Skip to main content
Weddings

Root and Stem Reviews

Root and Stem View more information

Reviews

5.0 out of 5 rating
35 Reviews
  • Quality of service
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    5 out of 5 rating
99% Recommended by couples

Awards

35
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2022 Winner

26 User photos

  • R
    Robert S. Sent on 06/13/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Delicious food and excellent service

    We were supper impressed with Root & Stem from the planning to the tasting to the amazing meal they delivered to our ~100 guests at our wedding party. They are more than a cut above the usual caterer in terms of quality of food and flavor and service. Hannah was a wonderful partner to us in the planning and at the event.
  • R
    Renee R. Sent on 10/25/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Excellent in every way!

    Delicious food (best salad ever - kale! Never had so many guests comment and compliment a salad), beautiful presentation, fantastic service. Locally sourced foods, environmentally responsible practices, a truly refreshing experience. We had tastings with 3 different caterers and it was an easy decision. They are everything they say on their website and represented at the tasting. It was the best wedding ever and the food was a big part of it.

    Root and Stem's reply:

    Thank you so much for the spectacular review! We loved working with you, your family and LHavard Events to make their wedding vision come to life. We are thrilled you all enjoyed the food and decor. We will be happy to share our Tuscan Spiced Kale Caesar salad recipe with you. We wish Jessica & Joey a blessed life filled with love & laughter & hiking of course :)

    Best,
    Michelle Pulliam
    & Root & Stem Catering Team
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • J
    Juan Q. Sent on 10/25/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Root and stem was a great choice for our wedding. Food was amazing and very easy to work with.

    I want to thank everyone at Root and Stem for making our wedding memorable. The food and service was superb. Guests and family are still dreaming about the food! Michelle was amazing thank you for helping me and communicate with me and keeping me at low stress. The Chefs and team are superb.

    Root and Stem's reply:

    Thank you for the wonderful review, Juan !It was so much fun working with you to customize your wedding with all of the geometric design, crystals, mac n cheese bar, creme brulee and the suckling pig (Lechon) of course! We wish you and Gregory a beautiful life together filled with love, laughter and lots of delicious food :)

    Best,

    Michelle Pulliam
    & Rooth Stem Catering Team
  • M
    Margaret J. Sent on 08/17/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Absolutely Incredible

    Our experience working with Root and Stem for our June 2022 wedding was absolutely perfect. Michelle was a dream to work with - organized, responsive and flexible with a good sense of humor. The whole process of choosing a menu, making a game plan for the wedding day, and coordinating food for many dietary restrictions could not have run more smoothly.

    The catering team took minimal instruction from me (the bride) about the table settings and executed our vision for the asthetic of the reception perfectly. Service at the wedding was also very well run - plates were cleared at the appropriate time, pacing of the courses was spot on, dirty plates/glasses cleared promptly during cocktail hour, etc.

    And last but certainly not least - THE FOOD! We are now two months post-wedding and our friends are still talking to us about the food. Several have said it was the best food they've ever eaten at a wedding. One said it was the best chicken he's ever eaten anywhere. If you want food at your wedding that people find to be delicious and not just "pretty good for wedding food," look no further.

    10/10 to R&S!

    Root and Stem's reply:

    Margaret, thank you for the best review ever! We enjoyed working with you, your mom and Jared at Winding Creek . You are such a sweet couple and we wish you all the happiness in the world with your beautiful baby boy !

    Best,

    Michelle Pullia & Root & Stem Catering Team
  • Elizabeth
    Elizabeth Sent on 09/25/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Root & Stem

    Amazing employees and services. So helpful and kind.
  • Tanya
    Tanya L. Sent on 10/11/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing service and food!

