Rock Hill Plantation House Reviews

160 | Stafford, VA
See photos, pricing and details

160 Reviews for Rock Hill Plantation House

Recommended by 99%

160
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2010 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2009 Winner

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 4.8
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 5.0

12 User photos

Rock Hill Plantation House 1
Rock Hill Plantation House 2
Rock Hill Plantation House 3
Rock Hill Plantation House 4
Rock Hill Plantation House 5
Rock Hill Plantation House 6
Rock Hill Plantation House 7
+ 6
Sort by:
  • J

    Jessica · Married on 10/12/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beyond perfect!!

    The moment we saw Rock Hill Plantation in person, we knew this was going to be our venue! It is absolutely BEAUTIFUL! Richard, the owner, is an absolute pleasure to work with. He is fun, very responsive to any questions you have and very thorough. He goes above and beyond to make sure your wedding day is exactly how you want it. He is also a DJ, which we hired him for our wedding, and has everything already there, which makes planning that much easier. Erin, our day of coordinator, was also a pleasure to work with! She made sure everything we wanted and envisioned for our wedding was set up accordingly. I knew between Richard and Erin, I wouldn't have to stress about anything on my wedding day, because they were on top of it. I will always recommend Rock Hill because it truly was the best! 15/10 recommend!!!

    Sent on 10/17/2019
  • C

    Cody Stollings · Married on 10/11/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rock Hill is the Best!

    We absolutely recommend Rock Hill Plantation House! We had our wedding here on October 11th, and it couldn’t have been more perfect! Richard was our DJ and did a great job all night. Erin was our coordinator—she was a God send. The venue was beautiful and Mother Nature was good to us. Back when we started planning this wedding over a year ago, we actually were looking at a different venue. However, the venue staff that worked there was very rude and not helpful at all. Then we met with Richard and checked out the Rock Hill Plantation House. Richard made us feel at ease and was super helpful! We decided to have our wedding at Rock Hill because Richard was so helpful and very responsive to our needs which was crucial in planning a wedding from across the country. Everything was absolutely perfect on our special day, and we owe a lot of that to Richard and Erin. You won’t be disappointed!!

    Sent on 10/17/2019
    Rock Hill Plantation House 8
    Rock Hill Plantation House 9
    Rock Hill Plantation House 10
  • Danya

    Danya Mandery · Married on 08/30/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Best Wedding Location

    Richard is the BEST! Not only did he take the time and attention to make our wedding amazing, he’s also a super nice guy! The venue, the grounds and reception hall were perfect. We couldn’t imagine spending our special day anywhere else! We would give Rock Hill Plantation 10 stars if we could!

    Sent on 09/07/2019
  • A

    Allison · Married on 05/25/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rainy Day Perfection

    Rock Hill Plantation made sure everything for my wedding went perfect! Rock Hill was the first venue we looked at, and we weren't ready to book right away. After touring a few other venues we knew Rock Hill was perfect for our wedding! Between Richard's professionalism, transparency, and personable approach we knew we had found our perfect venue.
    On the wedding day, as soon as the bridal party/vendors started arriving, it started down pouring. Richard and Erin (Rock Hill's day of coordinator) discussed options with me. They were great with calming down a tearful bride who was beyond stressed that mother nature had different plans for the afternoon. Although getting married on the covered carriage house porch wasn't my ideal ceremony location, they made sure to decorate it to match my vision for the gazebo and the string lights on the porch gave an added romantic feel!
    Richard was always very quick to respond to emails throughout the planning process. We fell in love with this venue for their size, gorgeous grounds, and they had an option for both the bride and groom to get ready. We were also pleased with Richard's transparency as there were no hidden costs and everything that was included in the venue was clearly written out.
    Upon booking, we decided to book Richard's DJ services and Erin's day of coordinating. Richard is a phenomenal DJ with state of the art equipment! It was great having all of the sound equipment built into the venue to avoid the clutter that can be associated with sound equipment. Erin was very helpful with making sure my reception vision was executed perfectly. To anyone that is thinking of booking with Rock Hill, DO IT! I promise you won't regret it! Thank you so much for being such a big part of our special day

    Sent on 05/06/2019
  • A

    Alyssa · Married on 05/18/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing wedding venue!

    Our wedding at Rock Hill Plantation was amazing! The grounds are beautiful and the venue provides many amazing photo opportunities. Richard and his staff did a great job ensuring our wedding went off without a hitch! I would definitely recommend this venue!

