Weddings

Rudy's Pastry Shop Reviews

Rudy's Pastry Shop

Rudy's Pastry Shop

Bloomfield, NJ
Rating 4.9 out of 5, 40 Reviews
View more information

40 Reviews

Rated
4.9
out of 5.0
Recommended by 97% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.9 out of 5

Awards

  • 40
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner

12 User photos

Sort by:
  • Dana
    Dana M. Married on 06/05/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Most Delicious Cake!

    We had a great experience with Rudy’s from the start. We did our cake tasting with them, and were amazed that they baked us 3 mini cakes in the flavors of our choice. The cakes were absolutely delicious and it was so hard to decide which combo to go with. We opted for them vanilla cake with fresh strawberries and Bavarian Creme. It was DELICIOUS and we received so many compliments from our guests!
  • Jeff
    Jeff N. Married on 11/10/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Perfect Cake

    We worked with Rudy's through our venue (The Stone House at Stirling Ridge) and had an amazing experience with them. Our tasting was early and we loved all the options, but chose a yellow cake with bavarian creme and white frosting. They were able to recreate a design we'd seen online, and everything turned out perfectly. The cake was delicious and exactly how we wanted it to look. Everything was very easy and we'd definitely recommend them to others! Thank you

    Rudy's Pastry Shop's reply:

    Congratulations!! Thank You Jeff for taking the time to leave this generous review for us. It was our pleasure to help be a part of your special day. We would love to see a few photos if you wouldn't mind sending us some. We hope we can be of service to you in the future! Best Wishes to both of you and your beautiful future together.
    Rudy's Pastry Shop
  • Allison
    Allison G. Married on 11/01/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    100% you need a cake from Rudy’s

    Cake was BEAUTIFUL and delicious. I showed them a random picture from Pinterest and they blew that picture out of the water. My guests actually ate cake...we also got a cannoli tower which i made sure i ate from and they were delicious. Thank you!

    Rudy's Pastry Shop's reply:

    Thank you Allison! It was a pleasure and honor to work with both of you to have a small role in your special day. We greatly appreciate your taking the time to leave these thoughts and photos. We hope to be of service to you in the future. Best wishes!
  • Kim H
    Kim Married on 08/03/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Delicious!

    We chose Rudy's for our wedding cake at the Stone House at Stirling Ridge. My husband and I are very pleased that we did! There are a variety of cake flavors and fillings to choose from. Their tasting was also phenomenal. We loved the fact that we were able to have different flavor combinations for each tier of our cake. We still hope to use Rudy's for future special occasions as well!

    Rudy's Pastry Shop's reply:

    Hi Kim,
    Thank you for taking the time to leave us this generous review. We are honored to have been a part of your special day! We look forward to being of service to you and your family in the future.
    We would love to share a few photos of the cake from your wedding if you wouldn't mind sharing them with us. Thank You. Best Wishes!
    Rudy's Pastry Shop
  • Christina
    Christina S. Married on 05/25/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Tasty and Beautiful Wedding Cake

    Our venue had two preferred bakeries we could choose from to design our wedding cake. When we looked at the two options, Rudy's was our obvious choice.

    Rudy's is one of the few bakeries I have found that offers so many varieties of cake flavors and fillings. What I loved about our tasting was that we were able to create 3 mini cake combinations of our top choices and those cakes were made fresh for us for our visit. We then got to take the leftovers home!

    We went with a chocolate chip cake that had a cannoli filling. Our guests raved over how moist and unique the cake was, and how great it went with their coffee at dessert! The staff at Rudy's also worked well with our custom-made cake toppers and our floral designer. We froze our top layer and can't wait to revisit our memories on our anniversay.

