I had so much fun with you two and hope to see you both again soon!
  • Seana
    Seana D. Married on 10/22/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The absolute best photographer

    We had the pleasure of working with Samantha and her husband in October for our wedding. She was super helpful and responsive throughout the entire process both leading up to our wedding and the day of. She made us both feel so comfortable while taking our wedding photos. When my husband and I received our photos, we were both blown away. They were all stunning and even better than we could have ever imagined. Samantha captured every moment of our special day beautifully. We couldn’t recommend her more! If you are looking for a photographer for your upcoming wedding look no further!

    Samantha Phillips Photography's reply:

    Thank you so much, Seana! It was such a pleasure to work with you and Neil and I hope to see you both again soon!
  • L
    Lexi C. Married on 10/09/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Beautiful Wedding Photography

    Samantha is amazing! She is not only very talented but also professional and fun to work with. My husband and I are not used to being in front of the camera and she made us both feel so comfortable at our engagement shoot and on our wedding day. She truly captured the joy and excitement that we both felt on our wedding day and we will cherish our photos forever!

    Samantha Phillips Photography's reply:

    Thank you so much for this sweet review, Lexi! You were both such a pleasure to work with and I am so grateful you chose me to capture your absolutely stunning wedding day!
  • Jules
    Jules C. Married on 09/24/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Book with Samantha! You will not be disappointed!

    Samantha and her husband are an absolute dream team! They made sure during our busy day to get all of the photos we could possibly think of having. From day one working with Samantha, she was responsive, understanding, professional and overall the best photographer I could have asked for. Her work is stunning and if you choose to book with her, you will have zero regrets! I can not thank her enough for giving me amazing photos to help remember our day for the rest of our lives!

    Samantha Phillips Photography's reply:

    Jules!! Thank you so much for this review. Your wedding day was absolutely gorgeous and it was a pleasure working with you and Steven. I am so grateful you chose me to capture your day!
  • Nate
    Nate C. Married on 08/08/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best photographer!

    My wife and I recently got married in August and are so happy with Samantha's photos. As soon as we met her at our engagement session, we were so glad that we chose her to be our wedding photographer. Both my wife and I are not incredibly comfortable in front of the camera, but Samantha made us feel VERY comfortable. She takes great in the moment shots and also is very good about asking for specific shots you want taken. Her turn around time for photos is also very quick, and she is very responsive. Thanks Samantha for your amazing work!

    Samantha Phillips Photography's reply:

    Aww yay! Thank you so much, Nate! I had the best time with you and Brianna and I can't wait to see you two again soon. :)
  • Alexis
    Alexis C. Married on 05/10/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    the absolute best!

    I have no words. I had my mini ceremony in October, and I never could have expected so many beautiful pictures out of just a couple hours. Sam paid attention to everything we had discussed about pictures beforehand, and then gave me more than I could have dreamed. I literally don't know what to say besides she is everyone's DREAM photographer and anyone looking for a photographer should scoop her up now. Not only is she an amazing photographer, but she is one of the sweetest souls I know and she makes it her goal to see her couples happy. Believe me Sam, you more than did you job on this one, I so cannot wait for the bigger wedding next year to see how much more magic you can do.

    Samantha Phillips Photography's reply:

    Lexy!! You so sweet and I can't thank you enough for your kind words! Your wedding day was so beautiful and I am so excited for round 2!
  • Madelyn
    Madelyn H. Married on 04/23/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    a magical day to remeber

    Samantha really does an amazing job at taking photos. I am always sooo happy with how they turn out. Samantha did Jordan and i's engagement session and I loved the photos so much I immediately asked her if she wanted to shoot my wedding. because of covid the ceremony we had was not the one we envisioned, we still had a great time and to be frank the wedding hut was probably better and more intimate with close family. Samantha captures the best, and most intimate candid moments, I am so grateful to have these photos to look back on and remember just how much we are loved by our family. I told Samantha that when I have a baby shes taking our maternity photos! lol, she seriously rocks. I love your work!
  • J
    Jenna B. Married on 03/21/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Yes yes yes!!!!

