Rodney Mickle Photographer Reviews

26 | Fort Washington, MD
See photos, pricing and details

26 Reviews for Rodney Mickle Photographer

Recommended by 92%

26
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner

4.6 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.6
  • Professionalism 4.5
  • Flexibility 4.7
  • Value 4.6
  • Average response time 4.6
Sort by:
  • J

    Joe Greenaway · Married on 03/25/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rodney was truly excellent. We had an opportunity to view his work before we met. His eye for the right shot was awesome.

    Rodney went out of his way to make our wedding extremely special. We loved his work on our wedding day but we were truly impressed by his prep. He came to our house. Asked what we wanted then delivered. The final result was phenomenal. He really worked hard to make it all work. My entire family had great things to say which isn’t easy. I would recommend Rodney to anyone.

    Sent on 06/14/2019
  • A

    Amy · Married on 05/07/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rodney was amazing. He listened to everything we wanted and needed. He stayed the entire day of our wedding and captured everything. He adapted to any change. And the photos? Beautiful! Beyond what we had envisioned. We would recommend him again and again!

    Sent on 07/04/2016
  • W

    Whitney · Married on 02/05/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My fiance and I used Rodney as our photographer for our engagement shoot. We couldn't have been more pleased with his professionalism, yet easy-going personality. Throughout the process he was very flexible and extremely understanding of our needs. The overall experience was truley enjoyable. The pictures turned out great! His creative and artistic abilities really enhanced our vision for the perfect engagement shoot.

    Sent on 02/17/2012
  • K

    Kirsten · Married on 10/22/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I loved our photographer, Rodney Mickle!

    Steve and I got married last year before his first deployment and decided to have our "big wedding" this year after he returned home. Our situation was pretty unique as far as traditional weddings go... We spent the morning together and we got ready for our wedding together as well.

    We only have a few pictures together so Steve and I decided to use our big wedding day as an opportunity to take beautiful pictures we can look back on and enjoy forever. As an officer in the Navy, Steve is great at dealing with unusual situations and large groups of people. I had an unfortunate event occur in my childhood which has always effected my self-esteem. I've always been very shy and I get extremely nervous when I'm put at the center of everyone's attention. I was a nervous wreck before the ceremony, yet with the shyness from my past and the anxiousness of our future, Rodney made me feel beautiful. He made Steve and I both feel so special.

    Rodney was extremely organized. He got to our venue early and found the best places for pictures so that when it came down to it we were able to spend as much time as possible enjoying our special day. He was the perfect combination of professional and personable. He helped everyone relax with his sense of humor and was quick and effective when taking pictures. He was always perfectly positioned to capture the best moments and angles, yet it never felt like he was in the way.

    Rodney was extremely flexible as well. Our limo driver was late picking us up from our hotel so we arrived at our venue later than expected. He was still able to work with the time he was given and take pictures before the ceremony. Steve graduated from the Naval Academy so we really wanted to have pictures taken of us in downtown Annapolis after the reception. The plan was to leave the venue at 8:00 which would give us two hours to get downtown and take pictures. Unfortunately we were delayed again while saying goodbye to our guests. We didn't leave the venue until after 9:00 and the drive to Annapolis was going to take at least 30 minutes. We wouldn't have enough time to set up and take pictures once we got there. Rodney knew how much it meant to us to have pictures taken downtown so even though we only had him until 10:00, he stayed and took pictures until after 10:30.

    We would absolutely recommend Rodney as a photographer for any occasion, especially weddings. You won't be disappointed. The images he captured were amazing. They're better than we ever imagined they'd be! All of our guests loved him and we couldn't be more pleased with his work. Thanks so much for capturing our day, Rodney!!! You're the best!!!