    Sent on 06/09/2019
  • Sydney

    Sydney Andrews · Married on 11/18/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Perfection!

    Our day was perfect and we really owe it all to our vendors we worked with - Rock Hill and Richard being one of them! Before even getting to our car after touring Rock Hill and speaking with Richard, the venue host, we knew that Rock Hill was IT.
    From the gorgeous, spacious bridal suite to the ceremony site (gazebo!!) to the groomsmen's man cave (pool table, darts, a TV!!), and the reception hall featuring a beautiful patio looking over land and a fountain... Rock Hill is just perfect.
    The venue also comes with their own optional wedding coordinator, Erin, who was perfect and made our day go smoothly. We can not recommend hiring Erin enough -- I went into our wedding day so chill knowing we were in such great hands.
    Richard, Rock Hill's venue host, is also a DJ. Y'all... HIRE. RICHARD. I can not tell you how many people came up to us and said our DJ and our wedding music was the best they had ever experienced.. Richard read the crowd and played what kept people on the dance floor. Everyone danced all. night. long. We truly owe our party to Richard's DJing.
    Not only is Rock Hill beautiful, professional, and organized, you truly feel like family working with all the people involved with this venue. We would choose Rock Hill, Erin, and Richard over and over again!! :)

    Sent on 11/28/2018
  • Katie

    Katie · Married on 10/20/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Perfect Wedding Venue

    Our wedding was PERFECT! I couldn't have imagined it going any better or it being any more beautiful! My husband and I are beyond thrilled that we had the wedding of our dreams. One of the best parts about Rock Hill is the owner Richard and his wife, Cheryl who we hired as our wedding coordinator. They were so responsive and helpful right from our initial meeting. They always replied quickly to answer all of our questions and were full of great advice and guidance along the way. You are dealing with real professionals when you work with Rock Hill.
    All of our family and friends were gushing over the gorgeous setting, the convenience of having everything - ceremony, reception etc. in one place, and the beautiful decorations which Cheryl put up for us. The boys loved the man cave and the girls had the perfect space to get ready in the bridal suite.
    We feel so lucky that we got to have our wedding at the perfect place with the most welcoming, accommodating, wonderful people. They treat you like part of their family and go the extra mile to ensure your wedding is exactly what you envisioned. I was able to fully enjoy my wedding day because I knew that we were in the hands of two competent, capable, detailed oriented professionals who's main goal was for our day to be worry free and amazing.
    I would definitely recommend Rock Hill Plantation to everyone!

    Sent on 10/28/2018
  • K

    Karisa Al-Salihi · Married on 10/05/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dream Location

    I've always dreamed of getting married at a small venue with a homey feel, and that's exactly what we got! The gorgeous lawn and landscaping made the perfect backdrop for photos, their inventory of tables and chairs saved us so much money, and the flexibility with outside vendors was such a help. Richard was there helping from the first day we visited to tour the location through the end of our wedding night. I'm very grateful for Rock Hill and for their help to make our big day as smooth as it was.

    Sent on 12/06/2018
  • A

    Alexandra · Married on 08/25/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We got married 8-25-18 and we could not have asked for a better Venue or a better host in Richard! Starting a day off he made sure everything was in place. When vendors started arriving he lead them to where they needed to be. He was just perfect. And when the partying got started at the reception, even Richard got in on the fun! Overall just an amazing and wonderful experience with them and I honestly wish we could do it again!!! That's how awesome it was! Thank you so much Richard!!!

    Sent on 09/11/2018
    Rock Hill Plantation House 11
    Rock Hill Plantation House 12
    Rock Hill Plantation House 13
  • B

    Bonita · Married on 08/10/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Richard was phenomenal to work with. Any small problem the came up (like our pianist forgetting her binder) he was quick to help. (He loaned her a binder and a hole punch for her music!) I can't stress enough what a wonderful experience this was!

    Sent on 08/18/2018
    Rock Hill Plantation House 14
    Rock Hill Plantation House 15
    Rock Hill Plantation House 16
    Rock Hill Plantation House 17
  • M

    Michelle · Married on 08/03/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful Venue!

