Root Cellar Catering Reviews

67 | San Marcos, TX
See photos, pricing and details

67 Reviews for Root Cellar Catering

Recommended by 98%

67
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 4.9

3 User photos

Root Cellar Catering 1
Root Cellar Catering 2
Root Cellar Catering 3
Sort by:
  • Katie

    Katie · Married on 05/04/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing food!

    Root Cellar did an amazing job on our wedding day!! We continuously hear how delicious the food was from our guests. Megan and Vanessa were SO great to work with! They truly love what they do and it shows in their work.

    Sent on 06/11/2019
  • R

    Rebecca · Married on 03/30/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Inexpensive catering, expensive tasting food!

    We chose Root Cellar not only because the food is fantastic but also because we are former Bobcats and it was a special spot for us. The price for their catering too, cannot be beat!
    The food was excellent, from horderves to the main meal!
    All of the food was fresh, well made, and hot. I ordered a lot of healthier food - lots of vegetables, but my guests loved it all! They went back for seconds!
    They also did a nice job with table setting and matching my color scheme.

    Sent on 06/02/2019
    Root Cellar Catering 4
    Root Cellar Catering 5
    Root Cellar Catering 6
  • Leanne

    Leanne · Married on 01/05/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Delicious!

    The food was amazing and I am so happy I have some left over! All of our guests were raving about the jalapeño and orange chicken. They couldn’t get enough! The staff was super helpful from the tasting all the way to the big day. You can also get your bartenders and alcohol insurance through them.

    Sent on 01/08/2019
  • K

    Kathy · Married on 10/27/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Fantastic food and service

    Everyone raved about the food and every interaction with them was a delight. I cannot reccomend them enough.

    Sent on 10/31/2018
  • V

    Veronica L Rodriguez · Married on 10/26/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Great Vibe from the Restaurant at Your Wedding!!

    We've been eating at Root Cellar for awhile now (the restaurant ambiance is lovely), and since we and many of our guests are Texas State alumni, we wanted to tie our undergrad and years spent in San Marcos to the wedding. The food selection was much more flavorful and curated than the usual wedding menu that other caterers have. The tasting was great and Megan, the chef, is ready to listen and bounce ideas around. The day of the wedding, they were right on time, and the food was served so fresh and hot. The menu created tasted like fall and the southwest with items like chicken with oranges and jalapenos; roasted potatoes; and creamy mac n cheese. EVERYONE, from the guests to the dj and photographer LOVED IT!! Check them out!! Tip: Family style service (food in center of table with guests passing bowls around) really makes the dinner much more intimate and cozy.

    Sent on 11/01/2018
  • Ashley

    Ashley · Married on 10/20/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Delicious!

    The food was one of the top compliments I got about my wedding. Everyone couldn't stop raving about it. And that was due to Megan and her team at Root Cellar. We loved working with them! After meeting Megan and tasting the food, we literally didn't try any other place. Megan is hilarious! Highly recommend Root Cellar!!

    Sent on 12/20/2018
  • S

    Sterling · Married on 09/08/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Incredible meal! The staff was so accomodating and pleasant. Vanessa helped me plan everything out and went beyond her job description to make sure our day was perfect. Everyone raved about the food.
    Thank you so much!

    Sent on 09/19/2018
  • S

    Sylvia · Married on 09/07/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Thank you for being a part of making a difference in our community. We appreciate your support. Please help us again 09/07 & 09/08/2018

    Sent on 10/02/2017
  • C

    Cindy · Married on 07/27/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The food for the Rehearsal Dinner was excellent, and the guests raved about the dishes! The kiddos ate every bite of the mac-n-cheese! I'm so happy we chose the Root Cellar!

    Sent on 07/31/2018
  • M

    Maribel · Married on 07/07/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I wanted a vegan friendly meal which we knew would be a challenge but Megan was able to give us an outstanding number of options that led to us choosing an incredible crowd-pleasing Mexican meal. And yes, Mexican food from Root Cellar was AMAZING! It was so flavorful and you could tell how much care Megan and her team put into making our meal. Megan went above and beyond in communication and detailing to make sure that we had everything we wanted for our day. She answered all questions and made every adjustment we asked for on our quote. It rained right at the beginning of our outdoor reception so Megan and her team were so adaptable in making a cocktail hour area on the first floor and then moved it all up to the rooftop where we had originally planned to hold the entire event as soon as the rain stopped. It was initially a stressful beginning but by the time my groom and I showed up, everything had been figured out and the celebration was ready!
    They can provide a bartendar, set-up crew, tear down crew , and even a cooler with ice! They are also connected to an amazing bakery which we ended up choosing to make our vegan chocolate with white icing wedding cake. We had so many of our guests come to us at the end of the night that would not stop raving about how delicious the cake was! It was beautiful and the "best wedding cake we had ever tasted" - a quote from our guests. Thank you, Ashley!
    If you're a wedding couple who is also working as your own wedding planner it was SO amazing to be able to hire one vendor that will provide all of these services and perform them beautifully! We were so happy that we were working with one large team to act as our caterer, servers for our meal, a bartendar, a baker who delivered and set up our cake decoration on site, and a separate team that came in at the end of the night to break down. Hire this amazing team! They are wonderful, hard-working, gifted, and experienced. You won't regret it!