    Sent on 10/30/2011
  • A

    akera · Married on 09/24/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    LOVE, LOVE, LOVE Rodney!! He went above and beyond what a photographer should do. As I was freaking out from lame bridesmaids, sheer nervousness, and the horror of my floral arrangements; he made me feel like a real princess. He complimented me many times and was flexible with timing. I haven't seen the photos, but his customer service is great! I think the photos will be awesome :)

    Sent on 10/14/2011
  • J

    James · Married on 09/02/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rodney is excellent -- a truly skilled and talented photographer with an eye for design, framing, and creative thinking in his work. Additionally, he's got a warm, affable personality that makes you feel comfortable and well taken care of. I'd strongly recommend him to anyone who needed photography services.

    Sent on 09/28/2011
  • M

    N · Married on 07/09/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I am currently in Afghanistan serving my country in the Marine Corps.
    Rodney's pictures of me and my wife sit on my desk. His ability to
    capture our love in a photo is amazing. His attention to detail, use
    of light and angles to create a lasting photo of our special day
    speaks to his professionalism and love for his art and people. I can
    not see my wife every day but I glance at Rodney's photos of our
    wedding and feel like I'm right next to her again. Rodney, I want to
    thank you for everything.

    On the day of the wedding Rodney was:
    on time
    a calming voice to the bride
    Took charge of directing the bridal party
    Captured the creative images we asked for

    From my husband in Afghanistan and myself we want to say Thank You Rodney for capturing our special day.

    Sent on 10/07/2011
  • C

    Cecilia · Married on 05/29/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rodney is a family friend and offered his talent for our wedding. We had a few mishaps in the wedding and he was so professional and flexible. He was all over the place taking pictures and working so hard to make sure he took pictures of those amazing moments. He was wonderful. We both loved having him.

    Sent on 05/31/2011
  • K

    Kirby · Married on 05/21/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rodney was such an amazing photographer and a great person to work with!!! It was such an important day and he captured everything so perfectly! I remember as my husband and I were looking over the proofs shortly after the wedding I got choked up all over again, as if I was reliving the moments, because Rodney really captured the joy and emotion from that day in every shot!! He was very engaged with our guests and even captured some really good shots of our family members and friends during the party. He was punctual, responsive and very open to our ideas. He was very discreet and inconspicuous yet still got the most amazing shots and did not distract from the wedding or the reception. Four months later people are still complimenting us on our wedding day, and even those who were unable to attend but whom have seen the photos that Rodney took, comment on how wonderful the day seemed and how it shows through all of our pictures. I would definitely recommend Rodney for anyone's photography needs. They are sure to be as pleased and as satisfied as we are!!

    Sent on 10/03/2011
  • B

    Regina · Married on 05/14/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rodney was an absolutely amazing photographer! We couldn't have asked for a better person that did a great job for our photos and interacted so well with our family and friends during our wedding reception. From the get-go, Rodney was so organized, especially during our introductory phone call. All of the photo shoots on the wedding day went so smoothly and my husband and I really liked the creativity that came out in the photos. We love all pictures that he took and we will cherish for a lifetime.

    Sent on 09/27/2011
  • I

    Lisa · Married on 09/04/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rodney was great! He was very down to earth and easy to talk to. Our friends and family thought he did a great job. A few friends actually told us at the wedding that they liked our photographer! They noticed how he paid attention to detail and was making sure he got some good shots but at the same time wasn't pushy or bossy with us! It was a small wedding, guest list was at 75 people. I honestly didn't notice where he was half the time, he blended in and wasn't sticking out like a soar thumb or getting in the way. We had an outside ceremony and he got creative with where and how to take some pictures outside which I loved. He was on time, at the venue before us, waiting so he could get the first shots of me and my bridesmaids as we got out our cars, loved it! The pictures he took were great! He caught the small details in a photo that just made it so nice and wonderful! I love the detailed shot of my dress hanging infront of the window and my red wedding shoes sitting on a silver tray with the red lamp next to it, love that picture! Everyone loved the pictures, they came out so much better than I had imagined! I'm glad my husband and I got a picture with him! He worked hard for being the only photographer but he made sure he took some great pictures! I would definitely recommend him to anyone who wants a friendly but professional photographer who takes amazing and creative pictures and gets the shots for you!

