Rockwood Manor Reviews

27 | Potomac, MD
See photos, pricing and details

27 Reviews for Rockwood Manor

Recommended by 94%

27
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner

4.7 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.6
  • Professionalism 4.6
  • Flexibility 4.8
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 4.4
Sort by:
  • A

    Annette Allard · Married on 04/06/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Perfect location

    We had our ceremony here and couldn’t have been happier. The staff was very helpful and the venue itself was beautiful.

    Sent on 04/15/2019
  • J

    June · Married on 03/23/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Lovely venue!

    Rockwood Manor is a lovely venue with lots of space and different rooms to hold a fun wedding. Their staff is very warm and friendly and extremely accommodating. I highly recommend.

    Sent on 04/02/2019
  • K

    Kelly · Married on 07/23/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We absolutely LOVE Rockwood Manor and the staff that work there. We used Rockwood Manor for a wedding weekend retreat on July 23, 2016. Gina and Will were especially helpful and accommodating before and during our wedding weekend. They met with us several times for walk throughs with different vendors, or just for us to see the space and talk about the best layout. We loved that our families and friends were able to be together all weekend. On Friday, we had a pizza truck (Pizza Brama - amazing!) come and feed 80 guests for our rehearsal dinner. We got sides from the Market at River Falls which is an amazing little gourmet grocery store nearby. During the day on Saturday, our family and friends went for a hike while the bridal party got make up and hair done in the bridal suite. After our wedding, we continued to hang out down by the cabins. On Sunday morning we had a small brunch for guests that stayed overnight. Logistically, Rockwood Manor allows you to DIY as much as you want. They have tables and chairs but you have to rent everything else - caterer, linens, glassware, ect. This is a little more work but gives you the opportunity to "shop around" and potentially save some money. We bought all our own alcohol, kegerator (for beer), linens, string lights and a selfie station. The dance floor is a little bit separate from the rest of the upstairs which is the perfect set up for a no judgement dance floor (aka amazing party)!! Our DJ brought dance floor lights that amplified the energy on the dance floor even more. Our wedding was so much fun thanks to Rockwood manor!!!!

    Sent on 08/06/2016
  • D

    diane · Married on 05/29/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had a Spring wedding at Rockwood, and in addition to the natural beauty, its convenient location to Potomac Village, the several National Parks and hiking trails, and the various spaces one can use (indoors and out), plus the absolutely flexible and caring staff (they want to do whatever so that the client is happy), it is a wonderful place so that your guests can stay there and therefore have more time to spend with family and friends. Lovely manor plus gazebo or back patio for a classy ceremony , and campfire and bunkhouses for a camp feeling. It can be whatever you want it to be! It was a destination wedding near home and because we rented it for the entire weekend and provided meals, guests were able to attend a wedding much more inexpensively than usual.

    Sent on 07/25/2016
  • User5343034 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Booking Rockwood manor for a weekend retreat package for our wedding on August 1 was a wonderful idea. We had a lot of fun having all our guests there all weekend, and had plenty of time to hang out with everyone in a beautiful and laid-back setting. We did a campfire and BBQ on Friday night and guests went hiking on Saturday before the ceremony. The setting was gorgeous and staff was very flexible and understanding. Everything went very well - thank you Rockwood Manor!

    Sent on 08/13/2015
  • S

    sara · Married on 05/09/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rockwood Manor was the best choice for our daughter's wedding. We had the place from Friday to Sunday. The houses offered excellent accommodation, one for each family and one for young families with small children. The groom and bride's friends stayed in the cabins. We had the rehearsal dinner" (a pizza truck serving eighty hungry guests on Friday), breakfast and picnic, a great wedding reception, dinner and party on Saturday and everyone left extremely satisfied on Sunday.

    The staff of Rockwood manor was fantastic. Always on time, all table arrangements were as promised, the equipment was great.

    We want to mention Shirley and Gaby for their kind attention.

    For those looking for a "woodsy" place combining the informality of cabins with an elegant venue, Rockwood manor is the place!

    Sent on 05/25/2015
  • J

    Jessica · Married on 01/31/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful venue, the dining hall looked magical, the staff was very kind and helpful. Loved it, made my day perfect.

    Sent on 02/02/2015
  • User3864745 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rockwood is a beautiful setting, and the staff were wonderful. They were fair and reasonable and responsive, and very encouraging of our creativity.

    Sent on 01/29/2014
  • J

    J · Married on 03/30/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My wife and I searched high and low to find a venue that would accommodate three desires: (1) a space where we could have a rustic, woodsy outdoor wedding and a formal indoor reception; (2) a space we could have longer than the 6-8 standard hours because we knew we’d want to dance until late; and (3) somewhere budget friendly. Rockwood Manor delivered all three and then some.