    We had a wonderful experience working with Richard! I have nothing but great things to say about Rock Hill Plantation and our wedding day here. We also loved working with Erin as our day of coordinator! I felt at ease on my wedding day knowing that they were taking great care of us! They are so responsive and are so flexible. We had an amazing wedding day and everything was absolutely perfect. Richard and Erin were amazing!! :)

    Sent on 04/23/2019
  • K

    krista · Married on 05/26/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I cannot say enough about Richard and Rock Hill Plantation! Richard was on top of making sure all of our vendors were up to a standard that would make our day go smoothly and we are so grateful. He always responded in a timely manner and his care for each one of his couples was apparent. From the pre-ceremony craziness to the unexpected rain Richard and his team stepped in and saved the day. He and his team served us so well and made sure our vendors did as well, we'd recommend Rock Hill to anyone. We love Rock Hill

    Sent on 06/24/2018
  • A

    Ashley · Married on 04/14/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We got married here going on two weeks ago and we could not be happier with how everything turned out! The venue owner, Richard, made us feel so special and it really was like we were part of the family. We fell in love with the property the moment we saw it and actually cancelled other scheduled tours we had set up because we couldn't imagine having the wedding anywhere else! The ceremony gazebo was the perfect, simple backdrop for our wedding and the carriage house with the veranda barely needed any decorating at all. It is so well kept and made for the easiest transition from ceremony to reception. It is worth every penny - all of our guests raved about the property and if you are looking for a gorgeous, intimate wedding, Rock Hill Plantation House should be at the top of your list of choices!

    Sent on 04/24/2018
  • M

    Megan · Married on 03/24/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I love this venue! Richard is so helpful and flexible. He allows you to make the venue your own. He is open to any ideas you have. He is clear with prices and what is included! It was such a beautiful place to get married!

    Sent on 03/31/2018
  • J

    Jessica · Married on 10/15/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our wedding has not yet occurred, but just from the original consultation, answering phone calls, answering our emails, and the overall experience we received from Richard and his family has been nothing short of amazing! We are SO excited to get married here and we are so blessed to work with this beautiful venue and family.

    Sent on 01/12/2016
  • Tara

    Tara · Married on 10/14/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our wedding was October 14, 2017 and it was perfection! There was a special space for my husband to get ready and hang out with his groomsmen, the most impeccable bridal suite ever, then of course the grounds themselves which were beautiful and made things simple! The one stop destination for both the ceremony and reception was a hit with all of our family and friends. Richard and team made us feel so comfortable and at ease with the whole process!

    Sent on 10/16/2017
  • L

    Lindsey · Married on 08/06/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Richard and his whole crew are fantastic from day one. I was just married here and his authenticity as a person and talent as DJ/host are immeasurable. The venue is breathtaking and full of natural beauty making it perfect and the reception hall, man cave, and bridal suite help make Rock Hill Plantation the whole package.

    Sent on 08/09/2017
  • R

    Rina · Married on 07/29/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We recently had our wedding at Rock Hill Plantation on July 29th. We had a fantastic wedding! This venue is absolutely gorgeous. On the first day that we toured the venue we knew it was exactly the place where we wanted to have our ceremony and reception. Richard’s welcoming personality (and the goats) sealed the deal. Richard offered tons of wonderful ideas as well as fantastic vendors. His advice and recommendations helped to make it the most memorable day of our lives.
    We are so glad that we also chose to hire Erin as our wedding planner. Erin offered great advice and it was great to have her by our side on the day of our wedding. Both Richard and Erin were quick to respond to any questions during the planning process which took tons of pressure off of us. All of the day of setup and coordination was seamless to us. All of our guests raved about the gorgeous setting and how smooth everything went. From the Caterer’s amazing food to the Florist’s gorgeous flowers (both vendors that Richard had recommended to us) and not to forget Richard’s beautiful venue. We really can’t say enough great things about Richard, Erin, and Rock Hill. It was really comforting working with true professionals who were always there to answer a question, offer some advice, or lend a hand to make everything perfect! Thanks again Richard and Erin! We will always remember this! Now we just have to come up with another reason to host another event at this beautiful venue! ;-)

    Sent on 08/20/2017
  • H

    Heather · Married on 07/17/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rock Hill was a phenomenal location for our two day staff retreat. The Carriage House was a more than accommodating for all the different things we did within our retreat including video conferencing, breakout sessions, general sessions and lunch! The grounds were also so perfect for the devotions and self development portion of our retreat, staff members were able to spread out throughout the grounds, on the porch, on the deck, under the gazebo and more. Richard was more than helpful in everything, he was kind and went out of his way to ensure we had everything we needed and more. I would highly recommend Rock Hill to anyone who is looking to use this location for all types of needs!