    Sent on 09/30/2011
  • J

    J · Married on 08/28/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I are very pleased with our wedding photos. My husband (fiance at the time) wanted to decrease cost by having a friend take our wedding pics. I was very much so against that. I felt as though this is going to be one of the most memorable days of our lives and I do not want any amateurs. I prayed for a photographer with a great eye and we definitely go that with Rodney. Our wedding pictures are absolutely amazing! Even more, Rodney was very professional and able to get our families focused to take photos (not an easy task by far). I will definitely recommend Rodney as the photographer for any event.

    Sent on 02/08/2012
  • S

    Fatima · Married on 08/21/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    What a job Mr. Mickle had ahead of him, but he managed to capture beautiful portraits on our wedding day, despite being cramped for time. We were extremely pleased with our wedding photos!

    Sent on 08/30/2010
  • J

    jeri · Married on 08/07/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rodney was simply awesome to work with. We got to know him a little bit during our engagement shots, so that just made us that much more comfortable the day of the wedding. He was so nice, efficient, on time and very open to new ideas. And the pictures were fantastic, especially all of the portrait type shots. You can't go wrong with Rodney!!

    Sent on 08/24/2010
  • H

    Hawa · Married on 07/16/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My Husband and I would like to compliment Rodney,for his professionalism,in taking our pictures,on our wedding day. he is very professional,was on time,got the images,that we wanted,and more. looking for a professional photographer,and a people person? rodney is the guy!! thanks againg rodney it was a pleasure meeting you. we love all the pics,

    Hawa & Legean
    July 16th 2010(Wedding Date)

    Sent on 08/05/2010
  • T

    Tammy · Married on 11/14/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had the pleasure of having Rodney photograph our wedding, the picutres were everything we had hoped they would be! Once we saw his portfolio....we knew he was the one! It's great to have the traditional posed photos, but ... once the day is over.....when you look back..... it's the moments that you think no one is watching.......these are the pictures that touch your heart! We met Rodney once prior to the wedding and then spoke several times by phone and email, he was always friendly and really listened to what we were looking for. The day of the wedding he was right on time and took all the poses we asked for and more! Our guests could not say enough positive things about him, he made them feel comfortable and even took some special requests! It is rare to find someone that goes above and beyond what they have to do....we had booked Rodney until the end of our reception....we ended up having a small after party outside and without even asking .....Rodney offered to take some pictures of us outside in the courtyard! The after pictures turned out so fantastic, we actually chose one of them for the cover of our wedding album. Rodney Mickle has a special gift for capturing those special moments that you will treasure forever!

    Sent on 08/01/2010
  • T

    Nicole · Married on 08/20/2011

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    We thought Rodney did a great job at our wedding! He was organized and professional. Most importantly, we were thrilled with the images! He is a Very talented photographer.

    Sent on 10/25/2011
  • N

    Rhiannon · Married on 06/13/2010

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    Rodney was a great photographer - friendly, timely, and professional. He has a great eye for good pictures. We love all our wedding pictures - portraits and candids alike.

    Sent on 07/09/2010
  • A

    Alexis · Married on 06/08/2012

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I got married on June 8, 2012 in Baltimore Md. Rodney was our photographer and to say he was amazing may be an understatement. He was professional and fun at the same time. After the ceremony we went to the inner harbor to take pictures and he had so many ideas. Between his idea and my idea we got amazing shots. I think he was the best during the reception. I wanted a lot of candid shot in addition to my portraits. I knew he would be amazing with the portraits but the quality of the candid shots was just as amazing. the best part about it was that we didnt realize he was around. he wasnt an interruption at all.

    My picutres turned out amazing and i would reccommend Rodney to anyone for any event.