    Sent on 09/29/2018
  • L

    Lauren · Married on 07/03/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Delicious!

    We loved our cake from Root Cellar Bakery! After testing many, many, different cakes, we couldn't get the Root Cellar cake out of our minds. The density was perfect, and the flavors were decadent. We went with Tequila Lime cake and icing, and it was a hit with everyone! There wasn't ANY left at the end of the night. The company was so easy to communicate with, very responsive, and helped to ease the stress of wedding planning. I highly recommend this company, and now go back and eat their yummy pastries all the time!

    Sent on 06/28/2019
  • R

    Rebecca · Married on 05/27/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were referred to Root Cellar through our wedding venue (Memory Lane Event Center), and we cannot say enough GREAT things about the team! Megan, the head chef went above and beyond the duties of a caterer to help us select a custom menu that accommodated all the needs of us and our guests! She went so far above the 'typical boring wedding food' you can get from other vendors. Vanessa was a great host and director, and invited us to multiple free events they were hosting, and really made us feel like family. Ashley over at the bakery made a phenomenal cake that got ooh'd and ahh'd over by everyone at the reception. We loved Root Cellar so much that every time we go to San Marcos we will be visiting their restaurant to eat their amazing food again!

    Sent on 05/29/2018
  • C

    Charles · Married on 05/10/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Excellent from start to finish.

    Sent on 05/26/2018
  • M

    Melissa · Married on 05/09/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    They always do a FANTASTIC job catering our many events! They never disappoint :)

    Sent on 05/07/2018
  • L

    Lauren · Married on 04/21/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My wedding cake was very beautiful and delicious. It turned out so much better than I imagined, and I received many compliments.

    Sent on 05/07/2018
  • K

    Kelly · Married on 03/24/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The food was amazing and the venue was perfect for a group of about 25. Everyone had a wonderful time. The staff was awesome and very helpful.

    Sent on 03/27/2018
  • L

    Laura · Married on 03/23/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We used Root Cellar Bakery for our wedding cake and could not be happier. Ashley captured our vision perfectly and worked with us to create a cake that made the most sense for our head count. I am still dreaming about the cake and can't wait for to eat another slice on our one year anniversary!! Not only was the cake beautiful and delicious, I believe it was a great value and they wonderful people to work with. Book them!

    Sent on 05/14/2018

    Root Cellar Catering's reply:

    Thank you so much Laura for your wonderful review and Thank You card! I always love hearing feedback from my brides, and I'm thrilled that you guys were so happy with your cake!
  • L

    Laurie · Married on 03/12/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We've worked with Root Cellar several times for our meetings and events, from catering a welcome breakfast at a local art gallery to hosting a client reception and a farm-to-table dinner after hours at the Bakery, we've enjoyed working with their team. When everything has to be just right as far as menu selection (creative, fresh, fits all palates, within our budget, etc.) and using the food & beverage to help create the perfect setting for a special event, they've knocked it out of the park every time. Professional, easy to work with, offered great suggestions and saw the big picture in what we were creating and we look forward to working with them again and again.

    Sent on 03/09/2017
  • M

    Mary lou · Married on 01/27/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This was a catered baby shower. It was effortless from the ordering, easy to pay. Food was on time , beautifully presented and delicious. Highly recommended

    Sent on 01/30/2018
  • S

    Sue · Married on 12/03/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Root Cellar and Megan catered my daughters wedding 3 years ago and it was fabulous. I recently attended the farm to table dinner that they catered. I didn’t think it was possible but they have gotten even better in every area!!

    Sent on 10/25/2017
  • K

    Kevin · Married on 11/04/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I suggest the beef tenderloin, it was wonderful, they provided a wonderful turnkey solution to our wedding. The provided everything we needed. They were responsive and answered all of our questions. We are glad we chose them. the staff was wonderful and helpful, very professional, I cannot say enough nice things about them and the staff. The staff cut the wedding cake for us which was one less hassle of appointing a relative/friend/poor volunteer. we got tables, chairs , plates, glasses and linens.

    Very Satisfied,
    Kevin G. Heather G

    Sent on 11/08/2017
  • C

    Cara · Married on 11/04/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Meghan was super responsive and really flexible with me. Besides being late by about 15 minutes everything worked out perfectly! Guests didn’t notice and the rest of the night went smoothly. We even had leftovers!

    Sent on 11/15/2017
  • K

    Kathryn · Married on 10/21/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Megan and her staff at the Root Cellar were absolutely amazing! From the food, to the cakes, and even taking care of the bar! Everything went fabulous, and they went above and beyond to make our day so special. As a couple who was planning from out of town, they were so helpful and accommodating throughout the whole process. The food was delicious and was a great way to highlight a fall evening in the Texas hill country. We had some many compliments from our guests, and were thrilled when we found out we had leftovers to take home! The Root Cellar Bakery also did our cakes and they were not only gorgeous, but also delicious! And the added bonus is that they did all of this at such a reasonable price! Especially compared to others in the area. I would HIGHLY recommend the Root Cellar crew, and would work with them again in a heartbeat!

    Sent on 10/23/2017
  • B

    Bonnie · Married on 10/18/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Root Cellar was amazing! Carissa and team were on top of everything and the food was beyond expectation.

    Sent on 10/23/2017

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review