    Craig and the rest of the Root and Stem crew did an amazing job at my wedding. Building up to the wedding, Craig was very responsive and accommodating. I planned my wedding from afar and Craig made the process as easy as possible. He cooked up some delicious food at our tasting with a wide variety of options. The staff did amazing and were all very professional. I loved their fresh ingredients and attention to detail. I would highly recommend Root and Stem to others who are looking for a caterer!
  • M
    Mike B. Sent on 09/28/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Wedding Catering

    Root and Stem were very helpful and accommodating from our first meeting all the way through our wedding. We had so many guests compliment us on the food, a good amount saying it was the best wedding food they had ever eaten. Root and Stem also provided the floral arrangements which turned out beautiful. They did all of this with patience and accommodating changes that arose due to the pandemic. From planning, setting up the venue, preparing and serving the food, and break down of the wedding, Root and Stem was a pleasure to work with and helped make our wedding one of the best our friends and family have been to, and we would highly recommend.
  • Jamie
    Jamie V. Sent on 09/13/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Craig and Michelle knocked it out of the park

    Root & Stem did an amazing job catering my wedding with a brunch-themed buffet. The food was so good and we had a lot of guests tell us so. (My favourite item was the chicken and waffles.)
    Craig was very responsive throughout the menu planning process. He was very accommodating for our meal requests, dietary needs, and our budget.
    We met with Craig and Michelle (their in-house coordinator) for a tasting a few weeks before the wedding. Michelle helped us choose which linens to use and made sure to ask lots of questions about what we thought of the food and what kind of atmosphere we were going for at the reception. She took over coordinating with the venue, designed the floor plan for us, and took care of decorations and putting our centerpieces out during set up. (R&S even provided some bonus decorations to supplement what we had!)
    I was so happy with how everything turned out!

    Root and Stem's reply:

    Thank you for your kind words, Jamie. It was a pleasure to work with you and Scott on your special day ! We are thrilled that you and your guests enjoyed everything.
    We wish you both a lifetime of love and laughter !

    All the Best,

    Michelle Pulliam &
    The Root & Stem Team
  • S
    Stacey B. Sent on 10/19/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Corie and Hunter, Married 10/17/20

    After having to change all our plans for our daughter’s wedding due to Covid, a friend recommended Root and Stem as our caterer. We made an instant connection and cannot say enough about how wonderful the entire experience was! We had a feeling the food would be phenomenal based on the sample menu that Craig provided. In fact, it looked so good, we didn’t change a thing! And we were correct! The food was amazing! Delicious and beautifully presented. But, in addition to the fabulous food, we had amazing, first class service. Craig paid attention to our requests, responded quickly to questions and concerns and made important suggestions that made all the difference for us and our guests. The evening of the wedding, Craig and his crew transformed the backyard into a beautiful private bistro that exceeded our expectations. The service during dinner was truly exceptional as was the cleanup afterward. I cannot say enough to thank them for making our daughter’s wedding a magical event!
  • F
    Fernando M. Sent on 06/01/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Very profetional and delivered what he said.

    The food was fabulous and the service was very professional. I will recommender to anybody who what a great team working in your wedding or any events. Fernando
  • B
    B Sent on 04/09/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best Food & Super Flexible

    Root & Stem was absolutely a dream to work with from the beginning. Because I (the bride) am celiac, we needed a 100% gluten free wedding, and we needed our caterer to take it incredibly seriously. We worked with Craig, and he got it immediately. At our tasting (in June 2020), Craig confirmed again the seriousness of the gluten free needs, and presented us with some fantastic food. In February, as we were finding out what our options were to have the wedding, Craig quickly pivoted from a full sit down dinner for 86 to a cocktail style reception for 21 with our entrees served as small tapas plates. When we increased our budget (because the savings were significant), he added staff rather than just spending money to spend it. Throughout the entire process, Craig and the whole team were understanding, responsive, and flexible to the changing requirements. The result was that we and our guests felt so well taken care of on the day. The food was absolutely fantastic, and it's only been a few days, but our guests are still talking about it. It was delicious, sustainable, and the staff were wonderful. We will absolutely be recommending them to everyone we know!
  • M
    Marsha S. Sent on 10/12/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Surpassed Expectations!

    We worked with Root & Stem for our wedding on 10/10/20. We decided to have a family only ceremony/dinner party at our home (backyard) with catering by Root & Stem. Craig was a dream to work with - it was easy to connect with him, he was very responsive to all our questions and comments, but most importantly, he truly cared about creating a special, food experience for us. He crafted a perfect and unique menu and even assisted with acquiring rentals (plates, glasses, napkins, etc) for the dinner. Craig and his team took care of all set up and clean up, we didn't worry about a thing. The presentation of the meal and the actual taste of the food, were simply fabulous. My father has never taken pictures of food in his life, but he took a picture of every plate of food that was served to us. To say we were impressed is an understatement! We plan to be repeat customers :)
  • Carlos
    Carlos Sent on 10/12/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Delicious, professional, elegant!