    Rockwood Manor is a retreat center near the Billy Goat Trail (Great Falls). We opted for the Weekend Package, which besides allowing us the time we wanted, allowed us to house a ton of out-of-town guests in hotel-style rooms (with private bathrooms). Around 35 guests stayed in hotel-style cabins, and another 80 could stay in bunk-style lodges. Having the bunks also allowed for us to make space for guests who wanted to crash instead of driving home.

    We had a casual Friday night rehearsal dinner capped by a bonfire outside. Our perfect woodsy wedding took place on Saturday overlooking a forest and surrounded by nature trails (which our guests had a chance to hike and stroll on Saturday morning before the wedding). On Sunday, we held a brunch for all who had stayed over. Especially because both of our families were coming from out-of-state and abroad, having this weekend experience was definitely the way to go. The staff including Marsha, Shelley, and Tina were so nice and wonderful.

    THE ONE THING TO NOTE is that this place is TOTALLY DIY. They provide the space, the rooms and linens, but you do everything else. This was good for us because we could pick our own caterer and other vendors, but it is very DIY.

    Sent on 08/02/2013
  • Taye

    Taye · Married on 03/31/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I absolutely love this place. It has a wonderful scenery, especially the drive there. At first I was unsure of the place but I grew to love it, since I am more into nature this was perfect. All my my family and friends could not stop talking about how beautiful the venue was. I had my wedding on a Sunday and it was just perfect. The staff are friendly and calls back in a timely manner. Shelly, Martha, and Tanzi was wonderful throught our whole experience. Our day of site manager was Donell and he was more than helpful.

    Sent on 04/14/2012
  • P

    Paige · Married on 10/03/2015

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were thrilled with our wedding weekend at Rockwood Manor! We wanted a sort of “destination wedding,” without travelling too far outside of D.C.; a place where we could spend the weekend with our close friends and family, without the hassle of moving from one spot to the next. Rockwood Manor provided this and more. We were able to arrive on Friday afternoon, host a rehearsal dinner, wedding and reception, as well as a Sunday morning breakfast. While there are hotel-style rooms for 35 guests, it was great to invite the rest of our guests to crash in the nicest camp-style bunk beds we have ever seen (including heating/AC and showers)!

    The old management at the venue may have had drawbacks, but Nancy, Will and others make up for that and more. They were eager to provide any support they could, both leading up to and during the weekend. A hurricane came through the area right before our wedding and the staff was there to provide back-up plans and positive thinking. When the rain cleared a few hours before the ceremony they were outside wiping down the wet chairs, so that we could have the ceremony on the beautiful stone patio. Some reviews express concerns over the inability to have amplified music outside, but it was not a problem for us. We had our DJ play acoustic music over speakers both before and during the ceremony, and then moved inside for the reception. The main reception room fit 100 guests, plus a 16X16 dance floor and DJ, with the buffet and bar outside under a tent. It was a nice setup to allow space for walking around, yet keeping everyone close to the action. One of the best features is the fireplace and hearth. Our florist filled the shelves and mantle with beautiful decor that really pulled the room together.

    In short, Rockwood Manor provided the perfect nature-filled, destination-style wedding, and at a great price! We can’t wait to have another event there one day!

    Sent on 12/16/2015
  • J

    Juliana · Married on 05/22/2010

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We loved having our wedding at Rockwood Manor. We rented the whole site for the whole weekend and couldn't be happier with our choice. They were extremely flexible and easy to work with and the value was amazing. We had a lot of our guests (including ourselves) stay on-site for Friday and Saturday. This made it super easy and it allowed us to spend a ton of time with family and friends.

    They allowed us to come in and start getting the place ready at 9 am on Friday, even though our contract started at 3pm. They also provided us with ladders, extension cords and other useful tools for our setup. The representative from Rockwood that was there during our event was very nice and helpful too.

    For our rehearsal, we had a band setup outside, with a full sound system. They played from 5pm to 11pm and we had no complaints or problems because of this. We made full use of the catering kitchen on Friday and Saturday with no issues, either. Working with the staff at Rockwood, specially Dave, was a very good experience for us.

    The grounds at the Manor are extremely pretty and made the whole weekend feel magical!
    The house itself is extremely nice and has enough rooms that you can design your wedding in many different ways. We used the rooms downstairs for dinner and bar. We used the room in the middle level (Rapidan) for dancing and the rooms upstairs for the DJ, for chocolates and for coffee. We found that this setup allowed our guests to wander around and choose their own adventure: some people danced the night away, others sat by the bar and played poker and other sat around talking and taking pictures. It was a very laid-back atmosphere but at the same time very intimate and warm!