    Sent on 08/02/2012
  • M

    Mekael · Married on 05/19/2012

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    His personality blend in well with the guest for he was excited about the wedding just as the rest of the guest were and his services was flawless, we wanted a journalist photographer and that’s what we got. He was able to blend in with the crowd as we requested while he was taking pictures. He was professional by showing up before his time and leaving late according to the event. He was well organized in all aspect. This picture were our first time seeing something this crispy and clean as if we are watching HD pictures. We were honored to have him in our wedding to capture our days. We were impressed when we saw the pictures how he got every move of the event. If we didn’t know how many photographer took the pictures and saw the pictures first, we would of think that 3 photographers took the pictures. The pictures tell a story without missing any part. Now we know that one person could be in multiple places at the same time to capture moments. We have 3 of our friends getting married and we have referred them to him by letting the pictures speak for themselves. If God is willing and If he is still around when our kids get married, for sure he would be the first person we will call to capture the moment.

    Sent on 07/09/2012
  • N

    Natalie · Married on 07/23/2011

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I am so happy Rodney was our wedding photographer. From our first meeting, Rodney made it clear that he is passionate about wedding photography and was excited to capture our wedding. When you look at untuched photos from his portfolio you will see how talented he is. He has creative ideas and is punctual, organized, flexible, and willing to go the extra mile. He is even willing to dive on the concrete in scortching 100 degree plus heat so that he can get a great shot (the one he took while lying on the sidewalk outside of the church after our wedding is one of my favorites). All in all, I highly recommend his services. He takes great pictures and makes the process of taking them as joyful as can be.

    Sent on 10/27/2011
  • N

    Nicole · Married on 04/19/2008

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rodney was excellent to work with! He's a very laid-back, not at all arrogant, photographer that really enjoys what he does. He paid strict attention to detail and accomodated us on any special shots we wanted. I still have yet to get the wedding proofs from him, but I know we got some great shots. We had a lot of fun working with him, and he went above and beyond to try to get the best shots of the day. We got a great price for the caliber of work he does!

    Sent on 05/02/2008
  • emma

    emma · Married on 04/09/2011

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Rodney is a wonderful and fun guy. He was willing to got out of the way to make us happy and satisfied. He was constantly moving so that he could capture every moment of our big day. Rodney made us feel comfortable and his portraits were beautiful.

    Sent on 09/27/2011
  • D

    Darnell · Married on 07/09/2011

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    I am currently in Afghanistan serving my country in the Marine Corps. Rodney's pictures of me and my wife sit on my desk. His ability to capture our love in a photo is amazing. His attention to detail, use of light and angles to create a lasting photo of our special day speaks to his professionalism and love for his art and people. I can not see my wife every day but I glance at Rodney's photos of our wedding and feel like I'm right next to her again. Rodney, I want to thank you for everything.

    Sent on 10/07/2011
  • P

    Cory · Married on 09/11/2016

    1.6
    • Quality of service:
      1.0
    • Responsiveness:
      0.5
    • Value:
      2.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      0.5

    Before the wedding, Rodney gets 3.5/5 stars. After the wedding, Rodney gets -3.5/5 stars, so it averages out to 0/5 stars. Rodney mostly met expectations before/during the wedding although he had a habit of showing up late. He very clearly doesn't care about his customers after the photoshoots are over with (he told us he prioritizes upcoming photoshoots over customers who are waiting for deliverables--at least in our case). Regardless of whether having to wait 9 months for an album is abnormal (like we did), he made it very clear that he did not care about completing our contract in a timely fashion, continually made excuses and broke promises, and rarely responded to our multiple attempts to contact him. He only responded to our repeated contact after we had to get a lawyer involved because he didn't return our emails for months. Maybe 9 months is not the norm for when Rodney’s clients get his albums but either way, clients should BEWARE of his poor professionalism; he is incredibly difficult to work with after he has actually take the pictures and will completely ignore you if he feels that there was nothing to update you on (as he said in his own words).

    I wish I could go into more detail but Wedding Wire limits the amount of characters that can be used in reviews.

    Sent on 06/29/2017

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review