    Sent on 07/29/2017
  • L

    Lauren · Married on 07/16/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I just got married at Rock Hill Plantation on July 16th and it was beautiful. Richard worked with my husband and I to accommodate us / work with us on anything we needed. He responds with answers and support quickly and makes you feel at ease. I couldn't have asked for a better place to spend my big day. Definitely the perfect place to get married!

    Sent on 07/26/2017
  • K

    Katie · Married on 06/23/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had an amazing time at Rock Hill Plantation House! Richard was so kind and generous to open his home to friends and family for our wedding. From our very first meeting with Richard, we knew that we made the right choice for our wedding venue. He has a wide range of knowledge about weddings and really looks to make your event as special as possible. During our rehearsal, he offered great suggestions for making the ceremony look perfect. Throughout the wedding day, Richard checked in with us to make sure that everything was running smoothly and asked if there were any other ways that he could help. We loved being able to have both the ceremony and reception all at one location without any hassle for transportation. Best of all, the venue is absolutely gorgeous and very affordable. I highly recommend Rock Hill Plantation House to any bride that is looking for a wedding venue in Northern Virginia!

    Sent on 07/28/2017
  • J

    Janelle · Married on 06/03/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I can’t say enough great things about my wedding experience at Rock Hill. The venue itself is beautiful, excellently maintained and you can tell Richard and his family take great pride in their property. We were aiming for a ‘homey’ feel for our wedding and wanted to keep it small (we had 85 guests) and Rock Hill was the perfect fit for us. It was the first and only venue we looked at and we booked it right after our tour! I would highly recommend hiring Erin as your day-of coordinator as well. She was organized and on top of everything in the weeks leading up to the wedding and also throughout the actual wedding and reception. Our timeline for the wedding was a little unconventional as we decided to skip some traditional wedding activities and her and Richard were both fully supportive and accommodated all our requests. Richard also served as our DJ and MC for the evening which I would recommend as well! People are still talking about the music playlist two weeks after our wedding. Richard also gave us great recommendations for caterers but wasn’t pushy about who to use. We did end up using a caterer he recommended and you could tell they had worked together before because everything was executed without a hitch. The photo booth was also a huge hit! You can tell everyone at Rock Hill enjoys what they do and we only received rave reviews from our guests about the event. I had the most stress-free wedding day I could have asked for and that was due in large part to our very positive experience with Rock Hill!

    Sent on 06/12/2017
  • C

    christina · Married on 03/25/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I cannot say enough about how fabulous my wedding was at Rock Hill Plantation House! From the beginning meeting and speaking with Richard I knew I was in good hands, he is super friendly and very easy to get along with; he really made the whole experience easy and stress free. My wedding was on 3.25.17 the beginning of spring and it was beautiful, the rolling hills, trees, ponds, everything was perfect and everything was so clean! It was absolutely gorgeous and warm and cozy and charming all at once. I couldn't be happier that I chose this for my wedding venue, it really has a special place in my heart,it was just so magical the setting and Richards charm definitely was felt throughout! Thank you again Richard at Rock Hill Plantation House you truly made my wedding day everything I dreamed of and more! : )

    Sent on 04/08/2017
  • J

    Jess · Married on 09/16/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Fantastic venue, highly recommended for a smaller to medium-sized wedding (we had about 70 people). The owner Richard is helpful, easy to talk to and quick to reply with emails, and very upfront with inclusions in the pricing (which was very reasonable, and we saved getting married on a Friday). He keeps up the property well, so everything is beautiful and clean, and the newly-finished man cave is great for the guys. There are a few location options for the ceremony (ours was on the grassy area in front of the gazebo), and the indoor air-conditioned reception area is open and has a wood floor to allow for multiple layouts. One other thing I liked is that Richard has only a few caterers he works with, so I didn't have to research and contact a ton of different companies to find the one we liked. My new husband and I couldn't have asked for a better place to be married, everything was perfect.

    Sent on 10/03/2016
  • A

    Amanda · Married on 09/04/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Richard Green and his venue are perfectly wonderful. It's a small (120 people limit) outdoor venue, with an indoor back up plan. It's a large property surrounded by beautiful willow trees and man-made lakes. He even owns some pygmie goats that the children just adored.

    Rich and his staff were super accommodating, answered any question asked of them, and provided top notch support when I was feeling overwhelmed and confused.

    The bride gets use off the entire bottom level of the refurbished plantation home, with a living area, dressing area (with beautiful antique mirrors ALL AROUND) and the groom gets to use the man-cave with pool tables, beer fridge, and tv.

    Sent on 09/12/2016

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review