    I really couldn't imagine a better place for our wedding. The only reason they got 4.5 instead of 5 for responsiveness is that they were a little hard to get hold off through email. They were very good on the phone and in person, though.

    Sent on 05/24/2010
  • L

    Lauren · Married on 07/08/2017

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I love this place! I haven't hosted my wedding there yet, but I'm planning it all out and it's booked. I gave all 5's for the stars outside of flexibility. The only reason I gave a 4 is due to their new rules that have just recently been created, such as NO TENTS, early campfire closing, no outside grilling, and things that really have been put into place due to the surrounding neighborhood. It's sad it came to that, but the staff is still extremely flexible and accommodating outside of things they can't change due to neighborhood committee stuff.

    We're doing the full weekend rental package!

    Sent on 08/25/2016
  • User4940347 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Everything about our September wedding weekend at Rockwood was magical. The grounds and flowers were exquisite, the Manor House was lovely for our reception, the flagstone terrace was spruced up in the several months leading up to our wedding and looked fantastic... it was all great. Everyone remarked that it was like a destination wedding... but right outside of town. Nancy and Will were incredibly helpful in developing a Plan B in case in rained, easing my mind. The staff does its best to be flexible but there are some rules in place in order to be respectful to neighbors - not much to do on that.

    Sent on 11/04/2015
  • K

    Kate · Married on 07/11/2015

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We loved Rockwood Manor as our wedding ceremony and reception venue. It is perfect for a smaller wedding where you want to use different rooms for different purposes. We loved that the venue was flexible on our choice of vendors, especially the caterer, the hours of use and that it also provided accommodation for our out-of-town wedding guests. The lodges were very nice and comparable to mid-range hotels. Everyone remarked that they slept incredibly well in every room. There are also cabins that are not so nice, but can hold a large group of people who don't mind roughing it. We had one 3 year old child who was so happy with the cabins and the venue that he wants to attend our wedding every weekend just so he can explore the many wooded environs. The venue has been set up to be a very welcoming and happy place. We required very minimal decorations as the spaces were so nice in and of themselves. The outdoor grounds provide a wonderful array of photo opportunities in different locations -which we used to our advantage. Having the opportunity to use different rooms made it easy for us to create a special flow to the wedding and help our guests mingle and get to know each other. We loved our wedding at Rockwood Manor. It was an incredibly special day -in large part to the beautiful surroundings we found ourselves in and the wonderful atmosphere created by the venue. Thank you to Rockwood Manor and all their staff for making our day such a special day.

    Sent on 08/09/2015
  • W

    wayaka · Married on 08/02/2014

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This place was the best. Very very flexible with time and accommodations. The staff were friendly snd courteous. Will host anothet event in the near future.

    Sent on 01/11/2015
  • H

    Hank · Married on 09/21/2013

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Large wedding, the venue was booked all weekend. As father of one bride and an out of towner I was not involved directly in planning and execution except at the last minute. The lodging was good for the main house and outlying houses but probably wouldn't recommend using the "Girl Scout group cabins" for this type of event. They are a little rustic and don't offer much privacy.

    Overall a beautiful place for a wedding and reception, gives the feel of being "off the beaten path" while still being easily accessible to main highways and large international airports.

    Sent on 03/24/2014
  • M

    Meghan · Married on 09/17/2016

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were extremely pleased with our decision to book a weekend wedding retreat at Rockwood Manor. Most of our family and many of our friends were traveling from far away, so it was great to be able to relax and spend time at the same venue for a Friday welcome dinner, Saturday wedding, and Sunday brunch. Many of our guests stayed on the property as well, and others stayed in a hotel nearby in Tysons Corner.

    We found the staff to be very accommodating even within the rules that laid out for events. The spaces would be very tight for a wedding of 90-120 people (you wouldn't be able to seat everyone in one room, there's a "spillover" space in the next room) but for our event of 100 people we chose to do a cocktail-style meal instead of a seated dinner to get around that issue. Several guests commented about how much they loved the Manor and the grounds around it.

    We were a little surprised and unaware that we were responsible for removing the trash from the bins in each individual guest room before departure (which seemed like something that would happen later when the rooms were cleaned and which was not clearly communicated to us) but we were able to quickly take the trash out of each room as we did our check-out walkthrough.

    Sent on 10/09/2016
  • User2094366 · 2+ years ago

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    What an absolute delight it was from start to finish to have our wedding weekend at Rockwood Manor! When searching for a venue, I knew immediately that Rockwood was THE SPOT both due to its tremendous natural beauty, the coziness of the Manor itself, the practicality of being able to have so many of our loved ones staying on the grounds, and the friendliness of the staff. We had a WONDERFUL time and have received only very positive feedback from our guests. Actually, it far EXCEEDED my expectations -which is not easy to do!

    Again: I could not have dreamt of a more beautiful venue for the occasion! Thank you so much!

