Royal Affairs Ballroom Reviews

6 | Lewisville, TX
See photos, pricing and details

6 Reviews for Royal Affairs Ballroom

Recommended by 87% of couples

4.4 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.3
  • Professionalism 4.3
  • Flexibility 4.4
  • Value 4.1
  • Average response time 4.6

Awards

6

2 User photos

Order by:
  • E

    Erica · Married on 03/07/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This is THE PLACE to have your wedding reception! I absolutely loved the look! David is AMAZING, and will work with you on whatever you need for your special day. I love this place because they provide you a vendor list, and they are very accommodating with their packages. It makes it less stressful with all of the vendors provided in a package at the venue. This venue is very affordable (considering the wedding industry) and so beautiful!!! You have got to check it out.

    FYI: If you do choose this venue I do not recommend the bakery "Candy Haven" on the vendor's list. They completely ruined my wedding cake on the day of my wedding.

    Sent on 09/06/2015
  • Amy

    Amy · Married on 12/19/2015

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This is a wonderful location to have your wedding reception! David H. was very helpful and made the process very smooth. He even gave me his phone number and would respond to my texts at any time of the day. He is very flexible and worked with what I wanted while staying in budget. The room is tastefully decorated and could match any decoration plan you have. Price wise, they are still expensive in my opinion but FAR less expensive than every other vendor I saw. In addition, they don't have a catering minimum and include the chivari chairs at no extra cost, which is a rare find in the wedding world. I highly recommend using this location!

    Sent on 01/08/2016
  • A

    Adrianna · Married on 05/23/2014

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    "Decorated in warm, neutral tones and lighting to accentuate the expansive ballroom space. Thanks for considering us and check out the amenities we have to offer. The ballroom's décor includes prestigious columns and an impressive full size crystal chandeliers that overlooks the dance floor and adds an inviting ambiance." (Also features a full service bar.)

    Elegant, contemporary, classic. Everything we were looking for our Big Day!!
    We loved the venue instantly. It is located in Old Town in Lewisville, TX right off Main Street. The packaged services were customizable to what we needed and kept us stress free throughout the process and wedding day!

    www.royalaffair.com
    Ask for Daniel!!

    Sent on 01/05/2015
  • User2711134 · 2+ years ago

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      3.5

    This venue is beautiful. I worked with a wonderful woman, who was so helpful and great to us. She kept us abreast of everything, as they were adding an additional side at the time. Everything was professional and great. Unfortunately she left before my wedding, but she made sure that everything was great.

    Sent on 10/13/2012
  • A

    Andrew T. · Married on 02/22/2020

    2.8
    • Quality of service:
      2.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.0

    Great managers, but the DJ that's part of their package is terrible.

    Quick Summary - Great venue managers. Problem is with the DJ Jon Stricklan who is part of their packaged deal. He will NOT PLAY YOUR SONG REQUESTS, he will play songs HE LIKES. If you ask him to change during the wedding, he will basically say no. He will start your first dance song at the 30 second mark without ever telling you he will do that (making your first dance look dumb). And he will also call the bride by the wrong name (Her name is Diana, yet he still messed that up). More info below. Even more things he did badly, but I can't type anymore.

    There are TWO separate things I will be reviewing for this. If this review was about the venue and the manager/coordinator you work with, this is a 5 star review. Both David and Najim were great at helping us and accommodating us. There are amazing at their job and they truly helped us with our wedding.

    In their wedding package they offer, they include a DJ named Jon Stricklan. He is the reason it is not a 5 star review. If I was reviewing the DJ Jon Stricklan alone, it would be a 1 star review. He was probably one of the worst DJs/MCs you could possibly have. We met with him a couple of times before our wedding to get the itinerary scheduled and also music ideas handled. Both my wife and I were born in the 1990s and the majority of our guests are also on the younger half. Also, being Asian, our families came to America in the 1980s. HOWEVER, the DJ Jon kept wanting to play 1960s music saying "its music that everyone knows". Not fully trusting his music choices, my wife and I created a playlist of "Must Have Songs" to be played at our wedding. We did this because we did not trust his wedding song choices. Sure enough, we were right.

    On the day of our wedding, Jon Stricklan from Fresh Spin Entertainment, kept playing some weird songs that my wife and I never wanted on our playlist. We had created a specific playlist specifically for this reason and we told him MANY times to stick to our Must Have Songs and also our playlist if those songs run out. He started playing weird elevator music, Egyptian dance music, etc. So during the wedding, we told our bridal party to talk to him and to please stick to our playlist. He seemed offended by this and gave sass to our bridal party. About 20 minutes later, he AGAIN played music that was definitely not to our taste. So we told him again to stick to our playlist, and his response was "No, no one will dance to those songs." WHAT TYPE OF DJ DOES NOT LISTEN TO THE BRIDE/GROOM??! That was despicable. I have never once heard of a DJ denying a bride/groom's song requests. Ever.

    This is just the tip of the iceberg when it comes to problems with Jon Stricklan from Fresh Spin Entertainment. When it was time for our first dance song, my wife and I were prepared for the entire song. All 3 and a half minutes of it because we choreographed every second of it. Out of nowhere, Jon started the song at around the 30 second mark. Without any warning to us or even telling us he would crop the song. Because of this, it ruined our choreography and ruined our first dance because my wife and I were so frazzled. I have never once heard of a DJ cutting someone's first dance song without ever telling them that.

    Jon also said my wife's name wrong during the introductions. Her name is Diana. Jon is an American. I do not know how he can mess that up. How can a MC mess up the BRIDE'S name on her wedding day??!

    Sent on 03/10/2020

    Royal Affairs Ballroom's reply:

    Thank you so much for the 5 STAR Review. " If this review was about the venue and the manager/coordinator you work with, this is a 5 star review." I want to apologize for your experience with the DJ. We have made adjustments so that will not happen again. Please take care and we wish you all the best.