    I had the most incredible experience with Root & Stem Catering! Their service, professionalism, and their mouth watering food is what took our day to the next level! It’s been a week since our wedding and our guests are still raving about that braised beef and pollo con crema! Chef Craig was kind, very responsive, engaging and really took our preferences into consideration! He welcomed feedback & encouraged us to make changes if we really wanted! They were on time and were so easy to work with! They didn’t add any stress the day of. They were easy to work and plan with which was a delight. Even our food tasting was an incredible experience! They were so detailed and really made us feel special! You could never go wrong with Root & Stem! I’m ready to plan a party just to work with them again! 10/10
  • D
    Deborah R. Sent on 06/12/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Outstanding Food & Service For Engagement Party

    I can’t thank you and your team enough for making my son’s engagement party absolutely perfect. From the start of our planning discussions to the cleanup at the end of the night, you were all extremely professional, friendly, and helpful, and I couldn’t be happier that we retained you for this special occasion.

    I really appreciated your creativity and flexibility in developing our menu and constant responsiveness to my ideas and change requests. From the hors d’oeuvres to the desserts, we ended up with the perfect menu and everyone couldn’t stop raving about the quality, variety and presentation of the food. In particular, our guests (and especially the happy couple) were very pleased with the vegetarian options and how seamlessly all the food choices worked together. The meal was topped off by delicious desserts and the celebratory carrot cake was as moist and tasty as I’ve ever had (again, our guests all raved!)

    Everyone was also quite complimentary of your staff. From the moment of his arrival, Marcelo was extremely friendly, professional and accommodating. Junior did a great job tending bar and helping out throughout the party, and Claudia did an outstanding job in our garage kitchen. They were the right people for our party!

    I can assure you I will recommend you to our friends and hope that we will have another opportunity to work with you. Sincere thanks and appreciation for making this a night and an event to remember.

    Deborah R.
    Bethesda, MD
  • Tani
    Tony Sent on 10/16/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Professional Catering Team

    Christina from Greenleaf & the entire team was great. They were very accommodating, professional, on time and flexible (which is a big plus for a wedding vendor).
  • S
    Shannon M. Sent on 11/01/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Excellent Food and Catering!

    Root and Stem is an awesome company that makes delicious food. Christina was awesome to work with and very responsive. She was super helpful every step of the way! She was also super flexible with some of the dietary restrictions. Our wedding day went seamlessly and everyone LOVED their entree option. My husband and I definitely made time so we could enjoy our meals. We highly recommend using this company!
  • E
    Emily B. Sent on 10/15/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Can I eat this food everyday?

    Craig and his staff were so ridiculously clutch to our plans. When we initially tasted the menu, we almost cried. We had wanted a caterer whose food didn’t taste like catering and BOOM. Enter Root and Stem. The overwhelming feedback from our guests (including a chef) was our food was the best they had ever tasted at any wedding. Goal accomplished. Also we lived off the leftovers from our pie bar for a week and I wish I could treasure those pies always.
  • D
    Delilah Sent on 11/07/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Highly Recommend! Everyone is still RAVING about our food....

    My husband and I recently got married in Maine by ourselves, and decided to have an intimate reception for our closest family and friends on 11/3/2018. We are so glad we chose Root & Stem to be the center of our celebration - they were the best! Our choice was reconfirmed as soon as I began chatting with Christina. She was beyond helpful, informative, quick to reply, and always willing to work with me. She went above and beyond to tweak our menu to meet all of our needs. She catered to our extensive dietary restrictions (no dairy, no nuts, no sesame), our preference of bacon wrapped dates instead of figs and still delivered a spectacular and delicious display of food.

    The day of was seamless because of her and her team! Our family and friends raved about how delicious, fresh and amazing our food was. Turnover between cocktail hour and our dinner was quick and easy, and her team ensured that everyone was taken care of throughout the evening.

    For reference: we had charcuterie, bacon wrapped dates, and trio of shrimp for hors d'oeuvres. Followed by a pear salad, beef short rib, stripped bass, roasted potatoes, glazed tri-colored carrots, and brussels with pomegranate.
  • M
    Meghan Sent on 10/15/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The BEST in the DC Metro area!