    Sent on 07/09/2012
  • T

    Tierra · Married on 09/13/2014

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      3.5

    First off, I love this venue. I REALLY had a great time during my wedding weekend and all of my guests told me how gorgeous the grounds were.

    I started my planning FOREVER ago. Like over a year out. RM staff helped me to conceptualize what I wanted by letting me see how others had their events set up.

    I opted to have my family and friends stay at RM over the weekend. The rooms were comfy and clean and everyone enjoyed them!

    I have just a few gripes with RM - -

    They seemed to ask me the same thing several times, as if notes were not being kept. This caused some kind of panic the week before the wedding. Not what a bride wants at all.

    I had to come up with a rain plan (a possible chance of rain) for my big day. I talked to several people. The gentleman doing the moving had a bit of an attitude and complained about this. I was quite put off by him and was NOT prepared for his attitude. I thanked him and all, but he really should watch what he says to someone who is already very nervous about an event.

    Other than that, the staff was VERY helpful and courteous and we are looking to do other events here (family reunions and such). RM has a lot of resources for other vendors you may need. That's how I found my caterer, who was a god-send.

    Sent on 09/23/2014
  • M

    Meredith · Married on 03/17/2012

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    This is a hidden gem. I had no idea this place existed - but I must have drove passed dozens of times.

    The value rating should be 10 stars. This is a MontCo park and it is the only venue I found that had a reasonable base price and no other mandatory fees associated with it.

    We found Rockwood to be a very flexible venue. We were looking for a venue that was not a ballroom and would accommodate our choice of kosher caterer. The contract contains basic requirements and there were no hoops to jump through. You can use any licensed/insured caterer (or you may be able to bring your own food - but I don't completely recall). They provide the chairs and tables and they do the setup - all included in the very reasonable rental price. The time is any 8 hour period - so you are not limited to starting your event at X time, like many other venues.

    The location is beautiful (across the street from Great Falls Park, MD). Our outdoor pictures are beautiful - blooming trees etc. It looks like you are in the middle of the woods - but you are just right outside the Beltway. There is plenty of parking available. You can rent hotel-like rooms for very reasonable rate. I stayed at the Manor the night before my wedding and kept the room through the wedding, so my family would have an extra staging area.

    A few drawbacks: The manor is beautiful but not super upgraded. The catering kitchen is on the lower level, but I liked the upper level for dining - the caterer was not very happy about the kitchen being on a different level.

    Sent on 06/07/2012
  • N

    N · Married on 07/16/2011

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Our #1 concern for our venue was that we wanted a place where our family and wedding parties could stay overnight for the weekend, since they were ALL coming from out of town. This place fit the bill for us. The setup in the mansion is weird, and they are completely hands-off (almost to a fault), so you need to be comfortable either doing everything or hiring a planner to do everything. We did everything ourselves.
    We got there Friday, rehearsed and decorated, stayed overnight so we could continue decorating and getting ready Saturday, wedding Saturday evening, fire and s'mores Saturday night, cleaned everything up on Sunday and left. It was so important to us that our families and friends be able to spend time and get to know each other, and we definitely got that.
    They have a beautiful outdoor flagstone patio where we had the ceremony. Again, the interior spaces are weirdly laid out but we made it work. I wouldn't recommend the space for more than 80 guests though.

    Sent on 11/03/2011
  • User4070704 · 2+ years ago

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Rockwood Manor was a very beautiful place for our wedding. We did the whole weekend package and it worked out very well for out of town guests and for everyone that wanted to stay the night of our wedding. Roderick was a great person that helped us out the most leading up to the wedding day and was very personable with us. We had our wedding outdoors and the weather was absolutely beautiful which made everything turn out perfect. The only complaint that I had was the manager was showing people around the property after our guest had already checked in their rooms on Friday night. This may not bother some people but I did not like random people walking around where our guests were staying. I did not want to write this complaint on here because I don't want it to distract people from using this venue since everything turned out so beautiful.

    Sent on 04/29/2014
  • Kayshin

    Kayshin · Married on 09/22/2012

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.5

    Venue is great- includes nice accommodations for traveling guests. Sometimes hard to contact staff through email, as some of them seem to be part-time. However, phone always got me to someone. Very nice to have outdoor and indoor options for ceremony, and also nice to have so many rooms to use. Probably best for a couple who has a wedding planner, as there can be many things to coordinate, specifically sound system, since they do not have one built into the building. Also, you have to design your own floor plan for how to use tables and chairs, etc, which was difficult for me b/c we have little experience with event planning. However, it's hard to beat the value of renting the place out for an entire weekend! Guests also loved the venue- very cozy feel and convenient for traveling guests.

    Sent on 10/18/2012

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review