    We had an absolutely lovely experience with Samantha and her husband, Colton. We booked one of her wedding packages that included an engagement session and our wedding photos, which we are equally obsessed with!! Samantha was wonderful at communicating, and so understanding of changes, even during a pandemic. She delivered our pictures faster than we were expecting, and the quality of her work is incredible. Also, she made both shoots so fun!! My husband actually enjoyed taking photos, which I was shocked about. It's been 2 months since our wedding and I am still obsessed with every single photo in our wedding album. I can't recommend Samantha enough!!!

    Samantha Phillips Photography's reply:

    Jenna!! Thank you SO MUCH for this review! You and Caleb were a dream to work with and your wedding day was just beyond beautiful! I'm so grateful to have been a part of it!
  • D
    Denisse E. Married on 03/20/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing!

    This review has taken me a while and quite honestly because I didn’t know how to describe how amazing Samantha’s work is. She captured our wedding beautifully and most uniquely.

    We had the plan of having our wedding in San Diego but with all the rise of restrictions, we decided 3 months before our big day to have an elopement like wedding in Yosemite National Park. We shared the idea with Sam, and immediately she said YES.

    She accommodated our plan, timeline, research and adventure. She was our mini wedding planner/photographer, her type A skills really came perfect together. The day of the wedding was magical, both Sam and Colton were the sweetest with our friends and family- they really are a power couple duo.

    My husband and I were impressed with Sams ability to create but also organize and execute. She was never late on an email, answered all our questions throughout the process and was exceptionally passionate about her dream life, now her reality. Both my husband and I are creative business owners and understand the value and hard work that goes into building a thriving business. Loved her work.

    Sam, you’re amazing! Never stop dreaming. Much love ❤️

    Samantha Phillips Photography's reply:

    Ahhh Denisse!! Thank you so much for these sweet words- I have tears!! Your wedding day was absolutely incredible and working with you and Efren was a dream from the very beginning. Thank you SO MUCH for having us, we are so honored!!
  • B
    Brandi T. Married on 01/30/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Photographer

    Sam was amazing with my moody teenagers and actually got genuine smile from them, I recommend her to everyone!
  • Jill
    Jill T. Married on 12/31/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The best of the best

    Sam photographed my now husband and me after our small at home wedding and I cannot speak highly enough of her! We had a bit of a unique situation/some special requests (include our dog, shoot at multiple locations, etc.), though none of that fazed her. We had spoken with multiple other photographers who tried to have us adjust our plans to fit within one of their "packages," but Sam truly listened and we got exactly what we wanted and more! From the beginning she was responsive, super easy to work with and I was amazed by what we received (within 48 hours!) from a 1 hour shoot. There are many, many talented photographers in the area, but based on the experience we had with Samantha Phillips Photography, we won't go to anyone else!

    Samantha Phillips Photography's reply:

    Thank you so so much, Jill! I had so much fun with you three and can't wait to see you all again!
  • Salvador
    Salvador G. Married on 07/18/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best. Photographer. Experience. Ever!!!

    We absolutely loved our whole experience with Sam! We couldn’t have asked for a better photographer. We’re a gay couple and felt totally comfortable from start to finish with her. She accommodated to the changes we had to make because of COVID-19. We had great communication with her all throughout the planning and she was easy to get ahold of. During the wedding, we appreciated her being vocal and directive when taking group photos. After the wedding, the turn around for photos was quick and they came out SOOOO GOOOD! We will definitely recommend Sam every chance we get! Shout out to her husband Colton for being an awesome assistant!

    Samantha Phillips Photography's reply:

    I wish we could relive that day all over again! Thank you so much, you two! I am so grateful for your support and I can't wait to see you again in the future!
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message