    Rudy's Pastry Shop's reply:

    Hi Christina,
    Thank you for taking the time to leave us such kind words about your experience with us. It was our pleasure to work with both of you. We are happy and honored to be able to take part in your special day! We will be here for you when you need more desserts in the future. Best wishes!
  • Kristen
    Kristen Married on 12/28/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Beautiful Wedding Cake

    Rudy’s was amazing! The taste test was so delicious and I loved how they made 3 mini cakes for us to take home! Our wedding cake was absolutely stunning and tasted amazing. We did Vanilla with Lemon Filling & Red Velvet with Cannoli filling. Both flavors were amazingly Rudy’s will not disappoint. Book them for your wedding!

    Rudy's Pastry Shop's reply:

    Thank You, Kristen, for taking the time to leave this glowing review. We are honored to be a part of your wedding. We hope we can be of service to you in the future. All the Best!
    Rudy's Pastry Shop
  • A
    Abisoye Married on 06/01/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    i can't say enough thank you to the team.... they helped us in surprising our boss in the office on such short notice and EVERYONE Raved about how tasteful their cake and pastries were. Great Job Hands down the best. you have now gained a loyal customer

    Rudy's Pastry Shop's reply:

    Hi Abisoye,
    Thank You so much for the generous review. We are happy to hear everyone enjoyed the cake. We love and appreciate our customers and do all we can to make sure their experience is a positive and delicious one! We look forward to hearing from you in the future. Best Wishes.
  • Heather
    Heather Married on 04/28/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Absolutely the best!

    My husband and I had some unusual requests for our wedding cake and we're so happy we chose Rudy's. Sergio was AMAZING! He spent so much time during our cake tasting to understand what we wanted and to make sure he made our vision come to life. Everyone raved about the cake, from looks to taste, it was perfect. We are so happy with our decision and hope everyone chooses Rudy's, they're the best!
  • M
    Michele Married on 04/21/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    If you want an AMAZINGLY BEAUTIFUL that also tastes DELICIOUS then look no further than Rudy’s! It’s been months since my bridal shower and I still get compliments and think about the beautiful cake they made for me! They also made a specialty groomsman cake that came out perfectly! Highly highly highly recommend Rudy’s!
  • M
    Megan Married on 02/10/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We got a marble cake with fudge filling. The cake was delicious and Rudy's was able to make the perfect cake for our winter wedding theme: Yeti. They made two adorable yeti cake toppers out of fondant and textured the cake so it looked like snow with big snowflake patters on each layer. I highly recommend Rudy's for a beautiful and delicious cake! Can't wait to it it again for our anniversary!

    Rudy's Pastry Shop's reply:

    Megan,
    Thank You so much for your kind words. We enjoyed working with you and helping to create a wonderful fun cake for your wedding. We hope your wedding was the flawless day you deserve. We thank you for choosing us on your special day. We look forward to hearing from you in the future!
  • Elizabeth
    Elizabeth Married on 11/19/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We chose Rudy's Pastry Shop from a selection from our venue Stone House At Stirling Ridge. We are so glad we did! The tasting--although a little informal--left us with 100% confidence that our cake would be amazing. Great flavors, wonderful people--just a plain ole' great bakery!
  • L
    Lauren Married on 08/28/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We got married at The Stone House at Stirling Ridge and had the option to choose Rudy's or one other bakery as the bakery for our cake. After reading a lot of reviews, we chose to have a tasting at Rudy's (and the reviews also lead me to believe I knew I would be choosing them as our cake baker as well). You do not have your tasting in a normal bakery, which kind of throws you off. You call ahead and let them know what flavors and fillings you would like to try and create 3 combos. There are 3 mini cakes all baked and ready for you to try when you get there. (I brought my mom and then fiance) We each had a BIG slice and there was still a ton of cake left...the size they make is about the size of the top layer of a wedding cake. They had baked 1 wrong cake so they quickly made the correct one. Once we decided on flavors and I showed them pictures of what we had in mind for the cake, they sent us home with all FOUR cakes! Yup, they even sent us home with the cake they accidently added the wrong filling in! He was so so nice to talk with and we all enjoyed the very relaxed feel to the tasting. Our wedding was this past Sunday (8/28) and I still can't get over how beautiful and perfect our cake was! It was exactly like the picture we showed and tasted incredible! So happy we chose Rudy's :)
  • S
    Shaina Married on 06/10/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Rudy's was recommended to us by a friend. We contacted them hoping they would come down to LBI because of how delicious their cakes are. They agreed and were amazing to work with. The cake tasting was great and we felt very comfortable about them delivering the design we wanted. We showed up with 2 different pictures of cakes and asked them to combine the two ideas. Without much direction, they did and our cake looked better than we ever could have imagined. We had so many compliments on our beach theme cake. It tasted so delicious we can't wait to eat the top tier on our anniversary!
  • C
    Chris Married on 04/23/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Our wedding cake from Rudy's Pastry was fantastic. We were set up with the shop by the Stone House, where we had our reception. The tasting was very helpful, and Sergio walked us through all our options. They were also very flexible, allowing us to mix and match our fillings to get the right combination. The cake turned out beautifully -- and it was delicious.
  • L
    Lessy Married on 12/20/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Went to Rudy's before going to Palermos because my venue had a choice of both bakeries. I presented both bakeries the same picture of the cake I wanted and not only could Rudy's make my cake within my budget, but he gave me an even better way to incorporate all of my wedding colors. The tasting was fun because he gave you cake to take home and retaste and share with friends to be able to really make the final decision. So glad I went with Rudy's for our cake, I can't wait to see how it turns out.
  • StephaDeFa
    Stephanie Married on 10/16/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Sergio at Rudy's Pastry Shop was an absolute pleasure to work with. Our tasting was so personable and you could tell he truly loved his job. After a pretty vague description and picture, the cake he delivered to us on our wedding day could not have been any more perfect or delicious. He is truly awesome at his job because you can tell he does it with love! Thank you Sergio!
  • R
    Rachel Married on 09/20/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We were BEYOND happy with our wedding day cake from Rudy's!! We got married at the Stone House at Stirling Ridge on 9/20/15 and were given the choice of going with Rudy's or Palermo's. I had heard great things about both so I started reading reviews; everyone said that Rudy's cake tasting experience was far better. Instead of having a ton of brides and grooms all come at the same time and eat the same pre-selected cake, Rudy's allows you to personally select which 3 cakes and 3 fillings you want and they then bake you 3 separate 6" cakes for you to try! Your cake tasting is private with whomever you want to bring along and then they give you your cakes to take home! All 3 cakes were amazingly delicious, not too sweet and definitely not dry--- we ended up going with a chocolate chip cake and cannoli filling. Guests couldn't stop raving about the cake, some admitted that they aren't wedding cake people and ate the whole thing. Our cake looked exactly as I wanted, I had sent the pastry chef a few pictures and I was blown away (still am) when I saw our cake for the first time. It truly was the most beautiful cake I'd ever seen and when we were finally able to have a slice, it tasted amazing!!!! I was so impressed~I would highly recommend getting your cake from Rudy's Pastry Shop!!
  • N
    Terri Married on 07/25/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Rudy's cakes are amazing! We had our wedding at the Stone House and they recommended two cake vendors and we're so happy we went with Rudy's! We ordered a strawberry shortcake for our summer wedding, naked style (which doesn't have any icing on it, just a little powdered sugar). We gave them a few inspiration images and they nailed it. It was both gorgeous and delicious! All of our guests raved about it. I'll be going back here for anniversary cakes for many, many years to come!!
  • User2146212 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Our cake was AMAZING! I could not have asked for a more perfect wedding cake.. we met with the baker and i showed him about 6 cakes that i loved and that i wanted to incorporate them into a 4 tear cake. They could not have done a more perfect job at it. The colors were perfect the style was perfect and the taste was delicious! I am still getting compliments on the cake. They also made us a grooms cake out of fondant in the shape of a hockey jersey.. that was incredible too. We are so happy that Rudy's made our cakes and we are looking forward to our one year anniversary cake! We can not thank you enough :)
  • J
    Jackie Married on 05/09/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Our venue gave us the choice of two bakeries for our wedding cake, and we did tastings at both. As soon as we set foot in Rudy's, it was the obvious winner by a long shot. The cakes we tasted were delicious -- head and shoulders above pretty much any wedding cake I've ever had. And the fact that Rudy's is a small, family operated business really made the whole experience so much more personal and flexible.