    Having Root & Stem cater our Sept. 22 wedding was by far the best choice we made. First, the food was incredible and was exactly the same as what we tried at our tasting. I have so many guest come to me and tell me, "This is the best food I've ever had at a wedding!". The planning process was an absolute pleasure. Our coordinator was organized, professional, had great ideas, and really cared about our event. The day of EVERYTHING and I mean everything went smoothly and according to plan. The staff was friendly, hard working, and just all-around very nice people. Root and Stem will forever by my catering go-to in the DC Metro area. I can't say enough great things about this company!
  • A
    Anna Sent on 09/29/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Our September 16th wedding had a fall seasonal/local theme, and Root & Stem was by far the best choice we made for our big day. We wanted the most important experience for our guests to be fantastic food, since we didn't have a big party with a DJ or band, which is not our style. Root & Stem succeeded. Our guests raved about the braised short rib served over sweet potato polenta.

    During the run-up to the wedding, working with Christina was easy. She was quick to respond to emails and worked seamlessly with our day-of coordinator. Craig, the owner, was present at our tasting, venue walk-through, and even on the wedding day, so we received Root & Stem's full attention.

    At the most important moment of our lives together so far, Root & Stem made our day. Thank you, Craig and Christina!
  • S
    Sarah Sent on 06/20/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I highly recommend Root & Stem. We had them cater our wedding 6/17/17. Craig Currie and his team were all fantastic even starting from before the big day. We were able to invite another couple to do the tasting at his facility- which was excellent and beautifully decorated as well. After the tasting, I provided Craig with some of our preferences and requests for our wedding menu. Craig was 100% willing to adjust the menu to our liking and worked with me to add delicious gluten-free and vegan/vegetarian options to every course of the meal.

    The staff were all amazing, kind, and efficient. Our cocktail hour needed to be cut short due to the heat, and Craig's team served dinner early without a hitch.

    The food was excellent! We were so happy with the fresh and local ingredients used. Our guests kept telling us how amazing everything tasted all night and the next day. The place settings were beautiful, the food looked so perfect. And they did all this about 85 miles from their facility (the wedding was in Luray, VA).

    The price matched the service and quality that we received. I highly recommend R&S!
  • M
    Maria Sent on 01/30/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    This was easily the easiest event I've ever thrown. I wanted simple and elegant and flexibility on menu and I got exactly that! Deliveries were on time, staff was so helpful with everything that I was able to enjoy the evening. The food was delicious and we heard about it all night from our guests. I recommend highly Root and Stem.
  • A
    Anna Sent on 04/28/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Craig and Tatiana with Root & Stem were extremely professional, helpful, flexible, and honest throughout the catering process. From the initial tasting to the day-of we couldn't have asked for anyone to take care of our big day any better. Not only was their customer service unparalleled, their food is fantastic! Most weddings we attend, we don't expect the food to be memorable, but Root & Stem's was. We have received so many compliments on the food from our guests. They also source all of their products from local farmers, which adds to the freshness and sustainability of their food.

    We would recommend Root & Stem to any of our closest friends and family without hesitation.

    For reference, we had their asparagus salad, prosciutto flat bread, beef short rib, Arctic char, fingerling potatoes for dinner with passed hors d'oeuvres and charcuterie & hummus platter during the cocktail hour.
  • J
    Joseph Sent on 05/14/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We arranged, along with my son and his fiancé, for Root and Stem to cater our son's wedding and couldn't be happier with the results. Craig Currie, the owner, was very accommodating in providing us the best possible dining experience. After selecting entrees of artic char and short ribs from many options on his menu, he invited us to a tasting at his location which demonstrated the quality of his work, which is exceptional. At the wedding Craig's staff served 150+ guests hot meals family style in record time. We had a small glitch and guests were seated earlier than expected. Craig and his staff responded promptly and no one noticed the issue. There was more than enough to go around and the meals were every bit as good as at the tasting. The true test was the number of guests who were highly complimentary of the meal.
    Craig also arranged for tables, chairs, place settings, hors d'oeuvres, and staffed the bar. Everyone associated with Root and Stem were pleasant, professional and geared to provide a high quality experience. We highly recommend Craig Currie.
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message