    I was thrilled with the final outcome at our wedding. Sergio did a fantastic job duplicating some of the design from our wedding invitation in the detailing on the cake, and the cake tasted fantastic. Can't recommend Rudy's highly enough!
  • J
    Jennifer Married on 05/09/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Most detailed and delicious cake we could have ever had on our wedding day. I asked for a tasteful beach designed cake serving up to 210 guests and the finish product came out AMAZING!
    I truly was impressed when we were in the ballroom at Clark's Landing to see what an amazing job Rudy's did on our cake. We chose Rudy’s over Clark’s in house bakery and I’m so glad we did. They listened to us and added their personal touch to the cake and it came out way beyond our expectations. The shells were perfect that were placed on the cake along with the detailed sand all around the 3 tiered cake.
    Rudy's bake shop did an amazing job, from the flavor, to the design of the cake, we could not be more pleased with how it all came out! It was truly perfect.
    We ordered two cute Adirondack chairs from Etsy to place on top of the cake and the team at Rudy's was so helpful with incorporating them into our cake. We chose 2 fillings, a cannoli filling and Bavarian cream which complemented the vanilla cake perfectly.
    After all the food we had at our wedding, everyone still indulged in the cake and everyone was happy they did since it was delicious. I highly recommend them for your wedding or any other events. You will be so glad you did, we are!
  • R
    Rebecca Married on 04/18/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We loved Rudy's!!

    Our cake was included with our venue (Stone House) and we were SO happy that Rudy's was an option! At our tasting they made three completely different small cakes for us to taste and take home! we couldnt believe it! It was way more personalized and delicious than any other cake tasting we had been to. Rudy's was the clear winner. The fresh strawberries and bavarian cream was such a fresh and delicious option for us! After our tasting and confirmation that we had chosen them we didn't have to worry about a thing! Our venue coordinated everything from there on with Rudy's and when we got to the venue there was our beautiful cake (with adorned flowers from our florist and our cake topper!) We loved it and it was exactly what we wanted! Everyone said it was one of the most delicious wedding cakes! Thank you Rudy's!
  • Michelle
    Michelle Married on 11/21/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We love Rudy's!! They made our wedding cake and an amazing groom's cake for my husband. Everything tasted great, was super fresh, and Chris was so easy to work with. They basically created whatever we wanted. We came upon Rudy's after going to another bakery's cake tasting, and that one did not even come close to the experience we had at Rudy's. We will definitely be using Rudy's again for any future cake needs.
  • User1919293 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We ordered our cake through Rudy's, however it was paid for by our reception hall. We received a response from the bakery pretty quickly and received an email with a variety of flavors, both cake type and filling. There were a significant amount of options to choose from. When we went to taste the cakes we didn't really know what kind of design we wanted. Luckily, the gentleman helping us assisted us greatly and we were able to pick something at that same visit. The cake tasted phenomenal!!! We highly recommended strawberries with bananas and Bavarian cream!

    Rudy's Pastry Shop's reply:

    Greatly appreciated!!! If you email us a picture of your cake, we would love to feature it on our website.
  • User1793577 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Rudy's was able to give us exactly what we wanted at a very affordable price. Not to mention the cake was delicious. When we went for our tasting they prepared 3 small individual cakes and sent us home with the leftovers, which I was not expecting. Would highly recommend them for your custom wedding cake.

    Rudy's Pastry Shop's reply:

    Wow, thank you for that wonderful review. If you can send us a picture of your cake, we would love to feature it on our website